Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Tahu, jealous over Scott's selection for NSW?

Cagey Mac

Times have changed , Kingswood Country was a great show as were many others back in those days.

Can anyone explain why the NSW selected chose to replace Tahu with a "white" person in Monahan when they could have picked Merritt or Jennings and prove that they (the selectors) weren't racist as well ?

And why was Tahu the only indigenous player with enough courage to take a stance ?
I think it's a size thing but I'd love to see Merritt get a go sometime. Monaghan has done the job in the past but his form is doubtful. Jennings defence, whilst improving is still yet to be proven. Love to see him get a go in O3 when we play them prior to the game

If you've been downtrodden for countless generations it's hard to raise your head and it takes a brave person to do so. It's easy to speak up anonymously but face to face against an immortal (could have been!) many would not want to be seen as a trouble-maker

Why did you need to quote me twice for. didnt you read the whole thing before the first post.

Your argument is CRAP. Tahu did the right thing. NSW was crying for someone to be MAN ENOUGH to step out and fight against what goes on in the origin camp. Maybe this will bring the change we needed.

Johns has brought the game down before. Best player tag should be taken off him and he should be taken away from the game for good. The game is just about to get a MASSIVE shake up from the ABC Four Corners program. It could possibly bring the game down to some really low levels. We dont need sh*t like this happening every week. Johns is someone who WAS respected amoung his peers and and the game itself. He needs to be made accountable for his actions.

I hope this thread stays open so everyone can see how stupid it is. I have been called every racist comment under the sun. (im Australian/lebanese). I never keep my mouth shut to any of it. I will fight back everytime. If your to chicken to do so then thats your problem.

Let me ask you this, If you were Tahu and Johns made some racist comment about Lebo's? What would YOU do have a cry-leave the team, or go up to Johns and confront him about and put it on him?

MightyRedV04

I think it's a size thing but I'd love to see Merritt get a go sometime. Monaghan has done the job in the past but his form is doubtful. Jennings defence, whilst improving is still yet to be proven. Love to see him get a go in O3 when we play them prior to the game

If you've been downtrodden for countless generations it's hard to raise your head and it takes a brave person to do so. It's easy to speak up anonymously but face to face against an immortal (could have been!) many would not want to be seen as a trouble-maker

I would have put Jennings on the wing for his size and ability, with Beau just inside him I don't think his defence is as important. Merritt for his speed and ability to kick goals would have been my second option.

I understand its hard to raise your head and speak up against a majority, but now that Tahu has it all seems a bit mute that no one has backed him up , he is out there still doing it on his own and he should have the full support from all the other indigenous players, something which doesnt seem to be happening now.

I feel Tahu is a lone fighter against racism when others should be supporting him.

Ive now heard Johns has been sacked from his coaching role at Parra as well. And the Immortals have said they won't accept him into their exclusive club.

Drew-Sta

Let me ask you this, If you were Tahu and Johns made some racist comment about Lebo's? What would YOU do have a cry-leave the team, or go up to Johns and confront him about and put it on him?

Maybe Tahu did, and Johns was unrepentant?

You keep thinking that there is only one way to deal with this situation. Tahu made a decision based on what he felt would generate the required change. And guess what - It looks like it is garnering the right attention to achieve a change.

Cooper-Man

Maybe Tahu did, and Johns was unrepentant?

You keep thinking that there is only one way to deal with this situation. Tahu made a decision based on what he felt would generate the required change. And guess what - It looks like it is garnering the right attention to achieve a change.

Well said Drew. This bloke will not change his perception that tahu is a sook so I wont reply to HIS comment.

As for four courners, they are doing a MASSIVE story on the salary cap and it is believed that this story is so big it will almost destroy the game AGAIN. It is also believed that the TITANS will be their main focus and they will name and shame another team. (not us)

petetheileet

Racism cant be tolerated and is a serious issue in our game...

however Tahu is a sook,

draw whichever conclusion u like!

Drew-Sta

Well said Drew. This bloke will not change his perception that tahu is a sook so I wont reply to HIS comment.

As for four courners, they are doing a MASSIVE story on the salary cap and it is believed that this story is so big it will almost destroy the game AGAIN. It is also believed that the TITANS will be their main focus and they will name and shame another team. (not us)

f**k.

Here we go again.

Will Rugby League ever cop a break?! Honestly, I'd suggest the game keeps shooting itself in the foot but there's nothing left except a bloody stump as it appears we're now working our way up the leg...

Ulysseus

f**k Tahu.
BTW, I don't think what Johns said is right in any way shape or form, but it seems as if Tahu didn't want to be there anyway.

From the left of field, since he has ruled himself out of a rep side, I imagine this makes him ineligble to play in Parras next game?

Cagey Mac

I wasn't entirely sympathetic to Tahu's position until I heard him on radio last night. I almost switched stations before I heard what he had to say regarding his reasons for doing what he did. He is neither sook nor deserving of any denigration whatsoever. Nobody called him anything, he gave up what is it? 16K for the game and incurred the wrath of many in order to bring attention to an unacceptable attitude. Tahu is a brave man and from what I can gather a loyal friend. We would all benefit from friends who would take a stance on our behalf, especially against the anachronistic views of a boofhead like Johns.

Oh and as a PS he even offered to tell the media it was a hamstring problem in order to mitigate damage to the Blues and the NRL

Cagey Mac

f**k.

Here we go again.

Will Rugby League ever cop a break?! Honestly, I'd suggest the game keeps shooting itself in the foot but there's nothing left except a bloody stump as it appears we're now working our way up the leg...

Chill dude!
The Socceroos are losing 4 zip
The AFL is paying millions for kids who can't play the game
The Wannabees can't draw a crowd and Yawnion is turning into Stilnox or a whistle sonata for the excitemently challenged
We're doin' fine, just ride out the storm, ignore the Telecrap and keep watching the footy

nah he's done the right thing.

this kills joey johns on tv and most likely in many coaching jobs.

i for one wll be glad of see the back of him.

TheRev

Before i go into the title, let me start by saying my opinion on the way Tahu has reacted to Johns "racist" comments; I believe Tahu has acted like a cry-baby, complete over-reaction just because he wants to have a big sook he has now put the blues preparation at stake and almost certainly ruined their chances to win tomorrow night... I know your all saying racism is a serious issue, it's a very serious issue, If he was a man he would have gone up to Johns and sorted it out privately as opposed to making it public, because no one apart from QLD will benefit now...

Another point which adds fuel to the fire, was lisening to John Gibbs on 2UE yesterday, he was reading out a liseners email who claims all this fuss over Johns "racist" comments is just a scapegoat, apparently Tahu was just pissed off he had to move to the wing to accomidate Beau Scott in the centres? - I know that point isnt actual fact, what i heard from the radio... please don't delete lol

thoughts guys?

The OP copped some flack for this thread, but you 100% nailed what I feel has happened.

1) When you throw away your origin career and put the team you supposedly love in jeopardy, its not because your life-long mate just made a mildly offensive racist slur (these guys are footballers, you think their conversations are all politically correct?).

2) Now that Tahu has had time to think about what he did, he (or his lawyer/family) is coming up with these wonderful theories of how he 'did it for the game' and he 'took a stand', its rubbish, the racism thing is a cover up for some other issue Tahu has going on (whether its losing his centre spot, or something else I dont know).

The OP copped some flack for this thread, but you 100% nailed what I feel has happened.

1) When you throw away your origin career and put the team you supposedly love in jeopardy, its not because your life-long mate just made a mildly offensive racist slur (these guys are footballers, you think their conversations are all politically correct?).

2) Now that Tahu has had time to think about what he did, he (or his lawyer/family) is coming up with these wonderful theories of how he 'did it for the game' and he 'took a stand', its rubbish, the racism thing is a cover up for some other issue Tahu has going on (whether its losing his centre spot, or something else I dont know).

Finally someone on this forum that can see where i'm coming from!
I was copping flogging there lol

Drew-Sta

Err, where's your proof of this? Or do you just like to wildly claim conspiracy when you have no evidence?

TheRev said:

Spartan - Dragon said:
Finally someone on this forum that can see where i'm coming from!
lol. It's all a cover up. Coming from people who would like it to be covered up.

I'm keen to see this proof from the conspiracy theorists that Tahu quit due to mysterious reasons.

What other reasons? Well apparently, for some, it's the first thing that pops into your head. Anything will do, as long we can brush racism aside as 'mildly offensive' and look upon it as the stuff of love.

TheRev and Spartan-Dragon, let's see the proof. Otherwise you're just making it up.

FMD, even Johns has come out and apologised for his racial slurs. Use a bit of logic lads.