Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Consequences of Coronavirus for NRL

Pommy

When do Souths move training hug away from Redfern? I haven’t paid attention and thought the new facility was built.

Gus is such a flog, he had a key role at a club and it was the clubs who pushed to have as much as possible ploughed in to them. If there’s no money he’s part of the problem. I also think it’s laughable he thinks any business can afford to just lose its income for a year and not have major issues.

callmack1

Why COVID-19 could be more damaging than Super League war: https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/03/16/why-covid-19-could-be-more-damaging-than-super-league-war/

How NRL would take 1000 players and staff to north Queensland: https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/03/16/how-nrl-would-take-1000-players-and-staff-to-north-queensland/

A Grand Final in November? NRL considers extending Season if virus forces postponement: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...d/news-story/bd0d5cb1d96a4a946ae028c53080999b

‘Get out there and play’ - Sam Burgess disagrees with Cameron Smith, wants NRL to play on: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...h/news-story/98e5ec02b6ce8815a5730f674fc9700b

‘I think all clubs will survive, I’m going to make sure that they do’ - Peter V’Landys hit with the hard questions on NRL 360: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...0/news-story/9cf5874a895eec4c01989e15ee0075c9

callmack1

Coronavirus news updates: https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/03/16/nrl-coronavirus-news-updates/

Cook backs calls to play on but says family comes first: https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/03/17/cook-backs-calls-to-play-on-but-says-family-comes-first/

If you need us, we can help - Mayor of Cairns’ compelling pitch to help save the NRL Season: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...g/news-story/3f61d8824a863911d16b13a764327948

NRL ‘fuming’ with Smith as clubs label call to cancel the comp ‘irresponsible’: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...n/news-story/569fe2be06ed5e0f5b0cdc52200e3d07

Brad Fittler’s plan for Origin revamp to save $20M series: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/st...s/news-story/beb58f7b57b3cd389e4bc6e50461e4a0

Coronavirus set to force NSWRL to suspend all games from under 6s to NSW Cup until June: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...e/news-story/12ddb20920c84d93499aaaab8d70de6b

RLPA wants to raid other funds before slashing player salaries in case of virus lockout: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/player...ton-rlpa/487048b0-6e5e-4a5a-8922-6d4748bb0927

callmack1

Great stuff from Richo in today's Daily Telegraph,

South Sydney boss Shane Richardson slams Cameron Smith, calls for NRL calm

South Sydney football boss Shane Richardson has hit out at Cameron Smith’s calls to cancel NRL games, instead asking those at the top to remember the people behind the scenes that keep the game alive.

While iconic South Sydney mascot Reggie the Rabbit has now been locked out of Redfern Oval until further notice, Shane Richardson has labelled Cameron Smith’s call to cancel all NRL games because of coronavirus fears as “irresponsible”.

“I don’t know Cameron’s financial situation but we have players who need to pay their mortgage every single week and we have staff who need to do it too,” Richardson said.

It comes as the Rabbitohs’ long-time football boss revealed tough new measures that have been put in place across the NRL in a bid to try and keep the competition alive for as long as possible.

This includes stopping all non-essential staff from attending training sessions until further notice.

88f50b046d83272df121c21e1d4f283d

Reggie the Rabbit has been locked out of Redfern Oval. Photo: Justin Lloyd

On top of that, not Reggie, the Rabbitohs regular doorman or even Richardson himself will be attending Friday night’s huge game in Brisbane against Wayne Bennett’s old club, as well as the players’ families.

The Rabbitohs have even ruled out training in Brisbane ahead of the clash.

But instead of spruiking fear, Richardson wants everyone associated with rugby league to support the calls of ARL Commission chairman Peter V’landys to do everything in their power to keep the competition alive.

“The reality is what V’landys is saying is true,” Richardson said.

“We have to keep playing footy and if we don’t keep playing footy we are going to be in a lot of trouble.”

d69d9b115b8319e35a90f9c189d197bc

Cameron Smith believes players are being put in harm’s way. Photo: AAP Image/Brendon Thorne

As for Smith’s comments that all games should be cancelled, Richardson said: “I don’t know if he carries clout or not but I think it is irresponsible in a sense that it is not a decision that Cameron Smith makes or Shane Richardson makes.

“That is a decision the medical people make.

“I mean, Wayne has come out and talked about things to keep the game going. He understands the importance of keeping the game going.

“And the crucial part of this is that we want to keep the game going because we have a genuine belief that it is a fabric of the society we live in.

“And more importantly it is crucial to a whole range of people’s survival. So don’t talk it down, talk it up.”

6790611e0b9d7c0f1def575e8fa77d31

Shane Richardson is thinking about the business as a whole. Photo: Simon Bullard

Richardson said his club had put in place strict new safety measures to try and limit any potential spread of the virus.

But Richardson said it was a small price if it ultimately means the football can go on.

These are the new measures across most clubs but there are many more people not directly employed by NRL clubs that are also suffering tremendously.

At grounds like the SCG and ANZ Stadium thousands of casual staff whose financial livelihoods depend directly on the live events are dramatically impacted.

On a big day at the SCG up to 2000 people can be working, doing everything from security to catering, ushers and police.

But with crowd lock outs, all shifts have been cut back to skeleton staff.

Furthermore, it stretches to staff at local pubs, cafes and restaurants. It is similar at all suburban grounds and around Australia.

“We will get over all this, it is just when,” Richardson said.

“And what we have to try and do is make sure we keep the game sustainable so we can come back bigger and better.

“We are getting some amazing and wonderful reaction from our members who are writing in and saying ‘we don’t want our money back, we want the club to keep going’, and all this sort of stuff.

“I think everybody out there understands the plight of the club.

“No one thinks the club is rich. The big key to it all is the survival of every club and to keep on playing is crucial.

“Don’t jump to conclusions. Worry about what we can do this weekend and worry about what happens next after that.

“If the competition stops it is a very dangerous thing for the game.”

callmack1

Clubs back NRL decision to play on; Cutting player salaries last resort: https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/03/18/cutting-player-salaries-an-option-but-only-as-last-resort-rlpa/

Coronavirus news updates: https://www.nrl.com/news/2020/03/16/nrl-coronavirus-news-updates/

AFL Season might be up in the air, but NRL is intent on pushing on amid virus fears: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...2/news-story/7a8328d520082dddac9958471cf60c2d

Paul Kent says NRL can ‘bulldoze’ sports market — even if a player tests positive for coronavirus: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...s/news-story/5da1927e9dbc479cb60086354fb6b713

The NRL’s biggest potty mouths to be exposed in empty stadiums: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/mi...s/news-story/89acf420075999433b13634fc29126b3

Inside the 1392-room rural QLD village which could host ALL 16 NRL clubs – and save the Season: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...n/news-story/d2873fabe7e09b45ca2e530f2b63c725

Origin in December? Coronavirus could force series to be played after NRL Grand Final: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/or...l/news-story/b43d655117ba1467a01ee0fb091146f8

Darren Lockyer, Wally Lewis debate NRL's most radical ideas for 2020: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/magic-...ly-lewis/d3261e46-bd75-4b48-a0aa-8ee807a28d71

'It might mean a delayed start to next year' - Gus' plan to keep NRL from 'financial ruin': https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/corona...hed-back/2d0a08e1-7f45-4679-9afc-b706a2a8c1a8

I love how these blokes are expert coaches, economists, clubmen and physicists etc.

The game is f**ked for two years.

So be it.

Just look after your fellow man and woman

I’d rather every Poster on Souths lu gets through than watch another game of rugby league.

callmack1

ARL Commission update: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2020/03/19/arl-commission-update/

NRL announces 'self-isolation program' to minimise player risk: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2...lf-isolation-program-to-minimise-player-risk/

Blake Solly on why Clubs want to play on: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2020/03/19/blake-solly-on-why-clubs-want-to-play-on/

Kangaroos coach Mal Meninga hasn’t been consulted on tour axing: https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/ka...g/news-story/8e0aba8f9a31f3cbc51a0c5e99123439

'We can make a lot of people happy' - Wayne Bennett hails NRL's push to play on: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/bennet...-play-on/f6ef66a2-07d8-4d50-ba0f-c3eed49811b4

Russell Crowe's bold plan to keep NRL going, critical of league's blatant cash grab: https://wwos.nine.com.au/nrl/nrl-ne...ash-grab/3b135977-3c79-488d-a079-8d7538dc1b86

callmack1

Pauly1

I won't get too excited about yesterdays loss.
This NRL comp will unfortunately be suspended for this year.
Its just a matter of when! I say a weeks time!

callmack1

Rabbit57

I won't get too excited about yesterdays loss.
This NRL comp will unfortunately be suspended for this year.
Its just a matter of when! I say a weeks time!
If they do keep playing it is one of the very few live sports available around the globe. So the audience isn’t Wayne and Sam sitting behind the goal posts, it is a massive captive audience of people in isolation

I suggest the players do a simple gesture at the end of each game. Either run to the empty burrow and clap knowing that the supporters are still watching. Or they could move to a camera and clap the tv audience.

In return let’s keep the support going!

Pommy

I'm not sure how the season can continue after today, NSW and Vic going in to lockdown I doubt QLD will be far behind. Borders to SA and WA being closed there's not many options for them to continue at this point.

Pauly1

I'm not sure how the season can continue after today, NSW and Vic going in to lockdown I doubt QLD will be far behind. Borders to SA and WA being closed there's not many options for them to continue at this point.
Its now becoming an embarrassment !
Apart from some 3rd world countries, NRL is one of the only professional sports still being played in the world.Brad Fittler the D@@@ H@@d even thinks the state of origin is going ahead.
NRL need to pack it up for this season until this critical crisis is over.
If they didn't save their pennys whilst the game was flourishing then the previous management need to be held accountable.Dont put your hand out for 500million dollars as that money will be better spent tackling this current crisis.

Inkers75

Considering all sport in UK has been suspended and the announcement that the AFL has also, I'm amazed the NRL can continue.