Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The sale needs to be done before season starts.

John moz

Ok we have 2 buyers interested has been officially announced. So it needs to be a done deal before season starts.Or we will have another inconsistent year on and off the field .We are in a good position to have 2 big offers on the table.1 owner or if so make it 2 why not we have 2 owners both billion dollar men .This sale should be a massive day for the club and in the history of the Dragons also the nrl.Will be front page news and the beginning of a future for success and more grandfinals for the big red v. Come on lets get it done ASAP.

Can you post a link to show that have 2 buyers interested?
There is a lot of gossip but have seen no facts to confirm anything concrete so would appreciate some evidence.
If there is substance to any of it a proper DD would take a good half year to a year so nothing's going to happen this year.

John moz

Can you post a link to show that have 2 buyers interested?
There is a lot of gossip but have seen no facts to confirm anything concrete so would appreciate some evidence.
If there is substance to any of it a proper DD would take a good half year to a year so nothing's going to happen this year.
Brian johnston did quote on saying when they announced the coach 2 year extension that the talks with the sale was almost closer to be announced.

That was the so called WIN deal and no doubt after taking a bath financially they have had very little if anything at all to say.
By the way that coaching extension was a lifetime ago so deosn't the stoney silence since then make you suspicious as to the veraisty of anything re us having new owners?

Dragonslayer

At this stage I only know of 1 interested party that being WIN, if your referring to the Sheik as the #2 then I think you'll find it a bit of a furphy tbh.
Buying a football club as a major stakeholder will take months to work out, its not like buying a pie at the footy, there are a myriad of fine points to work out and agree to.
This process could take a further 3-6 months before any or all details are agreed on (or not) and passed on to us.

John moz

That was the so called WIN deal and no doubt after taking a bath financially they have had very little if anything at all to say.
By the way that coaching extension was a lifetime ago so deosn't the stoney silence since then make you suspicious as to the veraisty of anything re us having new owners?
It will be a offer that the board will need to walk away and to good to refuse.

Dragon Revival

Any partial sale is fraught with danger.
Gordon is no Warren Buffitt and any sale reeks of Crowe, Holmes-A-Court, Tinkler, Chargers/Titans and Storm/Broncos prop up by News Corp. If the Dragons have financial problems they should reduce their coaching and support staff. You only need one coach for each of the three Grades being Mc Gregor, Head and Collins which means that you get rid of Hornby, Young and Bailey for the time being plus excess recruitment, fitness and medical staff.

Coffs dragon

You can't rush these things as it's only been 3 years in discussion & feasibility studies!! It's not like we are dealing with a professional well managed organisation. It's more like the local council awaiting reasons to knock back any approval because it affects some councillors own property.
Doust is probably trying to ride out his 20 years of service to get all his long service entitlements & higher redundancy payout. FMD Rome was built quicker than this proposed SALE.

BBTB

You can't rush these things as it's only been 3 years in discussion & feasibility studies!! It's not like we are dealing with a professional well managed organisation. It's more like the local council awaiting reasons to knock back any approval because it affects some councillors own property.
Doust is probably trying to ride out his 20 years of service to get all his long service entitlements & higher redundancy payout. FMD Rome was built quicker than this proposed SALE.
This mob of ningkinpoops couldn't organize a chook raffle.
Let alone a corporate take over.

:joy: :joy: :joy: That bought tears to my eyes Coffs . If I may also add that there are plenty of people whom are 3 fooking years older since these negotiations have taken place ! Nothing of any great consequence I know , unless your on the wrong end of the age scale .

Well I live in hope mainly because, without a change of ownership we are following the path of the Titans, the Knights, the Tigers and sadly, the path of the Bears.

Let's just hope and pray that there is some interest from the Sheik.

RufusRex

one bloke is an 80 something resident of Bermuda who will most likely die soon and bequeath his share to the same merkinsocks who currently sit on the board

Gimme the Sheik

Carlton

I appreciate how you feel Possm but a change of ownership is not necessarily the answer. Its not about who owns the club but more about how its managed.

The current Board and management have to go, there are too many favours, relationships etc to try to determine who is a good guy and who is not. There are two problems with this, one is the possibility of losing some of the history and DNA of the club and the second is new management may not be any better ( just look at David Smith and John Grant).

The biggest thing to be fixed is the governance of the club and the imperative need to break the undemocratic, dictatorial rules that have been put in place to protect the incumbents. The fact that these rules got through in the first place is a sad indictment on the members who voted for them at the time. Unfortunately, these rules now make it almost impossible to address the problems. I dont know how the changes needed can be effected but I suspect that if the NRL were serious they have enough leverage to insist/enforce that the governance issues by fixed. The question then becomes why haven't they done anything? They know the fans are unhappy about it, the club is losing members, fans at games are falling and the club owes the NRL substantial money.

Saint_JimmyG

Well I live in hope mainly because, without a change of ownership we are following the path of the Titans, the Knights, the Tigers and sadly, the path of the Bears.

Let's just hope and pray that there is some interest from the Sheik.

"Saints smell like Newtown" (Brian Smith circa 1995).

Maybe he was right all along?

The Sheik ain't coming.

Coffs dragon

Our clubs management do not look to the future with clear 20/20 vision. Rather they procrastinate in making decisions by the year 2020!