Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Will it be a poor 4 Nations?

Didgi

I'm one of a rare breed of rugby league optimists, but the naming of three significantly understrength squads has me worrying that it won't be the spectacle we're hoping for. All the discussion is around international musical chairs rather than the tournament itself, which doesn't bode well.

I'm certainly looking forward to the football, no doubts about that, and will enjoy it either way, but will the less passionate fans find the entertainment and standard of footy they're looking for? We'll have to wait and see.

Big Pete

Ah this ol' gem of a thread.

Pops up every year, and by the final everyone wants more footy.

They'll be fine, should be a great series.

Number 16

Once the Aussies are out of the way, England and New Zealand will serve up a quality final that will live long in the memory.

:crazy:

Poul

It may make it more competitive, with Australia not looking like overwhelming favourites, and maybe even the Poms could be half a chance.

I'm certainly looking forward to it :crazy:

ParraEelsNRL

Hell no, every tri and four nations outside the final where Australia smashed GB have been awesome.

Should be the same again and if it is, it'll be some of the best footy you could ever see.

Number 16

With only two or three exceptions, the Wales squad contains only fringe SL players and part-time tier two and three players.

It's not a strong squad and in all honesty it would probably struggle to beat Italy and Lebanon's selections for the WCQ.

ParraEelsNRL

Even when you see a team like the Kiwis murder the French like last time, it's still great footy from the Kiwis.

When teams are in the mood, you see some of the best tries and defence you could ever hope for.

WireMan

With only two or three exceptions, the Wales squad contains only fringe SL players and part-time tier two and three players.

It's not a strong squad and in all honesty it would probably struggle to beat Italy and Lebanon's selections for the WCQ.

Most of the England team come from mid table teams though. So it could be close.

ParraEelsNRL

What is it now, getting close to 100 years since wales beat Australia?

How long since they've had a win over NZ or England?

roughyedspud

LOL

Have some faith mate, I reckon England are going to give this 4 nations one hellava shake.

if we did'nt have McNamara as coach i'd be all over here saying we'd win it like i normally do...

but i have no faith in McNamara what so ever

we'll beat NZ though :lol:

ParraEelsNRL

if we did'nt have McNamara as coach i'd be all over here saying we'd win it like i normally do...

but i have no faith in McNamara what so ever

we'll beat NZ though :lol:

lol rough.

I reckon they'll be up to it in their ears mate, and it's not wishful thinking either.

roughyedspud

i'd imagine it would have been a near full strength england with it being world cup year too...i know jason robinson scored and garry schofield kicked 2