Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Todd Greenberg

I Bleed Maroon

He certainly has proven himself to be pretty overrated from the early days just before his tenure started where the footy media were talking him up as a visionary, and the attitudes towards the shoulder charge from the likes of Matthew Johns and Paul Kent really isn't surprising as a result.

He is a bit of a dud.

Red Bear

Adamkungl in shoulder charge posting shocker.

I do actually agree gould, if he could put aside his agendas, could be great in Greenburgs role. But I don't think he'd sacrafice his freedom to push said agendas to take on such a role. Plus it's alot easier from the outside than when you actually have to do something.

Mogsheen Jadwat

The best thing that happened under Greenbergs watch was when the ref got smacked with a bottle and fell over.

lol that was gold

Phil Gould's only issue is how divisive he already is really. He'd be a great head of football in theory.

I reckon he'd go alright and those up North who'd might have more of an issue with hime would soon change their minds. It didn't bother the Cowboys to get him up there for a stint and Thurston even credits Gus for an improvement in attitude too.

Tinkler

The NRL has shown a number of things:
- It is still reactionary.
- It doesn't completely understand its market.
- It doesn't present a clear future of the game - what is it aiming to achieve?
- It does not see fan participation as a key factor.

you should be grateful

if the game was run competently Cronulla would be relocated, merged or kicked out.

:D

Bulldog Force

Dave Smith's job is to make money. He is doing a seemingly good job of that, though has a lot riding on the success of the next part of the TV deal and News are in full attack mode. He doesn't need to be a football person.

The head of football, on the other hand, needs to be. He is currently doing an awful job.

You are aware all the rules changes are made by the board, not Todd himself?

Pierced Soul

Adamkungl in shoulder charge posting shocker.

I do actually agree gould, if he could put aside his agendas, could be great in Greenburgs role. But I don't think he'd sacrafice his freedom to push said agendas to take on such a role. Plus it's alot easier from the outside than when you actually have to do something.

gould got asked/criticised about making lots of comments rather than actually being directly involved a few years ago. he said something to the effect that he was able to make more change and create dialogue through the media than he would be from within the nrl. i think a lot of this criticism was also aimed at gallop.

one thing i think gould would do is to get most if not all teams on the same page. yes they all want money, but they all need to actually look at growing the game and keeping what we do have instead of this slow transition into oztag

Lambretta

Right now the game is on the brink of facing it's biggest challenges of all time and they're nearly all of our own making

Three years ago we had the biggest cash windfall in our history and things looked really positive

Now in the past two years from a position of real strength we have alienated our current fanbase, without managing to attract a new one to replace it, let alone add to it

Plus we've managed to massively offend our second largest financial contributor and we've put the financial future of the game in jeopardy whilst giving the biggest boost of all time to our largest rival.

Fans are turning off their televisions in droves and are staying away from the games themselves

According to a report in the financial section of the SMH today the AFL has grown it's television audience in the past two years whilst all reports I've read shows the NRL's audience is shrinking

Fox has obviously decided to try and speed this up as long term only having to deal with one strong code is cheaper for them.

But Fox don't really need to try. Rugby League's biggest selling point was it's Warrior way; a place where real men fought out hard battles. We differed from the other codes as we allowed hard men the scope to play hard. No other code did that and the fans LOVED it.

Now our players stand there and push and shove each other and if anyone bumps into someone they're off to the judiciary for a ban. Some f**king tough game that.

Our existing fans are all saying f**k THIS and no one else is bothering to turn on to watch such rubbish.

If we don't win our own fans back, we won't have a product to sell

The sooner Greenberg and Smith realise this the better.

fourplay

Right now the game is on the brink of facing it's biggest challenges of all time and they're nearly all of our own making

Three years ago we had the biggest cash windfall in our history and things looked really positive

Now in the past two years from a position of real strength we have alienated our current fanbase, without managing to attract a new one to replace it, let alone add to it

Plus we've managed to massively offend our second largest financial contributor and we've put the financial future of the game in jeopardy whilst giving the biggest boost of all time to our largest rival.

Fans are turning off their televisions in droves and are staying away from the games themselves

According to a report in the financial section of the SMH today the AFL has grown it's television audience in the past two years whilst all reports I've read shows the NRL's audience is shrinking

Fox has obviously decided to try and speed this up as long term only having to deal with one strong code is cheaper for them.

But Fox don't really need to try. Rugby League's biggest selling point was it's Warrior way; a place where real men fought out hard battles. We differed from the other codes as we allowed hard men the scope to play hard. No other code did that and the fans LOVED it.

Now our players stand there and push and shove each other and if anyone bumps into someone they're off to the judiciary for a ban. Some f**king tough game that.

Our existing fans are all saying f**k THIS and no one else is bothering to turn on to watch such rubbish.

If we don't win our own fans back, we won't have a product to sell

The sooner Greenberg and Smith realise this the better.

:crazy:
Wow. What an overreaction.

NRL is more popular than ever and in a better position than ever. The next TV deal will likely be amazing and Dave Smith has put the NRL in a very strong position. The part that has been negotiated is already more than the AFL's. For all we know Dave Smith has been talking to Google, Netflix, Stan, FBTV and is aware that the bidding war will be even more intense down the track and will blow everything out of the water.

The notion that Fox somehow has the ability to kill or speed up NRL's demise is laughable. Fox is actually irrelevant in NSW and QLD without the NRL. Print media is becoming irrelevant everyday too, as would foxtel without NRL. Since no one in NSW or QLD would have foxtel without the NRL, who cares? The reality is Fox have no choice but to pay a hefty price if they want the NRL rights.

betcats

For all we know Dave SMith is not talking to Google, Netflix, Stan, FBTV. Assuming it because it helps your argument is silly, until their is some evidence of it is is just a pipedream. Even if Smith hits the 1.7b target the gap in value per year between ours and the afl deal will grow.

:crazy:
Wow. What an overreaction.

NRL is more popular than ever and in a better position than ever. The next TV deal will likely be amazing and Dave Smith has put the NRL in a very strong position. The part that has been negotiated is already more than the AFL's. For all we know Dave Smith has been talking to Google, Netflix, Stan, FBTV and is aware that the bidding war will be even more intense down the track and will blow everything out of the water.

The notion that Fox somehow has the ability to kill or speed up NRL's demise is laughable. Fox is actually irrelevant in NSW and QLD without the NRL. Print media is becoming irrelevant everyday too, as would foxtel without NRL. Since no one in NSW or QLD would have foxtel without the NRL, who cares? The reality is Fox have no choice but to pay a hefty price if they want the NRL rights.

Fox won't kill us. The NRL's current football department might though.

betcats

FOX trying to kill us would be suicide basically not that they could achieve it anyway. Messing around with the onfield product as they have been will certainly do some damage though.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

For all we know Dave SMith is not talking to Google, Netflix, Stan, FBTV. Assuming it because it helps your argument is silly, until their is some evidence of it is is just a pipedream. Even if Smith hits the 1.7b target the gap in value per year between ours and the afl deal will grow.

Whatever is going on behind closed doors has clearly got Murdoch really upset. I can't imagine that comment about AFL being the dominate sport in Australia would have come out of his mouth if something wasn't going on. Dumping a pile of steaming shite all over your primary product during negotiations isn't something you would honestly expect from a rational businessman with his experience to do.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

Todd... Absolute tosser. Train wrecks have more appeal. The guy was always underhanded. Des Hasler's deal comes to mind. He always gets what he wants, but sooner than later it will bite him firmly in the backside. This whole mess falls on his shoulders, Smith needs to charge in and bump him out of the role.

NRL is more popular than ever and in a better position than ever

Do you actually have any evidence of this? Don't quote State of Origin audiences. Every bit of data i've seen points to people switching off from watching the NRL. The game is not attracting new fans, it's clearly alienating its existing fan base

fourplay

Do you actually have any evidence of this? Don't quote State of Origin audiences. Every bit of data i've seen points to people switching off from watching the NRL. The game is not attracting new fans, it's clearly alienating its existing fan base

Why not quote Origin? I'm sure you can find facts that support your position. A lot of evidence can also support the idea that the NRL is in a better position than ever, as the health of the code is subjective anyway. It just depends what figures you want to look at and how you want to interpret them.

One thing is clear though, if the NRL was viewed as a business, it's current health is stronger than ever.

Betcats, read properly mate. The statement "for all we know" is not an assumption, but was used to imply ignorance of the current situation, and to also remain open to some of the positive outcomes that could transpire. My point was all the pessimistic doom and gloom posts that Dave Smith has screwed up is not based on anything factual, and no one really has anything idea what will happen next.

Where do you get this $1.7b number from?

Do you realise the same people in the media throwing these numbers around also predicted that Nine were only going to increase their previous bid of $475m to $600m just before the Nine deal was announced?

So what happened, did they bid $600m? No.. $925m.

Todd Greenberg gets a bad rap.

Todd was very welcoming to Craig Gower when the maestro came back from Europe to reestablish himself in the NRL. Unfortunately Craig suffered a dangerous neck injury which ended his career prematurely. That wasn't Todd's fault.

Todd paved the way for the introduction of French players into the NRL when he accelerated Remi Casty's registration process, to ensure that the Gallic bundle of energy and go forward could start with the Roosters on time. Now his efforts have been rewarded with the signing of French wunderkind Benjamin Garcia by Penrith, with the likelihood of more French stars to come.

Todd soldiers on despite his lack of adequate PR handlers. He is trying and he has done everything possible to rehabilitate the wayward ones like Ben Barba, who unfortunately doesn't know when he is getting good advice.

Todd has made a couple pf mistakes, but who hasn't? On balance he is doing a good job for his Welsh boss and the for the game of rugby league.

We need a football person as the Head of Football.

Todd had a care factor of zero about RL until he landed the job with the Olympic Stadium and then the Dogs.