Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2019 Crowd Watch

moffla

Nothing to do with couldn't, it was that they wouldn't do it.

If they put in the extra seating and the Raiders sold out 30k seats then that heaps a ton more pressure on them to build a new rectangular stadium that they don't really want to build if they can avoid it. It's also the best evidence possible that ¾ of their reasons to delay the stadium were utter BS, so they'd lose face for that as well.

Now that GWS are in the Grand Final any success they have will be used by the Labour government as an excuse to heap funding on them, and the only way for us (rectangular sports as a whole in Canberra) to prevent that is if the Raiders match them and out sell them, thus viscerally proving in an inescapable way that there is significantly more interest in rectangular sports in the city and that that is where public funds should be going.
Can you take your crowd talk away from here please? This isn’t the place for it

Nothing to do with couldn't, it was that they wouldn't do it.

If they put in the extra seating and the Raiders sold out 30k seats then that heaps a ton more pressure on them to build a new rectangular stadium that they don't really want to build if they can avoid it. It's also the best evidence possible that ¾ of their reasons to delay the stadium were utter BS, so they'd lose face for that as well.

Now that GWS are in the Grand Final any success they have will be used by the Labour government as an excuse to heap funding on them, and the only way for us (rectangular sports as a whole in Canberra) to prevent that is if the Raiders match them and out sell them, thus viscerally proving in an inescapable way that there is significantly more interest in rectangular sports in the city and that that is where public funds should be going.

That's exactly the reason why I thought extra seating would not have been installed, and adding just 1600 standing tickets was way below what was possible.
The Bar that Barr has over the AFL and GWS is just sickening in what is a traditional rectangular sporting code city.
Canberra really needs an A--League team to make it 3 vs 1 in support of a city rectangular stadium.

wazdog

Members of both the Bunnies and Raiders have exceptionally well in the pre-sale. I think the NRL does hold back some tickets for general release though.

Screen Shot 2019-09-23 at 9.01.27 pm.png

Dark Corner

Wonder if Roosters Storm will beat the previous SCG crowd 2 weeks ago?

In favour -
Roosters fans typically have come out in far better numbers for week 3 finals than week 1 non-elimination games.
Grand final replay and enthusiasm building for the back-to-back

Against -
Despite Souths fans not really showing up in big numbers 2 weeks ago, Melbourne probably won't bring half as many. Roosters will need to bring minimum 25,000 fans to have a hope of the total clearing 30k.
Neutrals probably won't come out for it. Petty tribalism overrides a love of quality football for most NRL fans.

Roosters Elimination final history:

2018, v Souths SFS 44k
2017, v Cowboys SFS 27k
2015 (week 2), v Bulldogs, SFS 35k
2014 (week 2), v Cowboys SFS 18k
2013, v Newcastle SFS 37k
2010, (week 2) v Penrith SFS 23k

Prediction: somewhere in line with the the 2017 number - 29k
Why don't some neutrals come out just to enjoy some finals Football like they do for the grand final.

Stallion

Hope the Roosters v Melbourne final gets 40000. The game will.be close. It's finals footy and the only show in town on Saturday evening. Some class players on show. It's a long break after the internationals. And even then we get to see the Aussies in only a World nines and a test against NZ in Wollongong. And that's it. All other footy overseas.

siv

it really is an embarrassment that they couldn't arrange it. Two weeks to get it sorted and the muppets still couldn't. And now they are trying to bullshit everyone by saying it was too expensive to setup. Would rather they just came out and say they couldn't be f**ked

30,000 attendance and stadium record goes begging

Move the game back to a home region location

siv

The Sydney clubs are rivals so that’s unlikely.

And there's no RG or U20s to watch

But I guess the stadium will attract lots of Warriors and Broncos fans who can find a free ticket

But you'll get 8k SCG members plus 8k Storm fans

So might get close to 20k

SLRBRONCOS

Being in Melbourne for AFL GF week is interesting, we are SO lucky to have a grand final that genuine (albeit bandwagon at times) fans can attend.

Their grand final is a total corporate and MCC membership farce, where only 17-22k seats are given to each teams membership base.

siv

You could have got 40000 for Raiders Rabbitohs preliminary final

Venue is just too small

Yes membership would have helped some get in before other members

But you will have 10-20,000 RL fans locked out

NRL under estimated Canberra thinking it was Melbourne and not realising that thousands of fans are willing to travel 3h for a semi final

There were 35,000 for semi-final game in 2012 between these two

Timbo

It’s not the Raiders fault and we shouldn’t be forced to move our home final to Souths home city just so an extra 5-10k can attend.

It happens once every blue moon that a team in a city with a smaller stadium - Canberra, Newcastle, Gold Coast and Townsville - get to host a prelim. For the sake of fairness in the game it’s right that we get to host it.

Otherwise you may as well just boot us out and go back to it being the Sydney premiership.

T-Boon

Why don't some neutrals come out just to enjoy some finals Football like they do for the grand final.

I think it is because there are too many games in the regular season. By the time your team is done the average fan who might attend has been to plenty of games already.

T-Boon

It’s not the Raiders fault and we shouldn’t be forced to move our home final to Souths home city just so an extra 5-10k can attend.

It happens once every blue moon that a team in a city with a smaller stadium - Canberra, Newcastle, Gold Coast and Townsville - get to host a prelim. For the sake of fairness in the game it’s right that we get to host it.

Otherwise you may as well just boot us out and go back to it being the Sydney premiership.

The NRL could have looked at shifting it to ANZ and in exchange allowing Raiders members and their friends free entry into the best seats and free train.

Plus allow them to bring that gong and do whatever else to make it their home game.

The unknown

The NRL could have looked at shifting it to ANZ and in exchange allowing Raiders members and their friends free entry into the best seats and free train.

Plus allow them to bring that gong and do whatever else to make it their home game.

Wouldn't the whole idea of moving it to ANZ be a money grab? yet you reckon we should give away 30k free tickets almost

Genius