Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The «Set Move» thread

Bronco18

I think we need to give credit to a couple of the Storm plays in the game on the weekend. The best for mine was the Cronk no try before half time, with Smith dummying to two option runners around the ruck before linking with Slater.

The inside-outside maneuver from the Titans featuring Hayne to Don was great footy too.

http://www.foxsports.com.au/video/l...utm_medium=Facebook&utm_campaign=FoxSportsAus

Little highlights package on the Matty Johns show on Smith-Cronk-Slater's best.

miguel de cervantes

it's been too long....

so long we have to inspire ourselves from union

why we don't see more of this in league anymore is a real shame. bloody coaches, dumb players

it's been too long....

so long we have to inspire ourselves from union

why we don't see more of this in league anymore is a real shame. bloody coaches, dumb players

Dont you dare mate.. I foolishly stated the other day on this forum that we could learn a thing or two from union and I got shut down instantly.

Dare I say that clubs and some fans are insular. Once the modern day set plays were initiated in the NRL, the clubs have hardly felt a need to evolve beyond that

THE CHAMP

Dont you dare mate.. I foolishly stated the other day on this forum that we could learn a thing or two from union and I got shut down instantly.

Dare I say that clubs and some fans are insular. Once the modern day set plays were initiated in the NRL, the clubs have hardly felt a need to evolve beyond that

How terrible.

Anyway jam ya union up ya arse it's shit

Fangs

All class from Benji and the Tigers last night on that try.

I wonder what set moves Trent Barrett will bring to the Panthers in 2020? With much better facilities than the Manly Sea Eagles I'm sure he will have plenty to offer.

veggiepatch1959

All class from Benji and the Tigers last night on that try.

I wonder what set moves Trent Barrett will bring to the Panthers in 2020? With much better facilities than the Manly Sea Eagles I'm sure he will have plenty to offer.
From experience.......nope.

KOMORI

That was a pearler of a play last night. It was so good that you almost thought there had to be an obstruction... replays simply showed a thing of beauty.

LeagueXIII

Love great set plays, Parramatta had heaps in the 80's under Jack Gibson. However there were many other teams that had them also.

One of the best from Newtown v Norths 1981 21min 26sec)

Canterbury v Wests 1982 - Garry Hughes notices fullback is in the line and out of position

Norths v Easts Semi 1982
Here's that classic try the original poster mentioned by Norths (2min 50sec) They had two versions, one called America and the other Canada. I can recall them scoring from the same move in 1983 v Canterbury at Bear Park

Parramatta v Wests 1975
These two old classics from the scrum base. One a standard play to create the extra man down the blind (2min 35sec) and the reverse into the lock from the half (3min 04sec) Cronulla scored from a similar play in the 2016 GF

Balmain v Canterbury 1985

Origin 3, 1987 - (37min 13sec) t
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sQJtgOjOjdM

he same move was also used by The Rest of the World v Australia in 1988 (24min 40sec)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GBF3L4--J7g

was also another good move by the World in this game (4min 45sec)

Wests Tigers classic v Dragons semi in 2005 (13sec)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2TsSaDdumg

Sneaky one here from the Raiders in the 1987 GF with O'Sullivan catching the defence after faking an injury (1hr 16min 50sec)
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=t6gz481XbBA

Here's a gem from England, St.Helens v Sheffield 1990/91 season
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a1cgQPwf1ng

typicalfan

2015 Grand Final out of the scrum by Granville was great. Was fantastic back in those days.

I remember Mullins try off the scrum in the Major Semi 1994, that game might still be the best I've ever seen.

mongoose

Agreed that is brilliant, I'd rather watch moves like this which are clever and executed well then wingers diving into corners ad nauseam.

or a 90m foot race after taking an intercept... ugh why do people think thats peak Rugby League?