Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 1 Dragons v Broncos at Kogarah

AMBUSH ALERT, AMBUSH ALERT.

Speaking with one of my mates up here in Brisbane who is in with the Donkey camp he said they are ready for this game.
They believe if they start physical and hold off the Dragons pack in the first 25 minutes especially Vaughan & Graham they have the game won.
They will pick a large run on pack with mobility in the back row to counter the Dragons power game early, then McCullough will come on and steer them around the rest of the game.
Wayne Bennett teams generally start the season well leading into Origin so they will be ready.
Mary needs to get 55 minutes each out of Vaughan, Graham & Ah Mau and rotate them smartly so atleast two of those three are on field at all times. JDB basically needs to play 70-80 minutes to tighten up our middle.
He said if they start strong and control our power game our forwards under fatigue struggle with sideways movement around the ruck and that is where the donkeys believe they will get us (much like Souths did with Cook).
Mary, get our boys fired up for that first 20 minutes and play Smart as the Donkeys will come at us all match.
If we run out with the right attitude and ensure they don't get the jump on us early I think we can win and win well with the team we have.
However if we come out 5% off in attitude and execution we also have the team to get pumped by 20.

Life's Good

As I posted on JA the side he picks in round one will reflect if he has learnt any thing at all during the off season and will determine the team's fate from there.
Negative and the same old systems or a positive attitude for 2019.
Fingers crossed all.
CC
I agree the sentiment of your post CC. (I think you mean 2018).

Speaking with one of my mates up here in Brisbane who is in with the Donkey camp he said they are ready for this game.
They believe if they start physical and hold off the Dragons pack in the first 25 minutes especially Vaughan & Graham they have the game won.
They will pick a large run on pack with mobility in the back row to counter the Dragons power game early, then McCullough will come on and steer them around the rest of the game.
Wayne Bennett teams generally start the season well leading into Origin so they will be ready.
Mary needs to get 55 minutes each out of Vaughan, Graham & Ah Mau and rotate them smartly so atleast two of those three are on field at all times. JDB basically needs to play 70-80 minutes to tighten up our middle.
He said if they start strong and control our power game our forwards under fatigue struggle with sideways movement around the ruck and that is where the donkeys believe they will get us (much like Souths did with Cook).
Mary, get our boys fired up for that first 20 minutes and play Smart as the Donkeys will come at us all match.
If we run out with the right attitude and ensure they don't get the jump on us early I think we can win and win well with the team we have.
However if we come out 5% off in attitude and execution we also have the team to get pumped by 20.

Thought as much Eaton Hills Dragon and mentioned it also in a previous post. Mate send your post to you know whom as quickly as possible. Who knows he may come up with a plan - B . :rolling_eyes:

How many tries do you suppose they will score going through and/or around Nene, Lafai, Aitken, Nightingale.
I'm going to go out on a limb and say it'll be heaps.

SBD82

Hope our forward pack stands tall. If they play to their potential there's no way that Brisbanes pack will contain them.

No surprise in that team. McIdiot is predictable in not changing a team. The bench is much the same as last season.
McIdiot needs to be ready to drop of replace players who have bad games. Not wait till round 22.
The bench will be our Achilles heal.

BennyV

THATS NOT FAIR. They are tailoring a strategy and structure based on the team they are playing, rather than just picking the same old players with the same old game plan. So mean.

getsmarty

teamlist_round1_newsimage_v25.jpg

TEAM LISTS

NRL Team: Round 1 v Brisbane Broncos
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Tue 6 Mar 2018, 04:01 PM

St George Illawarra Dragons coach Paul McGregor has named his mandatory 21-man squad to face the Brisbane Broncos this Thursday, March 8 at Jubilee Oval, Kogarah.

The Dragons will kick-off at 7:50pm with the Graeme Langlands public tribute to start the night's proceedings at 6:45pm.

St George Illawarra will also retire the No. 1 jumper on Thursday in honour of the recently passed Immortal Langlands.

Dragons fullback Matt Dufty – a local Penshurst RSL junior – will don the No.18 jumper against the Broncos in honour of who he described as his most famous Red V predecessor.

"Changa was probably the best fullback the club has had so dedicating our Round 1 game to him is something the boys and I are really happy to get behind," Dufty said.

"Obviously it will be a special day for the St George area where he played and for the Illawarra where he was born and raised.

"Overall, the boys are ready to start ripping in and see where the season takes us."

Tariq Sims has won the battle for the vacant back row spot left by Joel Thompson, with Luciano Leilua named on the bench alongside fellow local junior Hame Sele.

Josh Kerr and Zac Lomax have been named in the reserves and could potentially make their NRL debuts if named in coach McGregor's final 17. Veteran duo Ben Hunt and James Graham will make their Dragons debuts.

NRL squad for Round 1 v Brisbane Broncos:

18. Matt Dufty – sponsored by Illawarra Mercury/St George & Sutherland Shire Leader
2. Nene Macdonald – sponsored by Relativity in the Loop
3. Euan Aitken – sponsored by University of Wollongong
4. Tim Lafai – sponsored by Kingsgrove Sports Centre
5. Jason Nightingale – sponsored by SMAI
6. Gareth Widdop (c) – sponsored by Dynamic Projects
7. Ben Hunt – sponsored by Paul's Customs and Forwarding Solutions
8. James Graham – sponsored by EFEX
9. Cameron McInnes – sponsored by Floormania
10. Paul Vaughan – sponsored by My Muscle Chef
11. Tyson Frizell – sponsored by Val Morgan
12. Tariq Sims – sponsored by Destination Wollongong
13. Jack de Belin – sponsored by Wollongong Jetski
Interchange:
14. Luciano Leilua – sponsored by Addbuild Additions
15. Kurt Mann – sponsored by Wollongong Diagnostics
16. Leeson Ah Mau – sponsored by Westfund
17. Hame Sele – sponsored by Domus Lighting
19. Jeremy Latimore
20. Zac Lomax
21. Blake Lawrie
22. Josh Kerr

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/03/06/nrl-team-round-1-v-brisbane-broncos/

getsmarty

2018_dragons_matt_head_membership_sign-page-22-23.jpg

TEAM LISTS

ISP Team: Round 1 v Mounties
Author
Timestamp
Tue 6 Mar 2018, 04:00 PM

St George Illawarra Intrust Super Premiership coach Mat Head has named his Round 1 team to play against Mounties at WIN Stadium, Wollongong on Saturday, March 10.

The game will commence at 1pm and will follow the Dragons' Jersey Flegg side's clash also against Mounties.

ISP team for Round 1 v Mounties:

1. Jai Field
2. John Tohi
3. Patrick Herbert
4. Zac Lomax
5. Reuben Garrick
6. Adam Clune|
7. Darren Nicholls
8. Mitchell Allgood
9. Reece Robson
10. Josh Kerr
11. James Hasson
12. Jackson Ford
13. Blake Lawrie
Interchange:
14. Jack Payne
15. Damian Sironen
16. Ashley Nisbet
19. Stuart Mason

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/03/06/isp-team-round-1-v-mounties/

getsmarty

wayne-collins-page-24-25.jpg

TEAM LISTS

Jersey Flegg Team: Round 1 v Mounties
Author
Timestamp

St George Illawarra Jersey Flegg coach Wayne Collins has named his team to play against Mounties at WIN Stadium, Wollongong on Saturday, March 10.

The game will commence at 11am, with their Intrust Super Premiership counterparts to follow at 1pm.

Jersey Flegg team for Round 1 v Mounties:

1. Dylan Morris
2. Sam McGann
3. Steve Marsters
4. Matheson Johns
5. Shaun Sauni-Esau
6. Tristan Sailor
7. Jackson Willis
8. Josh Dowel
9. Joe Lovodua
10. Juvilee Samiu
11. Trent Peoples
12. Jayden Morgan
13. Hayden Lomax
Interchange:
14. Luke Gale
15. Bailey Dickinson
16. Tom Angel
17. Matthew Delbanco
18. Tyler Moon
20. Tyran Wishart
21. Jack Cross

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/03/06/jersey-flegg-round-1-v-mounties/

getsmarty

matchup_broncos_dragons_05032018-1.jpg

MATCH PREVIEW

Dragons v Broncos preview: McCullough in, Dufty to wear No.18
Author
NRL.com
Timestamp
Tue 6 Mar 2018, 07:28 AM

Brisbane Broncos coach Wayne Bennett has rushed star hooker Andrew McCullough into the starting line-up for their season opener against the St George Illawarra Dragons.

Speculation was rife that Sam Thaiday was set to start at dummy half but McCullough’s return has seen the veteran forward return to prop.

Corey Oates has been named on the wing for the Broncos. During pre-season, he played in the back-row in a bid to make the move permanent, but Bennett has opted for regular back-rowers Alex Glenn and Matt Gillett.

The St George Illawarra Dragons have been given special permission by the NRL to retire the number 1 jersey following the death of Graeme Langlands. Matt Dufty will play fullback and will wear the number 18 jersey.

Tariq Sims gets the nod in the back-row after both he and Luciano Leilua were battling for the vacant spot during the pre-season.

After Kurt Mann was considered as an outside chance to play in the centres, it is team-mate Euan Aitken who has been given the green light to start for the Dragons. Mann will instead play from the bench in number 16.

Jubilee Oval, Thursday March 8, 8.05pm

Head-to-head: Played 37, Broncos 23 wins, Dragons 14 wins.

Last five games:

• Round 24, 2017; Brisbane Broncos def. St George Illawarra Dragons 24-12.
  • Round 22, 2016; Brisbane Broncos def. St George Illawarra Dragons 12-8.
  • Round 6, 2016; Brisbane Broncos v St George Illawarra Dragons 26-0.
  • Round 23, 2015; Brisbane Broncos v St George Illawarra Dragons 32-6.
  • Round 7, 2015; St George Illawarra Dragons v Brisbane Broncos 12-10.
2017 points per game: Dragons 22.2; Broncos 24.9

2017 points conceded per game: Dragons 18.8; Broncos 18.0

Televised: Live on Nine, Fox League

Dragons: 18 Matthew Dufty, 2 Nene Macdonald, 3 Euan Aitken, 4 Tim Lafai, 5 Jason Nightingale, 6 Gareth Widdop (c), 7 Ben Hunt, 8 James Graham, 9 Cameron McInnes, 10 Paul Vaughan, 11 Tyson Frizell, 12 Tariq Sims, 13 Jack De Belin

Interchange: 14 Luciano Leilua, 15 Kurt Mann, 16 Leeson Ah Mau, 17 Hame Sele

Reserves: 19 Jeremy Latimore, 20 Zac Lomax, 21 Blake Lawrie, 22 Joshua Kerr

Broncos: 1 Darius Boyd (c), 2 Corey Oates, 3 James Roberts, 4 Jordan Kahu, 5 Jamayne Isaako, 6 Anthony Milford, 7 Kodi Nikorima, 8 Matthew Lodge, 9 Andrew McCullough, 10 Sam Thaiday, 11 Alex Glenn, 12 Matt Gillett, 13 Josh McGuire

Interchange: 14 Tevita Pangai Jnr, 15 Joe Ofahengaue, 16 Korbin Sims, 17 Jaydn Su'a

Reserves: 18 Tom Opacic, 19 Sam Tagataese, 20 Jonus Pearson, 21 George Fai

Match officials: Main referee: Matt Cecchin, Assistant referee: Alan Shortall, Sideline officials: Nick Beashel and David Munro.

https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/03/06...sbane-broncos-nrl-match-preview-2018-round-1/

getsmarty

McInnes confident as Dragons prepare for NRL season-opener
Local Sport
r0_129_4476_2646_w1200_h678_fmax.jpg

Season kickoff: Cameron McInnes says the Dragons are confident heading into Thursday's clash with the Broncos.
St George Illawarra Dragons hooker Cameron McInnes is confident the team has addressed the defensive issues exposed by South Sydney in the Charity Shield.

The Dragons fell 22-18 after Bunnies dummy half Damien Cook exploited defensive deficiencies through the middle of the field.

However, McInnes feels the team’s overall trial performances were promising and he’s confident the Dragons will deliver in Thursday night’s season-opener against the Broncos.

“It will be great to start the year off on the right note,” McInnes said. “It can definitely set the tone for your year. Against the Broncos, it’s going to be a good challenge first up, but we’re ready for it and it will give us a good indication of where we’re at and where we’ve got to improve.

“You’re never where you want to be at this time of year, if you think you are there, then you’re dreaming. In attack we’ve put some good footy together and I don’t think that’s going to be a problem. It’s probably more our defence in certain areas.

“At this time of the year there’s always things for you to work on. If we can get our defence right against most teams, then we’ll be good.”

McInnes is confident adjustments have been made to ensure Broncos hooker Andrew McCullough doesn’t replicate Cook’s performance when he takes to the field on Thursday night.

“It’s not a concern. In some of the stats we saw, our missed tackles against Souths were half of what they missed and our tackle efficiency was over 90 per cent.

“It was just more the play the ball speed, we were letting them up too quickly.

“If we can put weight on them, work with the referees, we won’t have any problems with that, because our contact’s good and blokes working to get to tackles is good.

“There’s only little things we have to clean up so there’s no concerns with it, but it was a good opportunity for us to learn in that environment, in a game with no points on the line.”

The Broncos boast an explosive and unpredictable backline, led by halves Anthony Milford and Kodi Nikorima. The key to shutting those players down, according to Dragons centre Euan Aitken, is to get off the defensive line and take away their attacking space.

“We just need to get forward and make sure we make our one on one tackles,” Aitken said. “Obviously they’ve got quality players there, Jordan Kahu, James Roberts, if we get forward and defend together, I think we’ll shut them down.”

While the threat of rain hovers over Kogarah for Thursday night, McInnes believes there won’t be too many tactical adjustments for the Dragons.

“In terms of our game plan, it probably doesn’t change a lot because we’re a power based team with the big forwards we have,” McInnes said.

“With my kicking game, that’s something I am looking to implement a lot more this year. Also Ben Hunt’s such a great kicker of the footy, I reckon he’s probably one of the best in the game, so if he has a good look, then I’ll be giving him the ball.”

http://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/5266630/dragons-prepared-for-sharp-brisbane-attack/?cs=302

slippery5

I have no idea what you are talking about.

When was this speech that you talk of and what exactly did Soward say about me? lol
Sowards speech back at Jubilee after GF win, quoting "& they said we couldn't win without a halfback" referring to Hornby !!!!
I just thought you must be the one that didn't rate Hornby.

Frank Facer

wayne-collins-page-24-25.jpg

TEAM LISTS

Jersey Flegg Team: Round 1 v Mounties
Author
Timestamp

St George Illawarra Jersey Flegg coach Wayne Collins has named his team to play against Mounties at WIN Stadium, Wollongong on Saturday, March 10.

The game will commence at 11am, with their Intrust Super Premiership counterparts to follow at 1pm.

Jersey Flegg team for Round 1 v Mounties:

1. Dylan Morris
2. Sam McGann
3. Steve Marsters
4. Matheson Johns
5. Shaun Sauni-Esau
6. Tristan Sailor
7. Jackson Willis
8. Josh Dowel
9. Joe Lovodua
10. Juvilee Samiu
11. Trent Peoples
12. Jayden Morgan
13. Hayden Lomax
Interchange:
14. Luke Gale
15. Bailey Dickinson
16. Tom Angel
17. Matthew Delbanco
18. Tyler Moon
20. Tyran Wishart
21. Jack Cross

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2018/03/06/jersey-flegg-round-1-v-mounties/
Is Jersey Flegg under 19's still or is it now under 20's?