Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2021 - Squad, Signings, Re-signings

epDragon62

I agree Crighton is the type of player we should look to build our forward pack around. Not a likely outcome but worth pursuing, even if it only results in the Cap Rorters having to pay more...

I was just thinking back when the Dragons made a play for Cooper Cronk and a couple of year later for Bellamy himself . Both player and coach were tempted by the respective offers made to them , however at the end of the day neither could tear themselves away from the Southern City .

The point that I am attempting to make is that both had seriously considered leaving their club for the Dragons as the dollars on offer apparently we’re good . That is the type of offer that we need to make to a player such as Crichton one that would have the man seriously contemplating about changing clubs .

It cannot be a half-hearted attempt with a low offer that we increase during the negotiation process - it must be one of a premium amount plus the length of such a contract being a long term one .

Of course after explaining that as a number of other members have said the chances of obtaining the man’s signature are remote . The chooks will offer him a large amount themselves ( and are able to do so outside of the sombrero on this occasion) as they do have many players off contract at season’s end .

Still there’s no harm in throwing that concrete offer at him as long as any negotiations are done by the correct people who know how to get the job done .

If Saints can land Crichton and JDB is cleared, they will be a serious contender this year that is for sure. But I just cannot see it happening unless Saints play huge dollars which I am sure the Roosters will some how match regardless with some 3rd party deal as they have plenty of those that can draw on.
I'm sure WIN Corp have plenty of customers who could use a player or two to promote their product in the Illawarra and beyond. One wonders why this has not happened as yet.

Coffs dragon

Crichton wont be coming, simple as that, if the Roosters really want to keep him he will stay even if we offer more money.

If this is what we have pinned our recruitment strategy on we are dumber than I think.
Totally agree as he’s a Scots College Old Boy who’s life & friends are well & truely based in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney. A move to the Gong & big dollars won’t be enough to budge him away. The only move he’ll make away from the Roosters would be to the Wallabies & a return back to Union.

denis preston

Totally agree as he’s a Scots College Old Boy who’s life & friends are well & truely based in the Eastern Suburbs of Sydney. A move to the Gong & big dollars won’t be enough to budge him away. The only move he’ll make away from the Roosters would be to the Wallabies & a return back to Union.

BUT why not at least make Easts fight for him and go further into their bank account .Throw the sink at him for 800k if you like. Make it look bad when he doesn't leave and the rorters register his contract at 600k when the Dragons reveal they offered 200k a year more. Lets at least set it up to finally get the league to look into the whole 3Rd party rort.

George Sancti

BUT why not at least make Easts fight for him and go further into their bank account .Throw the sink at him for 800k if you like. Make it look bad when he doesn't leave and the rorters register his contract at 600k when the Dragons reveal they offered 200k a year more. Lets at least set it up to finally get the league to look into the whole 3Rd party rort.

Great point Denis that is the spirit we need. I would like to see our administration adopt your level of determination on all major negotiations.

getsmarty

Dragons assistant coach Matthew Elliott reveals major change for Cameron McInness and Ben Hunt for 2021

Liam O'Loughlin
For the majority of last year, Cameron McInnes and Ben Hunt were switched to different positions more often than the St George Illawarra Dragons picked up wins.

Despite spending the majority of his career as a starting hooker, McInnes started eight games at lock forward and switched there a few other times during games.

Hunt was signed to the Red V as a halfback, coming off some strong years at Brisbane, but played eight games at hooker, four games from the bench and another two at five-eighth.

Talk about consistency.

This year however, things look set to change for two of the Dragons biggest stars, with new coach Anthony Griffin shaking things up in Wollongong.

Hunt is tipped to start the year in the No.7 jersey alongside Corey Norman in the halves, while McInnes will be returning to his regular position of dummy-half as the club move in a different position.

Speaking on SEN's Drive With Jimmy And Fletch, new assistant coach Matthew Elliott revealed that McInnes and Hunt had exclusively been training in their regular positions.

“He’s been at hooker Cam," he said.

“Ben (at hooker) – no. I don’t think anyone should be surprised about that either.

"Cam has trained excluvsely at hooker, and I tell you what his development in the position even in a short period of time has gone through the roof.

"I don’t know how well you know Anthony, but he has basically said to all players that there are no assured positions. Touch wood, we have got a really healthy squad.

"There is a lot of competition for spots, and the rear-vision mirror is full for every player."

The captain of the club in McInnes has been in the headlines lately, with the Dragons yet to offer him a deal for 2022 and have also reportedly been in talks with Broncos veteran Andrew McCullough.

This has led to mass speculation that McInnes could leave the club and potentially link up with a Sydney-based rival - however Elliott believes that won't be the case.

“Fortunately, I don’t have to make any of those decisions. I don’t really pay too much attention to that," he said.

"I was unaware there was even any speculation around that. The first I heard about it was an hour ago. He has been training unreal, and it’s the best-kept secret in the organisation if that’s what is going on.

"I don’t see anything other than Cam being at the Dragons for a long time.

“I’m not over that (McCullough reports) as well. Even if that was a reality, personally I don’t believe he would play over Cam to be honest with you."

Elliott had been out of the coaching game for quite some time, but will return alongside Peter Gentle to work with Griffin in an attempt to turn the struggling Dragons around.

The 56-year old spoke openly about his joy being back around coaching, and highlighted some of the younger players in the Dragons outfit who could impress in 2021.

“I go to work every day with a bunch of young people who want to get better – how’s that for a job? You don’t realise how rare that is until you’re not in that environment...it's pretty special," he said.

“My goodness – (Jackson Ford) is a guy that is very committed I must say. You can’t help but be fairly encouraged about his efforts that’s for sure. If the way he trains and his skillset is applied on the park, he is going to be one hell of a player.

“Cody Ramsey is coming for it so hard. He trains the house down. If you ask me who has been the most impressive of the young fellas, Cody Ramsey – even the boys would tell you that – he’d be hard to go around.

"Sully (Jayden Sullivan) is going to be a player of immense talent, there is no doubt about that. You’re going to hear that name in the future.

"And there’s a young guy called Junior Amone – write that name down, because you will be hearing plenty about that name in the future as well."

Ramsey is tipped to earn himself a spot on the wing for round 1, and perhaps even push fullback Matt Dufty for a spot in the Dragons outfit.

Rookie halves Sullivan and Amone won an SG Ball competition together in 2019, and both are destined for big things.

https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/new...on-mcinness-and-ben-hunt-for-2021/ar-BB1d9f0R

epDragon62

Dragons assistant coach Matthew Elliott reveals major change for Cameron McInness and Ben Hunt for 2021

Liam O'Loughlin
For the majority of last year, Cameron McInnes and Ben Hunt were switched to different positions more often than the St George Illawarra Dragons picked up wins.

Despite spending the majority of his career as a starting hooker, McInnes started eight games at lock forward and switched there a few other times during games.

Hunt was signed to the Red V as a halfback, coming off some strong years at Brisbane, but played eight games at hooker, four games from the bench and another two at five-eighth.

Talk about consistency.

This year however, things look set to change for two of the Dragons biggest stars, with new coach Anthony Griffin shaking things up in Wollongong.

Hunt is tipped to start the year in the No.7 jersey alongside Corey Norman in the halves, while McInnes will be returning to his regular position of dummy-half as the club move in a different position.

Speaking on SEN's Drive With Jimmy And Fletch, new assistant coach Matthew Elliott revealed that McInnes and Hunt had exclusively been training in their regular positions.

“He’s been at hooker Cam," he said.

“Ben (at hooker) – no. I don’t think anyone should be surprised about that either.

"Cam has trained excluvsely at hooker, and I tell you what his development in the position even in a short period of time has gone through the roof.

"I don’t know how well you know Anthony, but he has basically said to all players that there are no assured positions. Touch wood, we have got a really healthy squad.

"There is a lot of competition for spots, and the rear-vision mirror is full for every player."

The captain of the club in McInnes has been in the headlines lately, with the Dragons yet to offer him a deal for 2022 and have also reportedly been in talks with Broncos veteran Andrew McCullough.

This has led to mass speculation that McInnes could leave the club and potentially link up with a Sydney-based rival - however Elliott believes that won't be the case.

“Fortunately, I don’t have to make any of those decisions. I don’t really pay too much attention to that," he said.

"I was unaware there was even any speculation around that. The first I heard about it was an hour ago. He has been training unreal, and it’s the best-kept secret in the organisation if that’s what is going on.

"I don’t see anything other than Cam being at the Dragons for a long time.

“I’m not over that (McCullough reports) as well. Even if that was a reality, personally I don’t believe he would play over Cam to be honest with you."

Elliott had been out of the coaching game for quite some time, but will return alongside Peter Gentle to work with Griffin in an attempt to turn the struggling Dragons around.

The 56-year old spoke openly about his joy being back around coaching, and highlighted some of the younger players in the Dragons outfit who could impress in 2021.

“I go to work every day with a bunch of young people who want to get better – how’s that for a job? You don’t realise how rare that is until you’re not in that environment...it's pretty special," he said.

“My goodness – (Jackson Ford) is a guy that is very committed I must say. You can’t help but be fairly encouraged about his efforts that’s for sure. If the way he trains and his skillset is applied on the park, he is going to be one hell of a player.

“Cody Ramsey is coming for it so hard. He trains the house down. If you ask me who has been the most impressive of the young fellas, Cody Ramsey – even the boys would tell you that – he’d be hard to go around.

"Sully (Jayden Sullivan) is going to be a player of immense talent, there is no doubt about that. You’re going to hear that name in the future.

"And there’s a young guy called Junior Amone – write that name down, because you will be hearing plenty about that name in the future as well."

Ramsey is tipped to earn himself a spot on the wing for round 1, and perhaps even push fullback Matt Dufty for a spot in the Dragons outfit.

Rookie halves Sullivan and Amone won an SG Ball competition together in 2019, and both are destined for big things.

https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/new...on-mcinness-and-ben-hunt-for-2021/ar-BB1d9f0R
Exciting to read.

getsmarty

jack-bird.jpg

DRAGONS

Bouncing back: How Bird's grounded career can take off again
Author
Troy Whittaker NRL.com Reporter
Timestamp
Thu 28 Jan 2021, 12:00 PM
Share on social media
In the first in a series of articles on players aiming for a bounce-back year in 2021, Troy Whittaker details the key areas for Dragons recruit Jack Bird in his bid to return to his best.

He's a premiership winner, NSW State of Origin representative, and six seasons into his NRL career - and is only 25 years old.

Jack Bird's body has let him down for the past three seasons, but the utility's talent and resume are undeniable.

The Dragons recruit played just 17 games after joining Brisbane from Cronulla in 2018 - and didn't set foot on the field at all last year - with a sternum and two serious knee injuries consigning him to the background following a blazing 66-match start to the first three seasons of his first-grade career.

He may have been out of sight, out of mind for some fans, but Bird could be a defining signing by St George Illawarra if he can stay fit and recapture the form of his Sharks days.

jack-bird_20210126a.jpg

Coming up to two years since he last played football, new Dragons coach Anthony Griffin is prepared to be cautious with Bird, who is back training with the main group ahead of February's trials.

Bird has been touted to slot into in the back-row, where he starred for St George Illawarra in the under-20s, and is training with the forwards - though a specific role has not been confirmed.

Regarded as an "out and out footy player" rather than a modern-day athlete who specialises in a particular position, where Bird plays may not matter as much as how involved he is in the Dragons' matches.

He is contracted to his junior club until 2022 after having been granted an early release by the Broncos.

When he was at his best in his three-year Sharks stint, Bird possessed an X-factor that made him dangerous anywhere on the field.

Capable of beating opponents with strength and footwork or setting up others with slick skills, Bird was also a reliable one-on-one defender.

But in his first season at Brisbane, Bird's fitness was questioned and his work rate went down. Just as he looked to be returning to top gear in 2019, injury robbed him of the chance to continue his rise.

As a Shark, he averaged more than 23 touches in possession per game but at the Broncos, that dipped to just 16.7.

Statistical peak
Announcing himself as a player to watch when he helped Cronulla reach the final of the 2015 NRL Nines in Auckland, Bird became the team's first-choice five-eighth that year, scoring two tries in his starting NRL debut against the Roosters in round four.

Bird posted strong numbers in his maiden NRL campaign, scoring eight tries and assisting another seven in the No.6 jersey.

A running playmaker, he averaged 75 metres per game but was no liability in defence with an 88.22% tackle efficiency rate. The Sharks reached the second week of the finals that year.

Moved to centre in 2016 to accommodate the arrival of James Maloney, there was no second-year syndrome for Bird. He averaged more metres (111.5) as Cronulla won their first title, toughing it out in the grand final against Melbourne despite a hyperextended elbow.

Bird earned a NSW call-up in '16, playing off the bench in games two and three of the series defeat. He played all three matches for the Blues the following year as they again went down to Queensland.

Managing a shoulder injury in the closing rounds of 2017, Bird again made the finals with Cronulla and elevated his yardage game (113m), though his tackle efficiency rate continued to decline (76.18%).

Terribly bad luck
Heralded as a key signing for Brisbane under coach Wayne Bennett, Bird's time at Red Hill started controversially as the Broncos claimed the Sharks didn't disclose the full extent of his shoulder injury.

He had surgery in November 2017 and had to wait until round three of 2018 to turn out for his new club, with some questioning his fitness as his statistical output markedly shrunk. A sternum problem ended his season after eight games.

Bird began 2019 in fine touch at centre, with talk of an Origin recall gaining volume as his numbers trended upwards. However, an ACL injury put him back on the sidelines after nine rounds.

The Berkeley Eagles junior was training impressively leading into the 2020 season as he prepared for a tilt at fullback, only for another knee injury to keep him in rehab for the whole season.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/202...how-birds-grounded-career-can-take-off-again/

I reckon they do, perhaps it just doesn't appear on the balance sheet...

Yes they have some very good bean counters over there in ‘ latte land ‘ . I reckon that for every 3 beans that are counted , another 2 are subtracted from the total .

Besides how could you ever trust a fella who prefers a Ford over the good old Holden - it’s just unAustralian !

goldiesaintz

l tend to think your bang on, Coffs.

goldiesaintz

Yes they have some very good bean counters over there in ‘ latte land ‘ . I reckon that for every 3 beans that are counted , another 2 are subtracted from the total .

Besides how could you ever trust a fella who prefers a Ford over the good old Holden - it’s just unAustralian !

As my old German great grandmother, Fräulein Goldie would always say,
" Never trust a man who walks with a limp, has a moustache and drives a Ford."

I struck out on all three points.
She left me nothing in her will.
l always thought of her as a Sauerkraut.

Ok, moving right along ....................................