Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack mcgregor

Forbes Creek Dragons

The pressure on Mary will of course be lesser the more wins the team has. If he does have more wins, then he very well might see out his contract which might help him to get a gig in Super League just like Pricey after 2021.
I hope he does, good luck to the bloke I say I would love to see him go over and have success. There is no doubt he’s learned a lot in the last 6 years and there are mistakes he wouldn’t make again. It’s on the higher uppers that put a rookie in charge that the blame lies.

Dragons22

Here is the full Paul McGregor post-win playlist:

• I’m still standing- Elton John
  • I will survive- Gloria Gaynor
  • Never gonna give you up- Rick Astley
  • You’re the best around- Joe Esposito
  • Survivor- Destiny's Child
  • I’m a believer- Smash Mouth
  • We are the champions- Queen
  • Don’t stop me now- Queen
  • I won’t back down- Tom Petty
  • Ain’t No Mountain High Enough- Marvin Gaye and Tammil Terrell
  • Heros- David Bowie
  • The only way is up- Yazz
  • Don’t stop believing- Journey
  • I ain’t not quitter- Shania Twain
  • You win my love- Shania Twain
  • Take a chance on me- ABBA
  • I have a dream- ABBA
  • Gimme, gimme, gimme- ABBA
  • Stay another day- East 17
  • I believe I can fly- R. Kelly
  • Things can only get better- Dream
  • She works hard for the money- Donna Summers

Warabrook saint

• Heros- David Bowie
  • I have a dream- ABBA
Where it only should be one.
GOODBYE-COLD CHISEL

BLM01

I hope he does, good luck to the bloke I say I would love to see him go over and have success. There is no doubt he’s learned a lot in the last 6 years and there are mistakes he wouldn’t make again. It’s on the higher uppers that put a rookie in charge that the blame lies.
Cmon...hand on heart Mary
Tell us straight..that was not your changes of personnel, game structure and plans today
As Head coach you deserve to take the wraps in the press conference...but after all this time...well...
you can understand our scepticism

Forbes Creek Dragons

Cmon...hand on heart Mary
Tell us straight..that was not your changes of personnel, game structure and plans today
As Head coach you deserve to take the wraps in the press conference...but after all this time...well...
you can understand our scepticism
Mate I wish I was Mary, he’s probably made more money in his stint as Dragons coach as I will in my whole life slugging it out as a sparky.

LINESPEED

Haha I wouldn’t go that far. They won’t make the same mistake again. I’m pretty sure regardless of results they have made up their minds already.

Well Webb ol’ fella
On Day 70

I see you’ve had a peek from out of the broom cupboard when Andrew wasn’t looking

We know the decision about McFail’s been made & the list’s been drawn up

...but “the ‘W’ was a bonus”
- as Mc113 says

Still equal last but great to see a modicum of pride in that RedV at last.
Forwards played great.

McFail didn’t pick that team
or make those Board & Flanno-induced changes.
(He’d’ve gotten Turnstile in but that’d’ve been the limit of his contribution)

.... & Flanno had his hands all over that win
....as the best use of a bench in 7 years confirmed:

This was his gig

( NB bench use & spine selection/management are real footy IQ markers - thus we’ve had the endless bench debacles & notorious McMuddle spine fiddling)

Anyway
Mc56/57 was strangely low key & talking about his great self awareness in knowing where his ‘role begins and ends’
- emphasising his ‘training’ & getting them ready thingo

The strategists & game planners were elsewhere on this one.

So The Waterboy’s been moved a tad sideways I would suggest Webby
- and amazingly so.

It seems the Board meeting’s recommendation to confer more power in decision making to Shep & Flanno actually happened -

... and it was so obvious
that Waterboy in his presser was almost loathe to take any credit.

Mock humility never his usual forte

Almost contrition

The smirk was gone, along with any ‘fuc/k you’ ‘I’m no quitter’ hubris
or hint of deflection

The boil’s been lanced

... even an admission that momentum could’ve gone either way early.

And it sure could’ve on a couple of occasions in this cellardweller epic

The stuffing’s been knocked out of this guy - and he’s seen the future

As you say FCD
“They won’t make the same mistake again”

- especially as the media are all over The Gordon shenanigans

& The Board’s indifference to failure

Go have a whiskey Ryan

YoHadrian

Well Webb ol’ fella
On Day 70

I see you’ve had a peek from out of the broom cupboard when Andrew wasn’t looking

We know the decision about McFail’s been made & the list’s been drawn up

...but “the ‘W’ was a bonus”
- as Mc113 says

Still equal last but great to see a modicum of pride in that RedV at last.
Forwards played great.

McFail didn’t pick that team
or make those Board & Flanno-induced changes.
(He’d’ve gotten Turnstile in but that’d’ve been the limit of his contribution)

.... & Flanno had his hands all over that win
....as the best use of a bench in 7 years confirmed:

This was his gig

( NB bench use & spine selection/management are real footy IQ markers - thus we’ve had the endless bench debacles & notorious McMuddle spine fiddling)

Anyway
Mc56/57 was strangely low key & talking about his great self awareness in knowing where his ‘role begins and ends’
- emphasising his ‘training’ & getting them ready thingo

The strategists & game planners were elsewhere on this one.

So The Waterboy’s been moved a tad sideways I would suggest Webby
- and amazingly so.

It seems the Board meeting’s recommendation to confer more power in decision making to Shep & Flanno actually happened -

... and it was so obvious
that Waterboy in his presser was almost loathe to take any credit.

Mock humility never his usual forte

Almost contrition

The smirk was gone, along with any ‘fuc/k you’ ‘I’m no quitter’ hubris
or hint of deflection

The boil’s been lanced

... even an admission that momentum could’ve gone either way early.

And it sure could’ve on a couple of occasions in this cellardweller epic

The stuffing’s been knocked out of this guy - and he’s seen the future

As you say FCD
“They won’t make the same mistake again”

- especially as the media are all over The Gordon shenanigans

& The Board’s indifference to failure

Go have a whiskey Ryan

I like the concept of Mary being an "Emeritus" coach.

RedVDave

• Heros- David Bowie
  • I have a dream- ABBA

Lol this could turn into a thread of it's own I'll add a few:

Destiny's Child - Survivor.
Rancid - indestructible
INXS - Never tear us apart
Evanescence - My immortal
Paul Stanley - Live to win
Katrina & The Waves - Walking on sunshine.
Tina Turner - Simply the best
Gwen Stefani - The sweet escape
Foo Fighters - My hero
Blur - Song #2
Nirvana - Lithium
Dandy Warhols - Bohemian like you
ABBA - Money, Money, Money
(Hed) P.E. - Pay me
Louis Armstrong - What a wonderful world

It’s bad enough listening to McDonut after a loss, so there’s no way I can sit through him after the side jagged the win.

In some ways, wins put pressure on the coach as people question where has this been for the last 24 games or what have you!

Or as theorised, he was asked to keep a low profile over the week.

This win come almost a year later than expected.

Forbes Creek Dragons

Lol this could turn into a thread of it's own I'll add a few:

Destiny's Child - Survivor.
Rancid - indestructible
INXS - Never tear us apart
Evanescence - My immortal
Paul Stanley - Live to win
Katrina & The Waves - Walking on sunshine.
Tina Turner - Simply the best
Gwen Stefani - The sweet escape
Foo Fighters - My hero
Blur - Song #2
Nirvana - Lithium
Dandy Warhols - Bohemian like you
ABBA - Money, Money, Money
(Hed) P.E. - Pay me
Eric Clapton - Wonderful world
These are some of his pre Sharks tunes.
NWA - Straight outta Dapto.
Metallica - The BOD that failed.
U2 & Greenday - The saints are coming last.
Tool - 281 days
Bruce Gordon - Born in the Illawarra
Dr Dre - Still S.G.I
Pearl Jam - Better Coach
Ice Cube - You can do it put attack into it
Offspring - Go out and play
Pink Floyd - Another coat on the wall

RedVDave

These are some of his pre Sharks tunes.
NWA - Straight outta Dapto.
Metallica - The board that failed.
U2 & Greenday - The saints are coming last.
Tool - 281 days
Bruce Gordon - Born in the Illawarra
Dr Dre - Still S.G.I
Pearl Jam - Better Coach
Ice Cube - You can do it put attack into it
Offspring - Go out and play
Pink Floyd - Another coat on the wall
Lol that is gold love your work Forbes!

This is an excerpt from an email to Red V members from CEO Ryan Webb...

Football

The football department has been under tremendous pressure in recent weeks, and rightly so. Nobody at the club was happy with the opening month of performances, although it was pleasing to see the Dragons earn their first win of the 2020 campaign on Sunday.

I understand that not all members and fans agree with the board's decision to publicly support coach Paul McGregor last week. Their decision on Paul's future was one out of loyalty and backed by the entire club's commitment to improve.

Moreover, it seems there is a lot the narrative surrounding the club currently targeting negative connotations. I thought it worth clarifying a few points:
  • Tristan Sailor has not requested a release;
  • Jason Saab has requested a release which the club have denied. We are now working with Jason and his manager in an effort to overcome his off-field concerns; and,
  • Isaac Luke has also requested a release for personal reasons regarding his family. While not yet confirmed, Issac's release will be finalised this week. The club are also comfortable with its current crop of hookers considering Cameron McInnes, Billy Brittain and Ben Hunt's ability to all don the No. 9 jumper.

Forbes Creek Dragons

This is an excerpt from an email to Red V members from CEO Ryan Webb...

Football

The football department has been under tremendous pressure in recent weeks, and rightly so. Nobody at the club was happy with the opening month of performances, although it was pleasing to see the Dragons earn their first win of the 2020 campaign on Sunday.

I understand that not all members and fans agree with the board's decision to publicly support coach Paul McGregor last week. Their decision on Paul's future was one out of loyalty and backed by the entire club's commitment to improve.

Moreover, it seems there is a lot the narrative surrounding the club currently targeting negative connotations. I thought it worth clarifying a few points:
  • Tristan Sailor has not requested a release;
  • Jason Saab has requested a release which the club have denied. We are now working with Jason and his manager in an effort to overcome his off-field concerns; and,
  • Isaac Luke has also requested a release for personal reasons regarding his family. While not yet confirmed, Issac's release will be finalised this week. The club are also comfortable with its current crop of hookers considering Cameron McInnes, Billy Brittain and Ben Hunt's ability to all don the No. 9 jumper.
That’s concerning about Saab because wing is the position we really lack and there are very few on the market. His manager would know this and be playing games. I’d play him straight away starting from next week and even consider upgrading him if he goes well but jeez managers are slimy pricks, he’s signed a contract and barely played. Good to see some honesty though.