Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wine thread

Stuffy old wines from a winery that is trapped by its own history.

Could be a Henschke equivalent for the Barossa if it had someone at the reigns who knew what they were doing.

Yeah pretty much 100% my thoughts. I felt like there was a Yalumba vibe to the place, but the actual product lacks any of Yalumba's thoughtfulness and adventure.

Wines for the 1970s, really. But the Chinese tourist market seemingly loves them so hey, if it works for them I guess

And now for something completely different after the Chateau Tanunda talk....SC Pannell Montepulciano.

My favourite McLaren Vale winery. Not really an Abruzzo style Monty, but it's great. It has the cherry savoury deal you'd get in Abruzzo, but then it goes into a sappy tannin with some nutmeg, thyme, and almost a balsamic beetroot vegetal sweetness on the finish. It feels Italian in the way it flows but the flavours are markedly different.

Great meal wine. Maybe not to everyone's taste I guess? The vegetal thing might be weird, but I enjoy it. And the finish is moreish

Drew-Sta

Finally got my staff pack.

6x Centenary Hill BV Shiraz 2012 (cork closure)
6x Wyndham Special Vintage Release Padthaway Shiraz 2009
6x Jacaranda Ridge Coonawarra Cabernet 2010
6x Lawsons Padthaway Shiraz 2013
4x Wyndham Black Cluster Hunter Shiraz 2014

I had the Wyndham SVR. What a phenomenal wine. Padthaway is such an underrated region. Cherry, raspberry, blueberry, brown sugar, cooking spice, stewed fruits, a good lick of oak, coffee and tobacco box. The story behind this is it was taken from the vineyards next to Lawsons, was never commercialised as a wine and there’s quite a number of boxes left in the shed.

Next I had a Jacaranda Ridge. So, it’s Coonawarra Cabernet, meaning I came with preconceptions. But it was very different. I don’t believe this was Terra Rossa. It was light, elegant, ethereal even. There was blueberry, blackberry, mulberry, cranberry, vanilla (presuming the oak there), stewed fruits, pomegranate, aniseed and just hints of eucalyptus. This was a beautiful wine, and I’m looking forward to seeing how it develops over the years. It was also in the style of the 50’s - 80’s cabernets from Coonawarra. None of this heavy, over-oaked shit. It was Bordeaux like.

Ahh, wine. How I love it...

Star Lane Shiraz 2011. Under cork and pristine, drinking fabulously. Primary flavours have given way to secondary characteristics: cigar box, stewed cherry, tarragon, and very fine tannin is all that is left. Could almost bite through it if so inclined.

BWS got Grant Burge Holy Trinity for $35. Which, in 2020 money, is a good buy. 2016 in the city here too.

.....and it is good. We lost a co-worker this week, our commission Member as well. Few drinks at the office (negroni's, his cocktail of choice - HIGHLY recommend the Canberra Distilling pre-made job). Couple of us decided to grab some bottles and kick on.

Wine drinkers know the Holy Trinity is good. Plenty of people think Grant Burge is a budget label, in my experience, but this is a serious GSM and when it's on the shelf for $20 less than the Steading next to it I can't walk past it myself. Although the Steading is a ripper, mind

Hey lads,
Been a while since I’ve popped my oversized melon in & apologies for that. Had a few things going on.

I came across a Smith & Hooper Cab Sauv Merlot blend (Hint of mint & delicate spice, Chocolate & the oak ties it together well) at DM. From memory about $15’ish. Really enjoyable quaffer, had it with lamb ragu gnocchi. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Also grabbed 2 bottleS of chateau tanunda 100 year old vine Shiraz at last years Brisbane GFWS, grabbed an absolute bargain. Got chatting to a bloke form the winery. I work in the same industry as his dad did (had only passed 6 months previous), moved on to footy & 3 refills of the 100 y/o vine Shiraz later, he offered me 2 bottles at 1/2 price. Not sure if it was a good yarn, nostalgia RE: his dad, my witty humour or my good looks. May have been a combination :joy: In short I’m looking forward to cracking these. I was going to keep one for my 50th but that’s in the middle of summer. So I’m not sure when they’ll be consumed, I’m sure the time will be obvious when it arises.

Aside from that, not much RE: wine front from me. Just enjoying a red here & there when I’m not on call or working the next day.

:thumbsup_tone2:

.....and it is good. We lost a co-worker this week, our commission Member as well. Few drinks at the office (negroni's, his cocktail of choice - HIGHLY recommend the Canberra Distilling pre-made job). Couple of us decided to grab some bottles and kick on.

Wine drinkers know the Holy Trinity is good. Plenty of people think Grant Burge is a budget label, in my experience, but this is a serious GSM and when it's on the shelf for $20 less than the Steading next to it I can't walk past it myself. Although the Steading is a ripper, mind
We called into a shop that stocked some of their stuff last year (Hops & Vine in Hall about a 20 min drive from Canberra) & can agree, they have some cracking spirits. Took home a bottle of the Canberra Fog & Queen V 02 toffee vodka. Yumma Yumma, the shop is also a delight, literally a time warp.

Buuuuump

2019 Langmeil Massimo Montepulciano/Primitivo

Currently being flogged off at $144 a six pack with free delivery from the vineyard. I also got the 2018 Della Mina Sangiovese/Barbera on the same deal and they do mixed six of the two. One of those drinks where yum pretty much covers it, just brilliant. But because I'm a nerd....

65% Monty & 35% Primitivo (Zinfandel). Nose is simple with loads of plums, but more aromatic plums like satsuma or ume, some blossom and violet floral stuff. They dominate the taste too but not as much as the nose, there's also underlying black olive and wild leafy blackberry. It reminds me of chocolate but not so much the flavour as the texture, just that ridiculously velvet mouthfeel. Just enough tannin and acid to clear it away and leave you salivating though

It kind of reminds me of a really good Dolcetto d'Alba, but without the nuttiness. Big fan, can recommend. Really happy to see a gun, ancient winery like Langmeil keep branching out and doing it so well.

Drew-Sta

Buuuuump

2019 Langmeil Massimo Montepulciano/Primitivo

Currently being flogged off at $144 a six pack with free delivery from the vineyard. I also got the 2018 Della Mina Sangiovese/Barbera on the same deal and they do mixed six of the two. One of those drinks where yum pretty much covers it, just brilliant. But because I'm a nerd....

65% Monty & 35% Primitivo (Zinfandel). Nose is simple with loads of plums, but more aromatic plums like satsuma or ume, some blossom and violet floral stuff. They dominate the taste too but not as much as the nose, there's also underlying black olive and wild leafy blackberry. It reminds me of chocolate but not so much the flavour as the texture, just that ridiculously velvet mouthfeel. Just enough tannin and acid to clear it away and leave you salivating though

It kind of reminds me of a really good Dolcetto d'Alba, but without the nuttiness. Big fan, can recommend. Really happy to see a gun, ancient winery like Langmeil keep branching out and doing it so well.

Monte is the grape in vogue at the moment. Same as Nero. With Grenache now big, watch these two grapes emerge, especially as they suit out climate for growing.

Hope so. I sometimes think I should get like a one shift a fortnight gig at Uncle Dan's or VC just so I can keep up with the market a bit more, haha. In a weird way I miss being in the loop...

I know for sure around Canberra we're starting to see a lot more experimentation with "Mediterranean" varietals. If Australia starts growing stuff like montepulciano and Nero in big quantities I'll be so happy.

Also, Wynns Shiraz on sale at Aldi for $11.99 - a steal for a wine of its quality.

Yeah Costco had the range for the same price last time I was there. Again. Grabbed six of the blend, still a bloody good wine for that money.

They also regularly have Red Hill pinot for less than $14...

Cracked a Della Mina tonight from the Langmeil buy. 93% Sangio 7% Barbera.

Another ripper. The Barbera adds fragrance and floral delicacy to a sweet cherry sangio nose. It's juicy Chianti Classico in the mouth, medium bodied and really fresh, all sweet ripe cherry and raspberry. A little bit of vanilla, kind of a candy chestnut thing which is really nice. The Barbera lift is here too, a little sharpness and a touch of spice and violet.

Just a really well put together wine, both this and the Massimo are ridiculously enjoyable. I probably prefer the Massimo personally, but objectively they're both excellent drinking wines.

Drew-Sta

Hope so. I sometimes think I should get like a one shift a fortnight gig at Uncle Dan's or VC just so I can keep up with the market a bit more, haha. In a weird way I miss being in the loop...

I know for sure around Canberra we're starting to see a lot more experimentation with "Mediterranean" varietals. If Australia starts growing stuff like montepulciano and Nero in big quantities I'll be so happy.

Yeah Costco had the range for the same price last time I was there. Again. Grabbed six of the blend, still a bloody good wine for that money.

They also regularly have Red Hill pinot for less than $14...

I'll have a look for the Red Hill.

It will be great if we begin to shift the balance from Barossa Shiraz and Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc dominance to a more fragmented varietal make up. I still think Aldi's $6 nero is the best value wine in Australia.

I'd go VC if you were going to do that. The Green Machine will experience downturn over the next 18 months. Endeavour in total is going to hit some tough times. The balance of power is shifting again and Coles will rise to prominence again.

To be honest, as interesting as the industry is, the same players are doing the same shit and I tire a bit of it all. I'm 9 years in this year, and I feel like I've reached that point where I either start doing my own wine label and make money myself or I change industry. The same shit is done to death an I just get bored of it.

I highly recommend wines from Shimane prefecture in Japan. They're a bit sweeter than your average win, but still pretty good.

You're welcome.

horrie hastings

To be honest, as interesting as the industry is, the same players are doing the same shit and I tire a bit of it all. I'm 9 years in this year, and I feel like I've reached that point where I either start doing my own wine label and make money myself or I change industry. The same shit is done to death an I just get bored of it.

You just summed it up perfectly.

I'll have a look for the Red Hill.

It will be great if we begin to shift the balance from Barossa Shiraz and Marlborough Sauvignon Blanc dominance to a more fragmented varietal make up. I still think Aldi's $6 nero is the best value wine in Australia.

I'd go VC if you were going to do that. The Green Machine will experience downturn over the next 18 months. Endeavour in total is going to hit some tough times. The balance of power is shifting again and Coles will rise to prominence again.

Yeah I was the same when I left. And I don't miss that aspect of it by any means....you won't see me going back to full time work any time soon, IR work in the APS is just fine thanks, but I also feel out of touch with the things that are going on outside the major players.

Like Coles and Woolies will always do whatever the hell it is they do, but what I really enjoyed was keeping tabs on what the growers and the makers and the serious wine market was up to I guess. I still do as much as I can but it's hard to beat chatting to reps and winemakers etc.