Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Parramatta Eels Centre of Excellence Build

emjaycee

Deserves its own thread as will be going on for at least 2 years.

PARRAMATTA EELS SECURES FUNDING FOR AUSTRALIA’S LARGEST COMMUNITY RUGBY LEAGUE FACILITY

The Parramatta Eels today announced that it has secured a $15 million funding commitment from the Federal Government to commence building the largest Community Rugby League facility in Australia.
The proposed $40 million complex in Sydney’s north-west will be a community based facility that will include a minimum four international rugby league fields, an elite standard match venue and a 5000 square metre state of the art Community Facility that will also house a High Performance Centre for the Parramatta Eels.
This historic development will now be supported by $15 million from the Federal Government with the Parramatta Eels and The Hills Shire Council currently finalising designs/proposal for the first stage of the project.The Federal Member for Mitchell, Alex Hawke said the Federal funding was a fantastic investment in our local sporting community from the Morrison Government. “Northwest Sydney has been one of Australia’s fastest growth corridors for decades now and this Federal investment in more playing fields, better sports facilities is vitally needed.
Not only will the Eels programs be right here in Kellyville, but touch teams, women’s team, young people and disability teams. This is a huge win for the Hills District and Western Sydney” Mr Hawke said.
Mr Hawke also acknowledged that the funding in the recent Federal Budget is not contingent upon the outcome of the upcoming Federal election. This important community development has bipartisan support, with the Federal opposition also providing its support for the project.
Mayor of The Hills Shire, Dr Michelle Byrne said, “Council have been working collaboratively with the Parramatta Eels on the vision for a Community and a High Performance Centre that will provide opportunities for our residents to play sport at the highest levels and ensure grassroots rugby league receives the highest standard facilities.
“We look forward to finalising the designs of the project together and working with all the relevant parties in delivering this great vision,” Mayor Byrne added.
The Federal Member for Parramatta, Julie Owens said, “This will be a great project for the whole community, with better facilities for kids playing footy, and we congratulate the club.”
The State Member for Baulkham Hills, David Elliott said, “I’m supportive of the proposal and we are committed to working with the Club to provide this first class facility.”

unnamed.jpg

Parramatta Eels Club CEO, Bernie Gurr thanked the Federal Government for its strong support of Rugby League and said the facility would focus strongly on driving engagement with the Parramatta Eels and the wider community across the Hills District and Western Sydney.

“Today’s announcement is a landmark day for our Club. This project will provide a world-class sporting facility that will enable our NRL team and youth academy programs to be housed in one state of the art venue and enhance our capacity to give back to the community.

“Through our discussions with The Hills Shire Council it quickly became clear that we had an opportunity to build something really special, a place that could cater to the changing needs of one of the fast-growing regions in Australia and increase participation in Rugby League and Touch Football from grassroots all the way up to NRL and NRLW level,” said Mr Gurr.

The new facility will support various community groups such as Wheelchair Rugby League, Try Time and Physical Disability Rugby League, as well as NRL School to Work program which aims to assist Indigenous students with their education and employment outcomes. The new hub will also deliver benefits to multi-cultural communities with a focus on social cohesion and diversity.

Stage 1

Club will transfer its elite programs including the NRL team and the Club’s administration to a new modular training facility.

Stage 2

Completion of an elite match venue to host our current junior representative games and elite women’s rugby league fixtures. Within this venue we will also commence building a 1000 seat grandstand.

Stage 3

Construction of a 5000 square metre Community and High Performance Centre to house state of the art training facilities for Parramatta Eels NRL Men and Women’s teams, Canterbury Cup and Eels Youth Academy for NRL, Touch Football and League Tag teams. The Club will also provide new state of the art facilities for disability, wheelchair and our Try Time Rugby League programs.

The Parramatta Eels and Hills Council have been working closely on ensuring that the proposed facility will significantly increase the number of community users, guarantee that there are enhanced facilities for the local junior league Clubs and that the surrounding residents will benefit from more parklands and free play spaces.

The multi-stage project will promote equality and social inclusion while facilitating greater outcomes for the community and stronger interaction between the Parramatta Eels Club and its community partners.

https://www.parraeels.com.au/news/2...lias-largest-community-rugby-league-facility/

Eelogical

This will rival the stadium rebuild thread. Do we have the same reporters and photographers at hand?

Chipmunk

It should be stressed that this is a commitment from the current Federal Government. Unless it is matched by Labor, in the event of a change of Government, it will not occur.

Having said that, I'd expect it to be matched.

emjaycee

It should be stressed that this is a commitment from the current Federal Government. Unless it is matched by Labor, in the event of a change of Government, it will not occur.

Having said that, I'd expect it to be matched.
Federal Labour have given the commitment (one of the reasons it took so long to be announced). Is covered in the press release. Federal Member (Labour) for Parramatta Julie Owens was at the media announcement.

84 Baby

For those that know the park, what fields will they use? Just the large Memorial side one? They’ve also got the top one, the double fields with cricket pitch and the new one above the baseball fields? I don’t know how used they are anymore during weekdays. Couple primary schools used it occasionally and Crestwood used to play their inter school soccer and cricket there

Chipmunk

Federal Labour have given the commitment (one of the reasons it took so long to be announced). Is covered in the press release. Federal Member (Labour) for Parramatta Julie Owens was at the media announcement.

Well that's a bonus.

Looks like they're trying to get the State to kick in some money also.

emjaycee

For those that know the park, what fields will they use? Just the large Memorial side one? They’ve also got the top one, the double fields with cricket pitch and the new one above the baseball fields? I don’t know how used they are anymore during weekdays. Couple primary schools used it occasionally and Crestwood used to play their inter school soccer and cricket there
I sat down and saw the plans a few weeks ago and from what I can remember they are keeping most of the field layouts on the right hand side (looking from Memorial) and the baseball field will stay as well.

a85352cb8ed7a230c07ff3eaed4c0883

Eelogical

I think the Roosters will be most pleased about this. Our juniors we are producing for them will get a great head start.
My first thought was that it will become a breeding ground for other clubs, just like the salmon hatcheries in Tassie.

emjaycee

that comes back to us we have to identify the next superstars early and sign them up before the poachers come around
Exactly.
And part of the strategy behind that is to be that 'development club' where players are part of the Eels environment from a young age and want to stay part of that environment, through reps to Canterbury Cup and onto NRL.

T-Boon

Exactly.
And part of the strategy behind that is to be that 'development club' where players are part of the Eels environment from a young age and want to stay part of that environment, through reps to Canterbury Cup and onto NRL.

My opinion is we should completely abandon that.
We breed kids like Dylan Brown....Hoping these kids will be loyal is not smart. If they are heaps talented they are going where ever their agent gets the biggest initial contract. Parra has wasted its time with this stuff for 40 years. We should cherry pick the best 16/17 year olds we can get from where ever.
I'd rather we become like the Roosters and Storm.