Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Coronavirus and NRL

What was wrong with what he said? Sure he doesn’t like Mensa, but he has a point in where the NRL should have back up funds incase stuff like this happens. He is pretty much just reiterating what most people have said in this thread

I'm sorry but the NRL is supposed to keep money pout aside for when stuff like this happens huh? The RLPA are the ones going on about wanting more money whenever new revenue streams come in. I don't hear any proposals from the RLPA nor its membership on stuff like this. No organisation keeps funds set aside for a disruption which could go on for 6-12 months. As such it is completely stupid to expect otherwise. I mean people are already losing their jobs and he complains because he may have to take a temporary pay cut due to falling revenue? Sorry but again it is stupid and unrealistic.

How do you want them to get home from the airport though? They've been ushered back to the country and it's not like you can pick up a mask from the airport.
NSW government advised you can travel by public transport directly to your accommodation where you'll need to isolate.
Yes, I get there are taxi's but that also carries an element of risk

My point was, and has been stated by the Government, is that if you are coming from the airport by public transport and having to self isolate, you should do so whilst wearing a face mask.

Someguy

Case in point of stupidity. Going to work yesterday, got on a train to Martin Place and onboard was someone who'd obviously just flown in from Los Angeles on the train (their luggage still had the airline tags on it, not wearing a mask or anything. Great idea to self isolate on the train :rolleyes:

https://www.health.nsw.gov.au/news/Pages/20200317_01.aspx

especially given that cases of the virus have been confirmed from multiple LA flights. That said very few reported cases
in The US (possibly due to how difficult it is to get permission to be tested) so the guy on the train probably is unaware of the risk he is to others.

The unknown

I mean people are already losing their jobs and he complains because he may have to take a temporary pay cut due to falling revenue? Sorry but again it is stupid and unrealistic.

People sort their lives out according to their wage though.

if he is earning 600k a year and it gets cut to 150k is he stupid for having a lifestyle that 150k won’t cover?

Wily Ole Dog

I’ve taken this from elsewhere but agree with the sentiment

20,000 Qantas workers have been stood down, I am working in the CBD and there are retail outlets that are dead and with no doubt are on the verge of going broke.

These players should be grateful that the NRL is doing what they can do to make sure that games are being played and the revenue stream keeps coming in not only to pay them, but to also ensure that the game continues to have a future.

If Smith, Leilua and Fonua Blake or any other player don't want to play and are monaning that they may need to take a pay cut then they can go and get f$%^ed and not be paid at all!

Springs09

As has been mentioned many times, these measures are to prevent the spread. A person is infectious even before showing symptoms. The mortality rate is about 1%, but these measures are to slow the rate of outbreak to ease pressure on the healthcare system. Without it, hospitals become over run and the mortality rate for other emergencies skyrocket.

So your suggestion is to just ban any visitors? I guess these people don't have family members that may want to see how they are doing.

Schools should be closed but children are NOT susceptible to the virus. Children's rate of infection are the lowest, and they rarely show symptoms. The problem is that children can spread it without the warning signs.

People who contract this virus are infectious 5-14 days before showing symptoms. This is why you simply can't just do the 'honesty' policy - people are infectious before they even know they are sick. Most workplaces have stopped non-essential travel and many have pushed as many staff as they can to work from home.

Most that have spread the virus are not morons. There have been many cases where they weren't eligible to be tested. If this was just simply morons spreading it - it wouldn't be the global issue that it is.

This is true though. No reason to hoard. Australia produces enough food for a population of 75 Million. Yet people are hoarding as if the supermarkets will close for 6 months.

I know what the f**king measures are for.

Oh right, I'm not allowed to train with my mates because we have to slow the spread, even in regions with 0 confirmed cases and we are all fit young men who will be barely affected by it - but I can go in and hold my grandmother's hand. A person is infectious before showing symptoms right? How will they know if I am infectious? Or anyone? Then it could spread right through the old folks home and kill 1/4 of them. f**k lucky we banned footy training.
Heavy restrictions on aged care visits make perfect sense, especially in Sydney. Not necessarily bans, though that's what some have suggested, including the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Association - https://www.canberratimes.com.au/story/6684816/estia-puts-its-aged-care-homes-on-lockdown/?cs=14231
and some private ones have already - https://www.news.com.au/national/ag...ovid19/video/1fad40a3480e05af19b443cf8f011e2d
but something like nominated visitors have to get tested.

Banning training is like banning going to the pub with your mates. Put a contact ban in place and everyone bring their own bottles.
Along with people's physical health, we need to think a lot about people's mental health as well.

Like I already said, we can't do an honesty thing because people are f**king morons.

Most workplaces have stopped non-essential travel and many have pushed as many staff as they can to work from home.

Where you are maybe.

Morons from Wuhan are what spread the virus to Italy, USA, Morons going to and from Wuhan are what spread it here, along with morons coming back from infectious areas overseas and not practicing proper isolation and socialising. Yeah, if you are from or go into an infectious area of a new highly contagious disease and then go around spreading it to others - you are a moron. And it will be morons from Sydney or going to and back from Sydney despite the social distancing recommendations that are in place that will spread it here.

People on both sides are f**king idiots. Lucky we banned footy training though, otherwise we'd all be dead already.

Springs09

if he is earning 600k a year and it gets cut to 150k is he stupid for having a lifestyle that 150k won’t cover?

Compared to people who live on 40k a year and are looking at having that cut to 0k a year - yes. Oh boo hoo how will I live on 150k a year??

The unknown

Compared to people who live on 40k a year and are looking at having that cut to 0k a year - yes. Oh boo hoo how will I live on 150k a year??

If you’re earning 40k a year chances are you aren’t paying off mortgages or leasing off lands etc. Atleast not without a partner

Do you reckon Bj would be renting out an apartment in Leumeah?

They will have to adjust their lifestyle.

$150k is completely manageable.

Springs09

If you’re earning 40k a year chances are you aren’t paying off mortgages or leasing off lands etc. Atleast not without a partner

Do you reckon Bj would be renting out an apartment in Leumeah?

Uh, who gives a shit?
Is he paying off a 300k a year mortgage? 150k is completely manageable as Valheru just said.

f**k me, those poor NRL players

Theres a real risk the players and nrl could generate some serious negative public feeling towards themselves if they keep playing the woe is me card at a time when your avg joe is fcked and small businesses are going under. Some tact and sensitivity from Vlandys and the players wouldn’t go amiss right now.

The unknown

They will have to adjust their lifestyle.

$150k is completely manageable.

Don’t get me wrong I completely agree, as someone who’s employment is currently in jeopardy because of this. I just don’t know why nrl players are immune to the public about this sort of discussion?

Uh, who gives a shit?
Is he paying off a 300k a year mortgage? 150k is completely manageable as Valheru just said.

f**k me, those poor NRL players

Who knows probably. If you’re earning money like that chances are you’re gonna set yourself up for life as soon as you can

SpaceMonkey

I’ve taken this from elsewhere but agree with the sentiment

20,000 Qantas workers have been stood down, I am working in the CBD and there are retail outlets that are dead and with no doubt are on the verge of going broke.

These players should be grateful that the NRL is doing what they can do to make sure that games are being played and the revenue stream keeps coming in not only to pay them, but to also ensure that the game continues to have a future.

If Smith, Leilua and Fonua Blake or any other player don't want to play and are monaning that they may need to take a pay cut then they can go and get f$%^ed and not be paid at all!

100% this. I’m currently self isolating and work is thankfully paying me on my base rate to stay home. Chances are when I go back I’ll be doing two or three days most weeks and not making much more than that. The nature of my job which is 24/7 shift work means I normally reply heavily on penalty rates (to the tune of 30-40% of my total income). But I’m not complaining about that reduction because for now I still have a job and a regular income, which is a hell of a lot better than what many are facing. Plus I’m not getting paid as much but I’m not working a hell of a lot either. Why do NRL players think they deserve any different to what the rest of us are facing? Most people are going to take a hit here, they (especially given how much they make) should be no exceptions.

my old man was a self employed coal man, grafted hard all his life. He taught me to always have a 3 month salary contingency fund. A lesson I’ve been very grateful of on a number of occasions in my life.

beave

Tigers need to think carefully about whom they put in front of the cameras at the moment. The shit BJ sprouting is not going to garner them any suppport, in fact quite the opposite. Dickhead needs to read the finer points of his contract, there’s clauses in there that can allow the club to lower their wage to him commensurate to the drop in coin from the TV companies if games don’t go ahead.

And at the end of the day, what is a f***wit like him gonna do if he does lose 50% of his $600k or whatever it is that he’s on? Walk away from the game and find another job? He’d have about as much real life skills as a f***ing potato, most of these lads need to remind themselves that if they weren’t playing football, there’s only so many PT, removalist and night club security jobs to go around.

Because let’s face it, 90% of the current players that’s about all they’d be good for without footy. f**kwits like him should be happy he’s getting some money at all in this current situation. Many others in this country are not as fortunate and are facing some dire times.

franklin2323

I know what the f**king measures are for.

Oh right, I'm not allowed to train with my mates because we have to slow the spread, even in regions with 0 confirmed cases and we are all fit young men who will be barely affected by it - but I can go in and hold my grandmother's hand. A person is infectious before showing symptoms right? How will they know if I am infectious? Or anyone? Then it could spread right through the old folks home and kill 1/4 of them. f**k lucky we banned footy training.
Heavy restrictions on aged care visits make perfect sense, especially in Sydney. Not necessarily bans, though that's what some have suggested, including the Australian Nursing and Midwifery Association - https://www.canberratimes.com.au/story/6684816/estia-puts-its-aged-care-homes-on-lockdown/?cs=14231
and some private ones have already - https://www.news.com.au/national/ag...ovid19/video/1fad40a3480e05af19b443cf8f011e2d
but something like nominated visitors have to get tested.

Banning training is like banning going to the pub with your mates. Put a contact ban in place and everyone bring their own bottles.
Along with people's physical health, we need to think a lot about people's mental health as well.

Like I already said, we can't do an honesty thing because people are f**king morons.

Where you are maybe.

Morons from Wuhan are what spread the virus to Italy, USA, Morons going to and from Wuhan are what spread it here, along with morons coming back from infectious areas overseas and not practicing proper isolation and socialising. Yeah, if you are from or go into an infectious area of a new highly contagious disease and then go around spreading it to others - you are a moron. And it will be morons from Sydney or going to and back from Sydney despite the social distancing recommendations that are in place that will spread it here.

People on both sides are f**king idiots. Lucky we banned footy training though, otherwise we'd all be dead already.

Good post. The whole thing just makes no sense really.
School holiday's coming up yet nothing open. Not even kids sport it will be mental health concerns going forward

Springs09

Theres a real risk the players and nrl could generate some serious negative public feeling towards themselves if they keep playing the woe is me card at a time when your avg joe is fcked and small businesses are going under. Some tact and sensitivity from Vlandys and the players wouldn’t go amiss right now.

And the other direction - if they push on and the measures they've taken do allow the NRL to continue playing, for them to isolate themselves and provide us with sport to follow while we are without our own sport, without a lot of social interactions, some of us facing losing employment, businesses going under etc. It will be the closest thing they have done to earn the 'hero' tags they are often given. Similar to Bradman and Pharlap in the depression, if the players push on while everything shuts down, the NRL will definitely be a bright spot in my life during the next few months.

If they have to shut down they have to shut down, no worries there. But the players whinging about losing pay will have that negative feedback. Out here we play for nothing and the players think they should be paid in full for doing nothing? f**k off

And the other direction - if they push on and the measures they've taken do allow the NRL to continue playing, for them to isolate themselves and provide us with sport to follow while we are without our own sport, without a lot of social interactions, some of us facing losing employment, businesses going under etc. It will be the closest thing they have done to earn the 'hero' tags they are often given. Similar to Bradman and Pharlap in the depression, if the players push on while everything shuts down, the NRL will definitely be a bright spot in my life during the next few months.

If they have to shut down they have to shut down, no worries there. But the players whinging about losing pay will have that negative feedback. Out here we play for nothing and the players think they should be paid in full for doing nothing? f**k off

exactly, the message coming out of players mouths should be “ we understand how important the game is to our fans and in this very difficult time for them, if we can bring some light relief and joy then we are going to do absolutely everything we can to make that happen. We are in this together and we want to be there for our fans”. Now that is what we should be hearing not “govt should bail us out because we are more important” or “I don’t see why I should take a pay cut or why I should play and put myself at risk”. FFS the nrl has a multi million $ media Dept. Get on the front foot with the PR sht to counteract Vlandys, Smith and now BJ’s I’ll thought out commentary.

flippikat

my old man was a self employed coal man, grafted hard all his life. He taught me to always have a 3 month salary contingency fund. A lesson I’ve been very grateful of on a number of occasions in my life.

He certainly sounds like he had his head screwed-on well. I hope I can impress the same sort of ideas to my son (8 years old now).

Me and the wife have a rainy-day fund too, plus we generally keep good food/cleaning/toiletries stocks "just in case", and an emergency kit (the constant threat of earthquakes here in Wellington demands it).

The current situation certainly justifies provision like that. If there's a big silver lining, hopefully once this is over more people will put aside some resources "just in case" for the next disaster.