Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Question on Peter V'landys

PVL ...good for RL or not?

titoelcolombiano

Winning or losing is the key factor to Lions support it seems. You believe there are Lions fans who will stop supporting them because of a second Brisbane club?? Why?

I think it will hurt them slightly and here's why. The Broncos and Lions have their core fan bases. Broncos around 20k - 25k, Lions around 10k - 15k. Then you have your RL fans that aren't Broncos fans and turn up usually to support the opposition team because they are a fan. This ranges from 5k to 10k depending on the team. For AFL this seems to be about 5k to 10k also (expat Victorians that want to watch their team when they are in town).

Then you have the battle ground fans. The 10k or so that are casual sports fans and want to attend the events or what is trendy at the time.Usually that is the Broncos but when the Lions are winning they enjoy support from this group. Some of these fans also just want to watch footy every weekend, not every second weekend. This is where the NRL could really hurt the Lions by putting a second team here.

Firstly, the new team will be shiny, new and trendy. Secondly, you have a second opportunity for non-Broncos fans to attend as an away supporter (so potentially drawing them to two games a year not just one). Then you have more ''derby'' games (Broncos, Cowboys, Titans, Warriors, Storm) which are events. Then you have a better chance (not guaranteed though) of not having a 2020 where Brisbane's only team is shit and not drawing crowds, there is at least a chance that the other team could be successful and be the ''cool'' or ''event'' team. Then there is just the sports fans that want to go to the footy each week and have a preference for RL but are attending Lions games because nothing else is on.

Finally, having two NRL teams to the AFL's one actually gives the impression that we are a RL city. The fact that SEQ has the same amount of AFL and NRL teams is a joke.

T-Boon

You believe there are Lions fans who will stop supporting them because of a second Brisbane club?? Why?

Part of it is I think a second Brisbane team will create a great NRL rivalry that will make it hard for the Lions to get media attention. Especially when they go through a down period.
The Broncos will need to lift their game off the field - and that will hurt the Lions.
Had a second team been place in Brisbane 15 year ago as it should have been rather than a Gold Coast team I think the Lions would have gone close to folding.

I think it will hurt them slightly and here's why. The Broncos and Lions have their core fan bases. Broncos around 20k - 25k, Lions around 10k - 15k. Then you have your RL fans that aren't Broncos fans and turn up usually to support the opposition team because they are a fan. This ranges from 5k to 10k depending on the team. For AFL this seems to be about 5k to 10k also (expat Victorians that want to watch their team when they are in town).

Then you have the battle ground fans. The 10k or so that are casual sports fans and want to attend the events or what is trendy at the time.Usually that is the Broncos but when the Lions are winning they enjoy support from this group. Some of these fans also just want to watch footy every weekend, not every second weekend. This is where the NRL could really hurt the Lions by putting a second team here.

Firstly, the new team will be shiny, new and trendy. Secondly, you have a second opportunity for non-Broncos fans to attend as an away supporter (so potentially drawing them to two games a year not just one). Then you have more ''derby'' games (Broncos, Cowboys, Titans, Warriors, Storm) which are events. Then you have a better chance (not guaranteed though) of not having a 2020 where Brisbane's only team is shit and not drawing crowds, there is at least a chance that the other team could be successful and be the ''cool'' or ''event'' team. Then there is just the sports fans that want to go to the footy each week and have a preference for RL but are attending Lions games because nothing else is on.

Finally, having two NRL teams to the AFL's one actually gives the impression that we are a RL city. The fact that SEQ has the same amount of AFL and NRL teams is a joke.

I've had tourists ask me why Brisbane only has 1 team if it is an RL city. They don't understand why Sydney has 9 and we have 1. The only way to well and truly quell this misconception is by giving Brisbane a total of 3 or 4 teams by 2050, preferably sooner if it is sustainable. If a smaller metro area like Adelaide can support 2 AwFuL clubs in a city of 1.3 million, with the 2nd team introduced when the population was just 1.1 million, there's no reason Brisbane metro's 2.406 million people cannot support 3 clubs.

2,406,000 / 3 = 802,000 people per NRL club in Brisbane

1,300,000 / 2 = 650,000 people per AwFuL club in Adelaide

Maybe our mate from Perth can explain why he thinks it's okay for Adelaide to have 650,000 per AwFuL club but Brisbane cannot be allowed to have anything less than 1,203,000 per NRL club.

I’m absolutely all for a dig at the AFL, but has he forgotten a Victorian team picked their bags and moved interstate for the better part of the season to help keep the season going?
You mean a team that is full of Fijians, New South Welshman, New Zealanders, Papuans and Queenslanders moved to Queensland?

How many born and raised Victorians are in it?

I'm sure they thoroughly enjoyed being away from the madness of Melbourne.

moffla

You mean a team that is full of Fijians, New South Welshman, New Zealanders, Papuans and Queenslanders moved to Queensland?

How many born and raised Victorians are in it?

I'm sure they thoroughly enjoyed being away from the madness of Melbourne
Yeah Perhaps, but tell that to the fans down here

Jamberoo

Victoria's biggest export is Victorians, they cant wait to get out of the place

most of the support up here is from Victoria's ex pats, there are heaps of them up here
Yes, Queensland is the only state that has positive immigration from Victoria. That is the AFL’s biggest asset there. It is actually NSW that people are abandoning. Lots of people move from Sydney to Melbourne but that does not seem to have translated to an uplift for the NRL here.
https://www.domain.com.au/news/on-the-move-the-states-were-leaving-behind-and-moving-to-886741/

Jamberoo

Are extra Brisbane NRL clubs going to make any difference to the 15% you've suggested follow AFL? I doubt it. if they were inclined to RL they would be selling out Suncorp every week. Why would more and more switch to AFL? Ive heard it said so many times and yet the reality is it hasn't happened. AFL has a footprint, a small one, in NSW and Qlnd. Its big enough for them to leverage revenue off the back of it and imply being the national footy code but in reality it hasnt converted any RL fans, nor has it reduced the following of RL in those cities. Brisbane needs another NRL team no doubt about it, not because it makes any dent in AFL, which it wont, but because it will help RL grow in the city, hopefully.
You missed my point, which was that you don’t need a huge market share to thrive (10% of Brisbane would be enough for a new RL club). And the AFL has more than a small footprint in QLD. The Lions/Suns will outdraw the Broncos/Titans next year. They have half the number of club players, and their school program is way more comprehensive than RL. It is more than a solid foundation - they are cashed up, have the government on side and will keep coming - like a Terminator.
You can bury your head in the sand and say everything is fine, that RL will always be number one (it probably will), but the gap is closing. The good news is that the NRL can actually do something about it. Sydney has 8.5 clubs with double the population of Brisbane who have one club. Makes no sense. Even if you go rid of two Sydney clubs, that is still one club per 800k. One that basis Brisbane should have 3.2 teams.
It is a no brainer.
PVL is on The Ticket on ABC 2 at 12.30pm tomorrow. Looking forward to it.

Jamberoo

PVL is a NSW man so this will never happen, but...

That Sydney can only sell 39,000 tickets to the NRL GF is a absolute joke. And tickets are so cheap. If the AFL can sell out at $400 a pop in 20 minutes in Brisbane, surely a NRL GF at Suncorp would do the same or better. And with the ANZ rebuild deal off, is there anything stopping the NRL doing a deal with QLD to play the GF there every second or third year in addition to two new teams. The QLD govt would drop the AFL like a hot potato. NRL could get a huge annual fee, plus way more revenue from a Suncorp GF compared to ANZ, and plenty of govt cash to help the new clubs with infrastructure. What a boost for Rugba League that would be.

typicalfan

PVL is a NSW man so this will never happen, but...

That Sydney can only sell 39,000 tickets to the NRL GF is a absolute joke. And tickets are so cheap. If the AFL can sell out at $400 a pop in 20 minutes in Brisbane, surely a NRL GF at Suncorp would do the same or better. And with the ANZ rebuild deal off, is there anything stopping the NRL doing a deal with QLD to play the GF there every second or third year in addition to two new teams. The QLD govt would drop the AFL like a hot potato. NRL could get a huge annual fee, plus way more revenue from a Suncorp GF compared to ANZ, and plenty of govt cash to help the new clubs with infrastructure. What a boost for Rugba League that would be.
The capacity is 40k for the grand final in Sydney..... Sorry but who cares what the AFL does, the NRL is the least compromised of the two competitions.

fair points