Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

What to do with Level 3 - Parramatta Leagues Club

What I would like to see, well I haven't been there for a month, but I believe more memorabilia cases are being installed, where the old pool room used to be. It would be good to have another big screen in that area.
Nothing had changed there as of Friday night Mark. We can only wait I guess.

It is unfortunate but it seems as though Parramatta Leagues club has turned into a casino and not a club. If it were to return to a club, it would take some time. It would be nice we can allow it to no longer make the money it requires to increase members satisfaction with the premises. That in turn might see a drop in membership numbers. Who knows.
That drop in membership may correspond with those members who joined purely to come and use the club as a casino, so perhaps that is a win-win situation. We allow the Club to not make the money to cater for never-ending improvements to make the casino/pokie peoples happy, and then we go back to being a club - like we were before those involved took some bad advice from leeches in the industry about pokies becoming a never-ending cash cow.

fish eel

Refer to post 17.

Yeah, I saw it as you probably read after ;-)

The example was Wests Tigers Ashfield, where the main street through Ashfield is pretty slow going at any time.

And how big is that car park then? I'm not at all familiar with that site. Seems we're talking a sizable one at Parramatta. I mean, if it's not sizable, whats the point?

I guess my point is, on the car park, there is already congestion on those streets around it the leagues club, and with a few other car parks in the parramatta CBD, there may be other options to be looked at other than a carpark.

Hence, my suggestion of using the existing free bus and talking to existing car park operators about parking ticket validation at the leagues club.

Your providing more car parking for members without the outlay of an expensive and long DA process that has no guarantees of success (regardless of DCP compliance ;-) ).

fish eel

How many forum members are also members of the Leagues Club with voting rights??

I am.

Neither the incumbants nor 3P have my vote yet.

3P probably favourites but still have to convince me - we first need to see their candidates.

I'm sure there'll be a wide enough choice between incumbants, 3P and hopefully some other parties.....

How many forum members are also members of the Leagues Club with voting rights??
Me too.

I want to see who is running and for them to actively communicate with me about their plans and background. Get the opportunity to meet with them as a group in person, and pledges for regular opportunities for fans to do so after the elections.

I'm not the type to buy the complete hype about one ticket/group/party, and will likely split my seven votes, as I did in the FC elections. But first we have to get 7 candidates that make the effort to merit my votes, and so far the 3P group (depending on whom they announce will stand) based on their efforts are ahead in the race to get a majority of my votes.

just on a car park - i reckon the council would have a vested interest in NOT approving a larger car park - cos it'd take away from the revenue earning parking meters

^b0ss^

i see parra pete is still crying about the 3p win.hahahaa
ya would think being a new yr he would just get on with supporting the footy club.
what ya going to do pete if they get control of the leagues ?? more whinges.

someone needs a tissue.

Parra Future

On the issue of the auditorium, I know in the old days when I used to go to the club to watch the boxing with friends, it was always in the Cumberland Lounge before they built the restaurant. One time and one time only (I'm talking about boxing matchs that I attended, it could have had happened on other occasions as well, just not that I am aware of), they held it in the auditorium. I can't remember if it was a Lennox Lewis fight, or a Kostya Tszyu fight or Mike Tyson or what. But what I do remember is the place was packed. All the seats were full, they were trying to find more seats and the standing at the back was packed to the hilt as well. I think it could have been Danny Green vs Anthony Mundine actually. They had some deal going with pies and beer for $5 or something or other. Great night but. I'd be interested to know if that still happens. I haven't been able to go to the club and watch many fights since my little boy was born. Does anyone know if that still happens or do they now just put it on in Sterlo's or not show them at all.

If it doesn't happen, it would be great to see it happen again. That night was advertised and it did pay dividends I reckon. I can't see how it wouldn't have.

^b0ss^

come on ....we all want kicks back ....
kick on at kicks......guessing there is no chance of dollar drinks ..hahaha

murraymob

parra future
just on your boxing .It is a good revenue raiser Panthers hold reguler Jeff Fenech promotions that do well.Campbelltown are holding the great Billy Dib title fight .So yes it is still a option for your club if they have a venue to suit
There are a lot of good boxing promoters now looking for places to hold fights

Parra Future

I've only ever been to one fight night at Panthers and it was a full house crowd as well. That was an experience. In regards to the Eels side of things however, I'm interested to know where the club currently televises the latest big name fights that are shown. Does anyone know if Parra LC has advertised if they are going to show Mundine vs Shannon Taylor in a couple of weeks and if so where in the club. I'll try to find out tomorrow during the day if nobody knows.

Parra Future

1) Obviously it was read by the present board and things have improved since. Admittedly, perhaps not enough. You shouldnt get extra kudo's for having read it and simply implying the others didnt. Cheap shot.
2) Correct you did come here and communicate. Just how many "informative" posts have been made by those recently elected to the board? Did you do the rounds of every forum or just this one where you obviously knew there was a vested interest due to the work of Hellsy and co promoting membership? Didn't see anything on any other boards/forums.
3) Yes you invited people to your meetings. Strategically, you invited people from this forum. Strategically, you invited those that post often and whose views here are respected. Strategically, you invited and pleased those who have the biggest influence on people here, obviously helping your cause. Not a slight on you. Good tactics. Well done.
4) I could write a business plan for a lemonade stall out the front of my house. That doesnt mean that it is any good. Are you suggesting that the current board dont have a business plan? What is your point if not this?
5) Mr Fitzgerald also stated that he believes the club will be around in 5 years. Surprisingly, that quote didnt seem to be newsworthy in the Daily Telegraph. Ofcourse he couldn't guarantee it. Nothing is guaranteed. I note that you avoid using the word guarantee in your list above. Yourselves and DF feel the exact same way on this point. Cheap shot.
6) Your informal get togethers are nothing but pep rallies for your future endeavours. Similar to Obamas and McCains fund racing dinners during their campaign. Yet, you bag the crap out of the current board on here. Tell everyone how useless they are and then continue to stir the masses when they dont turn up to YOUR pep rally. You still want them to turn up and have a cordial discussion with you and help your campaign after your comments about them on here. Its a bit much if you ask me.
Certainly not the type of person/s I do business with.
7) Yes, yes you did. congratulations.

I think what pete was asking is this. What heave YOU personally done. I assume that he is talking of your role of official 3p fan liason officer. You are the most important part of the 3p campaign, Col. You are the one who has the task of keeping the LU members happy. You simply cannot win without them. I am sure that you realise this.

Are you giving off the best possible appearance for your group with some of the comments you have made lately? Remembering that without the 3 musketeers you would all just be random names on a ballot paper. Can you tell me, are the footy players string puppets or do you physically have to put your hand up their arse?

Lucky last post eels81iamagoose and then I will start ignoring them due to the fact you seriously bore me to tears and I am sure not just I but many are sick of all the crap hitting these threads at this point in time. Can we atleast try to keep one free of BS for a while. Post whatever the hell you want, but I ain't biting no more.

If you honestly believe the rant you have made above maybe your last point should have been that we strategically picked a fight with someone on the site who was an outright moron that would end up getting the moron to fight with us as you did. Thanks. Maybe then we would win a sympathy vote. Cut the X-files paranoia out and get with the times. THE TRUTH IS OUT THERE eels81lostcause.

My apologies all. Just couldn't hold that one in. Ram summed up the situation much better than me in a previous thread and he hit the nail on the head too on why I didn't go to such lengths. By the way Ram, Thanks, I did agree with it 100%.

Danteri

Some of the ideas for improvements in the club sound great, how about improving Footy Heaven as Peter Wynn's Score is light years ahead.....imagine game day if they had a decent store with all the updated gear

or will you still post as anonymous, with a pessimistic tone and negative attitude towards everything, to try and bring the new administration undone, to the detriment of the club as a whole?

Probably.

That's an extremely disappointing answer. It tells me that you would rather see Parramatta as a club go backwards than have 3P and Colin Green have anything to do with the place. That tells me that for you, it is not about Parramatta, but about personalities. Therefore, I can no longer take your comments seriously, as they are biased and personal, and not judged on basis or fact.

But Suity you are a smart man. Answer me this. Apart from putting his name to the posts, is this any different to what the revered Col Green does with his thoughts on the current board?

From where I'm sitting, it is, tbh.
3P, and Colin personally, have made every effort to be open and accessible to all people. I've lost count of the amount of times he has offered you, Mits and parra pete the chance to voice your opinions and have your say. Not one of you have come up with anything of substance.

Then, there is this...... from Colin

Parra Future said:
I know this might surprise some Suity, but fair dinkum mate, whoever implements it, the better. If the current board want to do it, good on em. If not and they win the leagues club election, well then they would want to get it done, or potentially bye bye in 2 years more time. If they do it and we win, then well good on them for getting the ball rolling. If they don't do it and we get in, then we need to get it done or otherwise we are just as bad and potentially bye bye to us.

Having Alan Overton along to their personally organised meetings shows that they are willing to work to further the club as a successful enterprise, without bias nor hinderance.

I will not put my name to posts here as it may affect my business dealings with those in and around the club, be it positive or negative. The same way I wont tell you my religion or who I voted for in government elections.

I 've got no idea what your political and religous persuasions have anything to do with this, especially considering you are anonymous. I, and most others couldn't give a f**k what church you go to, or who you vote for. It is completely irrelevant, and has nothing to do with the argument.

Similar to Col's Peter Wynn example and the potential to affect his merchandise sales to the club.
BTW....wally didn't really appreciate his name used like that, even with the preluded "just an example". Don't sh*t in your own backyard Col.

There is absolutely no similarity at all tbh.
You may think I'm in 3P's back pocket, but I ain't. There are things they have done which I'm happy about. There are also things that I think stink, but that's the way it goes.
What I do see however, is a willingness to not only try to see that some things improve around the club, but the intent with which they want to see it happen, and the involvment they are including of the general Parramatta Rugby league club community.
There is a lot that can be made better about OUR club, (and I'm not talking about car parks) and I look forward to such things being implemented as soon as practically possible.

It would be nice if you could in future, be a little less personal and a little more balanced and constructive in your views.