Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Bummer - NRL May Be Canceled 2020

SpaceMonkey

You thought the virus was bad.

This will cripple your country.

Terrible decision. Just killed 20% of your economy.

Ruined the lives of millions, to look safe.

NZ is currently in the enviable position of basically being COVID-19 free, as are the pacific islands. I think the government is just hell-bent on keeping it that way. I reckon Australia could go either way at the moment, with pollies amd celebs testing positive I think we’re getting pretty close to community outbreak level.

Meanwhile the South Island just went broke and is now in debt they cannot pay.

Bankrupt businesses by the thousand.

But hey you look good.

Leber

url

Rich102

In election year.
What with Shane and Winnie on her side, Can Jacinda's year get any worse?

SpaceMonkey

In election year.
What with Shane and Winnie on her side, Can Jacinda's year get any worse?

Crises can be good for governments if they’re seen to be doing something about it. If this prevents an epidemic in NZ and everywhere else cops it, she comes out looking great. If it fizzes out everywhere with little further impact it looks like an overreaction. I reckon we’ll know in a fortnight of so but I suspect the invpfection rate in Aus is about to take off big time.

Penrose Warrior

The NRL are really such an inept organisation. Just award one point to each side in the interim (in terms of games involving the Warriors) - the draw is lop-sided anyway when you factor in that not every side plays each other twice. Similar to 2010 or whenever it was, where the Storm played for no points. It's just how it has to be.

Leaving our guys over there is bullshit of the highest order. These guys have families. Anyone think Peta Hiku is going to play anywhere near his best footy when his partner is about to give birth and he can't be there to help? These guys didn't sign up to be in Australia every week away from their lives. So any bullshit about them being professionals and they should get on with it, is absolute rubbish.

The NRL are really such an inept organisation. Just award one point to each side in the interim (in terms of games involving the Warriors) - the draw is lop-sided anyway when you factor in that not every side plays each other twice. Similar to 2010 or whenever it was, where the Storm played for no points. It's just how it has to be.

Leaving our guys over there is bullshit of the highest order. These guys have families. Anyone think Peta Hiku is going to play anywhere near his best footy when his partner is about to give birth and he can't be there to help? These guys didn't sign up to be in Australia every week away from their lives. So any bullshit about them being professionals and they should get on with it, is absolute rubbish.
Can't agree with you.
Peta can come home, isolate for 2 weeks, stay home for 4-6weeks then return.

Its no different than a tour to England.
We have skype, facetime etc.

Game could go broke here.
Hand has been put out now at the news conference.
Who pays players if no games?
Support staff etc are in the same boat.

Wayne has best idea to put all teams in one spot.

SpaceMonkey

Silly, sit back and watch the job losses, economic downturn due to this as in 2 weeks the virus will still be around.

how’s Italy going? Here’s a clue, a f**kton worse than NZ. At least if it’s contained at this level a lot of the domestic economy can continue as normal. Once everyone goes into lockdown EVERYTHING will grind to a halt.

SpaceMonkey

Lol all the politicians are politicising this, not least our PM

hows the PM politicising it?

7th case announced, arrived from Australia on Friday having traveled there from France. Self isolating in a Wellington hotel now.

JJ

how’s Italy going? Here’s a clue, a f**kton worse than NZ. At least if it’s contained at this level a lot of the domestic economy can continue as normal. Once everyone goes into lockdown EVERYTHING will grind to a halt.
Yep, just would have been better if it wasn’t a Trump like surprise

One day they’re adamant festivals etc will go ahead, Mel minit

JJ

hows the PM politicising it?

7th case announced, arrived from Australia on Friday having traveled there from France. Self isolating in a Wellington hotel now.
You think she transcends politics?

Everything they do is political