Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Someone give Gallop a copy of the coverage of the AFL Grand Final...

Roosterphin1

and then get him to go and give it to David Gyngall at Channel 9 and tell him this is how it is done. No national nine news half an hour before the game FFS and heaps of build up to the big one.

AFL just do it so much better it isnt funny. Both in coverage and on ground stuff as well. Like how they announce all the players up to the stage

beads6

Why can AFL stick with tradition of having it on a Saturday afternoon but Rugby League can't stick with tradition of having it on a Sunday afternoon. The Sunday night thing does my head in

Someone tell David Gallop about last year's AFL grand final farce where they were so backwards they didn't even have extra time to get a result but had to replay it the following week. That's 'how it is done'?

eozsmiles

The AFL grand final coverage is ruined each year by the game they play in the middle of it.

my thoughts exactly, I took the opportunity to head to the mall, got parked up next to the door, haircut with no wait, no ques in the shops. Got to love shopping on AFL GF day in Perth!

Someone tell David Gallop about last year's AFL grand final farce where they were so backwards they didn't even have extra time to get a result but had to replay it the following week. That's 'how it is done'?

with all due respect, they sold the stadium out again, the added coverage and media attention... lets get real here, the AFL made out like f**king bandits on that thing... and perhaps that is how its done

GongPanther

and then get him to go and give it to David Gyngall at Channel 9 and tell him this is how it is done. No national nine news half an hour before the game FFS and heaps of build up to the big one.

AFL just do it so much better it isnt funny. Both in coverage and on ground stuff as well. Like how they announce all the players up to the stage

Gyngall's response would probably mirror Kerry Packer's verbal tirade towards a interviewer in regards to that 60 minutes show on Nein.

"INTERVIEWER: So there's been a bit of criticism of the 42 minute show on Sunday night.
KERRY PACKER: Really? Who's it been by, you?
INTERVIEWER: Me, among others.
KERRY PACKER: Well when you get a television station we'll take notice of what you say.
INTERVIEWER: Okay."

Fullscript of the 4 corners program from were this excerpt came from.

http://www.abc.net.au/4corners/content/2009/s2711781.htm

LazyDreamer

Speaking of 'how to do it' - who out of the AFL & ARL were the first to go for the 'big name' pre-match entertainment, and thus who then copied the other?

And we don't?

Tomorrow we have clubs from two countries playing. We will probably outrate them too, just in Australia, let alone overseas.

The only thing Gallop should be saying to Gyngell is this: "So how much are the TV rights for the biggest sport in Australia worth over what the AFL got?

As for the op - surely he had a lawn to mow this arvo.

God-King Dean

NRL coverage is fine.

He should be more concerned with how ridiculously superior the AFL Footy Show is the NRL's.

CC_Roosters

Well meatloaf was rubbish so lets not copy that. Club anthems on the field was a good idea even if the geelong song is very cheesey. Nothing special or out of oridinary i thought. The 10 crew who present seem more professional in their presentation which 9 could learn from.

juro

Was there some AFL on today? I haven't watched any all season. Why start now???