Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The upcoming Cowboys game

Fire

The only bad thing about the ANZAC game is we have to wait so long to see the boys go around again, so I thought we'd start talking about our next game to keep us busy.

In my opinion this is going to be a massive test because:

1. We haven't won away from home since Round 1.
2. The JT factor of course,
3. A lot of the Cowboy fowards will be looking to impress both QLD and NSW selectors.
4. We were very close to losing the ANZAC game (though I want to take nothing away from their great win).

So I think this game will really show where the boys are at. Hopefully the confidence they gained from the ANZAC clash will roll over into the coming weeks.

Interested to hear others thoughts.

Cheers.

The cowboys pack would have to be one of the toughest in the league. It'll be good to see where we stand as far as grunt up front

Saint69

Should be a good tough game and our defence will have to be spot on,our 17 could be something like this-

Morris
Nightingale
K/C Stanley
Cooper
Vidot
Soward
Hornby
Young
Creagh
Prior
Weyman
Rein
Hunt

Fien
Latimore
Merrin
De Belin or Miller

God-King Dean

Of all the teams in the comp, they are the team I have the most confidence of us beating. Thurston really struggles against our style of defence. And if you shut down Thurston, you've won the game.

I'll be very surpised/disappointed if we lose this game. It's a good chance to string some wins together.

Minh

This will be a good win if we can beat them, we can build some real momentum like the Broncos and Storm have done.

Fire

Finally a game I can attend.

Dragons rarely play up this way.

:thumb Mate live it up. Good to hear you're a Saints supporter and are looking forward to a game up there. Makes me appreciate the amount of Syd games there are. Enjoy!

p.s. A lot of good points on here. Agree with them all. Especially you God King Dean, I will keep a sharper eye on JT in this game, cheers.

Can't wait!

TheRev

Souths had them down 20-0 tonight before they fought back... why all our oppositions have a shocker the week before they play us, ill never know..

But anyway, expect them to not make the same mistake twice, they will come out hard this time.

64 Dragon

Should be a good tough game and our defence will have to be spot on,our 17 could be something like this-

Morris
Nightingale
K/C Stanley
Cooper
Vidot
Soward
Hornby
Young
Creagh
Prior
Weyman
Rein
Hunt

Fien
Latimore
Merrin
De Belin or Miller

No good! No second rowers in the centre spots. Oh Yeah Chase is a second rower!

2010Dragons

I watched the cowboys games last night and noticed that the bunnies attacked quickly and early which upset JT and the cowboys lost composure in the first half and just couldn"t strike back.
Note to price strike early and take JT out of the game.
Also Tariq Sims could be out next week.....happy days!

dragon-83

Watching the replay of last nights game the boys will really have to be on their game looks like our wingers an centres will get a lot of traffic coming their way.

Bring back choc

On last nights game we should lap the cowboys. They were bloody terrible.
Attitude is only thing that will beat us. We should have too much consistency and grit for cowgirls

Saint69

The game is up there and Matt Scott will probably be back from injury,not sure about Sims whether it was that bad it wasnt made a big deal of on the footy show this morning.Any side with Thurston,Bowen and Scott,Tamou and T Sims in the forwards will be a big challenge to play against and the Dragons will need to start well and keep the mistakes down a minimum.

Slippery Morris

Tough game but Saints if they play to their ability should win by heaps. These days without Bennet we are back to the unpredictable Saints of old where they will turn up and smash a side or play badly like they did against the Dogs and Broncos. If they start like they did those 2 games JT will carve us up and get to 20+ in the first half.

It's a long wait for the next game but a good rest for some of the players as they had 2-4 days to back up against the Roosters. They would have cherished the extra time off to freshen up for this game.

Elias1983

Of all the teams in the comp, they are the team I have the most confidence of us beating. Thurston really struggles against our style of defence. And if you shut down Thurston, you've won the game.

I'll be very surpised/disappointed if we lose this game. It's a good chance to string some wins together.

Agreed.

But the way to stop him is not to just try and make sure he is covered the whole time.

We need to limit his options. our forwards must dominate and cut down his time.

W.Smith

i was at the Souths/Cowboys game and wishing the Cows would play good so there is no bounce back factor at Townsville when we play them there coz im gonna be at the game as im going to Townsville for my birhtday getaway and it so happened that the Dragons are playing there too so the stars have aligned for me thusfar and now i would love a Dragons win !

Cows have a pretty average 1-3 record at home this year too which is also making me very hopeful of a good result :)

really pumped to watch the JT v Sowie matchup, two of my favourite players to watch

Minh

Our biggest game this year. Beat them and we build some serious momentum and consolidate our top 4 hopes. We have won only one away game so it would be good to have number two. we can put a gap on the Cowboys with the win. Go The Mighty Dragons!!!:cool:

God-King Dean

I see we play Penrith after this game. We beat Cowboys we should be a 4 game winning streak. We should beat Penrith, & I'll be pretty concerned if we don't.

Fire

We should beat Penrith

Agreed, but like Slippery was saying above, we're back to pre-Bennett days now (fortunately/unfortunately?), where we don't know which team is going to turn up.

We've just gotta take it one week at a time with the boys.

I'm happy with how we're going, nice and easy and not too much attention. We're only two points behind Cronulla and over in their forum those merkins are giggling and carrying on like a bunch of Korean school girls.