Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Qlds 18th man....

BDH

I'm as Maroon as they come and even I can't justify why T'eo has been named as the 18th man.......... you are fighting a losing battle lads.

I'm not arguing the Te'O whinge, I am kinda mystified by his decision as well. However, when people drag Hunt and co's name into the eligibility mix it really peeves me off.

I said it in another thread awhile ago, but obviously no NSWelshmen read it.

If a man moves to another country at a young age, and then spends his formulative years there (i.e. teenage years), I would kind of hope he chooses to represent his new country.

How would people like it if immigrants didn't assimilate into our culture? I mean, didn't a bunch of rednecks from Cronulla riot because of that very reason?

Yet here we have a footy player (I'll keep using Hunt as an example), who arrives in the country at 11 years of age (clearly his parents choice at that age), and chooses to represent that country (probably because all his friends are Australian and it's all he really knows...I mean think back to when you were an 11 year old and then when you were a 17 year old) and people sit behind their computers and claim he isn't Australian?

To me, that is not only prejudice, it's straight racist.

Hunt is a terrible example. The bloke has publicly admitted that whilst playing for Australia, he still supports the All Blacks and every other NZ nation side. By saying that his passion for playing for Australia is questionable. This same guy has deserted rugby league, for our main rival the AFL. So his dedication and passion for rugby league as a sport in general has to be questioned. I don't mind Hunt. He's being honest so be it, but he's obviously not passionate to NZ, Australia, QLD, or rugby league. So to bring up the term rascist because in this case makes no sense at all.

BDH

Racism may be a little far, however it is prejudice mate.

My reason for saying that is that, simply because a person is an immigrant, doesn't mean they can't be Australian and therefore represent Australia (and QLD).

It has only been the last 2 seasons that Hunt has shown the general public is more private side (and I too say good luck to him), however many people on here still claim he has no right to represent QLD or Australia.

It's almost like many Leagueunlimited.com posters don't consider Kiwis to have the same rights as other immigrants.:?

AuDragon

I think that as long as the person is an Australian Citizen, no matter where he was born, he should have the right to pledge his allegiance to whomever he chooses.

It would seem clear to me that a player will only give his best to where his heart and allegiance lies.
Inglis and Te'o both are eligible to play for Qld and chose the Maroons. It's the jersey they want to wear and the State they want to play, sweat and bleed for! Who are we to deny them?

Hunt on the other hand, proved he has no allegiance whatsoever, but for himself and his wallet...

Frank_Grimes

Hunt on the other hand, proved he has no allegiance whatsoever, but for himself and his wallet...

The QRL made him the player he is. He wanted to repay that. What is so hard to understand about that? If he wanted the cash, he could have taken the NZ jumper quite literally being thrown at him and made his name in the Kiwi side. Instead, he took the harder option in waiting for the QLD and AUS position to open up.

Your point is invalid.

Big Pete

I get the feeling Te'o is all about the money, AuDragon.

For starters in 2008 he got rid of his manager just so he didn't have to pay him 10% of his new contract with the Broncos.

He's now signed with a manager who's involved with Folau and also in the GC AFL bid.

And this may seem petty but when he was asked what would he rather, a million dollars or a million friends he went with the former citing he didn't need friends.

He's been in some great form and I'd hate to be too critical of the bloke, but to me he seems very driven by money, even more so than cutie who at least had the decency to knock back huge Sydney contracts when he first came onto the scene.

AuDragon

I probably did not make myself clear regarding Hunt.

I do believe he is a bit of a mercenary, but what he really thrives on is proving how good he is at anything thrown at him.
He knew he could play for NZ, where is heart supposedly lies...
If NZ was less important than his need to prove that he could play at the highest level with AUS and Qld, how important were they for him, except for his own benefit and ego?

And he's doing it all over again in Yawnion in France and will try it with AFL.

Whether Te'o is who Big Pete suspects or actually wants to play for Qld because that's the jersey he dreams of, remains to be seen. I believe in the latter, but could be proven wrong...

I can't see anything wrong with wanting better financial conditions, nor preferring a million dollars over a million friends really. As long as you don't have to step over a friend to get it!
Speaking for myself, I have enough good friends, but could do with a million dollars! :lol:

Racism may be a little far, however it is prejudice mate.

My reason for saying that is that, simply because a person is an immigrant, doesn't mean they can't be Australian and therefore represent Australia (and QLD).

It has only been the last 2 seasons that Hunt has shown the general public is more private side (and I too say good luck to him), however many people on here still claim he has no right to represent QLD or Australia.

It's almost like many Leagueunlimited.com posters don't consider Kiwis to have the same rights as other immigrants.:?

I don't think that's the case at all. Anyone criticising Hunt isn't saying he isn't really an Aussie so he shouldn't play for Australia, it's moreso the fact that he is playing for Australia for the wrong reasons. Hunt has publicly admitted a number on a number of occasions that he supports New Zealand over Australia in international sporting events, yet he's wearing a Kangaroo jersey as opposed to a kiwi one. Criticism of Hunt isn't about his race or anything like that, it's directed at what comes across as real lack of loyalty.

If he came out and said "I love Australia and my heart lies with the green and gold" he'd be embraced with open arms.

BDH

I don't think that's the case at all. Anyone criticising Hunt isn't saying he isn't really an Aussie so he shouldn't play for Australia, it's moreso the fact that he is playing for Australia for the wrong reasons. Hunt has publicly admitted a number on a number of occasions that he supports New Zealand over Australia in international sporting events, yet he's wearing a Kangaroo jersey as opposed to a kiwi one. Criticism of Hunt isn't about his race or anything like that, it's directed at what comes across as real lack of loyalty.

If he came out and said "I love Australia and my heart lies with the green and gold" he'd be embraced with open arms.

Firstly, the comments from NSWelshmen on this forum do NOT leand weight to the fact that he would be "welcome with open arms'. In fact for years, NSW supporters have claimed he's a kiwi not a QLDer, which is what my point was.

Secondly, please show me a link of where Hunt has said he backs NZ in international sport? He said he backs the All Blacks in Union, not all sport.

Firstly, the comments from NSWelshmen on this forum do NOT leand weight to the fact that he would be "welcome with open arms'. In fact for years, NSW supporters have claimed he's a kiwi not a QLDer, which is what my point was.

Secondly, please show me a link of where Hunt has said he backs NZ in international sport? He said he backs the All Blacks in Union, not all sport.

I can't speak for all NSWelshman only myself, and it wouldn't matter if he had moved to NSW and played for a Sydney side instead of the Broncos my opinion would be the same. I just don't think this is an issue of NSW v QLD in regards to Hunt's eligibility. There is no bitterness between NSW and QLD over this, moreso a questioning of which nation he would really want to play for. So you can take NSW and QLD out of the equation there. Hunt is more than welcome to play for QLD as long as he's eligble as far as i'm concerned, but I still debate his loyalty to the green and gold and that is all.

And shall try and find a link if I can, but overall he sems to be a bit disloyal in general given his defection to the AFL.

BDH

Oh....so it's more the fact that he gave his club 12 months notice before making his announcement he was going to play AFL?:roll:

I reckon you couldn't find another person, in any form of employment, who would have given that much notice to their employer....yet Hunt's "defection" to AFL still burn's NRL fans.:crazy:

Seriously, get over it. The NRL, Broncos, QLD SoO team and the Kangaroos have, when will LU??

He could have done a Gas or SBW, but instead he gives notice and people still want to cut him down:?:?

Seagullsrock

The Tigers have set kids like Te'o up at Keebra Park for donkeys' years. Whether he wants to play for NZ or Qld is up to him. He's chosen Qld so so be it. Don't know why this argument about what state blokes should be playing for has started again. Players have gone both ways for years.

Pierced Soul

I get the feeling Te'o is all about the money, AuDragon.

For starters in 2008 he got rid of his manager just so he didn't have to pay him 10% of his new contract with the Broncos..

wasnt this about him falling out with his manager? if i had a fallingout i wouldnt want to be paying the prick any extra money

And this may seem petty but when he was asked what would he rather, a million dollars or a million friends he went with the former citing he didn't need friends..

i dont want a million friends either, give me the money!

Packy

:lol::lol:

Say Ben Te'o turns away QLD, because he's passionate about playing for NZ.

NZ don't ever pick him for whatever reason for the rest of his career.

Then he's a passionate moron.

You don't understand the meaning of passion.

Shorty

I don't really see what a Blues' supporter has to do with this...
Considering there's been a number of situations, already mentioned, where it is similar.

The ARL needs to get it's sh*t together, you have a number of players now making financial decisions/glory decisions instead of loyalty ones.
It's hilarious to see people still defending Hunt even after he's wiped his *ss with the development and time people spent on him.
He was a Queenslander for strategy nothing more.

hutch

The Tigers have set kids like Te'o up at Keebra Park for donkeys' years. Whether he wants to play for NZ or Qld is up to him. He's chosen Qld so so be it. Don't know why this argument about what state blokes should be playing for has started again. Players have gone both ways for years.

he has played for samoa, he shouldnt be able to play for anybody else anyway, least of all qld and australia!

lockyno1

he has played for samoa, he shouldnt be able to play for anybody else anyway, least of all qld and australia!

Samoa is a minnow, let him actually get some achievements and the hights rep honour is State of Origin.

hutch

Samoa is a minnow, let him actually get some achievements and the hights rep honour is State of Origin.

the usual ignorant comment from you. he should not be allowed to switch to aus and origin, but our weak leadership dont have a clue how to run an international sport.

the highest rep honour is playing for your country! i guess he is not a true samoan then, he seems to whore himself to whoever looks like picking him. didnt make nz, so switched to samoa. now because he is playing ok, thinks he might play for qld and possibly australia even though their are half a dozen better qld backrowers who werent selected. the man has no loyalty, and should be forced to play for the country that he originally represented.

the usual ignorant comment from you. he should not be allowed to switch to aus and origin, but our weak leadership dont have a clue how to run an international sport.

the highest rep honour is playing for your country! i guess he is not a true samoan then, he seems to whore himself to whoever looks like picking him. didnt make nz, so switched to samoa. now because he is playing ok, thinks he might play for qld and possibly australia even though their are half a dozen better qld backrowers who werent selected. the man has no loyalty, and should be forced to play for the country that he originally represented.

Our weak leadership, to quote you, is not in charge of running an international sport. Their job is to run a successful and profitable domestic competiton. If they spend time and cash promoting rugby league in other countries then good on em, but it shouldn't be expected. State of origin shall be the pinnacle of rugby league in Australia until the lesser nations catch up with is. It's not the NRL's job to hand out cash prizes to help out lesser nations improve the game.