Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Our biggest issue and a left field solution.

Basil Brush

So every man (and their dog) knows our biggest issue this season is our centres. Jennings issues are obvious and i am not sure Waqa is that good, especially in defence, I will say i was impressed with Opaicic in the recent trial.

So my left field solution, and hear me out, is maybe we try Matterson in the centres. He is a good ball runner, has good hands, and can obviously defend. My only possible issue may be his lateral movement at centre, but i have no doubt he would be fine.

I also know he is a great back rower, but if anything our biggest strength is our back row.

All thoughts welcome.

Our best option is Tom Opacic - like it or not, he has 43 games of NRL experience.

If he gets injured, or doesn't pan out, then we can consider Penisini.

I would have thought that our biggest issue is our lack of experience.

Gutho,Blake,Gergo have heaps. Sivo enough.

Gutherson has only just cracked 100 games. He has played 114 games.

Waqa Blake has a similar amount of experience to Gutherson. He has played 118 games.

Sivo has 46 games to his name.

Blake Ferguson has over 200 games under his belt.

I'd hardly say we have heaps of experience.

And when we factor in Finals games, those numbers get worse.

And when we factor in Finals wins, they get worse again.

Point is, experience is always handy.

Opacic is only 26, and has only played 46 games - but they're 46 more than Penisini, and certainly more than Matterson had at centre.

Basil Brush

Gutherson has only just cracked 100 games. He has played 114 games.

Waqa Blake has a similar amount of experience to Gutherson. He has played 118 games.

Sivo has 46 games to his name.

Blake Ferguson has over 200 games under his belt.

I'd hardly say we have heaps of experience.

And when we factor in Finals games, those numbers get worse.

And when we factor in Finals wins, they get worse again.

Point is, experience is always handy.

Opacic is only 26, and has only played 46 games - but they're 46 more than Penisini, and certainly more than Matterson had at centre.
But, could Matterson fill the gap in the short term.

I believe we are still paying M Jennings during his ban.

But, could Matterson fill the gap in the short term.

I believe we are still paying M Jennings during his ban.

He absolutely could - he has played at centre before, and done a good job.

But why strengthen one of our weaknesses, at the expense of weakening one of our genuine strengths?

It would most likely be Papali'i who would come in for Matterson - a very good player, but if we're being honest, he isn't on Matterson's level.

Opacic at least is an outside back.

Basil Brush

He absolutely could - he has played at centre before, and done a good job.

But why strengthen one of our weaknesses, at the expense of weakening one of our genuine strengths?

It would most likely be Papali'i who would come in for Matterson - a very good player, but if we're being honest, he isn't on Matterson's level.

Opacic at least is an outside back.
Great points mate.

I hold high hopes for Opacic.

Soto

I reckon more chance of fergo playing centre and dunster wing than matto playing centre.
Opacic, Blake, Penisini, Fergo all ahead of him for that centre spot.
I have no issue blooding Penisini if he's good enough which looks like he may well be.
The safe option at this stage would be Opacic and Waqa.
Injuries and suspensions happen throughout the year, so Penisini may well feature.
If you're good enough you're old enough...

Our biggest issue is finals football

Our backline (back 5) will be fine provided all fit, depth is good

Spine needs to go to another level (particularly the halves) is what needs to happen

he played his junior football in the halves

lets just say he's a utility player

So what. Michael Vella played on the wing.

Matterson isn't fast enough or explosive enough to be a centre. He is one of our better forwards. Do you want to weaken one area?
Mid game if there was an injury and he had to fill in then fine.