Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

WA Tiger

Why??? Given the number of likes on your post here I feel a lot of people have gone off JAC? I honestly fail to see the reason why:
  • He is by far the best winger in the NRL
  • He grew up a Tiger's supporter
  • He is the type of player that would attract other representative level players
  • He is a left wing specialist, and we currently have a revolving door of wingers on the left wing
Am I missing something?
From the virus point of view he has risked lives, the resumption of the game and at one point there possibly the game itself ..without that context when things have changed for the better which they will sooner or later ( hopefully by the time of his signing) what he did will be like nothing, All will be forgiven and it’s bye bye Jennings (photos or no photos..)

gordsy

JAC is bad news at the moment. Others have said on field life is a mess at the moment, rumours of OMCG connections, Matt Rose as a manager and more. He has been kept on a short leash and out of the spot light in Melb, that won't be the case in Sydney. Now the club would know more than me but I would steer clear.

As far as signings go we either get an experience half back that we can keep on for the next few years on put Madden in next year, I see no value in putting someone in for just one year unless we were in a premiership winning window. I have no idea about lower grades but personally I'd try to send our young talen to esl or q cup to toughen them up otherwise they've lost a year off their careers.

BrotherJim05

I don't believe the sentiment around JAC. Yes he broke Lockdown restrictions but so has everyone (let's just be honest here). I still really don't get how he comes across as a dickhead. He wouldn't be consistently being picked for rep teams if he was.

I reckon he would come here and absolutely crush it. It would be a try a thon from him, BJ and Brooks down that left side.

As for Benji replacement... Whoever it is I just hope they can kick goals

Hoofhearted

Corey Norman? Not even if he paid to play with us.....if we were lucky enough to have Grant stay then Walters would seem to be the logical choice...young...enrhusiastic and talented. What else would we be looking for? Brooks is experienced ( and Madge'd up ) enough now to take over.
I thought Talau's preferred position was 5/8, and I'm sure it was Benji or Robbie who said last year he was the best talent to come through since Teddy. If that was the case you'd think he could be looked at as the future long term partner to Brooks, Walters looks like a good long term number 14.
From everything I've read over the last year Madge seems to be stockpiling a heap of younger talent, so you would assume that any potential premiership window is still a few years away. With that in mind we have the time to establish someone like Talau into the role. Definitely dont waste money on Norman, as was discussed over the weekend on radio he needs to stop acting the cool guy and start actually playing football. Everywhere he goes he leaves with the team in a rabble.

Das Hassler

I thought Talau's preferred position was 5/8, and I'm sure it was Benji or Robbie who said last year he was the best talent to come through since Teddy. If that was the case you'd think he could be looked at as the future long term partner to Brooks, Walters looks like a good long term number 14.
From everything I've read over the last year Madge seems to be stockpiling a heap of younger talent, so you would assume that any potential premiership window is still a few years away. With that in mind we have the time to establish someone like Talau into the role. Definitely dont waste money on Norman, as was discussed over the weekend on radio he needs to stop acting the cool guy and start actually playing football. Everywhere he goes he leaves with the team in a rabble.

Agree ....i might be selling Talau short but he just seems to need a little more time to mature ...especially as a potential half.

super_coach

I’d be looking at Matt Burton from Penrith, apart from him not being able to kick field goals to save his life he looked pretty settled in 1st grade. Cheap too

With Cleary/May/Luai there they might release him

No such thing as a cheap no6 but yes I agree he looks like a classy footballer

Perth Tiger

I have said before that Thompson is the type of player that shit teams have/need in order to be competitive and to try and turn the place around but once the team improves he should/has been upgraded because unfortunately (primarily due to his size but also his sometimes bad hands) against the better teams in close games he becomes a liability.
He has been great for us but I am happy to move on from him but he deserves to continue his career and I hope he can get a upgraded deal at the Titans.

The Rosco

Another NO to Corey Norman.
You know how we WT geniuses on here know our players better than anyone ? . . . have a quick read of what the poor Saints fans think of Norman on their forum.

Ron's_Mate

I like Corey Thompson but can see he won't have much of a role in first grade with the developing roster. I'd feel sorry for him if he ends up at a basket case club like the Titans. Hopefully he gets paid well to go there. He'd be worth twice as much as whatever Bryce Catrwright is on.

The unknown

I have said before that Thompson is the type of player that shit teams have/need in order to be competitive and to try and turn the place around but once the team improves he should/has been upgraded because unfortunately (primarily due to his size but also his sometimes bad hands) against the better teams in close games he becomes a liability.
He has been great for us but I am happy to move on from him but he deserves to continue his career and I hope he can get a upgraded deal at the Titans.

I just hope we have a replacement and don’t release him for no reason, cause still would be handy as a back up

JAC strikes me as a larrikin but not a dickhead. Yeah he got caught breaching lockdown and he's certainly in the wrong for that but plenty of people got fined and caught out for that. You only needed look at the GWH every weekend, merkins "working for the weekend" out west with dirtbikes strapped down on their utes and trailers.

Of course I don't know the guy personally nor am I in the inner circles of RL so I am only judging him by what I have seen and heard of him.