Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

Paddles

@Paddles should publish this online with a little tidying up. Medium.com would work and is free. It would be shared here, on Twitter and Facebook.

Ha, thanks for the vote of confidence 18 and others. As you can imagine that trawling was a little traumatic. I’ll try to do a tidy up and find it a home this week when I recover. In the meantime hopefully one or two of those journos that think the criticism is just knee jerk stuff will realise that the same issues have been raised for about half a decade now...

ALSGI

Ha, thanks for the vote of confidence 18 and others. As you can imagine that trawling was a little traumatic. I’ll try to do a tidy up and find it a home this week when I recover. In the meantime hopefully one or two of those journos that think the criticism is just knee jerk stuff will realise that the same issues have been raised for about half a decade now...
Paddles, you’ve done most of the work here for a decent journo (term used lightly) to ask the obvious questions, well done mate.

Old Kogarah Boy 1

PART 2

2016 – Unfortunately the team didn’t rise. McGregor got the team ‘in the position to fight hard consistently [and] get the highest finish possible’. They scraped into 11th. Had Parramatta not lost 12 points for salary cap irregularities it would have been 12th. (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/st...on-2016-nrl-expectations-20151111-gkwqs4.html)

Towards the end of the year McGregor said he wanted nothing to do with rumours that Corey Norman was coming to the club (a couple of years before he signed on), but was interested in code-crossing start Jarryd Hayne (who the club later tried to sign just before he was arrested for sexual assault).

McGregor’s trademark tactic of not having any tactics, not utilising his bench, and not changing direction under any circumstances really emerged this year. While the team were a ‘mathematical chance’ of making the finals and needing a win over the Roosters to keep the season alive, McGregor ‘left the great red and white hope and off-load machine, Luciano Leilua, on the bench’ until the team was 30 points down and the season done (https://www.nospam47.com/g00/au/other-sports/news/the-coaching-tactic-destroying-dragons-fans-nrl-national-rugby-league-st-george-illawarra-paul-mcgregor-luciano-leilua/)

While other teams have brought generations of players through, McGregor has continually strangled emerging talent, playing Josh McCrone and Kurt Mann in front of Jai Field; Euan Aitken and Tim Lafai in front of Zac Lomax, Tanne Milne, Reuben Garrick, Patrick Herbert, Mikaele Ravilawa; Jeremy Latimore in front of Josh Kerr, Lachlan Timm, Jackson Ford, and the list goes on. It would be one thing frustrating the fans/people paying your bills in what is ultimately an entertainment business if you were winning, but another thing entirely when you are continually shown up and losing with the same lack of tactical nous and management year on year.

An end of season review was undertaken by former skipper Mark Coyne, sports scientist Dr Craig Duncan, and coaching and performance specialists Clare Prideaux and Dirk Melton. The club acknowledged ‘a number of factors’ were to blame, but not McGregor, who had a ‘positive future as an NRL coach’. (https://africa.espn.com/nrl/story/_/id/17657802/coach-mcgregor-survive-dragons-axe)

Benji Marshall and Mitch Rein were sacked, and recruitment and retention were taken from McGregor, however he promised changes to key positions. Mary also said that ‘Our results in 2016 were not acceptable and no one within the club is happy or comfortable with our results and inconsistent performances this year.’ Luckily, he was later able to learn how to be ‘comfortable being uncomfortable’.

2017 – The Dragons surprisingly shot out of the blocks, winning 8 of their first 12 games to sit in the top 4. In June, the club beat away competition from no one to hastily lock in McGregor for a further 2 years. They then faded losing 8 games in the second half of the season to finish 9th.

Reporters again started asking whether it was ‘time for McGregor to start playing some of the young-guns the Dragons have in their ranks’ (
https://www.nospam47.com/au/league/news/dragons-win-but-redv-fans-still-fuming-nrl/vw6nd0se57au1vzrhuk55s5t3)

). McGregor answered with an emphatic ‘no’, persisting with Josh McCrone until the high-flying Toronto Wolfpack snared his prized signature.

Euan Aitken noted that ‘there were a few injuries at crucial times that disrupted our season’ and that sometimes ‘after a really good first half we didn't finish it off in the second half so that's what we've been focusing on at training, making sure our second halves and our second efforts always going to be as good as our first.’ (https://www.nrl.com/news/2017/12/12/st-george-illawarra-dragons-2017-nrl-season-by-the-numbers/) Two years later this is still a problem.

2018 – With the signings of Ben Hunt and James Graham, ‘McGregor has mentioned in the press that he finally has the roster he wants in his fourth full season in charge, so there really can’t be any excuses this season.’ (https://www.theroar.com.au/2018/03/05/st-george-illawarra-dragons-2018-season-preview/)

They shot out of the blocks again, winning 12 of 15. The bench appeared under-utilised and youngsters were again ignored with the top 13 (not 17) playing until they were physically and mentally fatigued. Again. They lost 38-0 in a game earmarked to honour Lance Thompson and farewell Jason Nightingale. McGregor said ‘We are missing a couple of key players at the moment but that happens in footy.’ (https://www.nrl.com/news/2018/08/26/angry-st-george-illawarra-dragons-fans-turn-on-their-own/)

They fell to 7th, appearing completely bereft of ideas and tactics. Mary refused to change the team other than for injury. Eventually a couple of young players got a start and Dufty and Lomax starred in a fine performance against Brisbane in the elimination final (48-18), and a stoic loss against Souths (13-12) in the finals.

2019 – Worst season in living memory. Summary: Lomax dropped, juniors leaving, plodders locked in for forwards, players not given a spell in reserves when under-performing or clearly busted.

Proven plodders like Maranta are started in place of young up and comers. Promising players like Ravilawa and Pereira are dropped multiple times and made scapegoats for non-existent game plans. Players leading basically all stats in reserves not given a start in firsts (https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...e/news-story/1d8bb26bae7e106c1a13311a06a6c683). Long suffering fans are instead treated to the same excuses, and lack of vision until panic stations are hit and the odd radical move (like promoting an admittedly very promising SG Ball player once the season is gone. Just one though, and only when all has been lost, ala the use of Leilua in 2016).

The hopeless use of the bench and youngsters in 2019 is nicely set out here. I would point to the customary end of season fade but this one started a bit earlier, around round 1. The press focuses on De Belin and Widdop’s injuries, ignoring the fact that this is a team chock full of rep talent.

Oh and in the meantime, the club locked in McGregor for 2 more seasons after 2 losses and 2 one-point wins at the beginning of the season. Another season of failure has led to the board reportedly guaranteed him an entire 2020 to add to his failures while sacking the poor sods that report to him.

Thank you, Paddles.
It's there for all to see.
Its not a matter of taking sides, facts are fact and the fact is, McGregor has failed.
The board need to recognise that fact.

Footnote - We like to see you post thse details on a thread directed at the media.
https://forums.leagueunlimited.com/threads/complaint-to-the-media-the-onus-is-on-you.477292/

THE MARY YEARS PART 1

2002-2008 – Dragons strength and conditioning coach. Let go by Wayne Bennett during the only successful period in the joint venture history (2009-11)

2012-2013 – Rejoined the club after Bennett left. Coached the reserve grade team.

2014 – Promoted to first grade assistant coach. Ian Millward is slotted in as reserve grade coach.

May 2014 – Steve Price loses 6 from 7 and becomes the first Dragons coach sacked mid-season since David Waite in 2000. McGregor was given the job as interim coach, saying ‘this is a difficult situation for me, Steve Price is a good friend of mine and we have worked closely together’ (https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/steve-price-sacked-by-dragons-20140526-zrnyr.html)

August 2014 – Peter Doust, at this stage a few years prior to his self-ousting, appointed McGregor for a further three years. After failing to get Bennett back, Doust claimed that ‘A very detailed process was undertaken with a variety of coaches and scenarios considered but on balance, the Board determined that Paul was the most appropriate fit for our Club moving forward.’ (https://www.theleader.com.au/story/2506924/paul-mcgregor-selected-to-take-on-dragons-coaching-role/)

Mary said that it was his ‘job to make the tough decisions as we haven’t consistently played Finals Football for a while and that is not good enough for our Club.’ 2014 position: 11th.

2015 – Ian Millward, Dean Young and Ben Hornby join as assistant coaches. A solid year, finishing in 8th and losing the elimination final 11-10 to Canterbury. There was however a glimpse of the classic end of season fade, with no wins registered between rounds 12 and 21.

McGregor saw a team on the rise: ‘I think the fans should be excited about next year because of the improvement they saw from2014 to 2015.’ (https://www.illawarramercury.com.au/story/3392954/mary-confident-after-review/)
Great review that highlights the shame of McGregor's appointment.
What I will highlight once more is the man's CV and question why was he even appointed in the first place.
1. His claim to fame is 3 coalfields titles. In truth who cares and no relevance to NRL standard.
2. Returned after Bennett dumped him, to coach the Cutters for 2 seasons finishing 8th in one season after being knocked out in week one of the finals - AND finishing 10th in the other season.
Hardly a compelling coaching CV to be appointed even as an interim coach of a FG side.
3. McGregor has never served an apprenticeship under any of the premier coaches in the NRL.
Assistant to his close mate Price for a year and a half doesn't really provide any extra credibility.

So how are these credentials good enough to make such an important decision for the club?
Paddles you have done a superb job describing the performance and the results under McGregor which are not at all surprising given the guy's qualifications.

Dragonslayer

Bellamy playing a rookie fullback today in Nicho Hynes, and having young Walters on the bench, a luxury with their ladder position and being able to rest some players coming into the finals.

Will be interesting to watch.

Failing to plan is planning to fail, I hope McGenius understands this...…………… probably not!

getsmarty

Vaughan on footy show.
Mary two more years,end of story.

Correct...the only positive being this would have to be his last shot....the Board cannot be that Stupid..

They have eliminated nearly all assistant staff............No one else left to throw under the bus.........

I reckon if we tank after the 1st 10 rounds, he is a dead man walking ( metaphorically speaking )

Could happen...Widdop will be a massive loss.....we have no other organizer like him..............

hazzbeen

Correct...the only positive being this would have to be his last shot....the Board cannot be that Stupid..

They have eliminated nearly all assistant staff............No one else left to throw under the bus.........

I reckon if we tank after the 1st 10 rounds, he is a dead man walking ( metaphorically speaking )

Could happen...Widdop will be a massive loss.....we have no other organizer like him..............
Who are the assistant staff that are gone .... ?

slippery5

Bellamy playing a rookie fullback today in Nicho Hynes, and having young Walters on the bench, a luxury with their ladder position and being able to rest some players coming into the finals.

Failing to plan is planning to fail, I hope McGenius understands this...…………… probably not!
Hynes is an absolute star in waiting, one of the best young talents I've seen.
In fact I'de give the Dragons 12 start if they were playing The Sunshine Coast Falcons, the team he & Timm come from

The kid played great - didn't look out of place at all.
Coaching and Team culture come to the fore with the top teams.
Bellamy is a true mentor and is not afraid to give the young guys a go.
As a result, he gets paid back in spades by his ambitious youngsters.
Big fail when it comes to McGregor and St. George.

Mickthedragon

Agreed, he won't be sacked unless they have to drag him out. He'll be safe to start next season and probably given 8-10 rounds to prove himself.
If we start the season poorly then surely its untenable. It's madness that he's even given that long but that's how our dud board roll. Then of course, he'll probably be replaced by another old boy.

Agreed, he won't be sacked unless they have to drag him out. He'll be safe to start next season and probably given 8-10 rounds to prove himself.
If we start the season poorly then surely its untenable. It's madness that he's even given that long but that's how our dud board roll. Then of course, he'll probably be replaced by another old boy.
Positioning Barrett it looks like....
Lurching from one disaster to another.
Couldn't believe some of the self centred tripe he trotted out in the media.
Not a coach's boot laces unfortunately.

Banjo2014

Quote - thank God we beat the Titans if Bulldogs beat the Tiges then we are seciond last - from Mary after the Titan's game]