Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Round 6 Vs Storm

Hopefully we get a game where we’re leading comfortably and could try Burton out in another position. Fullback might be a bit much straight away, but maybe centre.

The_Frog

If you want May Burton has to move to the run on team.
I'm not sure of the connection. May is a better utility than either of them. The coach chooses Luai as the 6. Burton is on the bench currently to keep him happy but not much point if he isn't used. You can't have a specialist half on the bench in the longer term when a genuine utility can cover far more positions on the field.

Burton has just as much utility value as May, maybe even more. Could May play on the wing or fullback? May has an advantage in the back row, but Burton could play every position in the backline.

Burton is 6’3, he’s not an ordinary half. His size & speed give him heaps of utility value.

martielang

He got two games in his best preferred position and despite the media wankery his performances didn't warrant him holding a spot. f**k giving him special treatment because his manager had a cry and he's a media darling, he can wait out an injury or drop in form as any other player would have to.

This.

maple_69

I reckon Burton coming on as a floating lock is a solid idea. Having the starting pack capable of playing 60-80 mins of tense grinding footy is awesome for a game like last night. It also allows us to roll a bench fairly light on work rate. I think we should have 2 of Burton, May, Leniu, Burns and Hetherington on the bench with a plan to bring them on for 10-20 when we’ve got a bit of momentum to break the game open.

betcats

I have no problem with Burton staying on the bench last night, Jerome played well.

That being said I think Burton outplayed Luai in his two starts and that really should be enough to get the start. Forgetting about about who played with who in juniors Burton looks like the better player right now but anyway Jerome is a good player and had his best game since the restart last night. I’m almost resigned to seeing Burton get dropped for May in a couple weeks.

When did Burtons manager have a whinge? I missed that.

Jane Murray

He got two games in his best preferred position and despite the media wankery his performances didn't warrant him holding a spot. f**k giving him special treatment because his manager had a cry and he's a media darling, he can wait out an injury or drop in form as any other player would have to.
Well you will get your wish soon. Burton will be dropped and the sexual pervert, May when available, will take his spot.

franklin2323

Needs to be two scenarios for Burton off the bench.

He either comes on when Api needs a breather and Luai shifts to 9. Or he comes on and plans a Brandon Smith style lock role.

Problem is you want Api out there at the end so you burn a 2nd change to get him back. I’d play him centre

mxlegend99

Great win and desperately needed to psychologically give us a better outlook.

6 rounds in and 1 loss is good. Still a fewholes need fixing in the team. But winning against the astorm when the referee is trying to f**k you is pretty impressive. Pretty amazing how every single team has gotten set restarts in every single game... Except us where we have played 90 minutes against Knights where they were apparently perfect and 80 against Storm who were also apparently perfect.

Refs are so hesitant to make calls that help us. Rather have a blatantly wrong one go against us then even a 50/50 go toward us.

Could all those be in a single post? so many comments in a row is a bit much. Opposition fans also telling us to drop players sounds like fear.

No I isnt how I post.

I'm suggesting ways to improve the side. Billy Burns seems ok but when that Leniu is fit he could be a weapon.
T.May can be a pocket rocket but I also have no issue with Burton on the bench. Just not sure what he can add. Perhaps Luai goes to hooker for a bit

chrisD

When did Burtons manager have a whinge? I missed that.
I don't want to go find it, maybe the local rag's puff piece, it was something like word is he is open to other opportunities if he can't secure a first grade position.

I'm not sure but I am worried Crichton doesn't like contact against bigger men much, it wouldn't be ideal but you can get away with that on the wing or fullback but not at centre.

Kev07

M
Burton has just as much utility value as May, maybe even more. Could May play on the wing or fullback? May has an advantage in the back row, but Burton could play every position in the backline.

Burton is 6’3, he’s not an ordinary half. His size & speed give him heaps of utility value.
May has played every position but prop from under 20s and Reggies.

May topped almost every statistical category in the 2015 NYC Premiership winning team having played at fullback,wing,centre,dummy half,five-eight,halfback,second row and lock during that season.

Equal 1st in tries
1st in tackles made
1st in try assists
1st in line break assists
1st in line breaks
1st in support play
1st in decoys

And played every position well,he was picked in those positions before players who were specialist in those positions.

soc123_au

M

May has played every position but prop from under 20s and Reggies.

May topped almost every statistical category in the 2015 NYC Premiership winning team having played at fullback,wing,centre,dummy half,five-eight,halfback,second row and lock during that season.

Equal 1st in tries
1st in tackles made
1st in try assists
1st in line break assists
1st in line breaks
1st in support play
1st in decoys

And played every position well,he was picked in those positions before players who were specialist in those positions.
That more often than not doesnt translate into the NRL, but I am looking forward to seeing him get an extended shot at the top. He is still very young & could be very good for a long time. The whole bad apple thing is being overplayed to insane levels, he f**ked up, has done his time & deserves a shot. Some of the hand wringers would be horrified as to what could have been let out of the bag. He was very hard done by in the Nathan Cleary saga, hung drawn & quartered for protecting his mate. Not for the first time either I'd bet.

WestyLife

That more often than not doesnt translate into the NRL, but I am looking forward to seeing him get an extended shot at the top. He is still very young & could be very good for a long time. The whole bad apple thing is being overplayed to insane levels, he f**ked up, has done his time & deserves a shot. Some of the hand wringers would be horrified as to what could have been let out of the bag. He was very hard done by in the Nathan Cleary saga, hung drawn & quartered for protecting his mate. Not for the first time either I'd bet.

My only contention is the thought he'd automatically push out someone who has contributed to our success this year after playing no football for over 12 months on name alone. If he earns a spot than great.

WestyLife

Also May could replace the bench second rower if he can play second row/lock as people are saying.

age.s

I'm not sure but I am worried Crichton doesn't like contact against bigger men much, it wouldn't be ideal but you can get away with that on the wing or fullback but not at centre.

Yeah this concerns me as well. You could see it last night in his attempt to tackle Vinivalu in the play where Sauce put his boots on the line. It was almost a side on shoulder charge but he got it horribly wrong when he could have easily wrapped up the upper half of Vinis torso. It was a woeful effort and he would have been rightly caned if the play hadn't been defused.

If he wants to play centre (and he should, hes a huge threat next to Kiks) he needs a stint in lower grades with the view to having him back over Whare or Naden when his defensive technique has improved.

MugaB

Yeah this concerns me as well. You could see it last night in his attempt to tackle Vinivalu in the play where Sauce put his boots on the line. It was almost a side on shoulder charge but he got it horribly wrong when he could have easily wrapped up the upper half of Vinis torso. It was a woeful effort and he would have been rightly caned if the play hadn't been defused.

If he wants to play centre (and he should, hes a huge threat next to Kiks) he needs a stint in lower grades with the view to having him back over Whare or Naden when his defensive technique has improved.
I have a feeling Mansour is only still in the side to show Chricton the riggers of being a 1st grade winger, then Naden will slot back into centre beside him, same goes for Whare with To'o.
I can't see Ivan fielding a whole heap of young rookies without some game experience first, i mean the broncos are not doing it, they're just pushing them out there hoping for the best. We at least look like we are gradually building both Chricton and To'o into better players first