Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hook's Heroes

41,000 approx posts, 18,000 likes. His stats are Dean Young-like.
Whilst I appreciate the scrutiny & find it funny that old men are trying to create a popularity contest, the likes only came in a few years ago..

Now, do you have a skipping contest to run off to, or do you have anything to add to the topic?

Whilst I appreciate the scrutiny & find it funny that old men are trying to create a popularity contest, the likes only came in a few years ago..

Now, do you have a skipping contest to run off to, or do you have anything to add to the topic?

Mate, with my dodgy hip a skipping contest is out of the question.

As for the topic, I'm guardedly optimistic about Hook but I think it's a bit early to start talking about him with the hushed, awestruck tones one reserves for Harry Bath. Especially when we have just lost two quality backrowers and have yet to replace them. The squad of '77 and '79 was loaded with talent and a forward pack that would not be cowed by anyone. That in no way resembles what we've got now.

I'm looking forward to the new regime, but Hooks Heroes? - I'll wait and see.

A bit rich coming from you considering you thought the topic already existed in another thread and this was merely a duplication.

That was akin to your posturing about Dufty being a product of the Illawarra youth system.

You tried to derail this thread with your usual nonsense and now you seem to want to post in it and protect it as if you believe in it and then hand out barbs to others that push back on you lol.

PS: Maybe you could put your views and representations re Dufty's junior football on an email to PRSLJRLFC@mail.com and see what the biggest club in the St George junior footy comp has to say about your strong assertions.

Mate, with my dodgy hip a skipping contest is out of the question.

As for the topic, I'm guardedly optimistic about Hook but I think it's a bit early to start talking about him with the hushed, awestruck tones one reserves for Harry Bath. Especially when we have just lost two quality backrowers and have yet to replace them. The squad of '77 and '79 was loaded with talent and a forward pack that would not be cowed by anyone. That in no way resembles what we've got now.

I'm looking forward to the new regime, but Hooks Heroes? - I'll wait and see.
One can only hope to see you with dodgy hip and all on the hill with a "Hook's Heroes" banner held aloft.

I refuse to allow my brain to contemplate a "Hook's Hopeless" scenario but no doubt he has some serious work ahead of him.

Losing Host was disgraceful IMO and will be felt worse than some imagine but hope springs eternal when you have someone at the helm who at least believes in youth.

The 77 side initially wasn't loaded with talent it had oodles of potential and that was transformed into talent and skill that was as a direct result of the style they played and the trust given to them by Harry.

I do firmly believe that our style will improve and they will earn the coach's and each others trust (completely lacking when Norman & Hunt run the show) and whilst we are no doubt thin in the forwards for this next year maybe our backline with so much potential might be the enticing thing for some good young forwards to come and ply their trade.

One really good tough as teak skilful prop, 2 back rowers would make an enormous difference and hopefully that isn't too far away.

A bit rich coming from you considering you thought the topic already existed in another thread and this was merely a duplication.

That was akin to your posturing about Dufty being a product of the Illawarra youth system.

You tried to derail this thread with your usual nonsense and now you seem to want to post in it and protect it as if you believe in it and then hand out barbs to others that push back on you lol.

PS: Maybe you could put your views and representations re Dufty's junior football on an email to PRSLJRLFC@mail.com and see what the biggest club in the St George junior footy comp has to say about your strong assertions.
Hate to tell you this, but that’s not even a proper email address.

Regardless, I don’t think a random rugby league club would give two shits about what a random anonymous person has to say on an Internet forum (unless is slanderous or illegal of course).

Anyway, to your question, Dufty entered into first grade after being developed & groomed by the Illawarra Cutters.

This enabled the Dragons to field a full backline of stars who came through Illawarra.

And how good was it to see them in action? That Ramsay to Lomax to Dufty try was something else.

Imagine how they’ll go under Hook..

Really OT, you should stick to the talking rather than trying to have a crack. It’s quite sad.

YoHadrian

That Ramsay to Lomax to Dufty try was something else.

Imagine how they’ll go under Hook.

That try was quite good. When they broke the shackles of the two dopes during the course of the season we were occasionally entertaining to watch at times.

The free flowing stuff was great to watch..

I like how Ramsay creates something out of nothing..

He just needs to get his defensive reads right as he has a tendency to rush in..

Liked the look of Sullivan too.. Reckon he’s the halves partner that Hunt needs to be able to fire..

Really OT, you should stick to the talking rather than trying to have a crack. It’s quite sad.

Maybe you should open your mouth a bit wider and see if you can fit both feet in it.

Best you take your knackers out first although as they are so small it probably doesn't matter.

Maybe just click on it and send your theory off to them and then tell me it is not a proper email address.

RSL JUNIOR RUGBY LEAGUE CLUB

With Season 2019 approaching very quickly, Penshurst RSL Junior Rugby League Club are looking to continue our rein as the biggest junior rugby league club in the St George area with teams in all age groups from under 6s through to A Grade.

This season, we are also looking to field girls’ teams in tackle divisions in under 15s and under 17s and girls and boys teams in non-tackle ( League Tag ) in the under 11s, under 13s and under 15s divisions.

For more information regarding registrations and competitions, check out our website – www.penshurstfooty.org or email us at PRSLJRLFC@mail.com and we will endeavour to answer your queries.

At Penshurst RSL JRLFC we strongly believe in the five “F”s – Fun, Friendships, Family, Fitness and Footy. We want all our boys and girls playing for our great club in “The Greatest Game Of All” to have a lot of fun, make friends for life, have their families involved, improve their level of fitness and health and to love playing good footy.

Our Friday night meat raffles are on every week, so come in and see us for your chance to win a fabulous meat tray, proudly supplied by Bresnahan’s Butchery at Mortdale. As we always say, Bresnahan’s meat is by far and away the best meat in the Southern Hemisphere.

We would like to thank Penshurst RSL club for their fantastic support of our Junior club which is now in it’s 59th season. President John Hoban and his Board of Directors have been fantastic as have Chris Hendley and his staff.

Thank you all.

denis preston

Yes, but they still won about eight in a row after the hangover wore off including flogging the premiers Manly. Always thought that stretch laid the platform for 79 where they were very dominant.

Yes, they had the forwards but the inclusion of Morris, Johnson,Brennan, Trudgett & Wynn really set the side up. Unfortunately being a semi professional sport at the time we couldn't dominate from 79 on wards but i'd say they underachieved a little with that squad going forward ( shades of 2011 in keeping players just on the down curve of the careers ) & the endless cash available in the Leagues club's halcyon days. Warren Ryan changed the game to its detriment with defense orientated game plans that nullified our attack free flowing game.That Eels v Berries GF in 86 (? ) was the worst GF in history.

Maybe you should open your mouth a bit wider and see if you can fit both feet in it.

Best you take your knackers out first although as they are so small it probably doesn't matter.

Maybe just click on it and send your theory off to them and then tell me it is not a proper email address.

RSL JUNIOR RUGBY LEAGUE CLUB

With Season 2019 approaching very quickly, Penshurst RSL Junior Rugby League Club are looking to continue our rein as the biggest junior rugby league club in the St George area with teams in all age groups from under 6s through to A Grade.

This season, we are also looking to field girls’ teams in tackle divisions in under 15s and under 17s and girls and boys teams in non-tackle ( League Tag ) in the under 11s, under 13s and under 15s divisions.

For more information regarding registrations and competitions, check out our website – www.penshurstfooty.org or email us at PRSLJRLFC@mail.com and we will endeavour to answer your queries.

At Penshurst RSL JRLFC we strongly believe in the five “F”s – Fun, Friendships, Family, Fitness and Footy. We want all our boys and girls playing for our great club in “The Greatest Game Of All” to have a lot of fun, make friends for life, have their families involved, improve their level of fitness and health and to love playing good footy.

Our Friday night meat raffles are on every week, so come in and see us for your chance to win a fabulous meat tray, proudly supplied by Bresnahan’s Butchery at Mortdale. As we always say, Bresnahan’s meat is by far and away the best meat in the Southern Hemisphere.

We would like to thank Penshurst RSL club for their fantastic support of our Junior club which is now in it’s 59th season. President John Hoban and his Board of Directors have been fantastic as have Chris Hendley and his staff.

Thank you all.
That’s great.

If you win a meat tray, could you throw me a rump steak & some lamb chops?

And does Hook have any connection to this club?

redv13

Regardless, I don’t think a random rugby league club would give two shits about what a random anonymous person has to say on an Internet forum (unless is slanderous or illegal of course).

Anyway, to your question, Dufty entered into first grade after being developed & groomed by the Illawarra Cutters.

This enabled the Dragons to field a full backline of stars who came through Illawarra.

And how good was it to see them in action? That Ramsay to Lomax to Dufty try was something else.

Imagine how they’ll go under Hook..

Dear Orangeman,
Matt Dufty.
StGeorge Junior, junior club Penshurst RSL,
Harold Matts: StGeorge
SG Ball: StGeorge
NYC: StGeorge Illawarra
Res: Illawarra Cutters: Feeder club to STG ILL
Thank you and god bless

Dear Orangeman,
Matt Dufty.
Thank you and god bless
Evidently the Illawarra Cutters was a junior comp who specialised in playing over age players.

Dear Orangeman,
Matt Dufty.
Thank you and god bless
No no, thank you.

OT, as you can see, Illawarra prepared the kid for first grade.

Evidently the Illawarra Cutters was a junior comp
Illawarra Cutters were a team, not a comp.

A very successful team too.

How good was that grand final & then winning the interstate cup the following week.

Gotta love a bit of silverware in the trophy cabinet.

Ha ha you wish buddy boy. Keep living in your Illawarra sheilas dream. I’m sure he had the skills way b4 playing reserve grade
Are you misogynistic in real life too or just online?

Yes, there is no doubt he has talent.

But the real skill in coaching & development is finding the sweet spot where talent at a lower level against lesser players can be transitioned into using that talent against the best.

Too often you see kids with talent in spades being placed in grade too early, only to burn out.

Similarly on the other end you can wait too long and that can then stifle potential as there is not enough of a challenge to keep developing it.

Junior development seems to be a strength of Hooks.

redv13

Are you misogynistic in real life too or just online?

Yes, there is no doubt he has talent.

But the real skill in coaching & development is finding the sweet spot where talent at a lower level against lesser players can be transitioned into using that talent against the best.

Too often you see kids with talent in spades being placed in grade too early, only to burn out.

Similarly on the other end you can wait too long and that can then stifle potential as there is not enough of a challenge to keep developing it.

Junior development seems to be a strength of Hooks.
Just for you sweetie

Puff well he had the lot and is my
Out of the current crop I was sad to see young Host leave as I had very high hopes for him and I think we have a way to go re our forward stocks.

In the backs Lomax is a standout and has raw power and is yet to fill his body out so the skies the limit for him.

Sullivan was very impressive and looks to have plenty of natural ability and tonnes of footy smarts so I look forward to seeing how he grows into 1st grade.

Ramsey looks like a young colt that has just taken his first steps but you can tell there is just something about him.

The above 3 coupled with Feagai's x 2 and a few others will give us some enjoyable viewing as Hook knocks them into shape over the next 2 years.
I feel as though you’re discounting the role that Hunt can play..

He’s an experienced half, and proven to lead a team to a grand final..

Whilst it’s great to be able to dream about our strong junior backline living up to its potential, we need experience to help them..

And Hunt is the man.