Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

STORM - Players about to hit Point Break

pk76

Interesting OP.

I was at the game and the atmosphere was unreal! Our numbers were down due to weather but the intensity generated by the fans was so high. Of course, we gave the Storm what they deserved. There was bloodlust in the air.

However, as you stated, I think one or two Storm players may finally snap especially with the prolonged, intense jeering from the opposition fans.

I cant wait till they come up against a team that also cannot make the 8 and they give as good as the Storm are getting away with. Maybe Warriors in Auckland

i have mentioned it to a lot of people that once origin is over and some of the storm top players realise that the season is now as good as over the sh*t could hit the fan, glad we don't have to play them again. They could just go and take out say Jamie Soward with a cheap shot, break his jaw and end his season and dent the dragons premiership chances. So what if they get suspended for 4 weeks, just go on a holiday.

woodley_11

I think the problem with their club was entirely in the board room, nothing to do with the players, so I can appreciate their players going out to try and play good footy regardless of whether or not they can win the comp, hopefully it keeps producing games like the one tonight. However in Smith's exchange with Archer it sounded a lot like he was feeling sorry for himself, and in his last conversion attempt he hit it right footed as opposed to his usual left foot kick just to rub in the fact that it is becoming a joke for the players. I hope post-origin it doesn't end up as playing for cheap shots like Brett White's off the ball hit on Fui.

I went to the Parra v Storm game tonight, as an independant observer invited to a box, no dramas, expecting a great game. Yeah, I got plenty of entertainment, actually really enjoyed the match.

However something I'm seeing when I watch the Storm is concerning me. I saw a bit of it in the Canberra vs Storm match and it looked to be really bubbling over tonight, that along with the heap of many dumb low percentage plays that the Storm were experimenting with.

The Parramatta crowd (all 7000 of them) were absolutely giving it to the Storm players, massive united crowd calls of CHEATS CHEATS (which fans are entitled to do), the fans were also hanging over the fence going bananas at the Melbourne bench, the pointing and berating of one fingered salutes at Bellamy in his glass coaching box. And you could see the Storm players were soaking it in big time. It's affecting them.

I've just got home, started watching the replay and you can hear it in Cameron Smiths voice, "Mate we've got nothing to play for, we can't win anything this year", and that's just it. It is starting to get dangerous. What is going to happen when the Origin Series is finished? How much crazy retaliation are the Storm players going to dish out then?

I've tried to imagine going to work every day knowing I was working for an absolutely wasted year. What my state of mind would be by the half way point... this could get really bad. I'm not sure the NRL are fully aware of the consequences of their decision making.

I reckon the Storm players are beginning to get close to breaking point, and that's my point. Yeah it's all fun playing touch footy at training because the seasons over. But when the players are in the game, in a real grinding arm wrestle and it hits the 50th minute and BANG the reality hits them... this is for nothing. The emotion could get really crazy. Adam Blair and Brett White are big enough and loose enough to cause some real carnage.

It's gripping viewing, I can't wait to see how this all plays out.

I see what you're saying, but I think probably the dumbest moment of the game came from Hayne. So their trying to get under opposition's skins may just not work - who knows?

Big Pete

Honestly, I don't think anything too bad will happen.

Fans will be fans, rowdy and doing anything to give their side the advantage.

Storm players will play football, they'll probably take more risks than usual which should make for more entertaining clashes.

And Smith will continue being a smart arse to referees. Last night's exchange with Archer isn't the first time Smith has caught the ire of commentators, who remembers the 'What's a grapple tackle' question last year?

In the end, things will basically be where they should be.

langpark

Stupid decision by the NRL re; the points. Start them on minus 15 (for example) so they can at least aim to not finish wooden spooners or something.

I went to the Parra v Storm game tonight, as an independant observer invited to a box, no dramas, expecting a great game. Yeah, I got plenty of entertainment, actually really enjoyed the match.

However something I'm seeing when I watch the Storm is concerning me. I saw a bit of it in the Canberra vs Storm match and it looked to be really bubbling over tonight, that along with the heap of many dumb low percentage plays that the Storm were experimenting with.

The Parramatta crowd (all 7000 of them) were absolutely giving it to the Storm players, massive united crowd calls of CHEATS CHEATS (which fans are entitled to do), the fans were also hanging over the fence going bananas at the Melbourne bench, the pointing and berating of one fingered salutes at Bellamy in his glass coaching box. And you could see the Storm players were soaking it in big time. It's affecting them.

I've just got home, started watching the replay and you can hear it in Cameron Smiths voice, "Mate we've got nothing to play for, we can't win anything this year", and that's just it. It is starting to get dangerous. What is going to happen when the Origin Series is finished? How much crazy retaliation are the Storm players going to dish out then?

I've tried to imagine going to work every day knowing I was working for an absolutely wasted year. What my state of mind would be by the half way point... this could get really bad. I'm not sure the NRL are fully aware of the consequences of their decision making.

I reckon the Storm players are beginning to get close to breaking point, and that's my point. Yeah it's all fun playing touch footy at training because the seasons over. But when the players are in the game, in a real grinding arm wrestle and it hits the 50th minute and BANG the reality hits them... this is for nothing. The emotion could get really crazy. Adam Blair and Brett White are big enough and loose enough to cause some real carnage.

Some good points but I think you are overanalysing this...they still have reputations, form and potential rep selection to play for and IMO they will become even stronger out of this.

It is up to the ref to control any niggle, not the players and the players are professional enough to cop any fan abuse.

Inferno

I wouldn't worry about White, he can't hit anyone unless someone else is holding them back.

kickback

once Origin is over it will be interresting, they wont care if they get 6 weeks on the sideline for snapping some smart ass

simostorm

haha.. the players dont give a stuff about what is said about them..
specially not from the bogan Parra fans..

You must be a sooky little twat to think sledging, upsets players..
specially professional sports athletes..

cleary89

haha.. the players dont give a stuff about what is said about them..
specially not from the bogan Parra fans..

You must be a sooky little twat to think sledging, upsets players..
specially professional sports athletes..

lol

Stormsally

I was at the Canberra game and the niggle was more from the Canberra players getting frustrated and I suspect more frustrated because of the betten by an 'over the cap' team. At Parra, White and Moi Moi targetted each over all night - Moi Moi walked off with a laugh as he took the free interchange. Haynes and Slater were also at each other all night - Haynes started it and Billy didn't let it go. If there is any danger of Storm getting in the biff is that the have no reason to back down - but then both Haynes and Slater had SOO selection on the line at last nights game and it didn't seem to make a difference.

The players were expecting a hostile crowd at Parra - but maybe more than 7,000 hostiles ;-)

icewind

i suppose if it starts getting that bad after origin, perhaps code of conduct breaches or "unbecoming conduct detrimental to the game" sort of charges might be applied, with substantial fines on top of suspensions. That might settle things down.

You think 7000 at Parra is hostile?

Wait till the merkins run out in front of 18 or 19000 at Leichhardt