Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Giant gun Jason Saab to ditch Mary’s Dragons as rivals circle

Saab lives out west doesn’t he? Like Penrith-ish?

And they’re talking about Manly as a possible club?

C’mon.. If travel really is the reason for leaving, he’s about to add an extra 30 mins at least to his daily commute..
He lives at Merrylands (close to Parramatta) but you are correct, a long journey to Manly.

So Penrith, Parramatta, West Tigers and the Dogs are clubs he should be targeting if travel is really his main concern. I don't buy it and have always thought the idea is his manager who wants to grab some extra cash. I say Saab should be forced to pay the value of the remaining term of this contract.

Dragons set to grant release to teen sensation

NRL up-and-comer Jason Saab is set to be granted a release from his contract at the Dragons, freeing him up to join a new club in 2021.

The 19-year-old has been at loggerheads with the club who have reportedly denied him a release despite repeated requests to leave the Red V on multiple occasions.

The teen talent reportedly has no problem with the club, coach Paul McGregor or his salary but simply wants to play for a Sydney-based team that will spare him a daily 3½-hour round-trip to Wollongong.

The nearly two-metre tall athletic specimen won't have a hard time garnering interest on the NRL market, an according to Nine's chief rugby league reporter Danny Weidler that could come as soon as Tuesday morning.

BB151onl.img
:copyright: Getty Jason Saab 2019

"I've learned over the past few days that Jason Saab is most likely going to get a release from the Dragons for next year," Weidler told Nine's 100% Footy.

"There is a meeting tomorrow (Tuesday) between his manager and Ian Millward, and that's likely to see Saab allowed to go and look at one of six clubs."

While no formal offer has been made toward the teen, who is technically still on contract until the end of 2022, it is believed his management has fielded inquiry from rival clubs aware of his desire to leave the Illawarra district.

Canterbury, Manly and South Sydney are monitoring the situation, but Wests Tigers are believed to be in the driver's seat to bag the teen.

BB17vGq2.img
:copyright: Getty Brett Morris of the Roosters contests the ball with Jason Saab. (Getty)

Dragons coach McGregor had previously said he said he was surprised that Saab wanted out of the club despite being signed until 2022.

"He has a great future in the game and we want it to be at this club," he said.

https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/mor...ease-to-teen-sensation/ar-BB17vyJm?li=AAHAbBJ

P.S Thankyou @Banjo2014

Sydney Morning Herald reporting this now also - https://www.smh.com.au/sport/nrl/dr...ve-club-at-end-of-season-20200801-p55hja.html

boardlumps62

The thing is he is tall so can jump. But there are other attributes that we require as a winger. So put your body on the line and show me what you have do you run the ball back with strength to help the forwards and do you get into position to show your try finishing skills.
No never see so get that skinny body in the gym and help the dragons simply go elsewhere.

Truely how big is the ideal winger and how smart should he be. Just thinking how fast must he be. One more thing are they loyal.
Go find me a Ricky Walford what a nice man I bought him a beer once.
We have about 4 good outside backs coming through right now. It is a real shame that Saab is going; I've been following him when he was in the lower grades and rate him highly. He just doesn't want to perform for Mary or he believes he should be a higher paid first-grade player.

I'm looking forward to see how Ramsey, Schiller and the Feagai brothers perform in first-grade.

redv13

We have about 4 good outside backs coming through right now. It is a real shame that Saab is going; I've been following him when he was in the lower grades and rate him highly. He just doesn't want to perform for Mary or he believes he should be a higher paid first-grade player.

I'm looking forward to see how Ramsey, Schiller and the Feagai brothers perform in first-grade.
If as you say possm that he believes he should be a higher paid first grader then that fraud should be refunding the club coz his performances have been very un first grade like. I just dont see it. The effort is easily below JP and Rava, hasn’t made a decent break to show his “supposed speed”, his defence is suspect, hasn’t used his height once, has dropped plenty of bombs, looks uncomfortable bringing the ball back and ready to drop it at any time. See ya mate, plenty of hype, lots of fizzer

qld redvee

using the "its too long to get to and from training " and I want out is so pathetic . I have travelled well over an hour each way for work and it was the norm. And I bet a lot of us on this forum have done it .
Does he do a 40 hour week at training plus the commute ? and he would be on a fairly good wage compared to other 20 year olds . he will definitely become a better player elsewhere but injuries and supercoach have contributed to his demise. Its a pity that his manager will get a better deal for him just like matterson at the eels wouldnt it be nice if saab had to stay on his same money for the length of his current contract so manager couldnt get extra $$.. hopefully after saab we can somehow stop the exodus of players , although if Norman and merrin wanted out for next year then Id be happy to see them go

getsmarty

SIX CLUBS CIRCLING AS DRAGONS FLYER EYES RELEASE

Dragons winger Jason Saab is at long odds to be at the club next year with reports suggesting he could be granted a release this week. Foxsports.com.au first reported in June that Saab wanted to explore his options and now it looks like he will finally be able to do so. The main sticking point is understood to be the 3.5-hour round trip from Western Sydney to Wollongong. “I’ve learned over the past few days that Jason Saab is most likely going to get a release from the Dragons for next year,” Channel Nine’s Danny Weidler told Nine’s 100% Footy. “There is a meeting tomorrow (Tuesday) between his manager and Ian Millward, and that’s likely to see Saab allowed to go and look at one of six clubs.” The Bulldogs, Sea Eagles and Rabbitohs are all options but the Tigers are understood to be the favourite according to Wide World of Sports. The Tigers have some versatile players as well as a couple of specialists capable of playing on the wing but Saab could mount a strong case for a starting spot if he impresses. Saab is currently locked up until 2022 at the Dragons.

781724_640x360_large_20200803191255.jpg

Has Mary lost the players?

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...b/news-story/209d46bf5f31d2c0f0bb5bd235c3bb99

Dragonslayer

Don't forget SSE. He's a very good prospect as well

Dragonslayer

He will come back to bite us big time I reckon. We will long rue the decision to not sack the Mack. In saying that I reckon we should grab AJ from Souths. Experienced but still young. Handy backup at 1. Can get a full length of the fielder.

If he wants out, let him go.

Personally, I'd be chasing Andre Niko from the Raiders. Been injured, but would unlikely get a start at the Raiders as he would be behind Simmonson and Rapana.
Can play fullback and at 22yrs old 193cm and 97kg can ball play and kick goals as well.

Forbes Creek Dragons

If he wants out, let him go.

Personally, I'd be chasing Andre Niko from the Raiders. Been injured, but would unlikely get a start at the Raiders as he would be behind Simmonson and Rapana.
Can play fullback and at 22yrs old 193cm and 97kg can ball play and kick goals as well.
Yeah I wouldn’t be against him.

He will come back to bite us big time I reckon. We will long rue the decision to not sack the Mack. In saying that I reckon we should grab AJ from Souths. Experienced but still young. Handy backup at 1. Can get a full length of the fielder.
Yes the Morris Brothers and AFB are prime examples of us not being able to keep some of our best juniors.

redv13

Yes the Morris Brothers and AFB are prime examples of us not being able to keep some of our best juniors.
J Moz was let go and considering the players we had in those positions at the time, he wasn’t getting a start anytime soon.
B Moz obviously was a stuff up from Mcflop that shouldn’t have happened.
AFB!! Really your going down that path are you?? Management were totally right to sack him and if you think they overreacted then you’ve lost the plot more than you usually show on here!