Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Trade Ivan to Penrith for 2019

Any chance the integrity unit having a look at the Cleary deal,

Integrity Unit should be investigated for their lack of integrity, like everyone at the NRL they have none and that starts at the top.

Its quite funny we have had so many nice Penrith fans come into the forum in the last couple of days with so much helpful advice.

With absolutely no disrespect intended for anyone who has come here for a genuine footy chat I have to say:

• Penrith football operation actually lost money last year where Wests Tigers made money.
  • Wests Tigers have more paid up members than Penrith (Even without an all you can eat Buffet)
  • Penrith Crowds last year averaged 3,000 less than Wests Tigers
  • Penrith will pretty much start 2019 with the same team as 2019 minus Peachy, CHN & Chrichton
Now its all well and good to come in with advice, but from what I can see Penrith just have a mammoth leagues club pumping money into the football operation. No great master plan or any large degree of forward thinking when you consider they are "in the process" of hiring someone they sacked only 3 years ago.

If there is any advice WT should follow it is to build a massive club with heaps of pokie machines.

I wouldnt mind seeing Penrith win a comp in the near future as it is so boring watching the same teams go at it year after year, I truly wish Penrith luck in the years to come with no hard feelings, but please dont be so delusional that the system out west is so far superior then anywhere else.

The argument that Penrith are so good and we are so bad doesn't hold water does it.

This whole fiasco has actually been orchestrated by Go from the very beginning. She has a hankering for a bit of "Little Wayne" Poor Gus has just been a pawn in her evil plan.

https://westernweekender.com.au/2015/09/panthers-boss-quits-to-join-tigers/

A little light reading for those that are indignant about head hunting.

I realize you’re probably taking the piss, and I hope for your sake you are.

Cause if you don’t realize the difference between a head coach of an NRL team signing a contract with a rival club 2 years before his contract expires, and a staff member leaving a job that he has to give 4 weeks notice at then there’s no point even including you in the conversation.

BrotherJim05

This whole thing stinks to high hell, I feel like Cleary has been strong-armed into this somehow.

I would pay good money for a "tell all" from Cleary once the dust settles

Pilot house

It’s very rare indeed for a club to sack a coach and then re-hire him later on. I think the illustrious Wayne Bennett is the only other example that springs to mind.

So far as we know, Pantheria had wonder lad signed, sealed and delivered before ic got his marching orders-but something stinks and I agree with brother, that there is no way we are getting the full story.

The toads press conference about Hook was very telling. He kicked his head in after sacking him a few weeks out from the finals. It was ungracious and unnecessary.

The irony was that but for one game cicada had them playing the same last minute Charlie game. They had one good game and then reality caught up with them and they surrendered without a whimper. So the plan was catastrophic, the timing hopeless and in no way did it help Pantheria.

I think Pascoe ordered ic to tell the world he was committed to wt when in reality, everyone he knew he was on borrowed time. He looked very squirmish and uncomfortable during that conference.

As for recruitment, players change clubs for many reasons. I think a few are influenced by the coach or at least his reputation, but not all. For example, Wade Graham went to the sharks as Gal got into his head. He said that in an interview. Souths had to send rusty and co to England to sign up Burgii.

But players will gather for Bennett. It flatters wt that he has the interest. He must believe the club is in the up. He will deliver a bold new era, it’s very exciting,

soc123_au

I realize you’re probably taking the piss, and I hope for your sake you are.

Cause if you don’t realize the difference between a head coach of an NRL team signing a contract with a rival club 2 years before his contract expires, and a staff member leaving a job that he has to give 4 weeks notice at then there’s no point even including you in the conversation.

No pisstake, I seriously think Marina has a wide on for Wayne.

The other part was mostly taking the piss, but it does highlight that businesses headhunt each others staff regularly. Granted, going for a contracted coach is right up there in the morally bankrupt department, but its up to each organisation to do what they can to be successful. It's been interesting as a Panthers supporter since this blew up, for most of our existence we have been seen as the non threatening nice guys, most opposing fans have either had a soft spot for us, or just not given us much thought either way. Now we are being compared to the axis of evil (Broncos, Storm, Roosters) Maybe thats a good thing, the sleeping giant is finally becoming professional and wants success at any cost. While I dont particularly agree with whats happened regarding Cleary, its the attitude of wanting success that makes me happy.

Hopefully both clubs can look back on this in 12 months and be happy with the outcome.

Pilot house

The other part was mostly taking the piss, but it does highlight that businesses headhunt each others staff regularly. Granted, going for a contracted coach is right up there in the morally bankrupt department, but its up to each organisation to do what they can to be successful. It's been interesting as a Panthers supporter since this blew up, for most of our existence we have been seen as the non threatening nice guys, most opposing fans have either had a soft spot for us, or just not given us much thought either way. Now we are being compared to the axis of evil (Broncos, Storm, Roosters) Maybe thats a good thing, the sleeping giant is finally becoming professional and wants success at any cost. While I dont particularly agree with whats happened regarding Cleary, its the attitude of wanting success that makes me happy.

Hopefully both clubs can look back on this in 12 months and be happy with the outcome.

You will never achieve a winning culture by cheating.

This is a thread to support the tigers.

We could all cheat all the time, then what kind of world would we live in?

I try to teach my kids to try to do right by the world, help other people and all that.

They won’t be supporting the panthers now I can assure you. Hopefully they will make this decision on their own too. Then maybe I’ve taught them well, a lesson wonder kid isn’t getting.

Winning by cheating isn’t winning.

I don’t think Billy liked his gf experience. He was a win at all costs guy.

I don’t criticise you personally (you sound like a good person) just your current beliefs and argument are a bit disfunctional imo.

Aliceinwonderland

You will never achieve a winning culture by cheating.

This is a thread to support the tigers.

We could all cheat all the time, then what kind of world would we live in?

I try to teach my kids to try to do right by the world, help other people and all that.

They won’t be supporting the panthers now I can assure you. Hopefully they will make this decision on their own too. Then maybe I’ve taught them well, a lesson wonder kid isn’t getting.

Winning by cheating isn’t winning.

I don’t think Billy liked his gf experience. He was a win at all costs guy.

I don’t criticise you personally (you sound like a good person) just your current beliefs and argument are a bit disfunctional imo.

Can you show me where Panthers cheated ? Are there rules about talking to other coaches ? I understand that W/T are doing that with Bennett at the moment. So in light of this, are W/T now cheating too ?

I know that this doesn't sit well with the narrative of W/T fans but Panthers have worked within the rules.

When Go and Pascoe refused Cleary an early release they chose to wait. I understand from media reports that the contract will be from 2021. The same way that players can and do re-sign for future years.

Yes I would prefer that this didn't happen, but they are the rules at this moment in time.

Cleary both son and father will have a lot of expectation on their shoulders.

On a final note. Would W/T have done similar if given the opportunity ? I wonder. This is all very subjective. It is a grey area, but at the moment not cheating.

Tiger Ted

I will b more than happy with the outcome much sooner than 12 mths if the reports r true & we happen to sign sergeant Bennett to b the coach from ‘19.

The jury is out on u guys in a massive way re the crazy coaching machinations/costs employed to retain NC.Yep he is a good kid with much potential but it’s to early to say whether he will justify the investment & hence the pressure on ur hierarchy especially the manic Gus for the team to succeed is amplified when u consider the lack of ethics & supplementary costs pertaining to sacking Griffin & signing the biggest fraud in the coaching ranks NC’s old man.

Pilot house

Can you show me where Panthers cheated ? Are there rules about talking to other coaches ? I understand that W/T are doing that with Bennett at the moment. So in light of this, are W/T now cheating too ?

I know that this doesn't sit well with the narrative of W/T fans but Panthers have worked within the rules.

When Go and Pascoe refused Cleary an early release they chose to wait. I understand from media reports that the contract will be from 2021. The same way that players can and do re-sign for future years.

Yes I would prefer that this didn't happen, but they are the rules at this moment in time.

Cleary both son and father will have a lot of expectation on their shoulders.

On a final note. Would W/T have done similar if given the opportunity ? I wonder. This is all very subjective. It is a grey area, but at the moment not cheating.

Skulking about using agents to incite coaches of another club to breach their contracts with the club they are currently contracted to is cheating. Probably illegal as has been discussed here.

The point is that broncos don’t want Bennett but the wt wanted ivan and poured in a lot of time and resources into him.

The panthers tried to cheat wt, their sponsers, their members, their fans.

A disgrace.

I don’t recall rumours of wt talking to Bennett when Ic was on the books,

Panther management are morally bankrupt, they are ethically under and beneath all of the other clubs in the nrl.

This is a tiger thread. You can flog yourselves stupid at panthers lu, but don’t come here looking for any respect.

The panthers don’t deserve any respesct.

Nothing personal Alice...

super_coach

Up until a month ago 99% of Tiger fans were happy with the direction the club was heading and were more than happy to have Cleary in charge of building a great team and culture. Our only real concern was recruitment, in that I mean, things seemed to be a little quite re the 2019 season.

Than the news break of Cleary wanting out.....and from that day everything changed and there was no road back. I would imagine both Go and Pascoe knew this and have been working non stop to get Cleary out and a big name in.

Sadly they can not risk going to a untried up and coming coach, they would be hounded by the media if it failed. I would have loved them to try a fresh face, but sponsors and fans are very fickle.

Anyway never ever want to see Cleary at Concord again, the guy is a fake, he hides behind a John Boy Walton facad ( mr nice guy) but is in reality a slimy scumbag

I find it extremely interesting how fans of 15 NRL clubs and everyone in the media agrees that what Penrith have done is extremely under handed and unethical. Yet According to the Chocolate Soldier fans they’re the ones who are misunderstood and every other person in the league community is wrong.

I realize that all of a sudden Penrith fans are experts on Wests Tigers, and know more about our club then we do, however I haven’t seen Marina even mention Wayne’s name once. Any article, interview, extract etc where she talks about him must have allouded me.

Maybe I’m wrong, I’ve only been a Member since 2003 so clearly don’t know the ins and outs of the club like a Panthers fan would.

Pilot house

Imagine working under ic at the tigers and you follow his beliefs and implement his instructions to the letter. You do the hard yards and everything in between to get the players to perform at optimum and follow game plans.

And you are totally on board because amongst other things, you think Ivan has his heart and soul into it. And there is was a great comradery and joint effort to lift the joint.

And players buy into that too, marquees start turning up, sponsers appear and membership booms.

All on the basis of a belief in each other and on the back of that, players start responding and slowly but surely, there is a bit of a run for the 8 with a squad not quite entitled to be going as well as they are.

People are excited about the next few years and the whole club seems to be pulling together, you can feel the momentum. The buzz is very uplifting and more people are smiling and so forth

Then your coach is caught working behind your back to take all this away.

Saying one thing to you but doing the opposite.

And you are paying his wages while he stabs you.
Sneaking the panthers roster into the toilets at work so nobody notices his pornographic infatuation with an nrl enemy.

Does he really think anyone other than gus and a few lackeys at Pantheria is going to have any time for him?

No, we want him struck out from the game.

We all want as much misery for him as possible short of very serious personal losses. We take the high road after all.

Scenario:

If we see ivan and Nick Politis broken down on the side of the the m7, we pull over to pick up......(bloody!) Politis.

“ Sorry Ivan, I don’t have enough battery to get you through to the nrma either you will have to hike it”

Even Nick would give him the finger as we drove off.

soc123_au

I realize that all of a sudden Penrith fans are experts on Wests Tigers, and know more about our club then we do, however I haven’t seen Marina even mention Wayne’s name once. Any article, interview, extract etc where she talks about him must have allouded me.

Maybe I’m wrong, I’ve only been a Member since 2003 so clearly don’t know the ins and outs of the club like a Panthers fan would.

lol. I was probably too subtle. It was a pisstake on Wayne being a sex machine.

soc123_au

I find it extremely interesting how fans of 15 NRL clubs and everyone in the media agrees that what Penrith have done is extremely under handed and unethical. Yet According to the Chocolate Soldier fans they’re the ones who are misunderstood and every other person in the league community is wrong.
I agree along with quite a few Panthers supporters that it is unethical. But it isnt illegal. If the shoe was on the other foot & we were talking about Nathan running out in Tigers colours next year I would be as pissed off as you guys are. The only thing I am happy about is the fact we are becoming ruthless chasing success. As for Ivan's ethics we really dont know. All we can be sure of is the idea of returning to Penrith was discussed, there is no clarity on what the time frame was, Ivan went straight to Tigers management and let them know what took place. Why he has acted as he is in the media is up for debate, is he under instruction to shutup and tow the line until the Tigers decide how they want to play it? Who knows. The bloke is clearly uncomfortable discussing it, it appears to me he is acting under instructions.

Personally I would have preferred none of this happened. I was stoked when you guys signed Ivan, because I figured he could do for you what he did for us. Set the foundation for something sustainable. I would also have rather waited until his contract was nearly up to approach him about reuniting with Nathan. Not particularly on moral grounds, but to give NC 2 more years to establish himself as a top line player before working with his old man. We should have been the ones trying to get creeping jesus for the next 2 years.

Pilot house

I agree along with quite a few Panthers supporters that it is unethical. But it isnt illegal. If the shoe was on the other foot & we were talking about Nathan running out in Tigers colours next year I would be as pissed off as you guys are. The only thing I am happy about is the fact we are becoming ruthless chasing success. As for Ivan's ethics we really dont know. All we can be sure of is the idea of returning to Penrith was discussed, there is no clarity on what the time frame was, Ivan went straight to Tigers management and let them know what took place. Why he has acted as he is in the media is up for debate, is he under instruction to shutup and tow the line until the Tigers decide how they want to play it? Who knows. The bloke is clearly uncomfortable discussing it, it appears to me he is acting under instructions.

Personally I would have preferred none of this happened. I was stoked when you guys signed Ivan, because I figured he could do for you what he did for us. Set the foundation for something sustainable. I would also have rather waited until his contract was nearly up to approach him about reuniting with Nathan. Not particularly on moral grounds, but to give NC 2 more years to establish himself as a top line player before working with his old man. We should have been the ones trying to get creeping jesus for the next 2 years.

Crocodile tears.

Just man up and admit your club sucks.

The rest of us think so.

Pilot house

I was just thinking that in future, all panther fans who post here, should pay tribute to the tigers loss and dissapointment and commence their post with

“ I am very sorry Tigers, my club sucks, but....”

And then go on to say what they want from there.

Show some respect and that they are not backers of the rogue regime that is destroying the game.

soc123_au

Crocodile tears.

Just man up and admit your club sucks.

The rest of us think so.
Ha ha. My club has done plenty of sucking over the years. Now isn't one of those times. No crocodile tears from me at all, everything I have said is how I feel about it. I do genuinely hope that this works for both clubs, for the most part Tigers fans seem like a decent bunch & like us you have had to put up with a lot of shit over the years.