Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 8 vs Eels

Give yourself a wrap "insightful " Tell you what how about a bit of homework ? Watch all the games in a round of NRL and apply the same critical eye on each side ( as you do with the Dragons ) and perhaps you may be surprised to find out that most sides aren't perfect and perhaps perspective may hit you in the head .I'm on record as not being a fan of the coaching staff but the players f**ked themselves up today.
If you want me to comment re other teams I am more than happy to do so but I was of the belief this is the site where you post things re St GI
My post doesn’t suggest that players aren’t part of the issue
My post does suggest that our team is not as good as people think it is nor some players as good as some think they are
If there is evidence to counter argument that then by all means happy to consider it
No doubt when are good it is enjoyable to watch but IMO that is far too infrequent and has been so for 5.5 years
If you think that 50% win loss ratio is ok then best you don’t read my posts as I consider it unacceptable and am willing to offer opinion why

ozbuck

Really.. then maybe our tactics aren't working....or their tactic's are superior to ours...

Perhaps they have an ridiculously incredible roster also with strong depth that helps their cause. I'd love to see how their third party payments is structured and all that. Cronk's invaluable experience under Bellamy helps a tonne too. We have a half in Ben Hunt who I truly dotlnt think is worth the money he is on and doesn't produce as much influence on a game that a lot of experts say he does. He really goes missing at key times...club footy and rep footy too.

Today we had two current internationals out and 2 players of SOO standard as well as an experienced korbin sims. Two of those players went off today leaving us in a tough position.

getsmarty

Perhaps they have an ridiculously incredible roster also with strong depth that helps their cause. I'd love to see how their third party payments is structured and all that. Cronk's invaluable experience under Bellamy helps a tonne too. We have a half in Ben Hunt who I truly dotlnt think is worth the money he is on and doesn't produce as much influence on a game that a lot of experts say he does. He really goes missing at key times...club footy and rep footy too.

Today we had two current internationals out and 2 players of SOO standard as well as an experienced korbin sims. Two of those players went off today leaving us in a tough position.

So explain what happened against Souths in Round 2 ?

Mark D

It is just fanciful to suggest that it all comes down to the players.
It's called responsibility and accountability.
Of course the players should be accountable as well but the lion's share of the responsibility has to fall on the coach's shoulders.
Defence, discipline, game management are all directly influenced by the coach.
At the end of the day, the coach can also drop players for non performance.
Players not pulling their weight will play again next week if they get selected.
So even here, the coach's influence is significant.
McGregor is not only responsible but he is also culpable.
Mate... we should have won by 20 + the players have to own this and the only way we will get better is if they do...

Mark D

Oh here we go...must've been the coaches speech at halftime.

2009... Dragons beat eels 37-0. One week later in the first week of the finals they beat us 25-12. Bennett's coaching that week must've been absolutely pethatic right?

It's all about the coach. Coach. Coach. Coach. Haha
A voice of reason.... sick of all this coach bla bla bla crap... Players must take responsibility for today as I believe they will ..

getsmarty

Oh here we go...must've been the coaches speech at halftime.

2009... Dragons beat eels 37-0. One week later in the first week of the finals they beat us 25-12. Bennett's coaching that week must've been absolutely pethatic right?

It's all about the coach. Coach. Coach. Coach. Haha

Bennett..3 years at the Dragons...2 minor Premierships...1 premiership..1 World club championship

McGregor ..5 years at the Dragons...1 finals win out of 3...

Yep..you make a great argument.

Mark D

Question...McGregor has had 5 years to show what he is capable of...Are you happy with what you have seen ?
My point is simple.... Today in 2nd half the players need to put their hands up for what happened.... how was Mary’s coaching in the first half..... we can’t make excuses for how the players reacted in 2nd half of we do and if they do then it’s game over.

I’m as gutted as you mate..Hope they take ownership as a group and put 30+ on the warriors

getsmarty

My point is simple.... Today in 2nd half the players need to put their hands up for what happened.... how was Mary’s coaching in the first half..... we can’t make excuses for how the players reacted in 2nd half of we do and if they do then it’s game over.

I’m as gutted as you mate..Hope they take ownership as a group and put 30+ on the warriors

The same thing happened in Round 2 against Souths...The same thing has happened in previous years.

Yes I am gutted but you still didn't answer my question..so I take it your a McGregor fan...

That's o.k you are entitled to your opinion..have a good evening.

getsmarty

normanc_2nh_7320.jpg

FLASHBACK

Norman, Frizell injury updates
Author
Dragons.com.au dragons.com.au
Timestamp
Sun 5 May 2019, 06:57 PM

St George Illawarra Dragons Head of Athletic Performance Nathan Pickworth has provided the following update on Dragons duo Corey Norman and Tyson Frizell.

Frizell and Norman were both unable to finish the game.

"Corey Norman has a suspected cheekbone fracture and will go for scans and a specialist review [on Monday]," Pickworth said.

"Tyson copped a poke in the eye in the first half. It greatly affected his vision to the point where he could not keep playing. However we are optimistic that he will be available for Round 9."

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/05/05/norman-frizell-injury-updates/

Mark D

I
The same thing happened in Round 2 against Souths...The same thing has happened in previous years.

Yes I am gutted but you still didn't answer my question..so I take it your a McGregor fan...

That's o.k you are entitled to your opinion..have a good evening.
Im a fan of a team who orchestrates the basics ... and that has nothing to do with the coach... Am I happy with McGregors 5 years probably not but my statements are about todays 2nd half...

You too bud have a good evening

blacksafake

It never cost us the game but the performance of Klein particularly in the second half really changed the momentum. Every time we dropped the ball it was a knock on, they dropped it he’d call back, play on.
I saw at least 4 shoulder charges with 2 from paulo all let go & Hunt was marginal at best. How a ref in today’s game can only find one incorrect play the ball in 80 minutes is beyond me.

So disappointing to say the least , 14-4 at halftime and then we simply fell to pieces in the
2nd half . Of course the injuries to Fizzell and Norman certainly did not help matters but the Dragons must had known that they would be in for a hard game.

Great try to Duffy and also the lead up work involved to get it over the line , but someone must take him aside and show him how to take those bombs . In fact you can add both wingers to that list as well. Crikey how many tries has the Duff given opposition teams this year ?

The boys really need to get their act together quickly or they could very well be watching the semis on tele this year . As for Mary he can only do so much , but he needs to understand that all teams have “ those 50/50 calls and penalties , as well as handling errors “ go against them , excepting the good teams of which we are not at present .

rasaint

At the end of the day I do try to be a ‘sensible’ dragons supporter. That is not wearing rose coloured glasses nor going over the top in criticism.

Today I thought we lost a bit of confidence when Fritzz went off.

We regained a bit of composure and got back to 18 all but losing Cory Norman was truly huge with Fritz also gone for the game. If Cory was not injured I reckon if was anyone’s game.

I thought the Feugo try was absolute 50/50. Looked like it bobbled from Feugo hand to Jordan’s hand. If the ref said no try I think the bunker would have said no try.

Interesting that ref blew a ‘heritage’ penalty offside at kick off ( our guy was marginally offside but hey that happens regularly in all games). Will we be penalised for feeding second row at scrum penalty next week? Yes, at a quick play the ball with a good roll on McInnes penalised for rolling ball under legs. No one else does that all game did they? Jordan P sent to bin for diving over top of eels half, what a great defensive play. Even the bias commentary team death riding us all game were non pluses.

Basically, just not our day today.