Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

'10 | R22 | Sun | Roosters 12-19 Dragons | Sydney Cricket Ground

Result: Roosters v Dragons

Archer's 8 metres for us and 15 metres for Saints was the difference you can't get any go forward when the defenders are smothering you as first receiver gets the ball not to mention the 5 forward passes that go unpunished aswell. Not quite as good as his efforts on Anzac day or Round 1 by another solid game by Archer no less.

I wouldn't be surprised if that was Gaba booing Kane Linnett off injured.

TheFrog

What did you guys think of the first Roosters try? Reasonable or wtfHarrigan?

Depends how long his fingernails are. Very hard to tell. Benefit of a very very big doubt. Billy will always favour the Roosters in a call like this.

Roosterphin1

Roosters will continue to struggle with pearce at halfback, again he went missing against defensive sides.

was a good game though

Again today shows the difference between the defences in teams , attack wont beat good defence.

dragons are averaging 10 in defence

The other 7 teams who make the 8, have all the same defences are averaging over 20+

Which makes those teams more even, the teams who defend better will be more of a threat

Doesnt matter if the other teams in the 8 average over 20 points because the dragons attack is pedestrian at best. FFS you had heaps of ball and field position today and barely scraped home. Good attacking teams would have beat us by 30 today

Gaba

Doesnt matter if the other teams in the 8 average over 20 points because the dragons attack is pedestrian at best. FFS you had heaps of ball and field position today and barely scraped home. Good attacking teams would have beat us by 30 today
the dragons dont really need to go over board, they wont be beaten on for and against
The dragons were good enough to score enough points to win , thats all matters to them.

Roosters should be grateful the dragons arent concern that much in for and against otherwise they might have put thier foot down

redvscotty

On the Dragons, a typically excellent defensive effort saw them win the match. I still don't rate their attack and I don't think they do either. Watching a top team go for the penalty goal when they have the opposition on the back foot is simply frustrated.

Soward got what he deserved when his first one bounced off the posts. Gutless player imo. Do not rate him at all.

That said, well played Dragons. I only wish Sean Kenny Downs would learn how to pass. fkin idjit.

For doing what he's told?

You do realise he's not the captain right?

Red Bear

Funny game that one.

Saints the better side, held onto the ball, ran hard, did pretty well.

Roosters ball control was terrible.

But for the amount of ball Saints had, and the amount they had up at the Roosters tryline, they should've done better than they did. Combo of not great attack, and excellent defence. I though Soward was pretty bad today, apart from the dropgoal.

When the Roosters actually had the ball they looked far more dangerous than the Dragons did. Regularly looked like making breaks and scoring points. But dropping the ball 14 times, and alot of that seemed to be in their own half, meant they were never going to be able to be a consistent threat.

Those two errors near the end, Ryles dropping the ball after the chooks had scored and Kenny Dowell's dumb pass after making a break summed up the day for Easts.

Both sides have positives and stuff to work on. Obviously the Dragons having Weyman back was huge, he was man of match IMO today, and Gasnier looked the best he probably has. They looked alot more like the rolling momentum side of a few weeks ago today, but their attack was still poor.
Roosters defence was awesome. But you cant drop the ball 14 times and expect to win games. Work on the ball control and they'll also go deep into september

aussie7798

a poor defensive team would have allowed you to win

Knew the Saints would win... too many errors from the Roosters, they didn't deserve it.

Fingerbang

Bill Harrigan should never be allowed to video ref any Roosters games. He is on their payroll as a consultant. Conflict of interest much? Oh, and he is a cheat.

Jason Maher

Archer's 8 metres for us and 15 metres for Saints was the difference you can't get any go forward when the defenders are smothering you as first receiver gets the ball not to mention the 5 forward passes that go unpunished aswell. Not quite as good as his efforts on Anzac day or Round 1 by another solid game by Archer no less.

Congratulations. You win the award for best delusional sook by a Roosters fan.

j0nesy

The Roosters were lucky to score 12 in my opinion. They were awarded 6 points for a blatant dropped ball over the line, and scored off the back of a serious stroke of bad luck when Costigan played the ball thinking he was tackled after a huge bust up the middle.

eddy2

The Dragons defense is superb. No questioning it. And congratulations to them on the win, it was fully deserved. But even when the Roosters played woefully they nearly stole the game close to the pointy end.

The best thing about that game was the Roosters looked miles off their form with a tonne of errors where as the Dragons looked as if it was the best they could do. It'll take a good disciplined side with good defense and great attack but the dragons will get done again this year. There is no questioning it.

Dragon

Well no doubt the chooks choked.

5 wins in a row, far and away the form team of the comp, playing for a top 2 spot, huge occasion and massive crowd, finals type atmosphere.

Yep, had the saints been in the same position it would be called a choke of epic proportions.

Just sayin...

dice

5 wins in a row, far and away the form team of the comp, playing for a top 2 spot, huge occasion and massive crowd, finals type atmosphere.

Yep, had the saints been in the same position it would be called a choke of epic proportions.

Just sayin...

That is something Saints fans should be concerned about, not gloating about.

STG-Dragon

I wouldn't be surprised if that was Gaba booing Kane Linnett off injured.

Mate you need serious psychiatric treatment!

Tommy Smith

The main concern for the Dragons still has to be in the halves. Or more specifically Hornby at halfback. Don't get me wrong, he's a serviceable HB but does he along with Soward have it in them to take that next step up that they will inevitably require come finals time?

Because they still looked rather unorganised in attack at times and they probably won't spend what felt like half the match at times camped in the oppositions 20m zone come Prelim/GF time. Also neither of them can run the ball to save their lives which makes them rather predictable and easy to contain for quality teams at the top of their game.

They obviously couldn't take that next step up last year but they'll be hoping they can change that this year. But just looking at this list it would be easy to spot the odd one out:

2000 - Kevin Walters (Locky FB)
2001 - Andrew Johns
2002 - Craig Wing (Freddy 5/8)
2003 - Craig Gower
2004 - Brent Sherwin
2005 - Scott Prince
2006 - ok, a gumby in Shane Perry but again an all-time great truly running the show at 5/8
2007 - Cooper Cronk
2008 - Matt Orford
2009 - Cooper Cronk
2010 - Ben Hornby (no genius at 5/8 to help out)

Just sayin...

That's because your club in one guise or another, has a 30 year history of choking. Just a little white truth.