Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

End nears for suburban NRL grounds

Panfas

I don't have specific details but there are some big ideas behind the scenes for Centrebet Stadium. I have been told the wish list is pretty special. What that means, I don't know. Lets hope something eventuates

CC_Roosters

My question is if the NRL put forward funds to upgrade say brookvale would the council/state/federal match it cent for cent. THis is what the afl have done at several stadia around the country, really wouldn't be fair if they just gave a flat no to any requests by the smaller stadia. Although i do recall an interview on talkin sport with Annesley that he said it wont be a total withdrawl of upgrades but major rennovations out of the public purse to bring say brooky etc up to 30k capacity is out of the question

Matty_C

attachment.php

This is the only drawing available of the stadium upgrade and it hardly looks set in stone. Top left.The weird looking grey box is The Peter Burns stand. You can also see the new terraces (on angles) from the overhead drawing.

Nice work mate. I do see the place to be a rocking shark park.

As usual the haters are getting jumpy, as their clubs might be in trouble. For once Im enjoying this, sitting back and watching them curse, bitch about the sharks, coz we have the upper hand, we are growing from strength to strength. Us sharks will be a dominate force in the nrl from now on. Mark my words!

Dogs Of War

. For once Im enjoying this, sitting back and watching them curse, bitch about the sharks, coz we have the upper hand, we are growing from strength to strength. Us sharks will be a dominate force in the nrl from now on. Mark my words!

Funniest thing I have heard all day. Thanks for that.

I have video of my son doing .

It is the highlight of the day for him...
other highlights include high fiving all mascots of any sort...all cheer leaders .
going on the jumping castle
getting ice cream
getting hot chips
running around like a lunatic on family hill

to this day he has been to about 30 games and all up watched about 3 minutes of actual footy.
Make him sit in a plastic seat all day and he will never go again.
This. Kids hate to sit still and concentrate on something that wont probably hold their attention for 80 minutes until their mid teens. Plus a long trip home at night - which the doomsdays=ers seem to forget among other things.

Im still waiting for Whinging Pom and Bunniestard to admit that there are plastic seats and grandstands at EVERY NRL VENUE!!!

Do kids still slide down the back of the Brookie hill on cardboard?

Can't afford to upgrade any suburban NRL grounds but we have 100 million dollars to spend on an AFL stadium for them to average 5K a game or less (despite also having the option of playing in a bigger stadium right nearby).
This as well. Excellent point.

The ARLC was supposed to be a lobby group to governments and big business to get stuff done for League. When they will actually begin this I'd like to know, because all we have seen is governments and big business roger the ARLC so far.

Another thing PR rabbits on about is the RLC's vision of a 20k average for each club - slaiming the end is nigh for suburban grounds and clubs who fail to meet that target. What about Canberra and Melbourne, who generally get WORSE crowds?

firechild

Do kids still slide down the back of the Brookie hill on cardboard?

Bloody oath. The vast numbers of kids that turn up to Brookie for the day games couldn't care less about shiny new toilets, warm beer or even plastic seats. And these are the kids that will end up long term Manly fans that still couldn't care less about the plastic seats and shiny toilets (they might start caring about the beer in a number of years though). Thing is the ARLC clearly couldn't care less about the next generation of fans. Games are primarily scheduled at unfriendly times for kids to attend, or in many cases even stay awake to watch on tv.

newman

Another thing PR rabbits on about is the RLC's vision of a 20k average for each club - slaiming the end is nigh for suburban grounds and clubs who fail to meet that target. What about Canberra and Melbourne, who generally get WORSE crowds?

They will be kicked out of the comp.

CrazyTiger

England and the US have gone to all seater major stadiums. It's more comfortable. It's safer. it's the way of the future.

It's safer? Bloody hell, I know the super league supporters wanted to go to the footy
for the toilet facilities but that is a new one on me. What the hell are you doing that
is unsafe? Did someone feel you up on the hill at Leichardt?

Billythekid

I'm not naive enough to think that every suburban ground will receive upgrades and survive long term. However the idea that every team in Sydney needs to move to the 2 big stadiums is a joke really.

Quidgybo

The ARLC have set a target average of 20k for "elite games" (ie. NRL) by 2017. They've said nothing about it being a per club target as opposed to just a target for the NRL Premiership as a whole. The obvious way they'll achieve this will be by maximising attendances at derby matches between Sydney clubs, moving such games to bigger venues that both sets of fans can attend rather than just the suburban locals. Matches against lower drawing non Sydney teams will remain at suburban grounds where they'll draw better than they would have as part of a full 12 game program due to the premium placed on the remaining games. It ain't rocket science, the Tigers worked this out years ago.

Leigh.

The Tigers worked that out because they had two home bases 40kms apart. And yes, they have made it work. It wont work for Manly, Penrith or Cronulla.

Diesel

I think by 2017 Manly will have to decide if they will play 1/2 Gosford and 1/2 SFS or relocate unless their council really puts some much needed funds into the ground or private sector funding.
Penrith will get a minor upgrade and stay out west.
Cronulla will either use their new funds for a major upgrade and coax the Dragons to play some games at Shark Park to justify the expenditure, or will end up at SFS full time.
Dragons will play blockbusters at the SFS and the remaining games at WIN
Parra will get an upgrade to 32000 and will be home to 1/2 the Tigers games, Eels and low drawing Bulldogs games.
ANZ for Souths and Bulldogs
SFS for Manly, Easts, Wests.

Ausguy

The Sharks will NOT move fulltime anywhere in the next 10 years.

A mjor upgrade is not required at Toyota.

What people need to stop going on about is that everyone wants to watch footy at a ground such as sfs or anz. Thats bullshit.

The suburban grounds are much better at providing atmosphere and theatre than those massive grounds.

Sharks v Dragons last year was a ripper... if it was at anz it would have just been another game.

The NRL should be looking at other issues in the game and leave the clubs to look after themselves or be forced to make a decision.

Ausguy

Diesel

Manly and Wests to SFS?

Manly wont go that far for a holiday and Wests at SFS? Every campbelltown fan is lost to another sport in 10 years.

marlene w 1

Diesel

Manly and Wests to SFS?

Manly wont go that far for a holiday and Wests at SFS? Every campbelltown fan is lost to another sport in 10 years.

Which other sport? AFL? Played in major stadiums. Super Rugby? Played in major stadiums.
It is time to move to all seater stadiums.

no name

So because AFL and Super Rugby are played at major stadia, the NRL should tell the fans at Campbelltown, Penrith etc that they can't go to their local stadium, they have to travel further, on Sydney's shit house roads, in Sydney's shit house traffic, to go to games?
Absolutely genius.
They may not be lost to other games, but they sure as shit won't be showing up to NRL ones.

Ausguy

Which other sport? AFL? Played in major stadiums. Super Rugby? Played in major stadiums.
It is time to move to all seater stadiums.

That post is ridiculous.

There is 1 rugby club in Nsw. Of course it's played in major stadiums the waratahs don't have a link to a suburban ground. AFL 2 teams played in major stadiums cos the field is bigger.

Western Sydney wanderers are out of parra stadium. Are you saying we will lose fans to sydney fc cos they play at sfs but we won't to wsw because they play out of a smaller stadium.

I will end this with if league clubs are forced to play out of major stadiums Crowd figures will suffer and there will be talk of how bad they look in big stadiums.

Leave it to the clubs.