Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Daniel Anderson - not doing his f**ken job?

I certainly think that whenever DA has an opportunity to professionally kick the eels in the guts...he will and does.
It is pretty easy for the refs boss to say to the 2 refs prior to kick off.."Any 50/50 calls go to the opposing team OK boys?".
Or something similar.

No chance.

We live in a world full of potential whistleblowers, which is why conspiracy theories are all bullshit.

lingard

I'd like to take the refs right out of the equation. A game with no rules. No off-side, no forward passes, no knock-ons, no head-high tackles, no foul play. Anything goes. No salary cap either, and you can field as many players as you like. In fact there's probably no real need for a ball. And at the end of the sixteen team season, we'll have a sixteen team final series.

Could we start by just reducing their impact? Make the game easier to adjudicate by limiting the amount of referee's judgement required.

Because at the moment, on top of everything else, they have to decide whether or not to blow a penalty on almost every single tackle.

carson

The way I see it, when DA allocates the refs to games each week the better refs go to the better games...teams coming last don't get the better refs.

Conversely from the ref's point of view they would not be happy being in charge of the team coming last, it would mean DA doesn't rate them.

Basically we either get the lowest in the refereeing pecking order or a ref that resents us from the start...then it goes down hill from there!!!

MetroGnome

Oh please you are kidding yourself. He says that to a referee and down the track somewhere that ref becomes disgruntled at his boss, you don't think he might not leak it to the media or even come out openly? You don't think theres a chance that at least some of the refs have some sort of morals and report what he has been told to someone at the nrl?
How many times have you heard a retired whistleblower become a whistleblower?
Never! Everything is held in confidence.
If you think that the referee fraternity are 100% honest and there are no rorts in the system...or similar, you are living in the past mate.
Of course the referees boss can and does direct a game.
:roll:

Joely01

The way I see it, when DA allocates the refs to games each week the better refs go to the better games...teams coming last don't get the better refs.

Conversely from the ref's point of view they would not be happy being in charge of the team coming last, it would mean DA doesn't rate them.

Basically we either get the lowest in the refereeing pecking order or a ref that resents us from the start...then it goes down hill from there!!!

I don't think there is such thing as better refs this year, they are all sh*thouse

The fact that this has never happened more likely points to the fact that they no retired referee has actually had a conspiracy that they have needed to expose!

Daneel

If you think that the referee fraternity are 100% honest and there are no rorts in the system...or similar, you are living in the past mate.

Lol it would be more likely in the past when these things would have happened. You don't even need it to be a 100% honest, you only need one person to be. Suggesting that all of the referees are crooked is ridiculous and down right insulting. You are either the biggest f*cking idiot in the world who has been probed by aliens spends his day looking for elvis and happily telling everyone in the world that the moon landing was fake or you are 10 years old.

Let me guess you are one of these idiots that will say tonights game is rigged so qld win to make the third game interesting. :roll::roll::roll::roll:

carson

I don't think there is such thing as better refs this year, they are all sh*thouse

But there are different levels of shithouse...the refs we get are generally the shitest of the shithouse refs...which is were the problem is!!!

Better not tell that to Ricky Stuart. He'll get a 100k fine if he presents your conspiracy theory in a post match press conference.

E_Cantona

Interesting stats here on penalties for season 2013 so far. http://stats.rleague.com/rl/misc/penalties.html#2013

8th position for penalties received (89) - top teams Broncos, Cowboys, Titans

4th Position for penalties against (98) - Top offenders Tigers, Manly, Roosters

Now these stats could be pulled out of a cornflakes packet as far as i know. Cause the internetz is true :sarcasm: (the same stats has Parra with 5 wins).

However if its anywhere near close to reality, we aren't the worst off. Im sick of hearing the `hard done by sh*t'. Yes the referees are making bad calls, but they also make great calls in a lot of games. They hardly ever get plaudits for the good calls they make. They're on a hiding to nothing.

Take the penalty count on the chin and get on with footy ffs.

Yours truly
Billy Harrigan