Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rabbitohs rumours, signings, injuries etc

handyman2190

Billy Brittain
Canterbury cup player of the year and now getting released.

Strange move.?
Its umfortunate but in the 2 or 3 games he played he just couldnt step up you get your chance you grab it there is no time for procrastinating the youngsters are pushing,same with gaigan twice he stuffed it,so goodbye,give someone else a go, look at marney from parra, first game he played he made a statement, brittain was gassed after the first halves and started making mistakes

callmack1

South Sydney Rabbitohs say bye-bye to Kyle Turner as salary cap pressure increases: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/ae9cc1f8a2b33aaa381f5bb49d0a1bae

Will certainly be sad to see Kyle go. What a great servant to our great club!

"The rules are wrong" - Phil Gould and Paul Gallen’s fiery clash over Sam Burgess ban: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...n/news-story/f1392dae1d0a0188c97bc1bd74164649

Also, from Zero Tackle, this is exactly what I wanted to here from Cody in regards to the rports the other day about him,

Money isn’t a Priority - Walker

South Sydney five-eighth Cody Walker has told media outlets that he is not motivated by money, rejecting claims that his NRL future will go to the highest bidder.

A star for the Bunnies this year, Walker will have a host of sides, likely to be led by the Gold Coast Titans, hampering for his signature when he hits the market on November first.

Reports suggest that Souths will be unable to keep the talented No. 6 within their budget, however, Walker said that cash alone will not determine his final decision.

“I don’t know how to put it but … (while) the opportunity to set my family up is what I want, money doesn’t motivate me.” Walker told the Daily Telegraph.

“Obviously I’m very comfortable with my family here at Souths. I love the place, love the club, love the area. We’ll see how things go in the next couple of weeks.

“When the time comes to make a decision I’ll make one.

“Right now, I just want to play my best footy and leave all that other stuff up to my manager. Which I know sounds clichéd, but it’s true.”

Walker begins his finals campaign with the Bunnies this weekend when they take on arch-rivals Sydney Roosters on Friday night.

callmack1

Well, that will do me!! For frick sake I cannot believe it!! Jared Waerea-Hargreaves has got off his charge and is free to play. What the actual hell, I genuinely can't believe it. How can Sam miss a week for a friggin hair pull yet Waerea-Hargreaves gets off that?!! It is an absolute joke. If that's not evidence of favouritism then I don't know what is. The NRL should be ashamed of themselves! Their 'darlings' can get away with anything and it's allgood yet we get knit-picked over every little thing! I genuinely believe it's unfair.

Scrap the judiciary - James Graham calls for NRL to end ‘embarrassing’ farce: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...e/news-story/6c690551826219a538d04cb8f4d301cc

"Why would anyone want their kids to play?" Fans filthy over judiciary decision: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...n/news-story/713b41faf59f8384ccfa9421cdd89c6c

250excf

Well, that will do me!! For frick sake I cannot believe it!! Jared Waerea-Hargreaves has got off his charge and is free to play. What the actual hell, I genuinely can't believe it. How can Sam miss a week for a friggin hair pull yet Waerea-Hargreaves gets off that?!! It is an absolute joke. If that's not evidence of favouritism then I don't know what is. The NRL should be ashamed of themselves! Their 'darlings' can get away with anything and it's allgood yet we get knit-picked over every little thing! I genuinely believe it's unfair.

Scrap the judiciary - James Graham calls for NRL to end ‘embarrassing’ farce: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...e/news-story/6c690551826219a538d04cb8f4d301cc

"Why would anyone want their kids to play?" Fans filthy over judiciary decision: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...n/news-story/713b41faf59f8384ccfa9421cdd89c6c
Mate is it not now glaringly obvious that Politis runs the NRL ?
The rest are just his puppets with back pockets and power favours served
The Roosters are grubs and their rich wanker is the main one everyone has been calling on it for the last 10 years

Travitoh

Mate is it not now glaringly obvious that Politis runs the NRL ?
The rest are just his puppets with back pockets and power favours served
The Roosters are grubs and their rich wanker is the main one everyone has been calling on it for the last 10 years

:face_palm:♂️

callmack1

‘Seething’ Sam Burgess slams ‘kangaroo court’ judiciary after hair pull ban: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/0774705d6682de346bf6126faf4841c7

"It's like kangaroo court": https://www.foxsports.com.au/video/league

Sam Burgess in strife over 'kangaroo court' claim about judiciary: https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/09/18/sam-burgess-in-strife-over-kangaroo-court-claim-about-judiciary/

I honestly cannot believe the reaction from the NRL about that. Like seriously. Sam was simply voicing his opinion, an opinion that is univerally held across the game. Many, myself included completely agree with him! Why should Sam be fined/diciplined for comments like that when guys like James Graham, Kent and Rothfield have said similar things? What Sam said wasn't even bad anyway, he was simply asking the question. It's a joke!! We don't need this a few days out from our biggest game of the year and it's a big overreaction from the NRL in my opinion.

handyman2190

‘Seething’ Sam Burgess slams ‘kangaroo court’ judiciary after hair pull ban: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/0774705d6682de346bf6126faf4841c7

"It's like kangaroo court": https://www.foxsports.com.au/video/league

Sam Burgess in strife over 'kangaroo court' claim about judiciary: https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/09/18/sam-burgess-in-strife-over-kangaroo-court-claim-about-judiciary/

I honestly cannot believe the reaction from the NRL about that. Like seriously. Sam was simply voicing his opinion, an opinion that is univerally held across the game. Many, myself included completely agree with him! Why should Sam be fined/diciplined for comments like that when guys like James Graham, Kent and Rothfield have said similar things? What Sam said wasn't even bad anyway, he was simply asking the question. It's a joke!! We don't need this a few days out from our biggest game of the year and it's a big overreaction from the NRL in my opinion.
Its called discrimination, one rule for some another rule for others,its a joke,they are trying to rub him out

Travitoh

The thing about it all is that Sam gets put in those positions because of his own actions on the field. Pulling the hair of a rookie winger isn't what rugby league is about. Hitting opponents in the head isn't what rugby league is about. Russhing into a melee to strike an opponent isn't what rugby league is about.

He can moan about the process as much as he wants but he missed the weekends game because of his own actions across the season, just like JWH will miss the prelim for what was otherwise a minor incident.

Continuous acts of grubbery lead to suspensions because the players haven't reacted to fines so calling for more fines solves nothing.

Learn your lesson or miss games. It isn't hard to understand.

Travitoh

Milford is grossly overrated and lazy, no thanks.

The same thing could be said of Cody Walker who sulks if he's not at 6.
Since Ben Hunt left Brisbane, Milford's game has suffered. He can be a dangerous ball runner who has been stifled in recent seasons by the responsibility of being the dominant half.
Get him for the remainder of his current deal at approx half the loading and it's a win for Souths imo.

handyman2190

The same thing could be said of Cody Walker who sulks if he's not at 6.
Since Ben Hunt left Brisbane, Milford's game has suffered. He can be a dangerous ball runner who has been stifled in recent seasons by the responsibility of being the dominant half.
Get him for the remainder of his current deal at approx half the loading and it's a win for Souths imo.
Cody is 30, he has another year on his contract, he hasnt done himself any favors second half of this season,if he got a better offer and he wanted to leave, id let him, bring a junior eg taffe in, i wouldnt give him an increase.

callmack1

I love what Wayne said in his interview today in regards to Sam's situation because I honestly couldn't agree more! Awesome to hear him back Sam.

Why Rabbitohs teammates wouldn’t change Sam Burgess for anyone: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...e/news-story/dd582c4b8ddadc8c65bf1f238bd91230

Damien Cook defends 'angry head' Sam Burgess after latest run-in with judiciary

South Sydney Rabbitohs hooker Damien Cook has defended fiery team-mate Sam Burgess after his latest run-in with the judiciary and NRL CEO Todd Greenberg.

Burgess was offered a show-cause notice by the governing body after making comments referring to the judiciary process as a 'kangaroo court'.

Cook admitted on The Big Sports Breakfast that the English international had had "a couple of slip-ups" this year, however, he believes that his aggressive style of play entertains fans and helps change the course of a match.

"I wouldn’t say angry but I’d like to hope he had his aggressive head on," Cook said.

"He puts fear into the other team,

"When he gets it right, he can change the game, which will all love as fans,

"We love when he puts one of those hits or runs on and he can change the momentum of the game.

"He’s had a couple of slip-ups this year,

"I think the way he went with the judiciary, it wasn’t really the hair pulling he probably got suspended for, it was a couple of other things leading up to that.

"Moving forward, he's back now on the edge, which I love, so I'm looking forward to that."

Cook and the Rabbitohs were embarrassed in their opening finals match against the Roosters, with the NSW hooker suggesting that the drubbing was well deserved.

"Not sure what happened in the first half, all we can put it down to is that we know that the Roosters start fast and you’ve got to play your best against them and beat them at their own game," he believes.

"We went out and didn’t match their intensity from the start,

"We got what we deserved for the performance that we had.

"We don't have time to talk about the game, we need to move onto Manly immediately."

Souths will welcome back the oldest Burgess along with Queensland centre Dane Gagai for the elimination semi-final against the Manly Sea Eagles, with the prospect of a near full-strength side exciting Cook.

"It’s probably one of our strongest line-ups of the whole year," Cook believes.

"Everyone is going to be back on the pack…our back five is very strong, so there is a lot of confidence in the side this week."