Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Qlds 18th man....

Lambretta

Alright then it will have to be renamed State of Choice. International eligibility will have to be changed as well. A player can play for simply whatever country he wants. Anyway, NSW gets Burgess and Ellis, that's for sure.

More f**king back rowers. Just what we need.

Give em to Queensland and let us have Cooper Cronk. His dad lives in Bondi.

(that's why Cronk was picked for QLD btw. To let him know he was in the frame for QLD Origin and not CHOOSE NSW. We might make jokes about Queenslanders and that sunshine, but they're a f**k load smarter than we are)

ANTiLAG

Why are you a former Qld fan Iafaeta?

I read on here it was because Qld had selected Teo. You were incredibly angry.

Why would you be angry if a guy who is not good enough to play for your country chose to play for the state you support unless you thought it was a loss to the Kiwis? Clearly you think NZ loses out on players due to origin.

Lambretta

As a former Queensland fan, I can safely tell you that New Zealand didn't miss out. Ben Te'o is comfortably behind a number of more consistent back rowers in terms of New Zealand ranks. There is no way known to man he would have been for instance even 18th man in that last test match, despite a number of injuries. If anything, it kinda dispells the whole myth that Origin sides could have a number of teams and still beat international sides because the selection of Te'o is kind of scraping the barrel a bit.

Actually, Ben T'eo is absolutely killing it atm and Queensland can spot an emerging talent faster than you can say "poach more players".

T'eo will be one of the gun 2nd rowers in the comp within 3 years. Take that to the bank. New Zealand are being well and truly dudded if he chooses Queensland.

Lambretta

Its because he likes underdogs and thats the last thing on the planet Queensland have been in 3 years.

It does piss Queensland off that they're no longer underdogs and their pathetic insistence that they are the underdog before each Origin is laughable at best.

QLD eligibility is a joke.

Also, players should be allowed to play Origin and not play for Australia, if they grew up in NSW or QLD but have heritage other than Australian.

Joker's Wild

Because it leaves the door wide open fo other young Kiwis to do the same

Iafaeta is well within his rights to be pissed off for that reason alone

Your "State of Choice" concept would lead down the path of states competing for players mate. It would just come down to a matter of who selected a player 1st as the rep match payments would decide which state a player chose, not who they really wanted to play for. Stop being so naive, the rules need to be clear cut and unrelenting.

Greenbits

More f**king back rowers. Just what we need.

Give em to Queensland and let us have Cooper Cronk. His dad lives in Bondi.

(that's why Cronk was picked for QLD btw. To let him know he was in the frame for QLD Origin and not CHOOSE NSW. We might make jokes about Queenslanders and that sunshine, but they're a f**k load smarter than we are)

I would consider it a discrace if Cronk represented NSW as he is clearly a QLDer. I guess thats the diffence between my and QLDs win at all costs philosophy.

Its no suprise that the Storm are a club founded by and built on an ethos of QLDers.

Serc

Te'o is technically eligible for QLD, as I believe he played for Keebra Park High (as did Benji) in the Arrive Alive Cup when he first moved to Australia.

(this competition is one of the two reasons why GI is a NSWelshman, but I won't go there)

While I think its silly, given his background, that he can be picked for QLD - technically it's correct.

ANTiLAG

Because it leaves the door wide open fo other young Kiwis to do the same

Iafaeta is well within his rights to be pissed off for that reason alone

Your "State of Choice" concept would lead down the path of states competing for players mate. It would just come down to a matter of who selected a player 1st as the rep match payments would decide which state a player chose, not who they really wanted to play for. Stop being so naive, the rules need to be clear cut and unrelenting.

Young kiwis doing the same - they have been and will continue to do so. I disagree with a rule that takes away players dreams. The governing boards have fetterred international footy unlike other codes from being the epitome. That leaves origin as the representative pinnacle.
More kiwis will follow Karmichael and Ben.

But why should somerule prevent this? Why should players not lvie their dream? its the same kind of rule that prevents Schwarznegger being president in the US. RIDICULOUS. If you can live with there, buy a house there, why can't you play there?!

As for the first match payments - you are very cynical indeed! You think players are that mercenary that they'll play for the state that gives them 13k first? I doubt players will sell their souls so cheaply. However, even if some do, there will still be a partisan core.

The rules are meant to be clear cut and unlrenting now - yet players are still choosing. Let them choose.

Iafeta

I read on here it was because Qld had selected Teo. You were incredibly angry.

Why would you be angry if a guy who is not good enough to play for your country chose to play for the state you support unless you thought it was a loss to the Kiwis? Clearly you think NZ loses out on players due to origin.

Principles. The principle of the matter was the shonky part of it. Try telling Scott Bolton he should miss out to Ben Te'o. The bloke is having a goodish season, but has been an absolute myth the past few seasons. To me, his selection cheapened what I always assumed Queensland was about. It seemed to me his selection was made more so to ensure he was available for the future which was cheap.

He simply is not Origin standard at the moment, let alone the farcical way he became available for it.

ANTiLAG

Actually Qld have a fairly good recent record of replacing injured players witht eh previous games 18th man, Iafeta.

Iafeta

Actually, Ben T'eo is absolutely killing it atm and Queensland can spot an emerging talent faster than you can say "poach more players".

T'eo will be one of the gun 2nd rowers in the comp within 3 years. Take that to the bank. New Zealand are being well and truly dudded if he chooses Queensland.

We're not dudded at all. He would not have been in the test team earlier this year. Back row is the last position New Zealand needs to worry about at the moment.

Its because he likes underdogs and thats the last thing on the planet Queensland have been in 3 years.

It does piss Queensland off that they're no longer underdogs and their pathetic insistence that they are the underdog before each Origin is laughable at best.

Nope. It has nothing to do with that at all. I thought I'd made that abundantly clear lately.

Greenbits

Young kiwis doing the same - they have been and will continue to do so. I disagree with a rule that takes away players dreams. The governing boards have fetterred international footy unlike other codes from being the epitome. That leaves origin as the representative pinnacle.
More kiwis will follow Karmichael and Ben.

But why should somerule prevent this? Why should players not lvie their dream? its the same kind of rule that prevents Schwarznegger being president in the US. RIDICULOUS. If you can live with there, buy a house there, why can't you play there?!

As for the first match payments - you are very cynical indeed! You think players are that mercenary that they'll play for the state that gives them 13k first? I doubt players will sell their souls so cheaply. However, even if some do, there will still be a partisan core.

The rules are meant to be clear cut and unlrenting now - yet players are still choosing. Let them choose.

Seriously look at what you are writing. I'm sure every young basketballer dreams of playing for the Dream Team at the Olympics. Does that mean that every NBA player should be eligible - cause you know, we shouldn't have rules that stop people achieving their dreams should we?

ANTiLAG

Seriously look at what you are writing. I'm sure every young basketballer dreams of playing for the Dream Team at the Olympics. Does that mean that every NBA player should be eligible - cause you know, we shouldn't have rules that stop people achieving their dreams should we?

Do they? How can you be so sure? I think they may dream of beating the dream team at the olympics if they are not US born themselves. But it is a disanalogy - because the dream team is the national team. Teo's dream is probably the same as Karmichael's - which was Origin which then dictated he had to be eligible for Australia. Same with Thorn. It was the allure of Origin which cost the Kiwis these players.

Greenbits - how do you explain Yao Ming playing in all star game but for China in the Olympics? Origin is more similar to the All Star Game than it is to the Olympics givien it is a domestic fixture representive of two segemnts within a nation. If you want to use all star game Basketball eligibility rules in origin- every kiwi would be into that! They could all do a Yao Ming. It would truly help the kiwis no end in retaining players. However, origin was developed to prevent having to represent the area you play in eg Beetson playing for NSW because he played for the Roosters. Clearly he would have chosen to represent Qld should he have been permitted.

However, your argument would mean the English cricket team could not select Keven Pieterson - in fact 4 of their top 6 in the last game were born in South Africa, some having played for Junior South Africa. So these people migrate - but cannot play for their new homeland. Very odd decision. Does not do anything for the person's liberty or acceptance into new country.

Here is the thing you may not realise about Teo (which makes him similar to Kevin Peiterson and not like Yao Ming) - he has moved to Australia and has left a country behind. Now because NZ is just across the ditch i am not advocating that kiwis in the NRL can no longer call themselves kiwis - but I am saying - not all of the ex kiwis still feel like NZ'ers. Some - perhaps even Teo; want to assimilate to their new country.

It is unfair to compare the Rugby League to other sporting codes. In stuff all international sports is the representative pinnacle a domestic series. Basketball has the olympics- most other sports have a world cup - but with League - it is origin.

Player choice is at least a hybrid that would work. But hey - if you want to allow kiwis into origin - by using a basketball system - kiwis will love that. Fool.

Greenbits

Hey idiots;

Te'O was born in SAMOA!
FMD, people should read before speaking aye. Here's the thread where this entire argument has been done before;

http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=360508

Are there even admins in the Interstate RL Forum?

Whos the idiot? He was born in NZ fool.

ANTiLAG said:
Do they? How can you be so sure? I think they may dream of beating the dream team at the olympics if they are not US born themselves.

Likewise, I would of thought a Kiwi growing up in NZ would dream of doing th ehaka for his nation.

Mate, you make some good arguments, but I don't thik we'll ever see eye to eye on this. I think your take is that these guys want to play SOO so let them. I don't personally think they want to play for QLD (do you?), rather just SOO. To do so they have to declare allegience to Aus which weakens the international game. Maybe its time to reintroduce the tri-series and give the kiwis a go.

I think this whole thing goes against the spirit in which SOO was started. If the tables were reveresed, I wouldn't want him to play for NSW. Likewise, I'd be embarressed if my team kept trotting out Inglis.

ANTiLAG

Likewise, I would of thought a Kiwi growing up in NZ would dream of doing th ehaka for his nation.

One would think. Brad Thorn certainly did for Rugby - but for League his dream was origin. Because international league is subordinate as the representative pinnacle to Origin it causes distorted dreams for players I am sure.

Mate, you make some good arguments, but I don't thik we'll ever see eye to eye on this. I think your take is that these guys want to play SOO so let them.
Yes, that is my take.

I don't personally think they want to play for QLD (do you?), rather just SOO.

I do think they want to play for the state they have had either more exposure too or clearly love more influences their decision. For instance - Benji before deciding on NZ stated he would have chosen Qld in origin which is clearly reflective of his schooling there and Sonny Bill would have chosen NSW given it was Sydney he moved to after leaving NZ. Teo was at Tigers previously but clearly his decision shows he loves Qld more than NSW. You may argue he'd never be selected for NSW - but someone else in this thread believes in a couple of year Teo will be the form forward of the NRL. I think it is reflective of Teo really enjoying his time at the Broncos and feeling at home there, where he did not at the Tigers or Warriors to be honest.

To do so they have to declare allegience to Aus which weakens the international game. Maybe its time to reintroduce the tri-series and give the kiwis a go.

Hah! Maybe. But I doubt the games admin will risk altering a formula that is clearly working at the moment for them. Origin as it stands generates mass revenue. They aint going to tinker with that goose.

However - it would be a fair recognition of the Kiwis in the NRL to bring in a tri series but clubs would hate an extended rep season. It should not be called the "NZ team" if it were to happen - because it should not allow ESL players - who could be available for tests. But even given the qualifier I think it may further harm the international games development.

I think this whole thing goes against the spirit in which SOO was started. If the tables were reveresed, I wouldn't want him to play for NSW. Likewise, I'd be embarressed if my team kept trotting out Inglis.

Mate, we're proud to love Greg - no embarrassment at all. The spirit or essence of Origin was to allow players to play for the state they loved - instead of arbitrary rules dictating they had to play for the state they played in at the time. The Gi, Teo, Thorn, K Hunt sitautions are well within the spirit even if GI is not within the black letter rule.

Greenbits

I do think they want to play for the state they have had either more exposure too or clearly love more influences their decision.
So where does this leave the much hyped QLD passion when a Kiwi pulls on a QLD jumper cause he spent a year at the Goldie and got pissed and scored a few roots - tops mate.

ANTiLAG said:
Hah! Maybe. But I doubt the games admin will risk altering a formula that is clearly working at the moment for them. Origin as it stands generates mass revenue. They aint going to tinker with that goose.

However - it would be a fair recognition of the Kiwis in the NRL to bring in a tri series but clubs would hate an extended rep season. It should not be called the "NZ team" if it were to happen - because it should not allow ESL players - who could be available for tests. But even given the qualifier I think it may further harm the international games development.

For the record, I don't hink it will ever change and I'm not sure I'd want it to. But if its so important to allow Kiwis in on origin action, I think its the only way to go. Allowing people who are clearly Kiwis play for QLD or NSW just cheans origin IMO

ANTiLAG said:
Mate, we're proud to love Greg - no embarrassment at all. The spirit or essence of Origin was to allow players to play for the state they loved - instead of arbitrary rules dictating they had to play for the state they played in at the time. The Gi, Teo, Thorn, K Hunt sitautions are well within the spirit even if GI is not within the black letter rule.

Is there any evidence chose QLD over NSW. My reading in the media is that he genuinely thought he was supposed to play for them and QLD officials did nothing to correct his view. Of course he is loving now, who wouldn't after belting the opposition for four years straight. Action should have been taken to correct this mistake when it came to light IMO - its State of Origin, not State of Mild Infatuation. I've got no problems with Thorn or Hunt. Te'o is dodgy and GI is outright discraceful.

ANTiLAG

So where does this leave the much hyped QLD passion when a Kiwi pulls on a QLD jumper cause he spent a year at the Goldie and got pissed and scored a few roots - tops mate.

When he pulls on that Qld jumper he feels proud and part of a history that he clearly wants to be involved with. Mal I am sure tells him the significance of the act.

For the record, I don't hink it will ever change and I'm not sure I'd want it to. But if its so important to allow Kiwis in on origin action, I think its the only way to go. Allowing people who are clearly Kiwis play for QLD or NSW just cheans origin IMO

When they live in Aussie are they clearly still Kiwis? Surely its their choice to determine whether they are now Kiwis or Qlders. Teo is living in Qld now is he not?

Is there any evidence chose QLD over NSW. My reading in the media is that he genuinely thought he was supposed to play for them and QLD officials did nothing to correct his view. Of course he is loving now, who wouldn't after belting the opposition for four years straight. Action should have been taken to correct this mistake when it came to light IMO - its State of Origin, not State of Mild Infatuation. I've got no problems with Thorn or Hunt. Te'o is dodgy and GI is outright discraceful.

GI knew what he was doing. He may claim innocence - but he aint colour blind. I'm sure he could tell the difference between a Maroon and a Blue jumper. He made his choice. Maybe that is the problem with NSW - they are not infactuated with the state and the interstate game. Just playing because they have to per Lyon. HAH! Action was not taken over GI - and now it is too late. But it would have been ridiculous - he wanted to play with the boys in Maroon at that stage - why force him to play for a team he does not want to play for?

I guess metephorically the GI situation to NSW is like a girl dumping you for another guy. You think but she's mine and the rejection is hard to swallow. Then mum tells you everything will be alright and no point in crying over spilt milk. Just suck it up and theres plenty more fish in the sea. Then you see her in the club looking damn fine and she still a better catch than what you've got now as she palms your current girl friend in the face and scores under the crossbar, and you think - I should not have let her go. But you didn't let her go - she dumped you and crying will not get her back or make her current boy friend dump her.