Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Our Forwards

barney gumble

Our young forwards are going better than expected, but there's a long season ahead. Looking forward to see how they handle a full strength Roosters pack, wasn't pretty a few weeks ago.

Im going out on a limb here but just maybe the team actually being coached has had a little to do with the improvement as well.
For sure mate, but you only have to look at the storm without Smith or us without Peats to see how important a dummy half is these days.

Nah when Smith doesn't play it means Bellamy didn't coach them that week.

There are a lot of reasons why a footy team might not do on game day all the things they have been working on at training. The main reason is attitude, which comes down to leadership.

Our team seems to have the best attitude it's had in years, which could be because Maitua's influence is gone from the club, or even because Stuart's influence has been replaced by Arthur's. But don't forget that second half against the Chooks came under Arthur's coaching.

That said, I'm not blaming him for not picking a hooker. He had his reasons and we competed in the first half without one. But we probably did lack Peats' leadership in that game.

We missed his leadership, dummy half work, and his defense close to the ruck. The last one is partic. important against the chooks. Not saying that we're going to beat them, but with a bit of luck re the timing of penalties etc, and a dryer field we should make a much better fist of it this time around (not a big call I know).

That's right. What we lacked without Peats in round two wouldn't have been provided just by replacing him with a specialist dummy half. Given his importance in defence, replacing Peats with Lussick in the starting pack probably was the most logical move.

Of course the experts all know better than the coach.

mickdo

Norman seemed to do a resonable job helping out at DH when Peats was suffering from a shoulder stinger towards the end of the game on Friday night. Playing there for a full game is another matter of course, and it means disrpupting two roles in the spine, not just one.