Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Kearney is not the problem

broncos2010

Kearney has tried really has, I think just looking at his press conferences he has just about given in and does not know what else to try.

The problem is in the squad and when you look at the 1-17 and you sit back no matter how much of hardcore eels fan you are and you say wow that is a really bad team no real strength area anywhere.

Guys like Hindy,Matiua,Burt,Smith,Poore,MoiMoi,Morgan,Keating,Roberts are all not NRL standard anymore at the level where you will be top 8 contenders and does not help when the NSW cup team is not even worth looking at.

Yes Kearney took a stab and recruited guys like Sandow and Tonga who both come with big reps and lets face it if you where in the same situation like he was last year you would have have tried to sign these 2 players as well if you had the chance.

Yes they have not worked out but at the start of the year I came in here and read about how all you guys are excited about Sandow and Tonga.

I think just give kearney a season or 2 more he needs to clear out so much dead wood that is stuck at eels at the moment it will take time as there is so much dead wood on the squad.

You have good youngsters coming through in the backs like sio and blair and decent 2nd rowers in paulo and ryan as well.

Also don't forget you have Hayne one of the best players in the game and you can always build a team around him for the next 3-4 years you guys will be top of the tree again if you guys can recruit some top class 2nd rowers.

f**k you we need a scapegoat. Preferably just one guy otherwise we will become confused at the complexity of the situation.

Tooooks

Kearney has tried really has, I think just looking at his press conferences he has just about given in and does not know what else to try.

The problem is in the squad and when you look at the 1-17 and you sit back no matter how much of hardcore eels fan you are and you say wow that is a really bad team no real strength area anywhere.

Guys like Hindy,Matiua,Burt,Smith,Poore,MoiMoi,Morgan,Keating,Roberts are all not NRL standard anymore at the level where you will be top 8 contenders and does not help when the NSW cup team is not even worth looking at.

Yes Kearney took a stab and recruited guys like Sandow and Tonga who both come with big reps and lets face it if you where in the same situation like he was last year you would have have tried to sign these 2 players as well if you had the chance.

Yes they have not worked out but at the start of the year I came in here and read about how all you guys are excited about Sandow and Tonga.

I think just give kearney a season or 2 more he needs to clear out so much dead wood that is stuck at eels at the moment it will take time as there is so much dead wood on the squad.

You have good youngsters coming through in the backs like sio and blair and decent 2nd rowers in paulo and ryan as well.

Also don't forget you have Hayne one of the best players in the game and you can always build a team around him for the next 3-4 years you guys will be top of the tree again if you guys can recruit some top class 2nd rowers.

I have no doubt that SK is trying his best, and despite where we ended last year, I was hopeful for this year because we were competitive in so many games last year, despite having the worst roster in the comp.

To be fair, we probably still have the worst roster, but even so, we've gone backwards. It's hard to imagine us going this badly if, for example, Des Hasler was our coach. Dead wood is a problem, but we can't attract any good players to replace that dead wood. This is the early to mid 90s all over again.

Next year, we'll have the weakest roster again, and I honestly can't see Hayne re-signing with us.

I've been on the fence about whether to persist with SK and I still don't know whether we should punt him now, or give him another year. His roster isn't going to be any better next year, so it's a matter of developing the players we have and start hoping our big money players start playing to their potential (particularly Sandow and Tonga).

To be fair, we probably still have the worst roster, but even so, we've gone backwards. It's hard to imagine us going this badly if, for example, Des Hasler was our coach. Dead wood is a problem, but we can't attract any good players to replace that dead wood.

Right, so if the only players we can attract are the ones who aren't quite up to it, why not sign young ones who are at least likely to improve?

This is the reason for the focus on youth.

IFR33K

Right, so if the only players we can attract are the ones who aren't quite up to it, why not sign young ones who are at least likely to improve?

When those youthful players don't progress and are duds, you earn yourself another 2 or 3 years of excuses for your mate.

Tooooks

I have nothing against the focus on youth, but the lack of experience I think will be a big problem next year. We have to focus on youth, because no experienced player in their right mind would want to play for us.

Young forwards in particular tend to take longer to develop than backs.

Parraren

All re-signed or signed by Kearney in the last 12 months.

He's struggling to attract the right players to replace the 2 that are retiring and the other 2 that are unlikely to be re-signed.

spiderdan

the bit i bolded suggests that you think he is actually in part to blame - which i think as well.

i don't think it all goes to kearney but from a coaching perspective, the more he goes on the more it re-enforces the belief that sk is out of his depth. it may be a case of being the wrong person at this stage of his coaching career to take over a basket case club (similar to blooding a new player in a team getting smashed) and if given a stronger roster he may well do better but right now it isn't looking pretty.

i remember what phil economidis did for the gold coast in a year before they were axed.

would love to see sk and the players turn it around and give us a strong finish to the season.

I have nothing against the focus on youth, but the lack of experience I think will be a big problem next year. We have to focus on youth, because no experienced player in their right mind would want to play for us.

Young forwards in particular tend to take longer to develop than backs.

True, but we've had plenty of experience these past two years, and have struggled to compete physically.

Next year all our kids will be a year older and smarter while all our old guys will be gone. If experience was as important as we make it out to be, the NRL would be full of 40-year olds.

It's a physical game, and it's getting more so every year. Experienced players are of most value off the field.

If coming last = progressing, than you should be proud of the lads.

We're coming last because our old forwards can't win the ruck any more.

Most of our play-the-balls are slow, and most of the opposition's are fast. That's a recipe for coming 16th.

Considering this, the kids are doing well. Our quickest play-the-balls and best wrestlers are Mannah and Allgood. No coincidence that they're both early-mid 20s.

Hindy and Fui are both 32. Shack and Poore have never recovered from injury.

We have far from the worst roster in the comp. The squad we have are simply under performing. All the youngsters coming through are coming through via a losing team and that's all they will be used to next year. Our style of footy isnt helping the players we have either. We should be going a lot better than we are.

The squad is full of kids, rookies and broken down old merkins.

The only players at their peak are Hayne, Tonga, Roberts, Maitua, Smith, Mannah, Poore and Keating. Of those, the only ones not hampered by injury this year are Roberts, Mannah and Keating. And Roberts only goes well in a strong team.

Pou is on fire this arvo. I reckon there is smoke coming off the keys, he's posting so fast.

71560.gif

#quanityoverquality