Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2023 Team

ryan.a87

1. ????……potentially Miller?
2 Marzew
3 Best
4 Gagai
5 Young
6 Ponga
7 Hastings
8 DSaf
9 Brailey
10 Jsaf
11 Hethrington
12 Frizell
13 Elliott

14 Mann
15. Croker
16 Thompson
17 ??? Johns? Jones?

1. ????……potentially Miller?
2 Marzew
3 Best
4 Gagai
5 Young
6 Ponga
7 Hastings
8 DSaf
9 Brailey
10 Jsaf
11 Hethrington
12 Frizell
13 Elliott

14 Mann
15. Croker
16 Thompson
17 ??? Johns? Jones?
5 new. Big change.
I reckon we are one short in the fwds now though

Bdubs

First grade side Reserve grade side
1 - ???? Miller possibly 18 - Hodgson
2 - Marshew 19 - Tuala
3 - Gagai 20 - Mapapalangi
4 - Best 21 - Vea'ila
5 - Young 22 - Hunt
6 - Ponga 23 - Sasagi (injured)
7 - Hastings 24 - Clune
8 - D Safiti 25 -
9 - Brailey 26 - Crosslands
10 - Hetherington 27 - Fitzgibbon
11 - Frizell 28 - Jones
12 - Elliott 29 - Johns
13 - Mann 30 - Lucas

14 - Gamble
15 - Thompson
16 - J Safiti
17 - Croker

There isn't much in way of depth in reserves. It looks like all we have is centre/wingers and 2nd rowers. I'd say we need another prop. I'd look at moving Fitzgibbon to prop. I think it would suit his game better as he isn't mobile enough for 2nd row

I don't like Elliott in 2nd row but i think he will play there given our squad

slotmachine

No idea what the coach will do, this is what I would pick though.

1. New FB
2. Gagai
3. Best
4. Mapa
5. Young
6. KP
7. Hastings
8. Dsaf
9. Brailey
10. Thompson
11. Friz
12. Hetherington
13. Elliott

14. Mann
15. Jsaf
16. New Prop
17. Fitz/Croker

Old School

View attachment 68471
This is a recipe for disaster (although is probably front & centre in O`Briens plans), Mann should never be in a run on
side unless we run out of troops. Running game consists of constantly hogging the ball, crabbing sideways, jarring the attack while seldom passing the ball unless it`s a hospital pass to some poor bastard he`s shuffling towards & an ineffective defender that`s usually swatted off or trampled. He is the poster boy for the crap that has been served up here for a while now.
Please also let`s hope Fitzgibbon is not sighted anywhere near the field in first grade this year if we hope to achieve anything.

Yosh

Mann is the worst... He has no footy talent or skills. He is a good athlete and is definitely a goer. Might have been good in the 80s and 90s but we need more from our players.

View attachment 68471
This is a recipe for disaster (although is probably front & centre in O`Briens plans), Mann should never be in a run on
side unless we run out of troops. Running game consists of constantly hogging the ball, crabbing sideways, jarring the attack while seldom passing the ball unless it`s a hospital pass to some poor bastard he`s shuffling towards & an ineffective defender that`s usually swatted off or trampled. He is the poster boy for the crap that has been served up here for a while now.
Please also let`s hope Fitzgibbon is not sighted anywhere near the field in first grade this year if we hope to achieve anything.
Um, wasn't it Mann who belted JWH in Rd 1 front on? He's lacking in many areas but his defence isn't much of an issue

Old School

Sorry buddy, experiencing technical difficulties here, it was from previous post showing they had Mann at lock,
God help us all!

Old School

Um, wasn't it Mann who belted JWH in Rd 1 front on? He's lacking in many areas but his defence isn't much of an issue
Yeah I remember that one & bugger all else, but I can remember heaps of times seeing him being left laying on the
ground left in the wake of the attacker clutching at thin air(a la Kurt Gidley) in saying that Gidley looked like Bradley Clyde in defence compared to most of our current lot.

Jono078

1 Ponga
2 Marzhew
3 Best
4 Gagai
5 Young
6. Mann
7 Hasting
8 Saifiti
9 Brailey
10 Saifiti
11 Frizell
12 Hetherington
13 Elliott
--
14 Gamble
15 Croker
16 Thompson
17 Fitzgibbon

My guess on what AOB may go with if Ponga sticks to #1.

macavity

I expect us to get Miller, clubs don't play hardball with 3rd string fullbacks.

Still a middle (bench) forward short (or back rower if we play Heatherington in the middle).

Old dog

I may have missed it, but Marzhew to Knights is official!

I am happy with this.
I’ll wait and see, he might play more Cup than anything and hope we are better at back up 9 without Randall who gave his best even if not quite enough

Old dog

1 Ponga
2 Marzhew
3 Best
4 Gagai
5 Young
6. Mann
7 Hasting
8 Saifiti
9 Brailey
10 Saifiti
11 Frizell
12 Hetherington
13 Elliott
--
14 Gamble
15 Croker
16 Thompson
17 Fitzgibbon

My guess on what AOB may go with if Ponga sticks to #1.
1-5 looks weak in defence, is a worry