Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Weedler at his best

Mickyd39

Sandow gambling dramas resurface
Danny Weidler
April 29, 2012
Read laterBe the first to comment
THE LAST WORD

Problems on and off the field ... Chris Sandow.
THE focus on Chris Sandow's weight is hiding what appears to be the real issue with the Parramatta halfback - his gambling habits. It's reached the point where his mum is coming to Sydney from Cherbourg to help him through these difficult days. It's unclear whether she will be in Sydney for the long run but she is coming to help her son as he wears the fall-out for Parra's terrible start to the year. His punting problems have been documented - tales of his continued gambling have reached my ears. He is fortunate his agent, Isaac Moses, is aware of the issue and he is working hard to help his client. Sandow was getting on top of things but as his footballing world caves in, his old habits have re-emerged. If he'd stayed at Souths, club officials had plans to ban him from certain gambling establishments. It's unclear if that affected his decision to stay or go. Parramatta were well aware of the issues before they signed him. He owed mates money before he joined the Eels and it was some of those friends who convinced him Parra was the way to go - after all they were offering the most money. Take this as fact, he owed well in excess of $50,000. His issue was poker machines. He would go and gamble by himself and he managed to keep it quiet from Souths by not asking for advances. That's where his mates came in handy. Sandow didn't socialise with the Souths players - some say it was because of his gambling. But he was always a very popular member of the team. Talk that he and John Sutton didn't get along was not right - they were just not friends outside of footy. Sandow, who was dropped to NSW Cup side Wentworthville yesterday, is extremely popular with his Parra teammates and they all want him to succeed. They will rally around him after this story, like they did after Peter Sterling observed that he was not fit. His battle with the punt can he beaten and if he can get things right on the field, it will hopefully help him off it.

http://www.smh.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/sandow-gambling-dramas-resurface-20120428-1xrwc.html

Great journalism:sarcasm:

This guy is a grub.

Delboy

Danny Dribbler, no news from $BW or Mundane so he dredges old stuff up

Why do the media put up with this pelican?

shouldn't this scumbag be reporting on League rather then players personal lives

lowlife

Wally21

Do we know this is not true?

Even if it is, Mundines fluffer remains a grub, always has been, always will be.

Hi Danny, I know you read this, why don't you get a job as a used car salesman, at least you will get more respect...

Do we know this is not true?
I'd believe the Iraq minister for defence before i would believe that lying piece of shit. Most of his scoops are from on here. That is when he is not blowing Mundine, Khoder and Dunny Bill.

regardless if this is true or not what a scumbag is this so called reporter Danny Weidler.
Way to push someone that little bit further and maybe over the end.
The club should ban this merkin from talking to any players or staff.

Although it has been some time since one of his rumors has been anywhere near having any truth in it.

Mr Pmatta

I def agree in regards to forumites comments about Weidler, I agree he is a tool, and should be working TMZ with the rubbish he comes up with, but if this is the case regarding Sandow i really do hope the club can get him through this, though wish we had a Wayne Bennet or a Craig Bellamy, instead we have a Kearney, who I think has no pull whatsoever with our players (respect) do not blame Kearney for Sandow s issues, though just dont think his presence is a deterance to players behaviours as oppossed to disciplinarians like the two mentioned above.

the painter

Most south supporters I know (4 in total) have been saying he has had a gambling problem for ages, No use shooting the messenger guys. It just seems some here dont like what has been written.

Yawn...........what happens in Sandows private life is that, private. The club is clearly working with him on his gambling, so why is it a story? He wouldnt mention it is Sandow was playing his best football.

Maybe Danny can report on his own personal issues........such as he was kicked out by his wife. So is that a story Danny?

I def agree in regards to forumites comments about Weidler, I agree he is a tool, and should be working TMZ with the rubbish he comes up with, but if this is the case regarding Sandow i really do hope the club can get him through this, though wish we had a Wayne Bennet or a Craig Bellamy, instead we have a Kearney, who I think has no pull whatsoever with our players (respect) do not blame Kearney for Sandow s issues, though just dont think his presence is a deterance to players behaviours as oppossed to disciplinarians like the two mentioned above.

Don't be so sure.

Kearney captained club and country - you don't get into those positions if people don't respect you - and his first move at Parra was axing Grothe and Tahu because they didn't want to put in.

Don't be so quick to believe the rumours the fans come up with - most of those merkins are just Danny Wiedler without the pay packet.

Most south supporters I know (4 in total) have been saying he has had a gambling problem for ages, No use shooting the messenger guys. It just seems some here dont like what has been written.

I'd say most of us reckon it's true that he has a gambling problem - plenty of pro athletes have issues, and they don't normally affect their on-field performance.

The problem here is that it's Sandow's personal issue and none of Wiedler's business and he shouldn't report on it. Making it public can be more detrimental than the issue itself, though to Sandow's credit he seems to handle public scrutiny pretty well. He's a tough little bugger. This whole saga will fire him up.

Pretty sure he's the teacher in New Directions:

glee-beatles.jpg

natheel

I'd say most of us reckon it's true that he has a gambling problem - plenty of pro athletes have issues, and they don't normally affect their on-field performance.

The problem here is that it's Sandow's personal issue and none of Wiedler's business and he shouldn't report on it. Making it public can be more detrimental than the issue itself, though to Sandow's credit he seems to handle public scrutiny pretty well. He's a tough little bugger. This whole saga will fire him up.

thing i like about Sandow from the minute we bought him was he was professional about it. unlike his former clubs owner.

Sandow just kept doing his job for Souths without any peep about his new contract unless it was brought up, even then he was very humble about it.

Now with his trip home being denied by the board (later allowed) he didn't go into the papers and whinge and he certainly didn't give this merkin of a a journalist any ammo to write such an article.

He went to Wenty with no hesitation and turned in a good performance, in the footage i saw he didn't look miserable and looked as if when he scored that try his facial expressions were one of relief that he has finally put together a decent personal performance.

He will be back next week and i reckon he will be primed for a big match