Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Wests Tigers club news

Read above , its a multi million dollar club... but they are still using a debenture system ... more like a ponzi scheme to me.
You wouldn't be surprised if it was some type of ponzi scheme. After all, their whole income generation model is based on bankrupting vulnerable.people.

The only other large scale gamblers are money launderers using pokies as a device to clean their I'll gotten gains. Again, exploiting the vulnerable, or at least being a party to it.

You can say the money get redistributed to worthy causes, which it does. It doesnt change how it was obtained in the first place

The Holman-Barnes group, who are in damage control yet again, explained they shuffled the board because they had a minority say in controlling the club, despite their 90 per cent ownership.
--------------
As the vast majority owner of the club, they certainly have rights, but HBG have a very frail ego.
They also said, that they didn't ant to micro-manage it.

Shredder

Do you not feel they are entitled to their control?

Honestly, the more I think about it, the more I think this isn't a big deal.
Directors are removed from businesses all the time.

Its just hit in the off season when the league press are looking for things to write.

It’s just hit in the off season when the league press are looking for things to write.

The press stuff, I think that’s more responsive. They are following the story, not leading the coup!

If the empire were having issues with board, decisions of the board, there’s nothing wrong with a meeting to thrash out the issues.

Why go nuclear, create enormous rupture and upset most of your fan and membership base?

And risk your ceo and key footy staff who you say you support?

It’s hard to argue it’s bests interests stuff!

My thoughts anyway.

And the head of HBG appears to be a complete knob. Totally out of touch.

Ned Kelly

Here's a big give away..
(Quote)
"And I can give an example of that – the stadium policy around Leichhardt Oval. So the announcement was that Leichhardt Oval would be the home of Wests Tigers for the next 15 years.The Holman Barnes Group board only *found out about that with 16,000 other fans at Leichhardt Oval. Which is really bad for business, and it’s quite embarrassing really"
So are they pissed that games will be played at Leichardt Oval for the next 15 years? I thought that would be a fan pleaser. I read they where angry there will be more games at C / Town than Leichardt next year They don't even know what they want.

from

AP: Will there be more changes, given that Tigers CEO Shane Richardson had aligned himself with the independent directors and was a vocal proponent thereof? Is his job now untenable?

DP: “We were supporting Shane from the outset. He’s come back and expressed that he’s got some things to think about, and Shane needs to make a decision now.”

AP: Do you believe that he’ll be at the helm of Wests Tigers for the start of next year?

DP: “We’ll respect his decision. That’s up to Shane, and he’ll come back to us.”

AP: It feels like everything is in limbo until we know whether he’s going to be the CEO of the Wests Tigers long term. Have you had discussions with him about a time frame as to when he will decide?

DP: “I’ve been in discussions with Shane … asking when he would come back with an answer. He responded that he’s still thinking about it but will come back with an answer on Monday … it really needs to be resolved sooner rather than later.”

This seems to be a clear statement they want him gone by Monday.

If he goes I go.

He gaveth us a glimmer of hope and the HBG taketh away,

So are they pissed that games will be played at Leichardt Oval for the next 15 years? I thought that would be a fan pleaser. I read they where angry there will be more games at C / Town than Leichardt next year They don't even know what they want.

from

AP: Will there be more changes, given that Tigers CEO Shane Richardson had aligned himself with the independent directors and was a vocal proponent thereof? Is his job now untenable?

DP: “We were supporting Shane from the outset. He’s come back and expressed that he’s got some things to think about, and Shane needs to make a decision now.”

AP: Do you believe that he’ll be at the helm of Wests Tigers for the start of next year?

DP: “We’ll respect his decision. That’s up to Shane, and he’ll come back to us.”

AP: It feels like everything is in limbo until we know whether he’s going to be the CEO of the Wests Tigers long term. Have you had discussions with him about a time frame as to when he will decide?

DP: “I’ve been in discussions with Shane … asking when he would come back with an answer. He responded that he’s still thinking about it but will come back with an answer on Monday … it really needs to be resolved sooner rather than later.”

This seems to be a clear statement they want him gone by Monday.

If he goes I go.

He gaveth us a glimmer of hope and the HBG taketh away,
Correct.

He’s done and dusted.

If Richo goes Luai will go. So to will his Panthers buddies. Bula won't hang around. We find it harder than ever to attract quality players or a decent coach.

Absolutely no reason to keep investing emotionally with this club.
I felt warmer towards the empire before their dickwad provided his explanations.

I might go to the rally after all.

I could take photos for an LU exclusive.

Ladies, Richo is being investigated, it’s in the SMH. He’s allegedly been naughty.

Do I still go to the rally?

I guess so.

HBG appointed him.

We were paying Richo a bucketload as it was.

Nutz

I felt warmer towards the empire before their dickwad provided his explanations.

I might go to the rally after all.

I could take photos for an LU exclusive.
Go way back when I said this would evolve.
There is a divide between the old Balmain and Western Suburbs Magpies. Even at all this time, idiots like Burgess are dragging the joint venture into the ground.
Yes , they know how to run pokie machines because they have thousands of willing people in their catchment to throw their money away, it must be easy to open a machine and take the money out. They don't know how to run a football club though.
Now the independents who were brought in to stabilise the issues are sacked. IDIOTS!
There will always be an us and them when you have split destinations for home grounds, two different jerseys, no joint reserve grade and so on.
It was reveiled last week that when the supporters were shouting tigers tigers tigers at a CS game, a corporate box full of board members were shouting magpies magpies magpies.
The joint venture at the beginning was made that the club be named Wests to satisfy those Magpie supporters and the Logo be Tigers.
We have a Magpie on our merch. So it could be called The Balmain Western Suburbs Tiger Magpies....trying chanting that.
At the time when the joint venture started the tigers were a stronger club than the maggies and more marketable. The Balmain Leagues Club burnt down and the area became less of an entertainment precinct.
No income meant increased debt.
Both clubs knew what they were getting themselves into and now the board are talking about bringing back the Magpies.
The NRL have to take over the Wests Tigers and deregister the the HBG until someone buys it. Probably Landy 😡
Melbourne are in a non NRL state and are opposed by a lot of Aussie Rules supporters but it has worked. Do you hear constant crap about that club.
On the other hand, St George Illawarra's marriage semed to have worked too, why's that @RedVee ?
Why doesn't Burgess and the HBG stop meddling with the very two that got this club out of the gutter, our CEO and ex chairmain.
Where's the proof that these sacked board members had been warned about the lack of communication, especially the jersey.... don't the board have to sign off on important decisions like the new seasons jerseys?
Come next week, our CEO will resign because his good mate ex chairman has been sacked and Richo has clauses in his contract, so has Bula and our captain. They go and Benji might go too.
I am regretting renewing my membership now.

Nutz

Its just hit in the off season when the league press are looking for things to write.
Timing, how to ruin the good things that were building.
If they had shut up and we go even better than making the 8 next year, can you imagine the marketing value behind the Tiger brand.
You said it is a business. They had more to gain by shutting up and let the new season play out, Bula, Luai and Richo all re sign and upward we go.
But no, we go down.