Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2022 Squad: Gains, Losses & Re-signings.

BIG RIG

In my opinion I reckon this will be the side Griffin wood pick

1. Tyrell Sloan
2. Mathew Feagai
3. Zac Lomax
4. Moses Suli
5. Mikaele Ravalawa
6. Junior Amone
7. Ben Hunt ( C )
8. Francis Molo
9. Andrew McCullough
10. Aaron Woods
11. Jaydn Su’a
12. Jack Bird
13. Jack De Belin
BENCH
14. Moses Mbye
15. George Burgess
16. Tariq Sims
17. Josh McGuire
18th Man
18. Tautau Moga

overall not a bad squad

long were the days of having Aitken and Lafai in the centre’s we now have two players with absolute strike power

we have great young guns at fb and five eighth

our two wingers are great meter eaters

and you gotta admit compared to our forward pack last year this one is 100 x better even though it is on the older side we still have a forward pack who have all played rep footy at the highest level

Molo ( QLD )
McCullough ( QLD )
Woods ( NSW and AUS )
Su’a ( QLD )
Bird ( NSW )
De Belin ( NSW )
McGuire ( QLD , AUS )
Burgess ( ENG )
Sims ( NSW )

we also have some good depth in the forwards with
- Kerr
- Lawrie
- Burns
- Alvaro
- Ford
- Fuimaono
- Fa’amusili
- Gosiewski

all who have had ample first grade experience within the last year

our backs depth isn’t too bad but could be stronger IMO
- Max Feagai
- Ramsey
- Moga
- Mbye
- Bird

We do need another backup specialist dummy half whilst we also only got one back up half that being Jayden Sullivan with the only other player in the squad that can play half is Moses Mbye ( Outside of Hunt and Amone )

boardlumps62

1. Tyrell Sloan
2. Mathew Feagai
3. Zac Lomax
4. Moses Suli
5. Mikaele Ravalawa
6. Junior Amone
7. Ben Hunt ( C )
8. Francis Molo
9. Andrew McCullough
10. Aaron Woods
11. Jaydn Su’a
12. Jack Bird
13. Jack De Belin
BENCH
14. Moses Mbye
15. George Burgess
16. Tariq Sims
17. Josh McGuire
18th Man
18. Tautau Moga

overall not a bad squad

long were the days of having Aitken and Lafai in the centre’s we now have two players with absolute strike power

and you gotta admit compared to our forward pack last year this one is 100 x better even though it is on the older side we still have a forward pack who have all played rep footy at the highest level

Molo ( QLD )
McCullough ( QLD )
Woods ( NSW and AUS )
Su’a ( QLD )
Bird ( NSW )
De Belin ( NSW )
McGuire ( QLD , AUS )
Burgess ( ENG )
Sims ( NSW )

- Kerr
- Lawrie
- Burns
- Alvaro
- Ford
- Fuimaono
- Fa’amusili
- Gosiewski

- Max Feagai
- Ramsey
- Moga
- Mbye
- Bird

We do need another backup specialist dummy half whilst we also only got one back up half that being Jayden Sullivan with the only other player in the squad that can play half is Moses Mbye ( Outside of Hunt and Amone )
Worth noting you couldn't find room for Sullivan. If we resign him will he be happy in Reggie's. He might be looking at other options.

Inisai Toga

1. Tyrell Sloan
2. Mathew Feagai
3. Zac Lomax
4. Moses Suli
5. Mikaele Ravalawa
6. Junior Amone
7. Ben Hunt ( C )
8. Francis Molo
9. Andrew McCullough
10. Aaron Woods
11. Jaydn Su’a
12. Jack Bird
13. Jack De Belin
BENCH
14. Moses Mbye
15. George Burgess
16. Tariq Sims
17. Josh McGuire
18th Man
18. Tautau Moga

overall not a bad squad

Molo ( QLD )
McCullough ( QLD )
Woods ( NSW and AUS )
Su’a ( QLD )
Bird ( NSW )
De Belin ( NSW )
McGuire ( QLD , AUS )
Burgess ( ENG )
Sims ( NSW )

- Kerr
- Lawrie
- Burns
- Alvaro
- Ford
- Fuimaono
- Fa’amusili
- Gosiewski

- Max Feagai
- Ramsey
- Moga
- Mbye
- Bird

I’d swap McGuire for Sullivan though on the bench

kit66

The game has changed so much now that the successful teams rarely carry 2 props on the bench. I think this is a refection on the speed and the 6 again rule, with players having to be able to fill-in in different roles within the team and according to the game.

For comparison our last game v Rabbits our starting props were Lawrie who who played 24 and then 22, and Maguire who played 31 and then 26. We also had Alvaro playing 26mins and Faama playing 12, basically Faama was a passenger, with our utility forward Fuimaono playing 56mins.

So, how would our bench look with 2x edge forwards, 1 prop and 1 utility?
For me the 2 edge forwards - Bird & Sims, 1 prop - Woods, 1 utility - Mbye

That's not the strongest of benches. Personally I'd like 4 forwards with 1 who can play centre if necessary like Fui - so 2 props, 1 lock, 1 x 2nd row ( utility forward/back ).
But likely for Hook 1 prop, 1 lock, 1 2nd rower and a utility back.
If Hook picks Suli and Zac in the centres I think Bird might become your bench utility ahead of Mbye, with 3 forwards. Bird's defence is a liability at 2nd row though - more defence, more misses - he'll have to fight hard to get games this year.

Como Connection

1. Tyrell Sloan
2. Mathew Feagai
3. Zac Lomax
4. Moses Suli
5. Mikaele Ravalawa
6. Junior Amone
7. Ben Hunt ( C )
8. Francis Molo
9. Andrew McCullough
10. Aaron Woods
11. Jaydn Su’a
12. Jack Bird
13. Jack De Belin
BENCH
14. Moses Mbye
15. George Burgess
16. Tariq Sims
17. Josh McGuire
18th Man
18. Tautau Moga

overall not a bad squad

Molo ( QLD )
McCullough ( QLD )
Woods ( NSW and AUS )
Su’a ( QLD )
Bird ( NSW )
De Belin ( NSW )
McGuire ( QLD , AUS )
Burgess ( ENG )
Sims ( NSW )

- Kerr
- Lawrie
- Burns
- Alvaro
- Ford
- Fuimaono
- Fa’amusili
- Gosiewski

- Max Feagai
- Ramsey
- Moga
- Mbye
- Bird

Good looking team, Amone or Sullivan for the 6.
CC

Inisai Toga

2 backs on the bench ? Not a chance, we have heaps of decent forwards now, why waste a bench spot.
Just swap Mbye for Sullivan.
Cause they’re not consistently strong enough. I’d actually prefer to have Bird on my bench with Simms and Burgess (hoping we recruit another second rower). But Mcguire is suspended, feel Hook will play Mbye and Sullivan can win us football games.

St Tangles

Not alot of love for Kerr on here.

I think he suffered from playing out wide.

Play him and prop in bursts and we'll see what he can do.

I think alot of forwards suffer from poor use of the interchange. AM & Sims included both haven't been 80minute players for atleast a few years.

Probably due to our lack of depth.

Forbes Creek Dragons

Woods played his best football for us off the bench in 2018. There was a game on fox the other day where we lost to manly in golden point, he had a blinder. If you guys play him correctly off the bench for shorter periods, he might be ok.
I would say he will be playing off the bench. He certainly is better than the plodders we have had of late and with a point to prove. I think he’ll be handy.

Illusion

Woods played his best football for us off the bench in 2018. There was a game on fox the other day where we lost to manly in golden point, he had a blinder. If you guys play him correctly off the bench for shorter periods, he might be ok.
That's our problem mate , too many might be OK"s in the squad ..... Time will tell its taken 10 years to get to here , so a bit more time wont matter ......

Forbes Creek Dragons

Other than Hunt, Macca, JDB, Sims and Rava I hope Hook treats every position with an open mind during the off season/trials. None of the other positions deserve to have a mortgage on their jumpers just yet imo although there are strong favourites if someone really stands up during the off season and grabs their chance in the trials I hope they are picked. We need healthy competition for spots.

We need a gun hooker and probably one more winger.

The squad is well balanced.

Plenty of experience with some great youth.

Quite a few bargain buys.

If any of the bargain buys works out the side will have a better season than 2021.

Dragonslayer

Cause they’re not consistently strong enough. I’d actually have Bird on my bench with Simms and Burgess (hoping we recruit another second rower). But Mcguire is suspended, Hook will play Mbye and Sullivan can win us a football games.

I would have Bird on the bench also and use him as a strike weapon.
I notice both Penrith and the Titans have (arguably) the best 2 edge forwards in the game in Kikau and Fifita, both, it seems come off the bench.
Great tactic actually. If I were a coach and they were the starting edge forwards, i'd direct my attaco at them constantly for the first 15 mins, tire them out and they become ineffective.

I would have Bird on the bench also and use him as a strike weapon.
I notice both Penrith and the Titans have (arguably) the best 2 edge forwards in the game in Kikau and Fifita, both, it seems come off the bench.
Great tactic actually. If I were a coach and they were the starting edge forwards, i'd direct my attaco at them constantly for the first 15 mins, tire them out and they become ineffective.
I don't see Bird as a strike 2nd rower. For me that is Sims or Kerr.

thebigredv

We need a gun hooker and probably one more winger.

The squad is well balanced.

Plenty of experience with some great youth.

Quite a few bargain buys.

If any of the bargain buys works out the side will have a better season than 2021.

Josh Hodgson is up for the taking for next year, failing that we have to invest in Sullivan to phase out McCullough during the season.

Hodgson would be brilliant if you ask me, and actually give us a whole new level to go to. But alas we keep it cheap and probably will use Mbye when McCullough tires. Yawn.

Craigshark

I would say he will be playing off the bench. He certainly is better than the plodders we have had of late and with a point to prove. I think he’ll be handy.

the worst part of his game is his effort, particularly in defence. If you watch him closely which obviously you will when he plays for your team, you’ll notice he never puts his body on the line in defence. It’s like he hates the contact. There’s a reason he rarely gets injured.