Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

2012 :: Grand Final :: Rabbitohs v Dragons

joshie

JoshLUBannerGF.jpg

referee: madunit

Last edited by a moderator:

Monk

And then there were two.

Congratulations to the Dragons for getting this far, I always had a feeling it would come down to us two and well here we are.

This is my first Grand Final and I have to say - I'm kind of shitting myself. Coming up against a Forum 7's legend like Willow (as well as his band of merry men) isn't an easy task, which is why I thank God that i've got an amazing team with me who are willing to put in the hard yards and submit quality articles and make this a successful team. Seriously guys you're the best.

No matter what the results say, we're all winners after this game, and the real winner is Forum 7's, for still, after all these years, pulling in quality writers so that we still have an awesome and competitive competition. This is proven by the amazing articles i've read over the past few months, so kudos to all of you.

In saying that, best of luck everyone, and remember you've got to risk it to get the biscuit.

And this team of Bunnies is hungry for a big ol' pile of biscuits.

jersey_rabbitohs_1.gif

Monk (c)
Bubbles
byrne_rovelli_fan82
Marshall_magic
eloquentEEL

Bench:
Scott Gourley's Lovechild
Lambretta
Non Terminator

Game on!

Thanks to every fellow forummer for a fantastic journey.

ST GEORGE DRAGONS TEAM - GRAND FINAL 2012
jersey_dragons_1a.gif

Everlovin' Antichrist (c)
Tanner Ave (c)
Hutty1986 (c)
Breathingfire (c)
Willow (c)

Res
Slippery Morris (c)
Godz Illa (c)

Good luck one and all. :thumn

eloquentEEL

eloquentEEL for the Myrtle & Cardinal
_____

League Speak

Rugby league has thrown up a number of new terms over the years and we leaguies now enjoy a language of our own. You would be very hard-pressed to find a fan who doesn't understand a reference to the "Cattledog" call (now a brand with a registered trademark). Even followers of other footy codes know what a falcon is these days and a description of the Hoppa manoeuvre made it into a Hollywood film. There's a plethora of new wrestling, sorry… "tackling" techniques that we know more affectionately as the grapple, chicken wing, crusher and cannonball. Those of us with a fantasy persuasion speak fluently of guns, cheapies and cash cows. Regular viewers of The Footy Show over the years would have a special understanding of the terms "That's Gold!" and "Dogggggiiiiiieeeeesss!"

More recently, we have become familiar with a new group of players known as the "Tiger Sharks" and in NRL circles, the Twitter hash tag #Sheenius has been used extensively to highlight examples of dubious coaching decisions regarding team selections, game plans and player retention.

Having a look back over the 2012 season, I'd like to propose a few more terms to add to the rugby league lexicon:

Dummy toss - Somewhat akin to dwarf throwing, this is the one-on-one tackling technique which results when a hooker runs from dummy half and into the clutches of a cranky dinosaur-sized forward. Unfortunately frowned upon by the establishment, only one example of the Dummy Toss has ever been witnessed.
Note: not to be confused with a "dummy spit" which is a more broadly used colloquialism and carries the same meaning in rugby league; if you need a good example, just watch Jamie Soward for a few minutes.

De Goose - The victim of a Dummy Toss (see above). The "Dummy Tossee" if you will.

Transfership - Winning the grand final after a mid-season transfer. Typically awarded to a Knights forward joining the Storm and highly sought after by Kiwis joining the Bulldogs.

Fantasy BB Gun - Looks just like a real gun in NRL Dreamteam or Supercoach. Lacks firepower.

Fantasy Fail - The art of using up a scarce trade or leaving a large chunk of one's NRL Dreamteam or Supercoach salary cap on the bench for several weeks, only to have one's Fantasy BB Gun cop an injury in their return match.

Kearnivore - An assistant coach who is prematurely promoted to a head coach role and consequently chews up and spits out his new club. Bites off more than he can chew.

Queensland Shepherd - An obvious obstruction play run in the hope of being awarded a try on the basis of:
a) the precedent set by the Maroons,
b) the embarrassingly deficient definition in the NRL rule book causing the interpretation to flip flop from week to week, and/or
c) the general incompetence of the referees in recognising illegal plays, rulebook or no rulebook.

Graham's Anatomy - A textbook for identifying body parts to lube up with a six pack of Vaseline; or areas to target when going the chomp.

Helibomb - Sending an uninvited helicopter to film Mad Monday celebrations. Leads to that awkward moment.

McGuirk Reaction - A rash decision to change the NRL judiciary policy at the drop of a shoulder. Works best if the timing of the decision proves awkward to say the least, eg. just before the finals.

Video Referendum - A referral to the video referee for a long-winded process whereby two former referees roll a pair of dice to determine how many replays are to be viewed, before being polled for a minimum of twenty different opinions, when there are only four buttons to choose from. Invariably results in the wrong verdict. All happens in standard definition.
Optional: A coin is to be tossed in order to decide whether or not the most convincing camera angle is to be requested.

Putting some of this new League Speak together, you might hear something along the lines of "I wonder how many fantasy fails there were from Kearnivores holding onto T-Rex after his dummy tossing suspension? And how many others picked the Fantasy BB Gun in the prelim final? I'll be on the lookout for cash cows seeking transferships next season."

Now then, since this is a grand final and, pending a McGuirk Reaction or Video Referendum, one can get away with anything up to and including a Graham's Anatomy inspired nibble without fear of a send-off, where's De Goose? I can feel a good dummy toss coming on. Cattledog!

____

750 words between the lines

References:

Origin of the Cattledog call:
http://www.portnews.com.au/story/160871/origins-like-no-other-game-legend-says/

Link to official Cattledog merchandise:
http://www.tommyraudonikis.com.au/

Definition of a falcon:
http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?page=2&term=falcon

Hopoate's finger feature – Film:
http://www.theage.com.au/articles/2004/08/31/1093915288668.html

NRL: Your guide to league's dirty tackles:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10790726

Lone Scout: Spotting the cash cows:
http://www.nrl.com/lone-scout-spotting-the-cash-cows/tabid/10986/newsid/65686/default.aspx

That's Gold! NRL Footy Show:
http://christianbowman.com/general/thatsgold/

Beau's Dog displays have had their day:
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nrl/beaus-dog-displays-have-had-their-day/story-e6frfgbo-1226474525387

Tiger Sharks:
http://www.triplem.com.au/brisbane/sport/nrl/news/blog/sharks-deny-beau-ryan-has-signed-with-the-club/20120917-h6xp.html

#Sheenius:
http://twitter.com/search?q=%23Sheenius

Tony Williams faces 10 week suspension for dangerous throw on Isaac De Gois:
http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/nrl/tony-williams-faces-10-week-suspension-for-dangerous-throw-on-isaac-de-gois/story-e6frfgbo-1226305092960

Fa'oso follows Newton's footsteps:
http://www.theage.com.au/rugby-league/league-news/faaoso-follows-newtons-footsteps-20120925-26jgy.html

Unwanted players could become grand final heroes:
http://www.theroar.com.au/2012/09/28/unwanted-players-could-become-heroes/

NRL: I bit off more than I could chew at Eels – Kearney:
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/league/news/article.cfm?c_id=79&objectid=10839039

NRL must rework obstruction rule
http://www.theroar.com.au/2012/08/27/nrl-needs-fresh-view-on-obstruction-after-same-old-problems/

Gray's Anatomy:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gray's_Anatomy

NRL ban James Graham's Vaseline tactic:
http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/nrl-ban-james-grahams-vaseline-tactic-20120518-1yvrp.html

British Bulldog James Graham on report after biting claim:
http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/storm-blow-away-all-the-doubters/story-fndujljl-1226484903539

Bulldogs' CEO Todd Greenberg Talks Mad Monday Controversy:
http://www.triplem.com.au/sydney/sport/nrl/news/blog/bulldogs-ceo-todd-greenberg-talks-mad-monday-controversy/20121003-hc30.html

NRL's Nathan McGuirk defends should charge rule change:
http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/nrl/nrls-nathan-mcguirk-defends-shoulder-charge-rule-change/story-e6frep5x-1226462210162

NRL: Refs admit, "We got it wrong – again":
http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=10834404

byrne_rovelli_fan82

byrne_rovelli_fan82 for South Sydney, in her second ever grand final!!

~~
Footy Affair

The car pulled up at the front of the building, immaculately dressed men perfectly positioned in place to spring into action stepped out and opened our doors. One even stepped around to my side asking for the car keys. I didn’t hesitate; I’d grown accustomed to it this over the last few years.

My partner came up to stand beside me, linking her arm through mine and for a brief moment we remained standing outside, the cluster of noise around us forgotten. She looked at me with a nervous smile. She loved these events. She was at her absolute element, but at the same time, she was also vulnerable, prone to feel the pressure it brought, the scrutiny and public demands. I wasn’t immune to it as well. The bright lights of stardom, they never sat well with me. I felt small and insignificant. The attention was intense and the perceptions others had of me couldn’t have been further from the truth.

“Ready?” she asked softly. I broke from my own thoughts and looked back at her with a slight smile, nodding. “Let’s go.”

We walked into the building and were immediately greeted by camera flashes and eager reporters shoving mini tape recorders and smart phone devices into my face. I knew they were just waiting for me to open my mouth, even though it didn’t matter if I put a full sentence together. They’d just take the bits and pieces they required and spin it all into a tall tale. I hated them. They’d ruined many a guy’s career, making up lies and writing articles pandering to their audience.

I felt somebody grip my elbow, tugging me away from the journalist mob. Blindly I allowed whoever it was to drag me and before long we were bundled into another area with twice as many people. I sighed, relieved to be among more familiar faces here; team mates with family in tow, the coaching staff and members of the club’s big name sponsors.

Moments later my partner was whisked away, mixing and mingling with close friends, all the while making new ones. I allowed my gaze to linger on her, a smile crossing my face; her shyness had quickly disappeared and she was relaxed.

“Mate!”

The voice was loud and a little rough and I looked over my shoulder and saw Anthony wandering towards me with a half empty beer bottle in his hand and a crooked smile on his face.

“Already getting on the pathway mate?” I asked. He laughed as he gave my back a hard slap, eliciting a cough on impact.

“There are some good lookers here tonight” he waggled his eyebrows, the cheeky tone of his voice speaking volumes about the contents of his head.

“I don’t think so, bud, too many witnesses. Besides, it’s not my go anymore” I replied.

“Ah come on, man, don’t spoil the fun. No harm in looking”’ Anthony answered and without a word he dragged me off away from our friends, through the throng of people.

“Charmaine!” Anthony bellowed loudly. I cringed and delivered a short sharp slap to the side of his head.

“What the hell is she doing here?”

“Having a little fun.”

“Hi boys” Charmaine simpered in her sickly sweet voice. I turned and forced a smile on my face and forced a polite greeting. I didn’t like her. I had heard a lot about her and what she did. Some of the guys knew her more than a little personally and declared her ‘one-of-a-kind’. I wasn’t blind. She was a beauty with a great figure and a killer dress sense; short skirts and low-cut tops leaving very little to the imagination.

“How are ya babe?” Anthony asked.

She winked at him suggestively. “Oh you know, the same as always; having a great time.” Anthony nodded his head, his eyes darting up and down her barely dressed body. I wanted to puke; I didn’t need to see this and I really didn’t want to be here.

“By the way” she added, laying one perfectly manicured hand on my arm. I shuddered. “I have a friend who’s keen to meet you.” She looked behind her and motioned to somebody.

A young lady emerged. She didn’t look to be more than 21 years old. Her outfit showed off her body and her face was dolled up to perfection; just my type.

“Brett, this is Sophie”.

And at that moment the walls broke and all was lost.

~~

748 words between '~'
according to official word counter

EA for the Dragons.

jersey_dragons_1a.gif

Follow the Yellow Brick Road?

2012 is the year that the NRL signed off on the largest television deal in Rugby League history. 2012 is also the year that Rugby League filled three of the top four television spots of any Football code in Australia.

Cause for celebration but those history-making events shouldn't gloss over the fact that Rugby League has a couple of major problems that, if not solved in the immediate future, could damage the long-term future of the game in Australia, if not in general.

Rugby League isn't the WWE, but one can see where Hulk Hogan darting (ok, at Hulk’s age let’s say “shuffling” instead of darting) down the hill at Leichhardt Oval to beat on Adam Blair at the behest of Vince McMahon wouldn't look out of place.

Melbourne Coach Craig Bellamy is the originator, main culprit and to my mind, the person in Rugby League I’d most like to be in AFL. It seems that Mr. Bellamy’s ideas on coaching Rugby League begin with working out how to bend the rules to suit his club and go from there. The game itself and the integrity of the game itself seem to be of secondary concern to Mr. Bellamy and therefore the Melbourne Club. That Bellamy’s main on-field purveyor of the wrestle, Melbourne captain Cameron Smith, is Australian captain and being talked about as a future Immortal is reprehensible in my opinion. Smith isn't fit to lace the boots of any Immortal and won’t be until his disgraceful, but “legal”, on-field molesting of opposition players is curbed or banned completely. The sight of Smith in tackle after tackle forcing body parts to places they weren't meant to be is something I will never, ever accept as part of the great game of Rugby League.

The fact that the Storm is now apparently the current, legitimate premier should send shivers down the spine of every real Rugby League fan. Their “invention” now permeates the game at every level above Mod League, as a quick trip to your local junior ground will confirm. The only positive in this for me is that Bellamy knocked back the chance to coach the Wests Tigers.

Thank you Craig, thank you.

Unfortunately wrestling is now as much a part of the game of Rugby League as the tackle itself. It will eventually claim viewers and fans, if it hasn't already. Personally I have been a huge fan of the game from the first time I saw it being played, but I can honestly say that the wresting is my greatest gripe with the current game and has me wavering about my support for Rugby League like never before. It hasn't been part of the game for the first century and it shouldn't be part of any of the game’s second century. It is nigh on impossible to referee with any level of consistency and it should be dealt with by the people charged with taking the game forward.

Which segues nicely to the next problem, one almost as frustrating as wresting; current referring standards are woefully inadequate. The standards have nose-dived to the point where they now have enough referees for a Basketball team at every game in an attempt to get every decision right, yet they still get the critical, obvious ones wrong. The plethora of poor decisions coupled with the half-arsed excuses and specious justification of excruciatingly substandard decisions have left refereeing needing an immediate overhaul from the top down.

The main problem is that the game is over-refereed at the top levels. There is little need for five or six referees in a single game. It seems that having more people involved only ensures that there are four, five or six more opportunities to get it wrong. Fans and players alike are much more accepting of an incorrect decision made in a split-second by an on-field referee than they are of an incorrect decision made by one someone with a TV monitor in front of them, showing fourteen different angles of the same movement.

Both wrestling and current refereeing are, in my opinion, blights on the game in Australia. As Australia will be the game’s leader for the foreseeable future neither can continue as they are currently. If they do I, and others, will simply give the game away.

They, the ARLC, don’t have to get it 100% right, but they have to get it a lot less wrong than it is now.

745 words, including title.

Hutty1986

Hutty1986 charges into his first F7's decider for the Dragons...

jersey_dragons_1a.gif

All I want for Christmas is...

beanie_santa_1.jpg

Dear Santa,

I know it has been quite a few years since I last wrote to you, but I have a very important Christmas wish-list for you this year. Now, you seem like a top bloke and I bet you like nothing more than knocking the top off an icy North Pole Pilsner and sitting back to watch some quality Rugby League. So with that in mind, I have a few things I would like you to help me out with.

1. Send St George Illawarra a half-back

While most of your letters this year are probably asking for things like Playstations and ponies (or whatever it is kids like these days), I am after something far more important; someone to partner Jamie Soward in the halves. Benny Hornby has decided to hang up the boots. While I'll miss his 'kicking game' and 'throw an unconvincing dummy every run' play, it was time for the great man to call it quits. I’m not asking for anything crazy here, just a handy organising No.7 to kick the footy and hopefully set up a few tries. I reckon one of your elves could do the job, they all seem to have incredible work ethics and they’re probably not any smaller than previous play-makers like Mathew Head or Willie Peters. 'Carn Santa, hook a brother up!

2. A special delivery for Bill Harrigan

Let’s be honest here SC, nobody likes refs. They ruin footy games, rarely take a hit-up and those pink shirts belong in French Rugby Union. However, can you please help fix at least one of their problems? Judging from the officiating seen in the NRL over the past few seasons, the whistleblowers have clearly lost their rule-books. Please send them through some more copies so they might get a call or two right in 2013.

3. Short of a Gallop

I feel a bit sorry for ex-NRL CEO David Gallop and you should too, my gloriously-bearded amigo. Not only did the big fella get punted this year, I also hear he lost his job as a monotone story-teller at the local Youth Centre. So I propose we work together to help Davo out a little bit. A 24-month subscription to Zoo Weekly and a brand new fluoro pink turtleneck should do the job.

4. Rug up Des, it’s cold out there!

Some of my less-educated adult friends have this crazy idea in their heads that you don’t exist. What utter rubbish! To help you prove just how wrong they truly are, I reckon it would be a good idea to help out one of the NRL’s most well-known adults; Dessy Hasler. It has been a pretty woeful month for the radar lover so I think he might be keen for a little festive treat. Your mission - should you choose to accept it - is to get your best elf craftsmen onto the job and make Dessy a new rug. Whether or not his current mop is real doesn't matter; it looks like something straight off a bad Advanced Hair ad. The Bulldogs were the benchmark for much of 2012 but their leader’s helmet certainly was not.

5. Get Rudolph on the case

If there was any question that the media's training of young Rugby League players in Australia is woeful, then surely this year’s Dally M Awards removed all traces of doubt. One word answers, mumbling and a general vibe that most of the blokes interviewed didn't know what day it was. It was a deadset embarrassment. Mr Kringle, you can fix this. Once all your present delivering duties are done and dusted, send your best reindeer down here. Your boy Rudolph has years of international media experience and from all reports is both charismatic and knowledgeable. We need him and Rugby League needs a hero. Get on it!

6. What are we to do?

Footy season is officially over. No more hit-ups, no more tackles. No more beers on the hill at WIN Stadium or in the stands at Allianz. I have tried all week not to think about it but reality has sunk in... and it hurts. So, last but not least, I have one small request. Please deliver me a DVD pack with every NRL game from the past five years on it. That ought to tide me over until February... just.

Kind regards,

- A highly concerned RL fan.

P.S. Send my regards to Mrs. Claus. She sounds nice.

-749 words (including title)-

Bubbles

Bubbles takes the field proudly for Souths (who would have thought lol)

The Eyes Have It

It was with a lazy eye that I first viewed Rugby League, being a newly arrived refugee from Mexico, the southern State of long winters and even longer sporting events. And since traversing my peripheral vision and landing squarely within my sights, I have seen our code through many different sets of eyes.

Once established as a loyal follower of the game, in the doe eyes of this particular disciple, there was a certain player who could split oceans of any colour, turn H2O into wine (or beer as the case may be) and who could side-step atop water. Before you could say “Damn, this team song is gay” his new club is mine and I am at once and for always c**k-eyed.

Through teary eyes I watched the self-same demigod raise the Premiership trophy a full decade ago and then in horror, red-eyed, I am a gut-sick reluctant eye-witness to the slow and painful disintegration of a great team once His water-walking boots are moored for the last time.

Fast forward to 2012 and it’s the crazy eyes that glare back at me from the mirror as I splash cold water on my face and prepare myself to re-enter the scope of the television where glaring images of dropped balls, penalties conceded, stray passes and last second heartbreak burn through my retinas.

The 2012 Premiership Season from a far broader, bird’s-eye view and we’ve seen the resurgence of the Dogs under the hairy-eyeballs of Hasler, all the while the beady eyes of Bennett in Newcastle turning further and further inwards away from the probing of the public eye. We’ve seen the NRL Judiciary, predictable as always turn a blind eye to the indiscretions of the chosen few of the game. We’ve seen the comical last on-field moments of a player known for courage and heart and not the least, for providing a graphic eye-full of his back-crack every time he took the field.

Staying with the on-field action and it is with a scowling stink eye and grinding teeth that 2012 has seen me forced to look upon the visage of Greg Inglis. To have my ears assaulted with the genuflecting gushing of commentators and media alike, they having turned a blind eye to the dodgy dealings at Melbourne, the double-dealings with Brisbane, not to mention the fact he left his girlfriend black-eyed.

State of Origin and after seven straight victories going the way of the stinking Maroons, it is all about the brown-eye, the soundless and universally succinct message, “Kiss this, dirty Toads!” As for the overall standard of the men in the middle and those with the eagle-eye view from the video box, the level of excrement the game and we, the fans, have been forced to wade through and we can count ourselves lucky there hasn’t been an epidemical outbreak of pink-eye!

And finally on the field of action 2012, like it or not, was about watching the game through the eye of a storm, as Melbourne picked over their preys’ carcasses each week with the cold-hearted ruthlessness of a finely tuned predator, to stand atop a pile of fifteen bloody corpses to claim the final prize.

Off-field 2012 and the new Independent Commission is established to be the all-seeing eyes of our game, but not before a swift and calculated coup was staged to usurp the former administrator of the game in what could be conceived by the cynical as a case of Old Testament-style eye for an eye. Firmly entrenched and eyes on the prize, the new regime hit the mother of all fiscal bullseye’s with the signing of the new television rights. Despite the stench of ‘same ole’, the injection of cash into the game can only be construed as a win for the future of our great game.

Now, all that's left is to farewell the 2012 NRL season and for this one-eyed supporter to look ahead to the next season and the prospects of the Roosters through beer-goggle eyes and hope and pray I don’t wind up trying to chew my own arm off come March of next year. Thus it is a weary eyed and spent fan and scribe bidding a fond adieu for another year, longing for some off-season shut-eye, while at the same time eagerly anticipating kick off to season 2013 with hope and though I dare not speak the words aloud, wide-eyed optimism!

Tanner Ave

Tanner Ave : St George Dragons

jersey_dragons_1a.gif

Like father, like son

“Oh, and you know, do you?”

“Yes, I do know!” his father screamed.

“I know, of course I know. And I know he would deeply disapprove of your selfish lifestyle! With total disregard to your family history. Your grandfather was a proud and simple man, if he wasn't dead. This would kill him!”

Kieren turned away, stormed out of the house. His father ran after him.

“Go on then! Go on your selfish way, after all we've done for you!”

Kieren turned, removing the SCG access pass from his wallet.

“After all you've done?" he said. "My God, anyone would think I was one of your employees! After all you've done? What have you done? What the hell does that even mean?”

He walked back up to his father, holding the pass up to his face.

“Is it this? Does this make me a failure? Does this symbolise my descent into ungodliness?”

Kieren flicked the pass across the lawn; frustration was burning in his eyes.

“You’re ashamed of me, for what? Because I make you look the fool to all the old school folk at that bloody pub you worship downtown? Because your son likes to be his own man, and make his own decisions, trying not to ride on your back? Are you ashamed because I don’t attend your functions, or praise your name like nearly everyone else we bump into, or speak your religious football language? What is it, dad? What are you so ashamed of?”

Looking into his father’s eyes, his frustration was replaced by a deeper sadness.

“What do you mean by ‘after all you've done’? What is it you feel I've failed you in?”

His father took a deep breath, remaining composed.

“You no longer need my input in your life and you have forgotten the proud heritage you are part of. That's what I mean. You've become your own man, and no longer follow our ways.”

Kieren's eyes shot up to heaven.

“Oh, please!” he cried out, before returning his gaze to his father.

“Don’t you see dad? Can’t you see what you're doing? You’re not talking about us, you're talking about your religion! A hope of the past returning through me. Sure, you feel better by talking to your mates about this dream but it's yours! That’s what you don’t understand!”

Kieren took out another pass from his bag.

“You think you've tamed me. You think you've captured my dreams in yours. You think I look like you! Oh, Lord!"

His father shot back.

“Nonsense, Kieren. Nonsense! You are a rebel, rebelling against all that we have trained you for, looking for any way to justify your actions. I don’t care what promises were given to you. Can't you see it's a cheap attempt to get to what we all hold dearest? They are not after you boy, but only that surname name you are so desperate to run from!

“You're right, dad, I am a rebel. You may disagree, or even preach a message against my kind every arvo at the pub or at every reunion you go to. But I'll tell you this, I’m a rebel because I follow one. I listen to the convictions of the most important. You try to shame me back into the things that I did growing up, shame me to stop pursuing my dreams and the things that I am good at, shame me back into the image of who you expect your son to be, the image you adore, you idolise! But dad, I don't want to live in your image.”

“So what then?”

His father’s voice had transformed from anger into complete desperation.

“You're prepared to turn your back on us, for a fleeting moment, something that might but probably won't turn out as you hoped. Pass up the opportunity that I can provide for you, an opportunity to have what I have?”

“Dad, if you don't come on this ride with me you will be left behind, it will haunt you. You will regret it for the rest of your time, of that I'm sure!”

“Impossible!”

This is the exposed recording from eight years ago when the Jack's neighbour secretly recorded a conversation between Garry and his son Kieren as they ventured outside their house, yelling at each other.

To this day Kieren Jack has not spoken to his dad, even though Garry was seen at the 2012 AFL Grand Final in Melbourne.

*745 words*

*Posting by proxy*

Breathingfire, St George
jersey_dragons_1a.gif

Try or no try?

Even the most casual of NRL fans would have heard the rumble of discontent concerning the standard of refereeing during the 2012 Telstra Premiership finals series. It was borderline impossible to open a paper or switch on the television without reading some form of a retort directed at either Referees boss Bill Harrigan or one of his counterparts in the middle.

It got me thinking about the multitude of possible causes for this publicly perceived drop in the standard of refereeing this season. Having pondered any number of plausible reasons, ranging from discontent within the refereeing ranks to the pressure of public expectation; I concluded that there in fact has been no drop in the standard of refereeing in the NRL whatsoever.

You think I am crazy... right?

It is highly probable that I am indeed crazy; however I choose believe that an increase in demand for perfection from our referees has distorted the reality of the situation. Players, coaches, fans and the media, through the byproduct of an unhealthy reliance on modern technology, have developed an unrealistic expectation of faultlessness on the part of our referees. I propose that the quantity of refereeing errors made in the game today closely mirrors the amount made in previous seasons, even dating back to before the video referee was introduced.

The big difference in today’s game is that the mistakes are much more obviously pronounced due to various forms of modern technology not present once upon a time.

Televisions get bigger, cameras zoom further, frames per second increase, replays get slower and the list goes on. But through all of this the laws of physics get ignored, the laws of probability are discounted and the exercise of commonsense is completely disregarded.

A good example is the semi-final match between the North Queensland Cowboys and the Manly Sea Eagles. A wave of controversy erupted with the awarding of a “benefit of the doubt” try to Jamie Lyon after Kieran Foran appeared to have knocked the ball forward. The referees could not be sure of who touched the ball and therein lays the problem; a video replay can quite often be inconclusive and therefore benefit of the doubt is given. There is no irrefutable method for discerning whether a player has touched the ball or not. It might appear to be one way or another, but no one can be absolutely sure. Just about every grounding of the football in the game today can be made to look like a knock on when slowed to a standstill. The laws of physics can explain that, yet still we rely on this technology to provide all the answers.

The fact that a human is called upon to adjudicate on footage displayed through replays, yet is expected make a correct decision 100% right all of the time, is ironic to say the least.

While ever there is a human element to the decision making process, mistakes are going to be made. What constitutes a correct decision is such a grey area to begin with.

Just as problematic as the video referee, is the reactive nature of our game. The rule book changes week in, week out, depending on the perspective of the media. Referees are constantly called in to question decisions made on the field and invariably the rules are changed according to perceived solutions outlined by journalists, past players and administrators. While ever we have a revolving door of rules to adhere to, there will be confusion.

The point I am trying to make is that mistakes are inevitable regardless of whether we have a video referee or not. To rely on a replay to be conclusive all of the time is ludicrous. This use of technology serves to create conflict and confusion among players, coaches and spectators. The belief that technology can conquer all indecision is a false and unhealthy pretense. We will continue to see error while ever there is a human element to the decision making process.

Long before the video referee was introduced, mistakes were made but the rugby league community accepted them as part of the game. The old adage of “you win some, you lose some” was compensation enough. Throughout the course of a season, the number of calls for and against a side would inevitably even itself out.

If you cannot rise above the fallible nature of the man in the middle, you do not deserve to win the match anyway.

(746 words)

Willow | St George
jersey_dragons_1a.gif

Lock it in, Eddie

hot-seat-quiz_04.jpg

A week is a long time in football.

When Channel Nine, Foxsports and the NRL recently signed a billion dollar broadcasting deal, fans mostly rejoiced at the game receiving a financial windfall. Sure, the Nine-hate was still evident - brought about by the smugness, arrogance and general disdain the major network dishes out to its viewers - but it was good to see that Rugby League was secure and ready to go to the next level.

But then the bombshell.

Turns out Nine is broke, three billion dollars in debt and 'in negotiation' with creditors. Australia's first TV network in 1956, Nine had a head start on its rivals. In 2012, the broadcaster boasts a truckload of great shows like Australia's Funniest Home Videos, Big Fat Gypsy Weddings and that paragon of virtue, A Current Affair. So how could they possibly be struggling?

Fortunately, deals were done. Nine has been saved, cashed up again, there might be a few pay-cuts. But it still remains at the beck and call of creditors, or as the media likes to put it, 'teetering on the verge of financial collapse'. It might surprise some that this has been common knowledge for quite some time, and almost certainly the NRL knew it when they signed the recent agreement.

This raises a number of questions, and in seeking answers I found a few hints during episodes of Hot Seat, hosted by Nine's own quizmaster, Eddie McGuire.

Which Australian TV network were first to telecast Rugby League?
A: Channel Nine. B: Channel Seven.
C: ABC TV. D: Channel Ten.

The fact is, Channel Nine were not the pioneers of Rugby League broadcast. Early attempts were done by amateurs or paid 'professionals'. The NSWRL in the 1920s reportedly hired cameramen to film games. Most of the footage has been lost but it was ground breaking nonetheless. By the 1950s, movie makers were recording game highlights and showing 'newsreels' at theatres (usually during intermission at the Saturday Matinee). On TV, the ABC were the first to broadcast the game and Channel Seven followed suit - who can forget Rex 'The Moose' Mossop? The work he did to develop a hatred of Manly is the stuff of legend. But I digress... the thing is, Channel Nine arrived late in the piece. They got the gig because they threw the most money at it; that's been their method for years, and look where it has got them.

What do Channel Nine League commentators say to a pay cut?
A: Read the contract. B: Whatever you say boss.
C: No No No No... D: Dear oh dear oh dear.

What is the first letter of the alphabet?
A: D B: Z
C: Ü D: A

Now I know what you're thinking, what does this have to do with sorting out the future broadcasting of Rugby League? Well believe it or not, this is exactly how the big wigs do it. They even watch Eddie and look for clues. Hey, it makes as much sense as anything else, given the hole they find themselves in.

Here's how I think the deal panned out...

How much should the broadcasting deal be worth?
A: $1.025 billion over five years. B: $20 million on a month-to-month basis.
C: A packet of crisps and a schooner of Tooheys. D: Name your price.

"Lock in A Eddie!"

Did they get it right?

Afterwards, Channel Nine executives were out in the hallway, having a beer and chips, when the deeper question was raised.

Should we tell them we're broke?
A: Yes. B: No.
C: Yes, but leave it till next week. D: We're broke?

Eddie was called in to adjudicate. With only two seconds left on the clock they decided to go for broke, so to speak.

So, do we need Channel Nine? Well, no. But they'll have to do for the time being.

Of course, no one will let Channel Nine go belly up, at least not in the short term. The NRL in their wisdom knew this too. But may I suggest a more cautious approach when the deal is up for renewal in 2017? After all, a company in financial strife can only survive on the goodwill of its creditors for so long.

ANSWERS:
C,C,D,A,D

Words | 750 (including words in image)
Ref | http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/na...l-save-channel-9/story-fndo317g-1226499607433

Marshall Magic struts out proudly for the Bunnies. After forgetting the words to the national anthem, he stands in position ready for kick-off.

---------------------------
THE HOUSE THAT TIM BUILT
MMArticle_zps5d6eccae.jpg

This is the house that Tim built

This is the trophy that was brought to
The house that Tim built

This is the kid who won
The trophy that was brought to
The house that Tim built

This is the team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

These are the Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the crew who encouraged
The salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

These are the Sharks who circled
The crew who encouraged
The salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

These are the men who were taken by
The Sharks who circled
The crew who encouraged
The salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the coach who threw out
The men who were taken by
The Sharks who circled
The crew who encouraged
The salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the man who took offence to
The coach who threw out
The Sharks who circled
The crew who encouraged
The salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the kid who became
The man who took offence to
The coach who threw out
The Sharks who circled
The crew who encouraged
The salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the coach who was sacked because
The kid who became
The coach who threw out
The Sharks who circled
The crew who encouraged
The salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

This is the man who will replace
The coach who was sacked because
The kid who became
The coach who threw out
The Sharks who circled
The crew who encouraged
The salesman who conned
The Dragons who poached
The boy who shunted
The jester who dethroned
The Prince who led
The team that surrounded
The kid who won
The house that Tim built

---------------------------

References:
Tigers Logo
http://t1.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTZnoMMfX5Lzqnf7ZGcGMV22DWaN-FCtJE2ug-9AyGKtK08wS9LTdNZ4ZQ2Rg

House:
http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3487/3798343035_3ebd928160_z.jpg

Bob the Builder:
http://userserve-ak.last.fm/serve/_/25449327/Bob+the+Builder+6a00d83451fc5a69e200e55070c075.jpg

Sheens:
http://www1.pictures.zimbio.com/gi/VB+Kangaroos+Training+Session+Press+Conference+t9XMrOnEAqGl.jpg

Word Count: 730 between the lines (that is not including the picture references)

Monk

Monk runs onto the field... naked... is this a dream? Nightmare? Wake up! WAKE UP!

748 Words According to the OWC

++++++++++++++++++++++++

Bad Romance

To my dearly beloved,

Remember our first moments together? I do.

Remember that fortune cookie I cracked open, as the crumbs fell all over my seat? I do.

“The secret of love is seeking variety in your life together, and never letting routine chords dull the melody of your romance.”

Our first moments together were crafted in a quote so beautiful; it was as If the words on that greasy piece of Chinese takeaway paper were sculpted by the hands of Cupid himself. You always made me feel good about myself. I was never ashamed to tell people I was seeing you. I thought that happiness would last forever. Till death do us part.

Thirteen years have flown on by and I have found that, of late, our relationship is getting stale. This entire year I really made an effort to get you to notice me, but aside from that one thrilling finish in early March, you've struggled to keep me interested. I was attentive; I let you take your time, but countless premature celebrations and your inability to rediscover your once fantastic handing skills have made me reconsider whether our connection is as strong as it once was.

Sure there have been great moments. Who can forget the first Sunday in October back in ‘02, where you finally put on that beautiful golden ring? I’ll never forget the moment it was slipped gracefully onto your finger, while you wept in glee. It may have been a rather large occasion (you just HAD to invite your cousins from overseas), but all the same, it was one of the greatest nights of my life. I even shed a few tears on the way back to the hotel room. That remarkable year was followed with some special moments, but ever since ‘05 we've seemingly lost our way and things just haven’t been the same. We lost something special that kept us together and no matter how hard we tried we just couldn't fill that gaping void.

We really tried to keep things interesting, I’ll admit it. So many un-orthodox positional changes were trialled (some of them memorable; others, not so much). But all we got from it was that crazed wooden spoon incident in ‘09, and that emotional scarring is something I just don’t want to have to deal with again (my friends STILL bring it up; what am I supposed to say?).

Year after year you felt the need to undergo wardrobe change after wardrobe change. I found it hard to keep track of what you wanted from me. Did you want me to change along with you? Was I not enough for you the way I was? These are the questions I asked of you and all it got me were countless nights where I had to cry myself to sleep while all you cared about was how you were perceived in the Papers and on that stupid Television!

As your performance dropped so did your attitude; drunken nights on the town were all too regular. I saw the pictures in the Paper! You tried to keep up with all those Youths! Gallivanting around the town forgetting the responsibilities you had back home! Did you think for one second how all this childish behaviour would affect me? I vouched for you when everyone said you’d gone off the rails, when they said I deserved to be treated better.

Should I have moved to Brisbane? Wollongong? Or The Northern Beaches of Brookvale? My friends said yes, but you promised things would improve. You even told the Papers that you were going to get better. You promised your head was in the right place and there would be no more shameless nights of regret. So I stayed.

Things have improved this year. As disappointing as some of the nights were (how you ever thought our trip to Darwin was a good idea remains a mystery to me), we've had our fair share of memorable moments. But somehow, however much you talk yourself up you can never perform consistently. Your execution has lacked that incredible unwavering desire which was once so dominant. Your eagerness to sustain the burning flame of success used to make me lose my voice for days on end. You were never able to keep me quiet. I long for these days which have become lost to me, I would give anything to have us back to the way we were.

Forever and Always (?),
Your Beloved.

++++++++++++++++++++++++

Monk

Great job by everyone to get such quality articles in. This is sure to be a good'n.