Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NRL teams- what first comes to mind?

nqcowboy87

Noth Queensland: 2005 season jt, bowen and payne
Gold Coast Titans: Preston Campbell
Knights: andrew johns
Manly: boring
Roosters: team i used to hate cause they where on fta all the time
Souths: john sutton
St George: red v
Cronulla: andrew ettingahusen poor bastard played for like 20 years and never got a premiership
Canberra: Feeder team
Storm: boring as hell
Warriors: a great team to watch
Tigers: benji
Bulldogs: belmore oval
Eels: hindmarsh
Panthers: preston campbell
Broncos: as a queenslander and non broncos fan im sick of the broncos cause they get crammed down our throat in all the papers and news papers and its been going on for as long as i can rember, so i guess annoyance

and by the way it was scotty prince who did that pistol shooting try celebration back when he was at the cowboys

OVP

When Brisbane played Saints for the first of the two GFs in a row (92 i think), Roy and HG used Melissa Tkautz's song "Sexy is the word" for the Broncos theme song lol and the Saints got Dragon's April Sun in Cuba ... never been able to forget that :lol:

BDR

Cowboys: Hard-working, but find it hard to get the job done.
Broncos: The true glamour club of the NRL. Always there at the end of the year.
Titans: Scott Prince, all flair no foundation.
Knights: Always built around one player.
Sea Eagles: Grubby bastards.
Roosters: Bought not bred, also 95% empty seats at the SFS.
Rabbitohs: For some reason Nathan Merritt. Also Russell Crowe.
Saints: Gasnier, Sydney media's masturbatory aides.
Sharkies: Sad fans.
Raiders: Snow.
Storm: Big Kiwi/Islander players & more recently bloody cheaters.
Warriors: Real tough buggers (used to be), more recently big Manu.
Tigers: Marshall/Prince combo which tore us up in the '05 GF
Bulldogs: Their amazing pack a few years ago, and scum fans.
Eels: Think they are far better than they ever have been.
Panthers: Red-headed stepchild of the NRL.

Knightmare

Brisbane Broncos: Arrogant arsehole fans and a fawning media that reports every time a donkeys player takes a dump

Canberra Raiders: The forgotten team

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs: CityRail

Cronulla Sharks: Nothing

Gold Coast Titans: Boobs for some reason...

Manly Sea Eagles: Bought premierships

Melbourne Storm: Cheats

Newcastle Knights: Drugs

North Queensland Cowboys: Great crowds despite being rubbish

Parramatta Eels: Chokers

Penrith Panthers: Once had a soul, but sold it to News Ltd.

St. George Illawarra Dragons: 31 f**king years...

South Sydney Rabbitohs: No matter how much they spend, still manage to be no better than mediocre

Sydney Roosters: Brown paper bags and massive junior base

Warriors: Wonderful attacking brand of football (not so much anymore unfortunately)

West Tigers: The number 9 keeps flashing in my mind... and Benji's flick pass in '05

Queensland: 100-year-old chip on the shoulder they seem incapable of ridding themselves of

I like your thinking!

Knightmare

NORTH QUEENSLAND: always talked up, never delivers
BRISBANE BRONCOS: too many sydney bangwagoner fans, play in an awesome stadium (really need to go one day)
GOLD COAST TITANS: new kid on the block, not to be taken seriously until its shows reason to.
NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS: awesomeness. we can and should be beating everyone everytime, dont understand why we dont
MANLY-WARRINGAH SEA EAGLES: just dont like them, i think thats normal
SYDNEY ROOSTERS: rich, no fans (who turn up), wicks scoring two long range tries
SOUTH SYDNEY RABBITOHS: perpetual wooden spooners
ST GEORGE ILLAWARRA: the Real Madrid of NRL, so much talent, but no cigar
CRONULLA SUTHERLAND SHARKS: meh
CANBERRA RAIDERS: the perpetually young team, never rated
MELBOURNE STORM: arrogant filthy cheating scum and salary cap cheaters
WARRIORS: poor travellers, big, fun to watch
WESTS TIGERS: small forward pack, never makes the finals, fans who hate buderus and ennis (lol)
CANTERBURY BANKSTOWN BULLDOGS: 04 grandfinal
PARRAMATTA EELS: my rabid eels buddy
PENRITH PANTHERS: the forgotten westies

ORIGIN: some of the best 4 hours of footy of the year
NSW: buderus hitting webcke under the posts off the kick off, john's return in 05
QLD: comeback kings, the small kid who plays sports with the bigger older guys and takes himself seriously when he wins

Australia: winning by less than 18 is considered 'just' winning
NZ: HAKA, inconsistent and kinda crap
England: LOL, older brother with no ability, who thinks they can smash you and is surprised when they dont

ENGLISH SUPER LEAGUE: NRL retirement home

i thought it was interesting and thought i would expand on the topics
these ideas might not be true anymore, but its still the impression i have of these teams and things

I like what you did there. In that case:

ORIGIN: A bloke in a sky blue jersey and a bloke in a maroon jersey colliding head-on.

NSW: That place where my heart will always be, no matter where I am.

QLD: A bunch of overweight, sunburnt rednecks with ten gallon hats on and wearing Maroons jerseys, XXXX bottles in hand, chests puffed out, completely smashed and totally convinced that nobody in the entire universe is more proud or passionate than they are.

AUSTRALIA: Always the team to beat, just hearing the name gives me a faint feeling of confidence when it comes to Rugby League.

NZ: A bunch of maori guys with diamonte ear-studs and waxed hair grinning wide and going "Sweet as bro!" a lot, who usually end up having to accept a loss but will act as if they have been awarded a licence to print money if the Kiwis win.

ENGLAND: A bunch of stiff-upper lip, elitist private school boys looking down their noses at Australia and then disappearing again when they are beaten. Kind of matches what I think of when someone mentions Union.

ENGLISH SUPER LEAGUE: A mix between an old competition with great traditions and a product that Uncle Rupert has whored out.

Brisbane - Spoilt fans. alf langer. unusually high rates of internationals throughout their history.
Canberra - Mal Meninga, Daley dropping the trophy, Raiders Lime, Mals politics career
Souths - my dad, 1999 rally and booting. 01 re instatement. Greg bird knees a guy in th head
Sharks - Peach, Rogers, ET, Gallen, Losing big games. constant disappointment
Storm - meaningless franchise.
Dragons - Mundine, Red V.
Bulldogs - ruthless winners. 1995 grand final. cheating the cap. crowd issues. terry lamb
Warriors - 02 Prelim Final and Grand final. 03 semi with canberra
Parra - Beating them to end losing streaks. Yellow
Manly - evil
Chooks - money, the bloke with theglove on his head, Fittler
Tigers - 06 GF. thrashing the sharks each time we play
Titans - Franchise. whatever
NQ - Crap for their firts 10 years nearly. the non scrum in 04. Matt Bowen
Penrith - Watching 03 GF at the coast in the rain on a crappy TV with Roy n HG commentry.
Newcastle - Johns. 97 GF. 02 64-14 game

Captain BF

Noth Queensland: Saturday night games & 2004 finals charge.

Gold Coast Titans: Surprising how well they have done.

Knights: Ouch... 2001, Joey Johns & Ben Kennedy go absolutely mental and flog Parra in the 1st half.... ummm probably best to move on.

Manly: 1986, last round at Brookvale. One of the toughest games i've seen.

Roosters: Nothing since Freddy retired. I hated the team they had in 03?

Souths: Steve Mavin.

St George: Nathan Brown's hair when he hit 1st grade. Funny stuff. Big fan of Nathan Blacklock.

Cronulla: ET, Miller, McGaw, Docking & bloody Adam Dykes!

Canberra: I should have worn long pants. I caught the Parra supporters bus to watch Parra Vs Canberra in 93. They put about 50 or so on us in Reserves and even more in 1st grade and i was wearing shorts in sub 10 degree weather. Long trip back...

Storm: Had respect for a great team... Not anymore though...

Warriors: Big

Tigers: Enjoyed the 2005 Grand Final.

Bulldogs: I can't find anything i have ever liked about this team. One of the very few things that i hate in life.

Eels: Parra Stadium, Passion & Pride. 25th season of going to the footy with my Dad. Love it!

Panthers: So many of my mates support Penrith as i grew up and still spend alot of time in the area, i have a little soft spot for them, just not when they play Parra though..

Broncos: Respect. Lockyer. Leading them at half time in 94 or 95 when we were nearly last and them coming out in the second half and tearing us a new one. Lockyers debut match? They had a brilliant team that day.

Great thread Knightmare!

Azkatro

Balmain Tigers - Steve Roach patting Eddie Ward on the head

Brisbane Broncos - Renouf's length of the field try in the 1992 grand final

Canberra Raiders - Laurie Daley basketballing it out to Chika Ferguson for the try in the 1989 grand final, and Kevin Hardwick's forlorn look after it was awarded

Canterbury Bankstown Bulldogs - Craig Polla-Mounter's near miracle field goal at the death in the 1998 Prelim against Parra, and the players hoisting him up

Cronulla Sutherland Sharks - David Peachey getting sin binned and sent off in the massacre against Parramatta in 2003.. "DAVE PEACHEY! DAVE PEACHEY!"

Gold Coast Seagulls - Wally Lewis being the face of the struggling team as captain coach in the early 90's

Illawarra Steelers - The spaghetti twins, Schifilliti and Piccinelli! And big Darren Fritz... Definitely watching the 5 try haul by McIndoe on ABC Grandstand one Saturday afternoon

Manly Warringah Sea Eagles - Dirty dirty dirty dirty Matthew Ridge, in particular his stupid kickoff in the 1996 grand final which led to a match-turning try

Melbourne Storm - Glenn Lazarus looking stunned and limping around after full time in the 1999 grand final

Newcastle Knights - Obviously the 1997 grand final win, after such a disheartening year for the game and after 1996 it was nice to see Manly lose like that!

North Queensland Cowboys - The elation on Paul Bowman's face after Matt Sing scored in the second half against the Dogs in 2004 in the finals which sealed the win... oh and Paul Bowman getting up to play the ball in one game after plenty of niggle against the Sharks I think, appealing for a penalty and not getting one, and yelling out "f**k OFF TONY!" before being penalised for dissent :lol:

North Sydney Bears - Not much, other than their 1990's marquee players, Jason Taylor, Mark Soden, Florimo, Larsen etc

Northern Eagles - Not much

Parramatta Eels - Michael Witt's goal-line dropout that went over Parra's own dead-ball line

Penrith Panthers - Mark Geyer exploding onto a short line drop-out in the 1991 grand final, before offloading to Simmons for his second and match-winning try

St George Dragons - Losing grand finals in the 1990's

St George Illawarra Dragons - Riddell's penalty goal to win against the Broncos in the last round of 2003

South Sydney Rabbitohs - All the media dribblers coming out in force when they got kicked out in 1999, notably Ray Martin and Andrew Denton

Sydney Roosters - Luke Ricketson belting Nathan Fein in the prelim final of 2004

Warriors - Stacey Jones' solo try in the 2002 grand final

Western Suburbs Magpies - Jason Taylor

Wests Tigers - For some reason the only thing that springs to mind is Herbal World...

Souths - my dad, 1999 rally and booting. 01 re instatement. Greg bird knees a guy in th head
Shane Marteene. The only way his name will go up in history books.

Warriors - 02 Prelim Final and Grand final. 03 semi with canberra
Good game too, how that Raiders side went out was crushing, a great side that year.

Newcastle - Johns. 97 GF. 02 64-14 game
Kimmorley with a million points..

Ghoulies

NORTH QUEENSLAND COWBOYS: Their home semi in 2004 against us.

BRISBANE BRONCOS: Friday night football.

GOLD COAST TITANS: Their 2 extra time losses to the Broncos.

NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS: Andrew Johns.

MANLY-WARRINGAH SEA EAGLES: A poorly lit stadium.

SYDNEY ROOSTERS: A Fittler cutout pass.

SOUTH SYDNEY RABBITOHS: Craig Wing's solo try from ages ago, before he switched to the Roosters.

ST GEORGE ILLAWARRA: Horribly self righteous fans.

CRONULLA SUTHERLAND SHARKS: A David Peachey kick return.

CANBERRA RAIDERS: Their fans on this forum...

MELBOURNE STORM: Cheats. Liars.

WARRIORS: The beating drums that randomly play at their games.

WESTS TIGERS: Marshall and Princes old combination.

CANTERBURY BANKSTOWN BULLDOGS: Our big home games against them.

PARRAMATTA EELS: Their old jersey from the 80s worn by drunk Parra fans at Brisbane home games.

PENRITH PANTHERS: Luke Priddis' grand final performance in 2003.

Brisbane: Winning
Gold Coast: Surfie Bogan fans
Melbourne: Dirty cheating the gum stuck to my shoe scum of a club who treat their own fans like sh*t
Dragons: Ricky Walford chasing down Steve Renouf in the 92 GF and failing. worst ground ive ever been to, WIN Stadium
Penrith- Heroic Grand Final efforts
Souths- LOL failure.

Packy

NORTH QUEENSLAND COWBOYS: Fans with no teeth
BRISBANE BRONCOS: Courier Mail.. seems like it's a club mag up here.
GOLD COAST TITANS: bad tattoos.
NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS: Johns.
MANLY-WARRINGAH SEA EAGLES: That add with Parra for Tooheys.
SYDNEY ROOSTERS: Yuppies
SOUTH SYDNEY RABBITOHS: institutionalized failure.
ST GEORGE ILLAWARRA: Fans. The ones I've me IRL are great.. online.. not so much.. Illawarra remind me of midweek games for some reason.
CRONULLA SUTHERLAND SHARKS: The stadium.
CANBERRA RAIDERS: Cold night games.
MELBOURNE STORM: Poor stadiums, miserable weather and crowds
WARRIORS: Confusion. So much potential.. so little in results.
WESTS TIGERS: That GF.. and only that. They come accross bland.
CANTERBURY BANKSTOWN BULLDOGS: My Grandfather.
PARRAMATTA EELS: Slime.
PENRITH PANTHERS: Brown town

eels bloke

NORTH QUEENSLAND COWBOYS: Their home semi in 2004 against us.

BRISBANE BRONCOS: Friday night football.

GOLD COAST TITANS: Their 2 extra time losses to the Broncos.

NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS: Andrew Johns.

MANLY-WARRINGAH SEA EAGLES: A poorly lit stadium.

SYDNEY ROOSTERS: A Fittler cutout pass.

SOUTH SYDNEY RABBITOHS: Craig Wing's solo try from ages ago, before he switched to the Roosters.

ST GEORGE ILLAWARRA: Horribly self righteous fans.

CRONULLA SUTHERLAND SHARKS: A David Peachey kick return.

CANBERRA RAIDERS: Their fans on this forum...

MELBOURNE STORM: Cheats. Liars.

WARRIORS: The beating drums that randomly play at their games.

WESTS TIGERS: Marshall and Princes old combination.

CANTERBURY BANKSTOWN BULLDOGS: Our big home games against them.

PARRAMATTA EELS: Their old jersey from the 80s worn by drunk Parra fans at Brisbane home games.

PENRITH PANTHERS: Luke Priddis' grand final performance in 2003.

;-)

Someone

Being an eels fan....i mostly remember games when i think of other teams.

NORTH QUEENSLAND COWBOYS: 2005 preliminary final. listened to it on the radio and cried...

BRISBANE BRONCOS: 28-14 win in 2005 last round. i was at the stadium.

GOLD COAST TITANS: Same colours as eels.....basically.

NEWCASTLE KNIGHTS: 2001. oh the pain.

MANLY-WARRINGAH SEA EAGLES: Jamie Lyon the overrated whore.

SYDNEY ROOSTERS: domination of the comp from 2002-2004.

SOUTH SYDNEY RABBITOHS: easy beats...

ST GEORGE ILLAWARRA: alot to pick from here, id have to say a toss up between last years first round final game, when eels won 25-12. Haynes try was amazing. Another one that comes to mind is 2006, final score 8-1.....

CRONULLA SUTHERLAND SHARKS: 74-4.

CANBERRA RAIDERS: Cold games in canberra.

MELBOURNE STORM: cheats. liars. last years grand final.

WARRIORS: Mateo and inu.

WESTS TIGERS: 2005 gf. eels should have won that.

CANTERBURY BANKSTOWN BULLDOGS: scandals. also another 2005 game comes to mind. eels won 54-4, and piggy riddell did his dance.

PARRAMATTA EELS: My team.

PENRITH PANTHERS: 2003 GF. sattlers tackle. thier last try.

Brisbane Broncos:powers beer

Canberra Raiders- Furners

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs -Belmore - dry ice

Cronulla Sharks - Sorensons

Gold Coast Titans -wacky mascot capt chardger

Manly Sea Eagles - Greg hartley

Melbourne Storm - The dog that king hit buckets

Newcastle Knights -Sam the prop foget his last name - kiwi bloke

North Queensland Cowboys:

Parramatta Eels:Brett Kenny & Graham Olling

Penrith Panthers:Vertical striped soccer jerseys

St. George Illawarra Dragons: Mickey lane

South Sydney Rabbitohs: Terry fahey

Sydney Roosters: Fairfax

Warriors: Big

West Tigers: Skando

Shire Panther

Brisbane Broncos- the benchmark

Canberra Raiders- Brett Mullins miracle try, snow

Canterbury-Bankstown Bulldogs - Riot Squad

Cronulla Sharks - Bleak, i feel for their supporters

Gold Coast Titans - Rip off stadium

Manly Sea Eagles - 40-0

Melbourne Storm - My brother's team

Newcastle Knights - Andew Johns

North Queensland Cowboys: JT

Parramatta Eels: Hayne, Converting my fiancee' from Parra to Penrith

Penrith Panthers: My team

St. George Illawarra Dragons: Most painfull supporters in the comp. Win stadium the worst groud in Australia.

South Sydney Rabbitohs: Rusty Crowe

Sydney Roosters: Waste of time parasite club offer nothing to the game

Warriors: unpredictable

West Tigers: Benji flick