Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Eelogical

And the trains aint ever coming back, only recently Bangalow rd was widened at the esses just before Bangalow where it went under the rail line, they had to remove the bridge there to allow for the widened rd.

At some point the governments gonna have to spend a f**kton of money removing all the old bridges and overpasses along the line, as they're all timber construction, and as far as I can tell are getting no maintenance at all,
Byron Bay station is now a pub and they sealed the road over the crossing.

The biggest problem is getting from Casino to Robina by bus and its about a 3 hour trip which makes it unappealing but the cost to reinstate the rail would be unfeasible I reckon.

Larry Anthony was our member at the time and he copped a fair bit of shit from the farmers who relied on cheap rail transport to get their goodies to market.
It's a pity the Gov didn't want to save it. There was talk about making it into a tourist line which would be far better than ripping it up and making a rail trail for the bicycle boys out of it, there's some beautiful countryside along the way. I caught the train to Sydney out of Lismore on more than one occasion and have fond memories of those journeys. It's amazing how many disused rail lines there are out there. The line north of Tenterfield for instance, should be a heritage line as it was the only way to get to Brisbane by rail back in the day. You had to change trains at Wallangarra as the railway gauge was different between QLD and NSW. Wallangarra Stn still has trains going there but only on the QLD side.......tourist steam trains out of Warwick. On the NSW side it's a rusting, rotting memory of times gone by. At least Wallangarra Stn still survives as a viable cafe, come conference centre.

Yeah, my mum still lives in Tenterfield. It's where I grew up during high school.

I drove along the highway up to Wallangarra on Sunday and couldn't believe how badly abandoned it has become. Some of the bridges have nearly collapsed completely.

Such a shame.

Tenterfield. It's where I grew up during high school.

20150625-peter-allen.jpg

Eelogical

Yeah, my mum still lives in Tenterfield. It's where I grew up during high school.

I drove along the highway up to Wallangarra on Sunday and couldn't believe how badly abandoned it has become. Some of the bridges have nearly collapsed completely.

Such a shame.
Exactly. The QLD side of the rail line can still operate trains yet the NSW side are happy to let it rot. There's not a person in the NSW government who has vision to make a going concern out of it. Mind you, there are heaps of these run-down lines all over Australia.

I reckon it would be too far gone now. Would almost be cheaper to build a new one.

I think the abolishment of the tram lines in Brisbane and the Samford rail line was similarly shyte. They would be a fantastic additions to the public transport options right now.

That said, If no-one was using them at the time I can understand why it happened.

Such a shame.

So you're the son of the Tenterfield Straddler? Kudos.

Eelogical

I reckon it would be too far gone now. Would almost be cheaper to build a new one.

I think the abolishment of the tram lines in Brisbane and the Samford rail line was similarly shyte. They would be a fantastic additions to the public transport options right now.

That said, If no-one was using them at the time I can understand why it happened.
The line through Kyogle is the commercial line these days, and that's fine. All I'm saying is do something with these lines around the country instead of leaving them to rot and become an eyesore. I prefer resto's over wasting away but I would be more than happy to see something useful done with them rather than rust.

Bandwagon

Considering that bitcoin etc are used by drug dealers, arms dealers, extortionists and dark web sleazy merkins there is absolutely a legitimate reason why the top companies would want to distance themselves from them. For the past few years the price of these digital currencies have been manipulated by fake news publications creating a tone of FOMO emanating from merkins who have a vested interest. If it was a stock on the ASX, rumours would be shut down immediately, stocks suspended and merkins locked up. I have not read up on Libra, however I suspect that the stakeholders have little motivation for the value of the currency to change. I would think that they are more keen on the blockchain security aspect and a slice of the juicy transaction fees.

Just my hunch anyway.

Yeah the last sentence

Blockchain has the ability to completely f**k the card industry's business model by allowing secure transactions peer to peer for next to no cost and most people are walking around with a computer in their pocket capable of dealing with tech needed.

The line through Kyogle is the commercial line these days, and that's fine. All I'm saying is do something with these lines around the country instead of leaving them to rot and become an eyesore. I prefer resto's over wasting away but I would be more than happy to see something useful done with them rather than rust.
Like what?