Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

PNG's back.

Gobsmacked

A nation of 12 to 17 million will bring 5k fans easy
Average income is like $300 a month in PNG.
The people who reside in PNG that could afford an extravagant trip to las Vegas would be lucky to be in the hundreds.
They can't even afford the trip to Sydney.. there's a reason why a country who's national sport aren't seen in large numbers at NRL games, finals, Origins ect..or even seen at all in Australia.

It's a poverty trap mate, hopefully having an NRL team helps them climb out of it but it ain't a Vegas trip the first day.

You really seem to fail to grasp the actual situation in PNG.. they ain't jet setting around the world mate.

Gobsmacked

They won't outnumber any Australian teams fans.
There isn't enough people in PNG with a disposable income to go to Las Vegas and outnumber our teams fans
It'll be literally a handful. Some high up politicians and mining CEO's
PNG finally gets a team, the first thing we do is hold a game where it's impossible for locals to attend.

Wb1234

Average income is like $300 a month in PNG.
The people who reside in PNG that could afford an extravagant trip to las Vegas would be lucky to be in the hundreds.
They can't even afford the trip to Sydney.. there's a reason why a country who's national sport aren't seen in large numbers at NRL games, finals, Origins ect..or even seen at all in Australia.

It's a poverty trap mate, hopefully having an NRL team helps them climb out of it but it ain't a Vegas trip the first day.

You really seem to fail to grasp the actual situation in PNG.. they ain't jet setting around the world mate.
Maybe use ai to try and understand the difference between average and upper percentage in wealth / income

Going to be funny remind you too

Wb1234

What ever mate.
Maybe they'll add it in on their way back from chasing fresh powder on the slopes of Japan.
Yeh it’s not like there’s any local png business owners or people working for multinational companies

Lmao guess the ai couldn’t help you with this one

Maybe use ai to try and understand the difference between average and upper percentage in wealth / income

Going to be funny remind you too
Look mate, if PNG - as poor as it is - had a population of 40m plus and a middle-class that a country that size that with a semi-developed resource sector and Gov`t would have, I might agree with you, but as is, population about 10 million, you`ve got to remember that the other supposed 7 million would be living subsistence existences in the mountains somewhere, then the number able to travel to Las Vegas would be in the hundreds and not thousands.

Wb1234

Look mate, if PNG - as poor as it is - had a population of 40m plus and a middle-class that a country that size that with a semi-developed resource sector and Gov`t would have, I might agree with you, but as is, population about 10 million, you`ve got to remember that the other supposed 7 million would be living subsistence existences in the mountains somewhere, then the number able to travel to Las Vegas would be in the hundreds and not thousands.

Top ten percent of png population receive 30 to 35 percent of total income (40 percent do live below the poverty line, mainly in rural areas)

GDP is 35 billion usd pa

Do people think I’m talking about people In rural png visiting Vegas ?

International departures (png tourists etc) grew by 30 percent in 2017 and over 100 percent in previous year (92k)

Yeh nobody in png can afford holidays overseas

Each nrl club has average 5000 visitors to Vegas in the three years of it happening

So getting at least 5k from png visiting isn’t that big of a benchmark

Gobsmacked

Top ten percent of png population receive 30 to 35 percent of total income (40 percent do live below the poverty line, mainly in rural areas)

GDP is 35 billion usd pa

International departures (png tourists etc) grew by 30 percent in 2017 and over 100 percent in previous year (92k)

Each nrl club has average 5000 visitors to Vegas in the three years of it happening

Grok says:
"Flights from Port Moresby to Las Vegas are brutal—round-trip's pushin' three thousand five hundred US dollars or more, plus visas, hotels, time off work. Most Papua New Guineans aren't flush, and international travel's rare—old stats say maybe ninety thousand left the country total back in two thousand two, and outbound's still tiny. No fresh numbers, but holiday trips abroad? Probably under ten thousand a year, if that.
For somethin' like this—season opener, national pride on the line—I reckon a few hundred might make it. Maybe five hundred tops, if the government or NRL chips in subsidies, or fans pool cash. Think die-hard supporters, ex-pats, officials... not masses. The visa deal for Australia games is cheap now—twenty-five bucks—but US? That's full price, no shortcuts."

GDP is 35 billion usd pa

Ok mate, no worries, we`ll have to wait and see.

Wb1234

Grok says:
"Flights from Port Moresby to Las Vegas are brutal—round-trip's pushin' three thousand five hundred US dollars or more, plus visas, hotels, time off work. Most Papua New Guineans aren't flush, and international travel's rare—old stats say maybe ninety thousand left the country total back in two thousand two, and outbound's still tiny. No fresh numbers, but holiday trips abroad? Probably under ten thousand a year, if that.
For somethin' like this—season opener, national pride on the line—I reckon a few hundred might make it. Maybe five hundred tops, if the government or NRL chips in subsidies, or fans pool cash. Think die-hard supporters, ex-pats, officials... not masses. The visa deal for Australia games is cheap now—twenty-five bucks—but US? That's full price, no shortcuts."
There was a pacific cup game a few years ago I think in Fiji v png and loads of png fans showed up. Maybe 300 or so

Just to be clear 5k going out of 12 to 15 million people isn’t a big ask

Gobsmacked

There was a pacific cup game a few years ago I think in Fiji v png and loads of png fans showed up. Maybe 300 or so

Just to be clear 5k going out of 12 to 15 million people isn’t a big ask
I think all of them having access to clean drinking water isn't a big ask .

Wb1234

I think all of them having access to clean drinking water isn't a big ask .
I’m sure the ones that make 100k or more a year a year have it

Need to google bell curve re income distribution

Remember when you said png couldn’t produce nrl players as they were all short ?

Wb1234

That’s a quality article

Wish Aussie league journos had half his writing ability

Great analysis

Ultimately this will be a team full of png locals and owned by groups in png

I fully expect once those pathways are established and the chiefs doing well n the nrl all Aussie clubs will be signing png players

PNG can provide a player depth to cover 24 nrl teams and also cover for storm and Perth who will lag in juniors being in afl states

Trifili13

Looks like air nugini generated around 300 million in passenger revenue

That’s a lot of people who can afford to pay to travel
No doubting that there would by people in PNG that can afford to travel, but saying an airline generated 300m in revenue to justify there are lots of people that can afford to travel is simplistic. How much of that was business travel and where were they travelling to, close or far distance. We don't know how much was leisure travel which is key.

Will be interesting to see how many regularly travel to watch their team in Australia given your view that there are alot that can afford to travel.

It`s an interesting point, it might be hard to get a gauge on the number of PNG fans that are actually from PNG now that we have an increasing number working in Oz, having said that those Australia based New Guineans could be a potential source of Vegas attendees.