Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Eelogical

I dunno. I think Nick Greiner took the trains away. And broke the childrens' hearts. There are now people in Goonelabah who think that railway tracks are just nailed down to stop people stealing the sleepers underneath. One of the tragedies of our time.
I used to frequent Sth Lismore as a young spider. Casino St, Hogans pub was on the corner of Union though I have no idea if it's still there (though I'll check). Rouse Rd in Goony was where my grandparents lived. Good times in Lismore, they should be considering I was born there.

Bandwagon

I used to frequent Sth Lismore as a young spider. Casino St, Hogans pub was on the corner of Union though I have no idea if it's still there (though I'll check). Rouse Rd in Goony was where my grandparents lived. Good times in Lismore, they should be considering I was born there.

It's still there, the pub is basically a waste of space, but has an excellent independent bottle shop, which now takes up about two thirds of the building.

The lions club do a meat raffle every Saturday morning out of the public bar, they go around to all local businesses selling tickets, I've been buying them for 12 years now, and only last Saturday won the first prize for the first time. I figure that meat tray cost me about $1200.00,

Bandwagon

And the trains aint ever coming back, only recently Bangalow rd was widened at the esses just before Bangalow where it went under the rail line, they had to remove the bridge there to allow for the widened rd.

At some point the governments gonna have to spend a f**kton of money removing all the old bridges and overpasses along the line, as they're all timber construction, and as far as I can tell are getting no maintenance at all,

Byron Bay station is now a pub and they sealed the road over the crossing.

The biggest problem is getting from Casino to Robina by bus and its about a 3 hour trip which makes it unappealing but the cost to reinstate the rail would be unfeasible I reckon.

Larry Anthony was our member at the time and he copped a fair bit of shit from the farmers who relied on cheap rail transport to get their goodies to market.

Joshuatheeel

Byron Bay station is now a pub and they sealed the road over the crossing.

Was a pub even when the line was active.

Remember catching the train there in the mid 90’s and getting a drink while waiting.

Part of the old line (only 3kms or so) in Byron is now used by a solar train.

It's still there, the pub is basically a waste of space, but has an excellent independent bottle shop, which now takes up about two thirds of the building.

The lions club do a meat raffle every Saturday morning out of the public bar, they go around to all local businesses selling tickets, I've been buying them for 12 years now, and only last Saturday won the first prize for the first time. I figure that meat tray cost me about $1200.00,

I bet those snags tasted great

I said all along that the major players like Visa will create their own digital currency and bitcoin, et al, will become yesterdays virtual fish n chip wrappers.

Here are the backers of Libra.

36a2c640-9171-11e9-b99e-c8511fc2abc4

you have to ask why ?

OK, they make more money but more like why do we, the consumer, need another currency ?

we already have Visa and Paypal et al, so why would we need more ?

It does. They do it so that they aren't at the mercy of Bitcoin or any other cryptomerkins.

no it doesn't, my question was whats in it for the consumer ?

at the mercy of cryptomerkins? no one is forcing consumers to use them so how can they be at their mercy ?

no it doesn't, my question was whats in it for the consumer ?
I said this.
It answers your first question and renders the remaining questions somewhat redundant.

at the mercy of cryptomerkins? no one is forcing consumers to use them so how can they be at their mercy ?
I am talking about Facebook being at their mercy in cases where people want to use crypto.

Its a simple business strategy that Facebook are employing. If cryptocurrency is a thing that some of their users want to use then why not try and control it yourself?

Its the same strategy that @Noise and I were discussing when we were talking about Adani and you failed to answer the question about their projects in Brazil.

It answers your first question and renders the remaining questions somewhat redundant.

In short, they do it so that they aren't at the mercy of Bitcoin or any other cryptomerkins.
Considering that bitcoin etc are used by drug dealers, arms dealers, extortionists and dark web sleazy merkins there is absolutely a legitimate reason why the top companies would want to distance themselves from them. For the past few years the price of these digital currencies have been manipulated by fake news publications creating a tone of FOMO emanating from merkins who have a vested interest. If it was a stock on the ASX, rumours would be shut down immediately, stocks suspended and merkins locked up. I have not read up on Libra, however I suspect that the stakeholders have little motivation for the value of the currency to change. I would think that they are more keen on the blockchain security aspect and a slice of the juicy transaction fees.

Just my hunch anyway.

Talking about dodgy sleazebags, I am so not clicking on these ads that have been appearing on LU of late.

upload_2019-6-19_13-15-56.pngupload_2019-6-19_13-16-17.png