Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Paul Mellor

undertaker

Over a whole season these kind of decisions affect every team eventually. It all pretty much evens out in the end.

Here at the cowboys we call bullshit on this

This.

In 2008, at 16-all we had a blatantly crap offside penalty given against us at the end of the game vs Warriors, which resulted in them getting a penalty goal 20m right in front and gave them the win on a silver platter. Weeks later, those 2 pts and that loss ended up keeping us out of the finals (not that we would've gone anywhere near winning the comp, but to miss out on the finals like that sucks and wouldn't wish that upon another side)

DJShaksta

Mate last year alone the Sharks were dudded in two games where the referees boss came out and apologized for.
Swings n roundabouts.

butchmcdick

This.

In 2008, at 16-all we had a blatantly crap offside penalty given against us at the end of the game vs Warriors, which resulted in them getting a penalty goal 20m right in front and gave them the win on a silver platter. Weeks later, those 2 pts and that loss ended up keeping us out of the finals (not that we would've gone anywhere near winning the comp, but to miss out on the finals like that sucks and wouldn't wish that upon another side)

let alone the anal rape the video ref decided to engage in v manly in the semi last year

undertaker

let alone the anal rape the video ref decided to engage in v manly in the semi last year

Yep, that as well.

Felt sorry for you Cowboys folk last year, to be eliminated from the comp in that manner. I know the feeling after the Roosters/Knights 2000 PF with a dodgy play-the-ball penalty against Bill Peden that turned the whole momentum of the game (not that Brad Fittler intercept try that the folk in the media try to spruik), as well as a try that went 2-3 metres forward yet supposedly went 'backwards off the hands". Puhleeeeeeeease!

It will be a matter of time before there's a major screw-up in a GF that robs a team of the grand final. Only THEN will changes be made, but not before raining on someone else's parade.

Jobdog

Bad decision by the NRL to allocate him as the video ref for Sharks matches. Wade Graham dead set knocked that ball on. You absolutely cannot expect players who have played at clubs remain impartial on decisions involving their club. The decision to allocate him is tantamount to Paul Harragon being asked to adjudicate on Knights matches, Wendell Sailor on Dragons matches etc. Just who the hell was the nuffie who is responsible for these allocations? Daniel Anderson?
I don't subscribe to conspiracy theories, but it's still got me dumbfounded how they ruled Graham didn't knock on. I also thought Boyd was in the field of play - his body wasn't, but the ball was.

undertaker

I don't subscribe to conspiracy theories, but it's still got me dumbfounded how they ruled Graham didn't knock on. I also thought Boyd was in the field of play - his body wasn't, but the ball was.

100% agree with both things you said.

thorson1987

I thought he was aswell.

The only thing i could think of was the ball was still off the ground so it could be dragged back. If he had of got the ball on the ground in the field of play it would have been ok.

Yeah how dare the sharks get a decision go their way.

They have had it piss easy all year.

I hoped Kade would score the winning points.

Packy

I agree with the threads theme but also have to wonder... wouldn't all players have a team they favour in any particular game regardless of who they played for? Where do we draw the line? We need players to get involved and I can't really see how else we can expect it to happen.

Luke Patten has done a few Dogs games (as 2IC I believe) and in his 1st game had one go for and one away from the Dogs..

Luke Phillips has done a fair few Roosters games now. 1 in particular he robbed Dogs of a victory against them all by himself. Since then I think he has been pretty good.

What about Perenara?

I reckon we just have to trust the integrity of the ex players. We've had non aligned refs f**king it up for so long it can't be any worse.

I agree with the threads theme but also have to wonder... wouldn't all players have a team they favour in any particular game regardless of who they played for? Where do we draw the line? We need players to get involved and I can't really see how else we can expect it to happen.

Luke Patten has done a few Dogs games (as 2IC I believe) and in his 1st game had one go for and one away from the Dogs..

Luke Phillips has done a fair few Roosters games now. 1 in particular he robbed Dogs of a victory against them all by himself. Since then I think he has been pretty good.

What about Perenara?

I reckon we just have to trust the integrity of the ex players. We've had non aligned refs f**king it up for so long it can't be any worse.

Agreed, we should be taking about incompetance, not bias.

Packy

4 tries given over the weekend were terrible decisions. So Blatantly wrong that even the most one eyed supporters would probably admit to the errors:

- no obstruction on the Slater try :lol:
- Johnson didn't mean to tip the ball to his own advantage in his try :lol:
- Idris's pass wasn't 2m forward in the final seconds of the Warriors/GC game :lol:
- Graham didn't knock on :lol:

And three of those went to the video ref. :oops:

Refs still can't rule of forward passes I am pretty sure.

Ulysseus

Nevermind that the Knights were offside for 3 previous FG attempts and should have been penalized anyway.

yeah but that's golden point in a nut shell dude.
frantic field goal shot followed by frantic field goal shot.
needs to become golden try

Pig Champion

Hands up who follows a team that hasn't been gifted a bad call against the other side or been robbed by a bad call.I rest my case.

Burwood

It is stupid in this day and age to have an ex-player in a position to adjudicate on such important decisions involving their former team.

For all we know, Hayne could have been the video ref with an opinion that the evidence was inconclusive while Mellor thought there was an obvious touch from Graham. But because the whole video ref process is not transparent to supporters and the media, the perception and innuendo that follows is there. It is a situation that can, and should, be easily avoided by the NRL.