Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Salary Cap MK III

Joshuatheeel

Interestingly reports indicate Watmough is on $750k and his injury was in February. So let's say his retirement is backdated, so we only pay him 3 months ( nov / dec / Jan), the pro rata amount we wouldn't pay is $562k.

yy_cheng

Interestingly reports indicate Watmough is on $750k and his injury was in February. So let's say his retirement is backdated, so we only pay him 3 months ( nov / dec / Jan), the pro rata amount we wouldn't pay is $562k.

It's what HJ has been saying

If we offload 3 good players we wint win 12/15.
Better off playing with this team for no points and keep team together.And just enjoy the wins as just a win.
Use it to develop fuimano - bevan when fit and alavaro etc...Try clint at fullback

yy_cheng

Better off playing with this team for no points and keep team together.And just enjoy the wins as just a win.
Use it to develop fuimano - bevan when fit and alavaro etc...Try clint at fullback

yup, i reckon it would be damn hard playing for no points.

You could be down 13 points with 10 to go so might as well give up and hope you dont get injured

84 Baby

When they took our records etc, they knew exactly what they were looking for within those documents.

Audit work starts with an assessment of risk of misstatement, and an assessment of risks in particular areas, and the auditor samples transaction according to the perceived risk levels. Sampling and verifying every transaction (and supporting docs) or huge numbers of transactions for a firm without any idea of what exactly you are looking for will take 100 years to do. In the case of the Eels the auditor was almost certainly looking for evidence to corroborate specific allegations made by whistleblowers. Then, of course, there's the likelihood that for other clubs there's bugger all to find in the club's records b/c they were heaps smarter about stuff.....i.e. not writing stuff down, and not using (allegedly) false or overstated invoices to cover payments to players.

The issue now Barry is you have clear evidence from multiple clubs that there is incentive & opportunity to rort the cap with negligible chance of discovery without whistle blowing, added with the NRL's own incentive that if you happen to oust the rorter then either you can continue the con (what we decided) or throw the other guy under the bus for a minor penalty... Most auditors would look at that and go "you know what if all clubs are in the same boat, there's a f**king high chance that they're all doing it to some degree." Problem is most people would then go "more work? f**k that, I'm going to Brissy for titty shows." We'll be looked on as whiny Eels supporters, but seriously this should tell NRL there system is broke

Screw the NRL. Extend and back end however much we need. Then get Watmoigh off the cap, and start screaming about how we'll be well under the cap this year. So where's our f**king points you thieving merkins??

And in the meantime have some private investigators following Todd and co around, just to make sure everything is above board.

84 Baby

yup, i reckon it would be damn hard playing for no points.

You could be down 13 points with 10 to go so might as well give up and hope you dont get injured
All comes down to Watmough IMO (well most people's opinions), if we get under only losing him & Morgan and maybe one other before Souffs game plus Foran fit and firing, I reckon this squad will be up for the challenge. If we not ready by Souffs, I agree keep squad together and try and gradually offload players with multiyear contracts not in future plans for max future freight. At that stage who cares about the guys off contract not in future plans because we ain't going to re-sign them anyway

Incorrect

And Morgs is worth about 8 grand so there you go! We're sweet!

84 Baby

I bet the only way for HJ's idea to work would be court, because the NRL just don't want us to have points, especially seeing how NRL have also tied new points to the evil 5 standing down.

Assuming we are unable for whatever reason to earn further points this season, the more interesting factor is if the NRL decide Watmough's injury was pre-existing, therefore retirement payout to be included in cap, then what they would do if we said we then going to pay Watmough's retirement of say $1.5m 100% in this year's cap

Rhyno

I say play for no points and release no one highly unlikely we will play finals footy this year

Re-signing Norman is also a must

Micheel

Hey all, loooong time lurker that has visited this site for info and over the years!
Signed up a few years ago but never really joined in.

Like everyone else, totally gutted and angry by what happened yesterday, totally cynical about the timing of the NRL's findings, Greenburg's belief that all clubs are compliant, DF's involvement, and angry at the dumbass merkins that are responsible for this. That said, totally behind BA and the players!

On the topic of TPA's - if all clubs have to declare their TPA's then why don't the fans push for the NRL publish the dollar value of TPA's paid to the roster of each respective club? Not the individual players, of course, they're entitled to their privacy.

If the NRL thinks the competition is level wouldn't this be a away to a way to prove it?