Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2018 Souths/Bears ISP & Jersey Flegg News

callmack1

I actually spoke to Kyle on Saturday and he played without the neck brace. He said the neck feels great and he doesn't need the brace for support any more. He actually played well along with Tracey and Tatola. Hiroti is super quick and is a great goal kicker!
That's great to here thanks mate. Do you think he could eventually force his way into the side?

Travitoh

That's great to here thanks mate. Do you think he could eventually force his way into the side?

I believe he will. I wouldn't say Nicholls is doing a whole lot to keep him out at the moment. Another week at Nth Sydney for mine and then he comes into consideration for round 4

callmack1

I believe he will. I wouldn't say Nicholls is doing a whole lot to keep him out at the moment. Another week at Nth Sydney for mine and then he comes into consideration for round 4
Now that Fui is out for a while he'll be right in the frame too!

southsport

Norths 28 newcastle 10.........first win of the season to norths, Campbell Graham scored 3 tries and played centre.

Campbell Graham was strong for Norths but he said got to cut out these few silly errors and missed tackles along with Hiroti too!

Leulaui not going as good as we'd hope looking at his stats it's disappointing!

Also just thought I'd mention how Hymel played in the second row for Norths and he made 120 odd metres and made his tackles only missing 1!

No idea what's happened with Talakai or Britt lads.

I assume both are injured??

southsport

From another forum Musgrove should return around Rd #10/11, Fui is a long way off returning and no idea when Talakai is back.

callmack1

From another forum Musgrove should return around Rd #10/11, Fui is a long way off returning and no idea when Talakai is back.
Unless we get more injuries, if things keep going the way they are it's going to be really, really tough for Musgrove to force his way in. Even Fui may find it hard when he's fit and that's a testiment to our side.

That's good news.

So Musgrove about 4-5 weeks away.

Then a few weeks at Norths and then he will be on standby for first grade I'd say! Probably 21st man.

southsport

Unless we get more injuries, if things keep going the way they are it's going to be really, really tough for Musgrove to force his way in. Even Fui may find it hard when he's fit and that's a testiment to our side.
Even before he got injured Musgrove's form didn't warrant selection in first grade.

I see Fui returning to norths eventually and playing a back-up role for injuries if Souths make the finals.

Scoopdog

I hope you're right but I don't consider 4 weeks as "a long way off" so there's a bit of conflict of opinion there.........see what happens I guess.
Unless your the physio that is treating him daily,or the specialist he saw last week,4 weeks is a lot closer to the mark than "a long way off"

southsport

Unless your the physio that is treating him daily,or the specialist he saw last week,4 weeks is a lot closer to the mark than "a long way off"
Well it was Fui's father that said he is "a long way off" but then again I don't think he is a doctor.

themacemaceman

I'd have Fui in the 17 at the expense of Clark

I love Clark and he is going great but he knows he place in the squad and unfortunately for him it's a depth player at this point of his career.

Fui on the other hand is part of our future and having him at the Bears is only giving him a reason to look elsewhere for next season.

We don't lose anything Fui for Clark but we gain a guy who can also play in the centres.

He may need a week at the Bears on return for match fitness and timing reasons.

Souths Till I Die

I love Clark and he is going great but he knows he place in the squad and unfortunately for him it's a depth player at this point of his career.

Fui on the other hand is part of our future and having him at the Bears is only giving him a reason to look elsewhere for next season.

We don't lose anything Fui for Clark but we gain a guy who can also play in the centres.

100%. If Fui can return injury free, he’s the future in the second row. I really hope he decides to stay because imo both Crichton and Sutton’s spots are up for grabs next year.

I reckon a fortnight with the Bears when he's back!

At the end of the first quarter of the season, I thought I'd post some stats for the Bears from the ISP.

Whilst I must say that these stats are hard to find on the NSWRL website, once you do find them they are heaps better than those available for the NRL through their official sites or App. 5 pages of grid stats every game gets a numbers man like me moist.

I find it ridiculous that NSWRL has stats of this depth on their website, yet the NRL website after 6 rounds, still does not have either player or match stats on their website. They only have stat leaders in different categories. Unbelievable for a billion dollar game.

With slow internet and shit website this ahs taken me too long to put together, so I will come back in the next couple of days to point out some highlights.

Cheers, Stan

Round 1

https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...-nsw/2018/stats-reports/rd1-warriorsbears.pdf

Round 2

https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...-nsw/2018/stats-reports/rd2-panthersbears.pdf

Round 3
https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...p-nsw/2018/stats-reports/rd3-dragonsbears.pdf

Round 4
Bye

Round 5
https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...sp-nsw-round-5--newcastle-v-north-sydney-.pdf

Round 6
https://www.nswrl.com.au/siteassets...p-nsw/2018/stats-reports/rd6-bearsmagpies.pdf

Campbell consistently making 3-4 errors a week in reserve grade.

Burns too needs to work on that and missed tackles.

Hunt going well in the back row for Norths but should still be in our backline this week for first grade I feel.