Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finals Week 1 Qualifying Final - Roosters vs Rabbitohs: Friday 13th September 7:50pm @SCG

callmack1

Well, it's time. It's that time. It's the time of the year you work all Season for and it's the time of the year where the stakes are raised and every single little thing matters. It's the time of year where you can't afford mistakes and it's the time of year where you simply must turn it on. That's right, it's Finals time!! I honestly couldn't be more excited!! They say Finals is the start of a new competition, the NRL are promoting this Finals series as 'anyone's game' and I think that is very fitting. Let's knuckle down and get ready, strap yourselves in and enjoy the ride!!

Pretty happy to finish the Regular Season in third spot, that's a great result and gives us a good chance to really give this Premiership a shake if we have the desire.

What a way to kick off the Finals too, against the arch rivals yet again at a historic ground in the SCG. This will be a massive occasion. As I said last week, hate is a strong word but it is a word that is simply not strong enough when describing the Roosters. There's 111 years of hate, 111 years of bitterness and 111 years of fantastic battles between our clubs. I expect that to continue on Friday in what is perhaps one of our biggest clashes in recent history.

We simply must be on, there is no two ways about it. I feel like this will be a different game to last week. The Roosters will be a much better side as they get some troops back including Luke Keary which will make a big difference. Plus, there's also the fact that they'll want revenge for last week so will be very fired up, they'll be primed. In saying that, we will be too hopefully! The confidence we'll get from beating them last week cannot be underestimated in my opinion and I think that gives us a mental advantage because we know we can beat anyone now, we know we can do it, we just have to go out there and actually do it. We'll get troops back too in Tom, Jimmy, Turner and possibly George which will be fantastic. Sam is a huge loss but hopefully someone can step up and do a job in his spot. So yea, it's gonna be a super tough game and we'll have to put in our best performance of the year if we want to win, that's the way Finals go. I know the boys can do it!

Are you ready? This is gonna be a cracker of a Finals series, let's get into it!! Glory, Glory!!

Week 1 Finals Draw, match-ups: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/08/week-1-finals-draw-match-ups/

Everything you need to know about the 2019 NRL Finals: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/08/everything-you-need-to-know-about-the-2019-nrl-finals/

callmack1

"We've got a resilient team" - Burgess: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/09/weve-got-a-resilient-team---burgess/

"What do you want me to say? Tell me what to say" - Burgess bites at journo over hair pull: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...l/news-story/180a98d7fd174e3d69cf07582ccf2115

"When our Members and Fans get behind us, that gives us a lift" - Reynolds: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...et-behind-us-that-gives-us-a-lift---reynolds/

"I'm really looking forward to playing in my first finals series" - Doueihi: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...-playing-in-my-first-finals-series---doueihi/

callmack1

My predicted Line Up for this week.

1. Doueihi
2. Johnston
3. Roberts
4. Gagai
5. Graham
6. Walker (C)
7. Reynolds
8. T.Burgess
9. Cook
10. Knight
11. Sutton
12. Su'A
13. Murray

14. Lowe
15. G.Burgess
16. Tatola
17. Nicholls

The way I see it for the first game of the Finals, Jimmy slots back in at left centre with Gags staying at left centre (if fit) and Graham going to right wing. Allan misses out despite how good he has been. If Gags isn't fit, we have the same bacline as last week with Jimmy slotting in at left centre. Tom will probably return straight into the starting side and George will come onto the bench.

Guess we'll find out very soon!

callmack1

Finals Week 1 NRL Line Up to play Roosters: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/10/finals-week-one-nrl-line-up-to-play-roosters/

Pretty happy with that, a shame to see Gags ruled out but with Jimmy back, it's still a bloody good backline. After thinking about it, it's probably best to have Tom on the bench due to match fitness and I'm happy for Tatola to start. Britt is the surprise one for me, surely George comes in for him? Or maybe Nicholls will drop out? Either way, happy with the side for the first Finals match!

callmack1

Murray - Wayne’s been great for my game: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/10/murray-waynes-been-great-for-my-game/

"We're more than a team" - Burgess: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/10/were-more-than-a-team---burgess/

"It's our job to carry on the rivalry" - Graham: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/10/its-our-job-to-carry-on-the-rivalry---graham/

Lowe loving the rivalry: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/10/lowe-loving-the-rivalry/

Sutton can be Rabbitohs' X-factor: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/10/sutton-can-be-rabbitohs-x-factor/

Gallery - Training Finals Week 1: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/10/gallery-training-finals-week-one/

Crowe calls into Souths training to read a chapter from the Book of Feuds before Roosters war: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...h/news-story/8daf6231e1d358dd80b1c8fc31667dee

Hoh, Rusty was there today firing the boys up with the Book of Feuds!! How good is that?!!

handyman2190

Now ive heard it all hargreves free to play and sam out for pulling hair, this is a set up if ive ever seen one,what a joke.
Sam should have contested he wouldnt of got more weeks

callmack1

Well, that will do me!! For frick sake I cannot believe it!! Jared Waerea-Hargreaves has got off his charge and is free to play. What the actual hell, I genuinely can't believe it. How can Sam miss a week for a friggin hair pull yet Waerea-Hargreaves gets off that?!! It is an absolute joke. If that's not evidence of favouritism then I don't know what is. The NRL should be ashamed of themselves! Their 'darlings' can get away with anything and it's allgood yet we get knit-picked over every little thing! I genuinely believe it's unfair.

Geez I hope we use this as even more of a motivator on Friday night!!

Travitoh

Now ive heard it all hargreves free to play and sam out for pulling hair, this is a set up if ive ever seen one,what a joke.
Sam should have contested he wouldnt of got more weeks
Well, that will do me!! For frick sake I cannot believe it!! Jared Waerea-Hargreaves has got off his charge and is free to play. What the actual hell, I genuinely can't believe it. How can Sam miss a week for a friggin hair pull yet Waerea-Hargreaves gets off that?!! It is an absolute joke. If that's not evidence of favouritism then I don't know what is. The NRL should be ashamed of themselves! Their 'darlings' can get away with anything and it's allgood yet we get knit-picked over every little thing! I genuinely believe it's unfair.

Geez I hope we use this as even more of a motivator on Friday night!!

You both were campaigning for Sam to be free to play after his head high contact on Moylan which he was also acquitted of. I disagree with both decisions but it is the correct decision in regards to consistency.

Sam's one week ban isn't for hair pulling alone, it's for continuous grubbery throughout the season and a result of carry over points. It's the straw that broke the MRC's back.
He would've only copped a fine at most if he hadn't already been sighted previously this season.
Or he could just play rugby league and cut the shit.

callmack1

Tom Burgess on track to complete timely early return: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/11/tom-burgess-on-track-to-complete-timely-early-return/

Roosters v Rabbitohs - Guest coaches Kimmorley and Renouf go head-to-head: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...coaches-kimmorley-and-renouf-go-head-to-head/

Also, from Sporting News,

The Lurker - The history behind Sam Burgess' brain explosion

Recent history of feud
There’s more to the now infamous Sam Burgess hair pulling incident against the Roosters last weekend than meets the eye.

Those in the know at both Souths and the Roosters have told me that Burgess and his victim - Roosters rookie Billy Smith - have ‘history’ and the youngster went into the game a marked man.

The feud between the pair relates to an off field incident earlier this year - and while everyone will deny it - it was the talk of both camps before the game that Burgess wasn’t happy with the young centre/winger.

Either way, it was an expensive moment of madness from Burgess, who now will miss Friday night’s huge re-match between the two arch rivals.

Rivalry fatigue?
It's supposed to be one of the game's big rivalries - but there are plenty of free tickets floating around for the Roosters-Souths qualifying final.

Perhaps it's the prospect of watching the game from 100 miles away that has scared off fans.

Whatever the reason, the NRL is desperately hoping for some decent foot traffic on the night to help get the crowd up past the 20k mark.

On the flip side, ticket sales for the Parramatta-Brisbane elimination final are tracking well and even Asbestosland looks like attracting a decent turn-out for the Manly-Cronulla showdown.

BradS

You know whats really funny, every rorter fan you meet doesn’t even come from the eastern suburbs

I have put it down now to the following

Rorter supporters are try hards who wish they lived in Paddington or Vaucluse and so as a pathetic way in they support the money team

What a sorry life these people live

callmack1

Coaches Media Finals Week 1: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/12/coaches-media-finals-week-1/

So, George and Tom confirmed to play as is Knight. Wayne also said that AJ and Doueihi would swap at times so that'll be interesting. I like it.

Finals snapshot - Rabbitohs: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/12/finals-snapshot-rabbitohs/

Ambush is on - Bunnies fans snap up more than half of SCG tickets: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...g/news-story/4d82a9e7dc98903cf4d2f6f8df657b61

Why selfish Sam Burgess should take a leaf out of Dally M winner’s book: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...k/news-story/6b6ccc9998bc7e37e172ac8b4d47f0cc

Russell Crowe’s got the ‘Book of Feuds’. The Roosters’ reaction is enough for a new chapter: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...t/news-story/eb0a8b85e478f0f0b6365be95bfb77e9

Brad Fittler's stinging critique of dumped NSW star Cody Walker ahead of footy Finals: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/brad-f...ng-final/d81c33e4-9315-4244-bcee-9b643d42be96

Phil Gould slams NRL over Burgess ban as Roosters gain edge with JWH let-off: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/phil-g...abbitohs/b79a090e-6278-4a30-bf88-6f190a136821

Got me some free tickets to the game.

Trying to get another tiger mate to attend with me to watch you win it from victor trumpet stand.

Fine to wear the tigers colours and back the better side, but alas no flag.

callmack1

Rabbitohs update 19-Man Squad for Finals Week 1: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/12/rabbitohs-update-19-man-squad-for-finals-week-one/

'Like two Christmases' - Roosters, Rabbitohs ready for round two: https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/09/12/like-two-christmases-roosters-rabbitohs-ready-for-round-two/

I'm heading up to Pukekohe for the V8 Supercars tomorrow, can't say I'm too excited about it because all my focus is on Souths!! Haha. let's just say no one in my motel is getting any sleep tomorrow night!!

callmack1

Well, it's finally, finally that time of the week again!! Game Day!!! Probably the biggest game of the year so far!! Every game is huge against our arch rivals but throw in the fact that it's a Finals game and the occasion is multiplied by 100. It is Finals time and this is where we simply have to turn it on or we're out. It that's time of year where we need to stand up, we need to take a stand and show what we're really made of and we need to take a stand to show that we are capapble of winning this competition!

For, the Finals of the Telstra Premiership are all about belief. A 'new comp' starts tonight and while you can draw upon things and results throughout the Regular Season, in a way, it kind of means nothing now. As the NRL are marketing it, it really is anyone's game. We have to go out there starting tonight and make it ours!!! As I said though, it's all about belief for me. You have to believe in yourself and believe in your teamates. You have to trust yourself and you have to trust in your teamates. You have to believe in the gameplan and above all, you simply have to believe that you can do it! If you see it, don't second guess yourself, just do it and do it at a hundred mile an hour, no fear, no hesitation. It's the Finals and belief is what it's all about. I reckon that right now, our belief should be sky high.

What a way to kick off the Finals series against our arch rivals though! As I have mentioned before, hate is a very strong word but it simply ain't a strong enough word to describe the Roosters. 111 years of spite, 111 years of bitterness and 111 years of pure, burning hatred! I'm sure that'll come out tonight and as I said, the fact that it's a Finals game will only add to the occasion.

This isn't gonna be easy at all though and I feel we're gonna have to play our best game of the year so far if we want to get on top of them and win. They are already one of the best sides in the comp and having Luke Keary back is a massive in for them. It will be a different game then last week. I feel that if we can match them in the middle with the forwards and then have someone like Su'A up in Keary's face all night trying to smash him, then it will go a long way towards winning this game because it will mean they struggle to lay a platform and it will shut down a lot of their attack. Our edge defence needs to be better too, Surely Mitchell won't have another quiet one and we all know what Manu can do. I was impressed with the way we defended in the second half last week but we need to take that next step tonight at the hallowed SCG. Attack needs to improve too no doubt. They have so much strike it's not even funny and we're certainly the underdogs in this one.

I know we can do it though, we've proven that twice this year. I know the boys believe, I believe, they believe, we believe. We can do this!! We just have to go out there and give it to them!! Show that our club has more heart and more soul then they ever will!!! Fire up!!!!! It's all on!!!!

Finals is here baby!!!

Glory, Glory!!!!

Tedesco was completely contained in the second half last week. The roosters will be closely analysing how that came to pass and designing a way to get him into the game.

You are at your best with speed and passing but I think we will see a kick fest tonight and a highly lively outing.

Too much hell up the middle, a game for the backs.

A game well suited for your Cam Murray, the worlds most finely tuned forward.

And jwh will be gun shy after his close call and he can expect some good old stick.

There was no way that was accidental. It was a coward hit and he needs to be smashed into the next world.

He can leave the match on a stretcher. recovery this time next year in a play off for the spoon v dragons ( thanks to Mary).

callmack1

Knight's tale just another chapter in wonderful world of Bennett: https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/kn...nderful-world-of-bennett-20190912-p52qi9.html

The friendship at the heart of league's greatest rivalry: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...hip-at-the-heart-of-leagues-greatest-rivalry/

Hobbled South Sydney star Alex Johnston pushes forward return for NRL Finals

By Steve Zemek
10 hours ago

South Sydney's Alex Johnston has revealed he pushed forward his NRL return in order to prove himself fit for the forthcoming NRL finals.

Johnston has suffered through an injury-affected 2019, missing a month due to minor knee surgery before going down in his round 14 return with bone bruising in the same knee which required nine weeks out.

He made his comeback a fortnight ago but has been shuffled out to the wing while he regains full fitness.

He will make somewhat of a return to the No.1 position during Friday's qualifying final against the Sydney Roosters, though he and Adam Doueihi are expected to share the position after interchanging in the role during Thursday's captain's run.

"AJ isn't back where he wants to be at the moment but he's getting close to it," coach Wayne Bennett said.

"Adam has done a great job for us back there, we're confident in him and we'll mix it at different stages of the game."

A fulltime return to the fullback position is top of Johnston's priority list but he was happy to make a cautious return to first-grade via the wing.

"I won't know until I try," Johnston said when asked if he was capable of churning out an 80-minute stint at fullback.

"I want to play fullback. But there is the question of whether I can get through the game or not. It's something we need to take into account."

Johnston admits he is managing pain in his knee but is pushing through because of his desire to play finals football.

He was told by the club that he needed to get game time under his belt during the last few regular rounds or else they would have been reluctant to field him during the post-season.

"I'm still dealing with a few issues in the knee, it's not 100 per cent yet," Johnston said.

"But it's manageable.

"I had to come back when I did otherwise I might not have been able to play finals footy.

"Coming back on the wing was the best option, getting through 80 minutes was good, I'm definitely feeling more confident now."