Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Finals Week 3 Preliminary Final - Raiders vs Rabbitohs: Friday 27th September 7:50pm @GIO Stadium

assess5

Look at the bigger picture mate , ok you may be faster than CA but he’s put there for his defence not his pace Joey and Jordan are no super speed freaks they are just super powerful ball runners and CA is a big boy and he can surely tackle better than Gags
He smashed Corey Oates every time he got ball against the Broncos where as previously Oates has destroyed us
If we are any Hope we need Corey Allen and Campbell Graham defending against Joey and Jordan that’s our weakest link that edge
Can't we have both, like, a big defensive winger who can run really really fast, like oh I don't know Terry Fahey, Ziggy Nizscott etc ?

callmack1

Rabbitohs Insider Finals Week 3: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/25/rabbitohs-insider-finals-week-3/

What a great episode!! That feature piece at the end is simply inspirational!!!

Gagai looking forward to Friday's game: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/25/gagai-looking-forward-to-fridays-game/

Anthony Albanese talks to League Life: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/25/anthony-albanese-talks-to-league-life/

Rabbitohs super-coach Wayne Bennett set for NRL history against Canberra: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/super-...-history/07dff00e-648c-4351-9513-c87b042e8d3b

callmack1

Blow for Rabbitohs as Roberts ruled out with thumb injury: https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/09/26/blow-for-rabbitohs-as-roberts-ruled-out-with-thumb-injury/

Roberts Ruled Out: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/26/roberts-ruled-out/

Will be a real shame to not have the Jet there for this huge game but hopefully those other boys can step in, lift and do the job in his place. No doubt they absolutely must be switched on defensively.

Raiders v Rabbitohs - Guest coaches Kimmorley and Renouf go head to head: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...coaches-kimmorley-and-renouf-go-head-to-head/

Union past has helped Murray when called on the edge: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/26/union-past-has-helped-murray-when-called-on-the-edge/

‘Let the players sort it out’ - Andrew Johns urges refs to ‘put the whistle away’ in NRL Finals: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/e73ba8ed1c36c23e05278d70597690ed

The Lab - Forget Wayne Bennett’s Finals record. This is why you shouldn’t write off South Sydney" https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...w/news-story/2caa287ff25a429c07469a63a091937c

'Cool head' Bennett the key: https://www.foxsports.com.au/video/league

callmack1

Also, a couple of articles from Sporting News,

Wayne Bennett admits almost half the South Sydney Rabbitohs side are less than 100% ahead of Preliminary Final

South Sydney Rabbitohs coach Wayne Bennett has stunningly admitted that almost half his team are less than 100% fit ahead of Friday night's preliminary final against the Canberra Raiders.

After news broke on Thursday afternoon that James Roberts would be out with a thumb injury, Bennett spoke to the media about the fitness of the rest of his squad.

And when asked how many of his players were fully fit for the Raiders clash, his answer was very surprising.

"Probably 10," he said.

“Those guys can all play, it’s just that time of the year. You look at the other clubs and they have all the same problems, but they’re all manageable.

"We wouldn’t play them if they weren’t fit enough to play, but they are carrying injuries certain guys yes.

“At times we have played with 40% of our salary cap this year so it has been remarkable what they have done. It’s a credit to them."

The Rabbitohs have been dogged by injuries and suspensions throughout all of 2019 - headlined by the loss of legendary centre Greg Inglis after just two rounds.

And one man who has emerged from the shadows and into the starting side is 24-year old front-rower Liam Knight, who Bennett was full of praise for on Thursday.

“He’s been really good for us Liam, I love working with him," he said.

"I saw him play here last year and that’s what attracted me to him, I’m pleased he came to the Rabbitohs and he was confident enough that we could help him.

"There was interest from Penrith at that stage, but he took the punt on me and the club and it’s worked out great for all of us.

The Rabbitohs will enter a hostile GIO Stadium on Friday night that is officially sold-out, and will face an uphill task against an in-form Green Machine.

Damien Cook reveals Wayne Bennett's strategy behind Rabbitohs players driving to Canberra for Raiders showdown

Having coached seven premierships, Wayne Bennett knows a thing or two about preparation during finals time, and the supercoach was up to his usual tricks this week ahead of his side's preliminary battle against the Raiders.

Star Rabbitohs hooker Damien Cook has revealed how Bennett had his players drive themselves down to the nation's capital 48 hours prior to Friday's kick-off, rather than the traditional bus or flight down.

It's a strategy Bennett has adopted before, and one he used back in round 10 when the Rabbitohs traveled to face the Raiders in Canberra and claimed the two points.

Speaking on Sky Sports' Racing's Big Sports Breakfast on Thursday, Cook says the pre-game tactic has been crucial in helping the side relax ahead of what's sure to be a hostile atmosphere at GIO Stadium.

"We get our own way to ANZ Stadium and we did it last time we came to Canberra," Cook told Big Sports Breakfast.

"Wayne says he doesn't like the bus so you get your own way down there. I don't mind it, everyone's pretty relaxed, you don't have to get there on a set time and get the bus together.

"I jumped in the car with AJ (Alex Johnston). We got down here pretty quick yesterday afternoon.

"(It's) good to get down here early and have a night here and wake up ready to go for training."

Unlike the other three side's who have made it to the grand final qualifying stage, South Sydney have seemingly limped their way to Friday's final with a heavy loss to the Roosters in week one, and slim win over Manly last weekend.

There's a theory circulating that Bennett's side are too battered and bruised to do any damage from this point in, with a number of niggling injuries affecting key players.

Despite struggling himself in the post-Origin phase of the season, Cook refuted these suggestions and is confident Souths aren't far off from discovering another gear against the Green Machine.

"If you asked me before the Brisbane game, personally I had a couple of tough weeks where I was feeling tired and a bit run down," Cook said.

"To be honest, I was talking to Wayne during the week and personally, my energy has come back.

"Since we got Tom and George back, they've got some minutes under their belt, Sam's back as well two weeks in a row which is good for us, it's rare for him this year to play two weeks in a row.

"I don't think we're looking busted, I know we've got some injuries around with Jimmy the Jet and certain boys playing different positions.

"We've had to play in different positions throughout the year and we've got the job done.

"I think we've had a lot of practice in bad situations which could be good for us in these finals games."

James Roberts has been officially ruled out of Friday's crunch clash, with the star centre failing to overcome in time from a thumb dislocation, according to The Daily Telegraph.

It will force a backline reshuffle with winger Campbell Graham likely to shift onto Roberts' edge with Corey Allan placed on the wing.

callmack1

callmack1

Well, I've had butterflies in my stomach the whole week and they have only intensified today as it's the day of the week we've all been waiting for, Game Day!! What a massive Game Day it is too!! This is it, this is our chance to play in the Grand Final if we can get it done tonight. No more second chances, no more "there's always next week," we have to go out and we have to perform if we want to make that Grand Final!

Man, Canberra will be so up for this. They haven't played in a Grand Final in so long and will want it so, so bad so tou can imagine how up they're gonna be for this one. The crowd will be hostile too as almost everyone there will be cheering for them. Therefore, you don't need me to tell you that we simply need to be on tonight, both attack and defence, if we want a shot at Grand Final glory. If the fact that it's a Preliminary Final doesn't fire the boys up than nothing well. The key tonight is to once again, win that forward battle. They have a great forward pack but if our boys can match it with them through the middle, then that brings Cookie, Cody and the rest of our strike weapons into the game. We haven't done that in this Finals series yet so we need to lift and do it tonight! Defence must absolutely be a lot better tonight too, it has been soft for a couple of weeks so we need a good defensive performance in this one!

It's worth mentioning that the already huge occasion is made bigger by a few milestones. Cookie plays is 100th NRL game tonight, George plays his 150th, and Gags plays his 50th game for Souths. Plus there is the fact that should we lose tonight, it will be Sutto's, and George's last games. That should be at the back of our minds too.

We can do this, I know we can!!!!! It will be very, very tough and it's gonna take everything we have but I know we can do it!!!

i think the team with the most composure has the best chance.

There’s a lot more mistakes and errors in you, but at least you can manage that.

Pound for pound, you have a lot more strike attack and higher caliber creative players.

Ricky will want a blood fest up the middle, but the Burgii know this could be their last game together and they will go down fighting to the bitter end.

Cam Murray is the best attacking forward in the world at the moment and his defence is....brutal when it needs to be.

Perhaps too, you have the better coach, he lives for these big games. He knows the Raiders as well as he knows Souths and there is probably nothing your players wouldn’t do for him. He’s a true father figure.

So I think you are a chance.

callmack1

Top 10 Raiders v Rabbitohs clashes: https://www.nrl.com/news/2019/09/27/top-10-raiders-v-rabbitohs-clashes/

Damien Cook 100 NRL Games: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/27/damien-cook-100-nrl-games/

The eyes have it - Cook's plan to keep Hodgson in check: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2019/09/27/the-eyes-have-it-cooks-plan-to-keep-hodgson-in-check/

‘Paranoid’ Wayne Bennett convinced Raiders to spend $5k to stop Manly ‘spies’ ahead of 1987 Grand Final: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...l/news-story/1e689aca5b4a6307e712b62137271a09

Souths are better off without ‘ordinary’ James Roberts against Raiders, says league legends: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/bfeb433372899ffcdf6eb63049725022

The ‘refreshing’ Raiders threat that Wayne Bennett and his Bunnies ‘fear most’: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...m/news-story/8dac62112976dca1ed9e8c1704ebc152

Travitoh

I'm unconfidently optimistic about tonight. I feel Souths are a better shot than the $3 on offer for a win suggests.

I have my doubts over Canberra's ability to rise as favourites. All their standout wins this season have been when they've been written off. They like the underdog tag but don't have it tonight.
It will be a huge crowd getting behind them but how many times have they played the game in their heads already and even thought or spoken of the grand final? Because if I reckon nobody at Souths has even thought about tomorrow.

Everything that could've gone Canberra's way vs Melbourne did. They deserved the win, don't get me wrong but it was against a Melbourne side that played their worst 40 minutes we've seen this season.

Vs Manly, we saw the best and worst of Souths. I have no doubt Souths deserved to win last week regardless of what the media want to write. There's a lot of mentions of Manly being down to 12 but nothing about the forced backline shuffle for Souths, forwards at centre through necessity and an empty bench at the end of 80 minutes.

Cliche city coming up but Souths need to turn up tonight ready to go. Early points will take the crowd out of it and Souths must complete their sets. Because Canberra have errors in them. Make them defend, wear their big boys down and allow Cook and Murray to expose tired forwards up the middle.
AR won't have a night like he did last week again tonight.

Should the unfortunate happen, a prelim is always a great result despite the disappointment felt at the time. It's been a good year with some players taking huge steps which not only bodes well for future seasons but is the reason why South Sydney are in the final four.

I can't wait for kick off!

GloryGlory

Not the first game this year that Cook has lost for us. In the second half of the season the criticism of Souths has been that our halves have failed to create but that all comes back to Cook holding the ball too much and not doing his primary job which is to provide quality ball to the halves. That kick tonight was the worst play i have ever seen in a finals game

Travitoh

That's disappointing.
Souths didn't take their chances and Canberra did.
Good game of footy. I hope Canberra can go on with it next week.
Disappointing that Sutton's career ends with a loss but there's no shame in going out in the final four.
Plenty to be positive about from 2019 and many reasons for optimism for 2020.

Mr Spock!

Not the first game this year that Cook has lost for us. In the second half of the season the criticism of Souths has been that our halves have failed to create but that all comes back to Cook holding the ball too much and not doing his primary job which is to provide quality ball to the halves. That kick tonight was the worst play i have ever seen in a finals game
Agree.

He totally overplays everyhting.

And that kick lost us the game.

Spot On

Might need to look at the coaching to fix that.

callmack1

That hurts. That honestly hurts so bad, hurting right now like you wouldn't believe. I'm sure we all are. Too gutted to even do a proper post, I'm just heartbroken. Absolutely shattered and I can't hold back the tears. Wanted that so, so bad.

Off to bed. Not gonna get any sleep but hey. I'm just absolutely shattered, man that hurts.