Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Adam Reynolds

firechild

If Cook didn't have his worst ever NRL game last night then Reyno has taken us to another GF.
If the refs and a busted opposition hadn't given Souffs a saloon passage through the semi final, they would have been out in straight sets. That better describes the reality for the current Souffs team. Good but really missing game breakers with the exception of Cook.

BranVan3000

He has always been a role player. And was his best when doing that. Handle kicking, organise, just pass quick to his backs. His defence was probably amongst the best of the halves around a few years back too. Also a very valuable goal kicker. He needs a certain type of five eighth to compliment him and Keary was the perfect foil for him because Keary also is a big organiser

He is a mid tier halfback who is more than capable of taking his teams to top 8, top 4 positions. But he will never take a Premiership on his own like a Thurston could, without the right spine partners.

Mr Spock!

Vic, that is true. You have analysed well. I hate to say this about a South's bloke, especially a junior - who has lived in Morehead St, but he initiates very little. Only in the last few desperate minutes did he decide to take a few steps to make the opposition guess for a least another second or two to give room to outside support. Raider's defence was tight, but that is easier to achieve when the attack is predictable. It has been galling for a few seasons to have a long, deepish pass from dummy half to a standing half back who just shovels the ball on. By the time the next player receives the ball, the defence has already crossed the advantage line. Compare that to Cooper Cronk who last year won a preliminary final, then a Grand Final, with one shoulder: essentially meaning that Easts won the two biggest games of the year with only 12 men. Souths need a consistent organiser.

Cook did have a poor game - he often looked lost. That may be down to Reynolds not calling any shots, or not being in position to receive. However, the number of times Cook collected a play the ball and then had to look around for someone to throw to was just amateurish. But I put that mostly down to Cook not marshalling someone as he is running to the tackle area. Compare Cameron Smith who just knows where he wants the next 2 to 3 plays to be. He will nod, hand signal, or tell a play as he is running to his next dummy half position. That is why the Storm are mostly fluent and on song. Souths just looked unrehearsed.

Cook’s passing is often a bit lobby which gives the defence that extra time to be in the face of a receiver who is standing waiting for the pass to drop into the hands. That is a mortal sin for a modern-day footballer. It is amazing watching the crisp, flat passing in front of a runner by Rugby players who have to be exact since, in essence, they play under a “one metre rule”. If Rugby clubs can ask former NRL players to coach their charges in defence, then we should ask them to teach us how to pass (and catch in the one motion).

When the Raiders were down to 12 men and we were pressing their line, Cook was lost when he had the ball. His poor kick gifted the ball to a tiring Raiders who within two more sets had scored at the other end to clinch the night. That blunder capped a last quarter of embarrassment that saw him stripped in a one-on-one 10 metres out; forgetting how to count to six and passing to barging forward on the last; trying to take a rampaging Papalii high only to be brushed off and present a clear run to the line for the Raider.

We had a tonne of possession in the second half. We should have won by heaps. What summed up the night was the 64th minute when Walker gave the ball to decoy Graham 8 metres out who was squashed by 3 tacklers. If Walker had passed behind the decoy the resulting overlap would have seen us in for a try. Too many times the wrong option was selected.

We did better than what I had hoped for at the start of the year, but when seeing how we slaughtered ourselves, yet still only lost by 6, then is hurts to think of what might have been.
So replace him with someone better....

Like Ash Taylor....

Fun fact: there aren't that many nrl standard halves.

Mr Spock!

If the refs and a busted opposition hadn't given Souffs a saloon passage through the semi final, they would have been out in straight sets. That better describes the reality for the current Souffs team. Good but really missing game breakers with the exception of Cook.
You mean when Moanly imploded.

Cockadoodledoo

Reynolds/Keary should've been a 10 year combo with 2-3 premierships. Thanks Rusty.

I don’t know about that. Keary wasn’t developing at all at Souths. He had no mentors and he was being used purely as a ball runner.

Coming to the Roosters, he has learnt a lot more, especially from Cronk about game management and his kicking game has improved out of sight.

RWB

He's a very limited player. Excellent kicking game, decent support player and a real competitor.

What he isn't is a natural ball player and that's always a concern when you're playing in the halves. It means he must have players around him who can pick up that slack. It almost completely nullifies his running game too because if you pose no risk with the ball in hand then you're not making defenders second guess and it's very easy for them to number up.

Pairing him with Cody Walker who is primarily a ball runner, Damien Cook who is also a ball runner and a very limited ball player himself and then either Johnston or Doueihi at the back who both offer very little in regards to ball playing and you end up with a spine who unless they are playing on the back of fast play the balls really struggle to pick apart opposition defences.

His ball playing has gotten a little better over the past couple of seasons - almost out of necessity as he's been paired with Walker/Johnston but when it comes to cracking open the best defences in the comp he just doesn't have the creativity.

He is a competent halfback.

This Year?

I think Reynolds still has his back issues and the reason he doesn't run as much is more because of his kicking role while Cook and Walker do all the running.
If the style of his team was a little less structured and he played more eyes up footy, then he should run it more. He always plays well against us though the merkin.

yobbo84

I don’t know about that. Keary wasn’t developing at all at Souths. He had no mentors and he was being used purely as a ball runner.

Coming to the Roosters, he has learnt a lot more, especially from Cronk about game management and his kicking game has improved out of sight.
Keary was terrific in 2014-15 for us. I can't remember the number of blind side tries he generated for us. He has always had a fantastic short kicking game and his dynamic with the ball was a terrific partner for Reynolds control.

Then post 2015, Rusty has a go at McInnes, Keary cracks it at Rusty, things get sour and Keary plays with zero heart in 2016. The rest is history.

Of course he's learnt under Cronk - who wouldn't. But he was the perfect partner for Reynolds.

firechild

You mean when Moanly imploded.
The fact that Manly were even close with the likes of Elliot, Parker, Suli, Waddell, Gosiewski, Olaku'atu, Keppie (3rd NRL game) and Perrett says a lot in itself. The fact that DCE got them there with a centre at 6 says even more. If you think that Souffs didn't infringe at all in the last 57 minutes says plenty about your own bias.

Mr Spock!

The fact that Manly were even close with the likes of Elliot, Parker, Suli, Waddell, Gosiewski, Olaku'atu, Keppie (3rd NRL game) and Perrett says a lot in itself. The fact that DCE got them there with a centre at 6 says even more. If you think that Souffs didn't infringe at all in the last 57 minutes says plenty about your own bias.
Forgotten about the Walker sin bin have we? Pretty sure you scored twice while he was off.

firechild

Forgotten about the Walker sin bin have we? Pretty sure you scored twice while he was off.
Not sure what that has to do with anything I said. Manly played 1/4 of the match with 12 players. That doesn't have anything to do with the fact that Manly didn't receive a single penalty for the last 57 minutes despite numerous very obvious infringements. The no call on Parker being taken out meters from the try line made Jake's sin binning a joke. Otherwise, I'd have no issue with it.

Keary was terrific in 2014-15 for us. I can't remember the number of blind side tries he generated for us. He has always had a fantastic short kicking game and his dynamic with the ball was a terrific partner for Reynolds control.

Then post 2015, Rusty has a go at McInnes, Keary cracks it at Rusty, things get sour and Keary plays with zero heart in 2016. The rest is history.

Of course he's learnt under Cronk - who wouldn't. But he was the perfect partner for Reynolds.

No no no. He was a nobody nuffie who was not wanted by the club that we signed and turned into a champion. Same as Cordner, Crighton, JWH, Cronk, Tedesco and Latrell. These guys would be failures at another club but the roosters culture has turned their lives and football careers around.

Get behind us Sydney! Come to think of it you are already well behind us! So just cheer for us Sydney.

COCK- A-DOODLE-doo....

Wily Ole Dog

No no no. He was a nobody nuffie who was not wanted by the club that we signed and turned into a champion. Same as Cordner, Crighton, JWH, Cronk, Tedesco and Latrell. These guys would be failures at another club but the roosters culture has turned their lives and football careers around.

Get behind us Sydney! Come to think of it you are already well behind us! So just cheer for us Sydney.

c**k- A-DOODLE-doo....

Behind you with your 4 premierships?

Mate you’ll forever be in the shadow of the SSDRLFC

Behind you with your 4 premierships?

Mate you’ll forever be in the shadow of the SSDRLFC

I count 1 premiership fool. That other amateur club of the same name died in 1999 when it was booted.

The fake construct you now follow is a poorly run corporate entity that serves as a llaything for a billionaire and a bad actor.

Shadow inseed.